CTNF 18/729,272 CTNF 92656 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-14 AIA Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure. A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives. Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps. Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is not narrative in nature and appears to be the independent claim with a few phrases omitted (e.g., the entire abstract is a single sentence with semicolons separating out the clauses that match the limitations of the method claims). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5 , the claim recites “the die shoulder R portion formed corresponding to at least the convex peripheral edge of the top portion of the preformed part” which renders the claim indefinite because the claim previously recites “a flange portion continuous to the side wall portion via a die shoulder R portion,” i.e., the die shoulder is not connected to the top portion. It is unclear what is required for the die shoulder portion to “correspond” to the convex peripheral edge of the top portion. For the purpose of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as at least a portion of the die shoulder R portion in convex shape of the preformed part. Further, the claim recites “punch shoulder portion R” and “die shoulder portion R” which renders the claim indefinite because it appears that both components are being referred to as “R.” For the purpose of examination, these components will be interpreted as the punch shoulder portion and the die shoulder portion. The claim also recites “wherein (a) performs forming such that a bending radius of the die shoulder…” which renders the claim indefinite because (a) is a method step so it is unclear who or what is performing the forming. It appears this should recite wherein step (a) forms a bending radius of the die shoulder and followed by the rest of the limitation. For the purpose of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as referring to the step (a) forming process. Claims 6-8 depend from claim 5 and fail to clarify the indefinite language. Regarding claim 6 , the claim depends from claim 5 and recites “(a) applies drawing or bending, and (b) applies bending” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if these are additional steps for the forming processes recited in steps (a) and (b) in claim 5 or if these claims are reciting that the forming steps are drawing or bending. For the purpose of examination, these limitations will be interpreted as the forming of the metal sheet into a preformed part in step (a) is a drawing operation or bending operation and the forming of the preformed part into the press formed part in step (b) is a bending operation. Claim 8 depends from claim 6 and fails to clarify the indefinite language. Regarding claim 9 , this claim recites the same limitations discussed above in claim 5 and is indefinite for the same reasons discussed above. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by WO 2020/217593 A1 to Sumikawa (corresponding US publication US 2022/0143672 A1 is relied upon as the translation for this document) . Regarding claim 5 , Sumikawa teaches a press forming method of forming a press formed part, the press formed part including: a top portion having a convex peripheral edge having a whole of or part of an outer peripheral edge curved outward in a convex shape; a side wall portion continuous to the top portion via a punch shoulder R portion; and a flange portion continuous to the side wall portion via a die shoulder R portion (Figs. 15 shows the press forming method for forming a press formed part, such as that shown in Fig. 13 which includes a top portion, sidewall portions, and flange portions in a convex shape and including punch shoulders between the top portion and sidewall portions and die shoulders between the sidewall portions and flange portions), the press forming method comprising: (a) forming a metal sheet into a preformed part 203 (Figs. 15(a)-(b); Paras. [0084]-[0085]); and (b) forming the preformed part 203 formed in (a) into the press formed part 205 having a target shape (Figs. 15(c)-(d); Paras. [0084]-[0085]), wherein (a) performs forming such that a bending radius of the die shoulder R portion formed corresponding to at least the convex peripheral edge of the top portion of the preformed part 203 is larger than a bending radius of the die shoulder R portion of the press formed part 205 having the target shape (Fig. 15 shows the die shoulders, i.e., the portion between the sidewall portions and the flanges, have a larger bending radius in the preformed part 203 than in the press formed part 205). Regarding claim 6 , Sumikawa teaches the press forming method according to claim 5 (Figs. 13 and 15), wherein (a) applies drawing or bending (Fig. 15; Para. [0084]), and(b) applies bending (Fig. 15; Para. [0084]; the first forming operation is a drawing operation, and the second forming operation is a bending operation). Regarding claim 7 , Sumikawa teaches the press forming method according to claim 5 (Figs. 13 and 15), wherein the metal sheet is a steel sheet having a tensile strength of 590 MPa or more (Para. [0088]; the sheet used for the forming processes has a strength of 1180 MPa). Regarding claim 8 , Sumikawa teaches the press forming method according to claim 6 (Figs. 13 and 15), wherein the metal sheet is a steel sheet having a tensile strength of 590 MPa or more (Para. [0088]; the sheet used for the forming processes has a strength of 1180 MPa). Regarding claim 9 , Sumikawa teaches a press formed part manufacturing method of manufacturing a press formed part, the press formed part including: a top portion having a convex peripheral edge having a whole of or part of an outer peripheral edge curved outward in a convex shape; a side wall portion continuous to the top portion via a punch shoulder R portion; and a flange portion continuous to the side wall portion via a die shoulder R portion (Figs. 15 shows the press forming method for forming a press formed part, such as that shown in Fig. 13 which includes a top portion, sidewall portions, and flange portions in a convex shape and including punch shoulders between the top portion and sidewall portions and die shoulders between the sidewall portions and flange portions), the method comprising: (a) forming a metal sheet into a preformed part 203 (Figs. 15(a)-(b); Paras. [0084]-[0085]); and (b) forming the preformed part 203 formed in (a) into the press formed part 205 having a target shape (Figs. 15(c)-(d); Paras. [0084]-[0085]), wherein (a) performs forming such that a bending radius of the die shoulder R portion formed corresponding to at least the convex peripheral edge of the top portion of the preformed part 203 is larger than a bending radius of the die shoulder R portion of the press formed part 205 having the target shape (Fig. 15 shows the die shoulders, i.e., the portion between the sidewall portions and the flanges, have a larger bending radius in the preformed part 203 than in the press formed part 205) . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0057735 A1 to Sonobe . Regarding claim 5 , Sonobe teaches a press forming method of forming a press formed part, the press formed part including: a top portion having a convex peripheral edge having a whole of or part of an outer peripheral edge curved outward in a convex shape; a side wall portion continuous to the top portion via a punch shoulder R portion; and a flange portion continuous to the side wall portion via a die shoulder R portion (Figs. 7-20 show the formation of the press formed part, e.g., the part shown in Figs. 16-20, that includes a top portion, sidewall portions, and flange portions in a convex shape and including punch shoulders between the top portion and sidewall portions and die shoulders between the sidewall portions and flange portions), the press forming method comprising: (a) forming a metal sheet into a preformed part 11 (Figs. 10-16; Paras. [0046]-[0048] and [0053]-[0055]); and (b) forming the preformed part 11 formed in (a) into the press formed part 1 having a target shape (Figs. 16-20; Paras. [0056]-[0057] and [0063]-[0065]), wherein (a) performs forming such that a bending radius of the die shoulder R portion formed corresponding to at least the convex peripheral edge of the top portion of the preformed part 11 is larger than a bending radius of the die shoulder R portion of the press formed part 1 having the target shape (Figs. 16-17 shows the die shoulders, i.e., the portion between the sidewall portions and the flanges, have a larger bending radius in the preformed part 11 than in the press formed part 1) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2016/0158821 A1 (Figs. 8-9) teaches a press forming method including forming a metal sheet into a preformed part (e.g., the solid lined drawings in Figs. 8-9) and forming the preformed part into a target shape (e.g., the dashed lined drawings in Figs. 8-9) in which the preformed part has a larger bending radius in the die shoulder portion than the target shape . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW STEPHENS whose telephone number is (571)272-6722. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 930-630. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chris Templeton can be reached at (571)270-1477. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725 /Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/729,272 Page 2 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/729,272 Page 3 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/729,272 Page 4 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/729,272 Page 5 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/729,272 Page 6 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/729,272 Page 7 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/729,272 Page 8 Art Unit: 3725 Application/Control Number: 18/729,272 Page 9 Art Unit: 3725