DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 03/28/2022. Applicant has filed a certified copy of the foreign priority application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-28, 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo (US 2021/216051) in view of Ratakonda (US 2021/0396417).
Kondo was cited in an IDS filed 07/16/2024.
Regarding claim 25, Kondo teaches a device comprising a processor, a memory, a communicator and a camera [0034 describes a bar code reader, which inherently has a processor, memory and camera that can read the bar code; the characteristic data obtained from the scanned bar code is inputted to the controller of the machine, which inherently means there must be an element in the device that facilitates communication with the controller)
when the camera has captured an image of at least one code that is displayed on a surface of hydraulic pump equipment and that stores characteristic data of at least one pump included in the hydraulic pump equipment, stores the characteristic data in the memory ([0032-0034], there may be two pumps in the machine, and on a casing there may be two bar codes, which each represent characterstic data of a respective pump; the bar code reader scans the codes, obtains the characteristic data, and stores it in memory);
transmit the characteristic data to control circuitry for the hydraulic pump equipment or to a wireless LAN router connected to the control circuitry ([0034], the characteristic obtained from the bar code is conveyed or transmitted to the controller for the machine; thus the controller and the operations of the machine are calibrated), and
causes the communicator to transmit the characteristic data stored in the memory to the control circuitry or to the wireless LAN router ([0034], the characteristic obtained from the bar code is conveyed or transmitted to the controller for the machine; thus the controller and the operations of the machine are calibrated).
However, Kondo does not expressly disclose the device is a mobile terminal comprising a touchscreen; the communicator is a wireless communicator; displays, on the touchscreen, a virtual characteristic data transmission button to receive an input to perform the transmitting; the causing the communicator to transmit the characteristic data when the characteristic data transmission button is tap-operated.
In the same field of endeavor, Ratakondo teaches
the device is a mobile terminal comprising a touchscreen; the communicator is a wireless communicator ([0016-0017], Ratakondo teaches a tool e.g., a mobile phone as indicated in Figs. 1-2, that can scan QR codes using a camera; as indicated in Figs. 1-2, [0026-0029], the phone has a touchscreen; [0056], it is known that components in the system may communicate via wireless means, it would be obvious to incorporate such features into the phone; such communication inherently requires a wireless communication module/device);
displays, on the touchscreen, a virtual characteristic data transmission button to receive an input to perform the transmitting (Figs. 1-2, [0026-0029], claim 7, the phone displays a button 38, which causes the phone to scan a QR code in front of the phone and upload corresponding configuration data to a device)
the causing the communicator to transmit the characteristic data when the characteristic data transmission button is tap-operated (Figs. 1-2, [0026-0029], claim 7, the phone displays a button 38, which causes the phone to scan a QR code in front of the phone and upload corresponding configuration data to a device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the device is a mobile terminal comprising a touchscreen; the communicator is a wireless communicator; displays, on the touchscreen, a virtual characteristic data transmission button to receive an input to perform the transmitting; the causing the communicator to transmit the characteristic data when the characteristic data transmission button is tap-operated as suggested in Ratakondo into Kondo because Kondo and Ratakondo pertain to analogous fields of technology. Kondo pertains to a code reader device that can read a QR code relating to a pump in a machine, obtain data from the code, and communicate corresponding data to update the machine. Ratakondo similarly pertains to a code reader device that can read a QR code for a machine, obtain data from the code, and communicate corresponding data to the machine. In Ratakonda, the code reader device is a touchscreen phone, which displays a button used to cause the transmission of configuration data from the code reader device to the machine. It would be desirable to incorporate these features into Kondo, to facilitate user acquisition of important data from a QR code relating to a machine, and transmission of corresponding configuration data to the machine e.g., see Ratakondo Figs. 1-2, [0026-0029].
Regarding claim 26, Kondo teaches a device comprising a processor, a memory, a communicator and a camera [0034 describes a bar code reader, which inherently has a processor, memory and camera that can read the bar code; the characteristic data obtained from the scanned bar code is inputted to the controller of the machine, which inherently means there must be an element in the device that facilitates communication with the controller)
when the camera has captured an image of at least one code that is displayed on a surface of hydraulic pump equipment, obtains characteristic data of at least one pump included in the hydraulic pump equipment , and stores the characteristic data in the memory ([0032-0034], there may be two pumps in the machine, and on a casing there may be two bar codes, which each represent characteristic data of a respective pump; the bar code reader scans the codes, obtains the characteristic data, and stores it in memory);
transmit the characteristic data to control circuitry for the hydraulic pump equipment or to a wireless LAN router connected to the control circuitry ([0034], the characteristic obtained from the bar code is conveyed or transmitted to the controller for the machine; thus the controller and the operations of the machine are calibrated), and
causes the communicator to transmit the characteristic data stored in the memory to the control circuitry or to the wireless LAN router ([0034], the characteristic obtained from the bar code is conveyed or transmitted to the controller for the machine; thus the controller and the operations of the machine are calibrated).
However, Kondo does not expressly disclose the device is a mobile terminal comprising a touchscreen; the communicator is a wireless communicator; the obtaining the characteristic data via a network from a server specified by save location information stored in the at least one code; displays, on the touchscreen, a virtual characteristic data transmission button to receive an input to perform the transmitting; the causing the communicator to transmit the characteristic data when the characteristic data transmission button is tap-operated.
In the same field of endeavor, Ratakondo teaches
the device is a mobile terminal comprising a touchscreen; the communicator is a wireless communicator ([0016-0017], Ratakondo teaches a tool e.g., a mobile phone as indicated in Figs. 1-2, that can scan QR codes using a camera; as indicated in Figs. 1-2, [0026-0029], the phone has a touchscreen; [0056], it is known that components in the system may communicate via wireless means, it would be obvious to incorporate such features into the phone; such communication inherently requires a wireless communication module/device);
the obtaining the characteristic data via a network from a server specified by save location information stored in the at least one code (see Kondo [0007, 0008, 0056-0057] the bar code reader obtains the characteristic data from the QR code; one option is for the QR code to indicate an IP address, which is a location for the characteristic data at a server; the reader can thus use the Internet to obtain the characteristic data using the IP address; inherently, this involves accessing the characteristic data via a network; see Ratakonda [0114], it is known for a mobile phone e.g., the bar code reader, to access remote servers/sites and obtain requested data);
displays, on the touchscreen, a virtual characteristic data transmission button to receive an input to perform the transmitting (Figs. 1-2, [0026-0029], claim 7, the phone displays a button 38, which causes the phone to scan a QR code in front of the phone and upload corresponding configuration data to a device)
the causing the communicator to transmit the characteristic data when the characteristic data transmission button is tap-operated (Figs. 1-2, [0026-0029], claim 7, the phone displays a button 38, which causes the phone to scan a QR code in front of the phone and upload corresponding configuration data to a device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the device is a mobile terminal comprising a touchscreen; the communicator is a wireless communicator; displays, on the touchscreen, a virtual characteristic data transmission button to receive an input to perform the transmitting; the causing the communicator to transmit the characteristic data when the characteristic data transmission button is tap-operated as suggested in Ratakondo into Kondo because Kondo and Ratakondo pertain to analogous fields of technology. Kondo pertains to a code reader device that can read a QR code relating to a pump in a machine, obtain data from the code, and communicate corresponding data to update the machine. Ratakondo similarly pertains to a code reader device that can read a QR code for a machine, obtain data from the code, and communicate corresponding data to the machine. In Ratakonda, the code reader device is a touchscreen phone, which displays a button used to cause the transmission of configuration data from the code reader device to the machine. It would be desirable to incorporate these features into Kondo, to facilitate user acquisition of important data from a QR code relating to a machine, and transmission of corresponding configuration data to the machine e.g., see Ratakondo Figs. 1-2, [0026-0029].
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Kondo and Ratakonda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 25. The combination of Kondo and Ratakonda also teaches
displays, on the touchscreen, a virtual code reading start button to receive an input to start reading the at least one code; and
starts the camera when the code reading start button is tap-operated (Ratakonda Fig. 1B, [0026-0027], it is known to have a button to start a camera, which can then be used to scan a QR code; see also Ratakonda Fig. 2A, [0029], in which an element/button can be pressed to turn on a camera for capturing a QR code).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Kondo and Ratakonda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 25. The combination of Kondo and Ratakonda also teaches wherein
the processor starts the camera when a program icon that is displayed on the touchscreen and that represents a program installed on the mobile terminal is tap-operated (Ratakonda Fig. 1B, [0026-0027], it is known to have a button/icon to start a camera, which can then be used to scan a QR code; see also Ratakonda Fig. 2A, [0029], in which an element/icon can be pressed to turn on a camera for capturing a QR code).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Kondo and Ratakonda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 26. Claim 33 also corresponds to 27 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Kondo and Ratakonda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 26. Claim 34 also corresponds to 28 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 29, 31, 35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konda and Ratakonda, as applied in claim 25, and further in view of Bartec (Bartec Tech 400SD, User Guide 3.0, dated April 2014).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Kondo and Ratakonda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 25. The combination of Kondo and Ratakonda also teaches wherein
the at least one pump includes a first pump and a second pump,
the at least one code includes a first code that stores the characteristic data of the first pump and a second code that stores the characteristic data of the second pump (Kondo [0032-0034], there may be two pumps in the machine, and on a casing there may be two bar codes, which each represent characteristic data of a respective pump; the bar code reader scans the codes, obtains the characteristic data, and stores it in memory).
However, the combination of Kondo and Ratakonda does not expressly disclose displays, on the touchscreen, a first display frame to display information on the first pump and a second display frame to display information on the second pump; displays a pump icon in each of the first display frame and the second display frame, the pump icon representing the hydraulic pump equipment and including a first region and a second region, the first region indicating a position of the first pump, the second region indicating a position of the second pump; displays the pump icon in the first display frame in a manner to highlight the first region; and displays the pump icon in the second display frame in a manner to highlight the second region.
In the same field of endeavor, Bartec teaches the processor:
displays, on the touchscreen, a first display frame to display information on the first pump and a second display frame to display information on the second pump;
displays a pump icon in each of the first display frame and the second display frame, the pump icon representing the hydraulic pump equipment and including a first region and a second region, the first region indicating a position of the first pump, the second region indicating a position of the second pump;
displays the pump icon in the first display frame in a manner to highlight the first region; and
displays the pump icon in the second display frame in a manner to highlight the second region (pages 13, 20, Bartec relates to a frame/screen of a graphical user interface that displays a device e.g., a sensor, where the user is interacting with one of multiple elements on the device; there can be separate frames/screens corresponding to which element the user is interacting with; in each frame/screen, there is an arrow icon representing the element, and it is pointing to a region on the device where the element is).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated displays, on the touchscreen, a first display frame to display information on the first pump and a second display frame to display information on the second pump; displays a pump icon in each of the first display frame and the second display frame, the pump icon representing the hydraulic pump equipment and including a first region and a second region, the first region indicating a position of the first pump, the second region indicating a position of the second pump; displays the pump icon in the first display frame in a manner to highlight the first region; and displays the pump icon in the second display frame in a manner to highlight the second region as suggested in Bartec into Kondo and Ratakonda because Kondo/Ratakonda and Bartec pertain to analogous fields of technology. Kondo/Ratakonda pertains to a touchscreen device that can be used to scan QR codes located in different regions on a device, to obtain data from those QR codes for use in configuration. Bartec also pertains to a device that can be used to interact with elements located in different regions on a device, to obtain data from those elements for use in configuration. In Bartec, the system displays two frames/screens corresponding to the elements, and in each frame/screen, there is an icon helping a user find and identify the corresponding element. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Kondo/Ratakonda, so that users could more easily find elements on a device to facilitate obtaining configuration data e.g., see Bartec pages 13 and 20.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Kondo, Ratakonda and Bartec teaches the invention as claimed in claim 29. The combination of Kondo, Ratakonda and Bartec also teaches wherein when the camera has captured an image of the first code or the second code two times consecutively, the processor displays, on the touchscreen, that reading performed for the second time is an error (Ratakonda [0018], when a user scans the same QR code using a tool, the tool will notify the user that there has been an error).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Kondo and Ratakonda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 26. Claim 35 also corresponds to claim 29 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Kondo, Ratakonda and Bartec teaches the invention as claimed in claim 35. Claim 37 also corresponds to claim 31 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 30 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo, Ratakonda and Bartec, as applied in claim 29, and further in view of Guiding Tech (YouTube video, username Guiding Tech, "How to Scan a QR Code in Android," published March 15, 2021, downloaded from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvCg29f5bYI).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Kondo, Ratakonda and Bartec teaches the invention as claimed in claim 29. The combination of Kondo, Ratakonda and Bartec also teaches
when the camera has captured an image of the first code, stores the characteristic data of the first pump in the memory; and
when the camera has captured an image of the second code, stores the characteristic data of the second pump in the memory (see Kondo [0032-0034], there may be two pumps in the machine, and on a casing there may be two bar codes, which each represent characterstic data of a respective pump; the bar code reader scans the codes, obtains the characteristic data, and stores it in memory; see also Ratakonda Figs. 1B, 2B, indicating example screens on a touchscreen device for capturing a QR code).
However, the combination of Kondo, Ratakonda and Bartec does not expressly disclose wherein the processor: changes a color of the first display frame; changes a color of the second display frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Guiding Tech teaches the processor: changes a color of the first display frame; changes a color of the second display frame (0:59-1:10, when a screen/frame of a touchscreen device views and captures a QR code and obtains data, the colors of the screen/frame may change; for example, a white panel may appear in the bottom or in the middle to highlight information related to the QR code).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the processor: changes a color of the first display frame; changes a color of the second display frame as suggested in Guiding Tech into Kondo, Ratakonda and Bartec, because Kondo/Ratakonda/Bartec and Guiding Tech pertain to analogous fields of technology. Kondo/Ratakonda/Bartec pertains to touchscreen device in which in two distinct screens/frames corresponding to two different QR codes, a user can scan and obtain data from a QR code. Guiding Tech also pertains to a screen/frame used to capture a QR code. In Guiding Tech, in a particular screen/frame, when the QR is successfully captured, there may be color changes to the screen/frame. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Kondo/Ratakonda/Bartec, so that panels can be introduced to provide additional information relating to the scanned QR code e.g., see Guiding Tech 0:59-1:10.
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Kondo, Ratakonda and Bartec teaches the invention as claimed in claim 35. Claim 36 also corresponds to claim 30 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 32 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo and Ratakonda, as applied in claim 25, and further in view of Marston (US 2014/0096057).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Kondo and Ratakonda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 25. However, the combination of Kondo and Ratakonda does not expressly disclose wherein the processor: displays, on the touchscreen, a virtual characteristic data reset button to receive an input to reset the characteristic data that has been transmitted to the control circuitry or to the wireless LAN router; and causes the wireless communicator to transmit a signal to reset the characteristic data to the control circuitry or to the wireless LAN router when the characteristic data reset button is tap-operated.
In the same field of endeavor, Marston teaches wherein the processor:
displays, on the touchscreen, a virtual characteristic data reset button to receive an input to reset the characteristic data that has been transmitted to the control circuitry or to the wireless LAN router; and
causes the wireless communicator to transmit a signal to reset the characteristic data to the control circuitry or to the wireless LAN router when the characteristic data reset button is tap-operated (Fig. 71, [0164], it is known in an touch-sensitive interface to have a reset setup button, which reverses any submitted configurations and goes back to original settings e.g., factory default).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the processor: displays, on the touchscreen, a virtual characteristic data reset button to receive an input to reset the characteristic data that has been transmitted to the control circuitry or to the wireless LAN router; and causes the wireless communicator to transmit a signal to reset the characteristic data to the control circuitry or to the wireless LAN router when the characteristic data reset button is tap-operated as suggested in Marston into Kondo and Ratakonda, because Kondo/Ratakonda and Marston pertain to analogous fields of technology. Kondo/Ratakonda pertains to a touch-sensitive graphical user interface for scanning a QR code and obtaining data to configure a device. Marston also pertains to a touch sensitive interface used to configure a device. In Marston, a specialized button is used to reverse configuration changes. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Kondo/Ratakonda to allow for a rollback of a configuration update e.g., see Marston Fig. 71, [0164].
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Kondo and Ratakonda teaches the invention as claimed in claim 26. Claim 38 also corresponds to claim 32 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nadathur (US 2022/0229671) teaches system for configuring an external accessory e.g., see Nadathur Abstract.
/ERIC J YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118