DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP22154047.9, filed on 01/28/2022.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/18/2026, has been received and made of record. In response to the Non-Final Office Action, dated on 02/18/2026. Claims 16-31 are pending in the current application. Claim 31 is newly added. Claims 16-17, 19-22 and 24-30 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/18/2026 have been fully considered.
In the Arguments/Remarks:
Re: Objection to the Specification
Objection of the Abstract has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Re: Rejection of the Claims Under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)
For the sake of brevity, examiner will address each of the applicant’s arguments in respect to the claims. The arguments will reflect for each of the corresponding independent and dependent claims.
Applicant argues, beginning on page 10 of applicant’s remarks, that Beck (US 2022/0184810 A1) fails to teach “the claimed architecture where two processors both (1) perform independent primary control of two separate motors, and (2) redundantly cross-check a shared motion characteristic”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the claimed architecture where two processors both (1) perform independent primary control of two separate motors, and (2) redundantly cross-check a shared motion characteristic”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues, beginning on page 10 of applicant’s remarks, that Beck “only ever describes one motor per joint…The Office Action's assertion that a second controller controls a second motor is an improper inference, as Beck does not disclose a joint with a second motor”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Amended claim 1 recites “a second motor connecting the joint housing with a second link and the second motor being adapted to rotate the second link relative to the joint housing around a second axis non-parallel with the first axis”. Examiner submits as claim 1 is currently written, under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim that Beck teaches/suggests the argued limitation. Beck teaches/suggests “a second motor connecting the joint housing with a second link and the second motor being adapted to rotate the second link relative to the joint housing around a second axis non-parallel with the first axis”. Beck discloses, as depicts in Fig.1, a robot joint 103a connected to a joint housing and a first link. The second joint 103c is connected to the first link (which connects the second link to the joint housing) and the second link. Beck discloses in paragraph 53 “FIG. 1 illustrates a robot arm 101 comprising a plurality of robot joints 103a, 103b, 103c, 103d, 103e, 103f connecting a robot base 105 and a robot tool flange 107. A base joint 103a is configured to rotate the robot arm around a base axis 111a (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113a; a shoulder joint 103b is configured to rotate the robot arm around a shoulder axis 111b (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113b; an elbow joint 103c is configured to rotate the robot arm around an elbow axis 111c” and in paragraph 54 “Each of the joints comprises an output flange rotatable in relation to the robot joint and the output flange is connected to a neighbor robot joint either directly or via an arm section as known in the art. The robot joint comprises a joint motor configured to rotate the output flange, for instance via a gearing or directly connected to the motor shaft.”. As currently written, the argued claim language does not require the joint to have two motors as argued. The claim recites “a first motor connecting the joint housing with a first link and the first motor being adapted to rotate the first link relative to the joint housing around a first axis” and “a second motor connecting the joint housing with a second link and the second motor being adapted to rotate the second link relative to the joint housing around a second axis non-parallel with the first axis”. Examiner submits that the joint motors are connected to the respective links and joint housing as recited in claim 1. Therefore, examiner submits under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claim that Beck teaches the argued limitation. Examiner further submits that upon consideration of applicant’s arguments, the arguments are non-persuasive. Examiner has augmented the rejection in view of applicant’s amendments (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beck (US 2022/0184810 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Beck teaches a joint assembly for a robot, comprising: a joint housing, a first motor connecting the joint housing with a first link and the first motor being adapted to rotate the first link relative to the joint housing around a first axis, a second motor connecting the joint housing with a second link and the second motor being adapted to rotate the second link relative to the joint housing around a second axis non-parallel with the first axis [(see at least Figs.1-2, paragraphs 53-57) As in 53 “FIG. 1 illustrates a robot arm 101 comprising a plurality of robot joints 103a, 103b, 103c, 103d, 103e, 103f connecting a robot base 105 and a robot tool flange 107. A base joint 103a is configured to rotate the robot arm around a base axis 111a (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113a; a shoulder joint 103b is configured to rotate the robot arm around a shoulder axis 111b (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113b; an elbow joint 103c is configured to rotate the robot arm around an elbow axis 111c (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113c, a first wrist joint 103d is configured to rotate the robot arm around a first wrist axis 111d (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113d and a second wrist joint 103e is configured to rotate the robot arm around a second wrist axis 111e (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113e. Robot joint 103f is a tool joint comprising the robot tool flange 107, which is rotatable around a tool axis 111f (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113f. ” As in 57 “The robot joints 103a, 103b and 103f have been illustrated in structural form and the robot joints 103c, 103d, 103e have been omitted for the sake of simplicity of the drawing. Further the robot joints are illustrated as separate elements however it is to be understood that they are interconnected as illustrated in FIG. 1. The robot joints comprise an output flange 216a,216b,216f and a joint motor 217a, 217b, 217f, where the output flange 216a,216b,216f is rotatable in relation to the robot joint and the joint motor 217a, 217b, 217f is configured to rotate the output flange via an output axle 218a, 218b, 218f. In this embodiment the output flange 216f of the tool joint 103f comprises the tool flange 107. At least one joint sensor 219a, 219b, 219f providing a sensor signal 222a, 222b, 222f indicative of at least one joint sensor parameter J.sub.sensor,a, J.sub.sensor,b, J.sub.sensor,f of the respective joint. ”], circuitry accommodated in the joint housing and comprising a first processor and a second processor, the first processor being adapted to control the first motor and the second processor being adapted to control the second motor [(see at least Fig.3, paragraphs 54-56,79) As in 54 “The robot joint comprises a joint motor configured to rotate the output flange, for instance via a gearing or directly connected to the motor shaft. Additionally, the robot joint comprises at least one joint sensor providing a sensor signal indicative of at least one of the following parameters: an angular position of the output flange, an angular position of the motor shaft of the joint motor, a motor current of the joint motor or an external force trying to rotate the output flange or motor shaft.” As in 55 “one or more joints each comprise two sensors and two joint controllers. In this way, joint specific calculations and measurements can be established without impacting the robot controller thereby reducing risk of malfunctioning thereof, data communication between joint and robot controller and generally by performing decentral measuring and processing increase the system response time.” As in 56 “The robot arm comprises at least one robot controller arrange in a robot control box 109 and configured to control the robot joints by controlling the motor torque provided to the joint motors based on a dynamic model of the robot arm, the direction of gravity acting 112 and the joint sensor signal” As in 79 “the joint controllers 336a, 336b performs redundant calculations, redundant measurements, etc. and in case there is not completely alignment between these redundant calculations/measurements, the joint controller(s) sends a signal indicating this to the robot controller and/or to the robot safety controller. Upon receiving this signal, the robot controller starts to bring the robot arm in a stop mode. It should be mentioned, that when using the term completely it is understood that a certain tolerance in measurements are accepted due to timing, measurement noise, sensor resolution, etc.”], wherein the first processor is configured to receive a first primary sensor signal indicative of a first motion characteristic of the first link relative to the joint housing and configured to calculate the first motion characteristic of the first link relative to the joint housing at least based on the first primary sensor signal, and wherein the second processor configured to receive a first secondary sensor signal indicative of the first motion characteristic of the first link relative to the joint housing and configured to calculate the first motion characteristic of the first link relative to the joint housing at least based on the first secondary sensor signal. [(see at least Figs.2-3, paragraph 57) “At least one joint sensor 219a, 219b, 219f providing a sensor signal 222a, 222b, 222f indicative of at least one joint sensor parameter J.sub.sensor,a, J.sub.sensor,b, J.sub.sensor,f of the respective joint. The joint sensor parameter (also generic referred to as operation parameters) is at least indicative of at least one of a pose parameter indicating the position and orientation of the output flange in relation to the robot joints for instance: an angular position of the output flange, an angular position of a shaft of the joint motor, a motor current of the joint motor.”]
Regarding claim 17, Beck teaches wherein the first processor and/or the second processor are adapted to compare the first motion characteristic of the first link relative to the joint housing calculated by the first processor at least based on the first primary sensor signal with the first motion characteristic of the first link relative to the joint housing calculated by the second processor at least based on the first secondary sensor signal, and wherein, in accordance with the comparison revealing that the calculated first motion characteristics differ bymore than a differing threshold, the first processor causes the first motor to stop and/or the second processor causes the second motor to stop. [(see at least paragraphs 7, 12,59) As in 7 “wherein the basic control software is associated with a set of safety limits each having normal values limiting operation of the robot arm when controlled by the robot process controller according to the basic control software, wherein the process control software is associated with at least one safety limit of the set of safety limits having a process value which is different from the normal value, wherein the process value of at least one safety limit is configured to be changed while the robot system is in run-time mode, and wherein the robot safety controller is configured to bring the robot arm into a violation stop mode if an evaluation of one or more operation parameter made results in a violation of the more restrictive of the normal value and the process value of the at least one safety limit.” As in 12 “Robot safety controller should be understood as a controller monitoring the operation of the robot arm and if the value of a defined monitored operation parameters exceeds a defined threshold values such as a safety limit, the robot safety controller brings the robot arm in the violation stop mode. The Robot safety controller can be implemented as any processing device for instance as a PLC (Programmable Logic Controller), a CPU (Central Processing Unit), a plurality of processing units, micro controllers etc.”]
Regarding claim 18, Beck teaches wherein the first motor comprises a first control interface and the second motor comprises a second control interface, and wherein the first control interface is facing towards the second control interface. [(see at least paragraph 56) “The robot arm comprises at least one robot controller arrange in a robot control box 109 and configured to control the robot joints by controlling the motor torque provided to the joint motors based on a dynamic model of the robot arm, the direction of gravity acting 112 and the joint sensor signal. The robot controller can be provided as a computer comprising in interface device 104 enabling a user to communicate with the robot, for instance to control and program the robot arm. The controller can be provided as an external device for instance arranged in a robot control box 109 as illustrated in FIG. 1”]
Regarding claim 19, Beck teaches wherein the first processor is configured to receive the first primary sensor signal from a first primary sensor, and/or wherein the second processor is configured to receive the first secondary sensor signal from a first secondary sensor. [(see at least paragraphs 28, 54-57) As in 57 “At least one joint sensor 219a, 219b, 219f providing a sensor signal 222a, 222b, 222f indicative of at least one joint sensor parameter J.sub.sensor,a, J.sub.sensor,b, J.sub.sensor,f of the respective joint. The joint sensor parameter (also generic referred to as operation parameters) is at least indicative of at least one of a pose parameter indicating the position and orientation of the output flange in relation to the robot joints for instance: an angular position of the output flange, an angular position of a shaft of the joint motor, a motor current of the joint motor.”]
Regarding claim 20, Beck teaches wherein the first primary sensor is one of a first primary output position sensor configured to obtain angular position of the first link relative to the joint housing, a first primary rotor position sensor configured to obtain angular position of a rotor of the first motor, a first primary current sensor configured to measure current drawn by the first motor, and a first primary torque sensor. [(see at least paragraphs 54,58) As in 54 “Additionally, the robot joint comprises at least one joint sensor providing a sensor signal indicative of at least one of the following parameters: an angular position of the output flange, an angular position of the motor shaft of the joint motor, a motor current of the joint motor or an external force trying to rotate the output flange or motor shaft. For instance, the angular position of the output flange can be indicated by an output encoder such as optical encoders, magnetic encoders which can indicate the angular position of the output flange in relation to the robot joint. Similarly, the angular position of the joint motor shaft can be provided by an input encoder such as optical encoders, magnetic encoders which can indicate the angular position of the motor shaft in relation to the robot joint. It is noted that both output encoders indicating the angular position of the output flange and input encoders indicating the angular position of the motor shaft can be provided, which in embodiments where a gearing have been provided makes it possible to determine a relationship between the input and output side of the gearing. The joint sensor can also be provided as a current sensor indicating the current through the joint motor and thus be used to obtain the torque provided by the motor. For instance, in connection with a multiphase motor” As in 58 “The motor control signals 223a, 223b, 223f are indicative of the motor torque T.sub.motor,a, T.sub.motor, b, and T.sub.motor,f that each joint motor shall provide to the output flange”]
Regarding claim 21, Beck teaches wherein the first secondary sensor is one of a first secondary output position sensor configured to obtain angular position of the first link relative to the joint housing, a first secondary rotor position sensor configured to obtain angular position of a rotor of the first motor, one or more first secondary current sensor configured to measure current drawn by the first motor, and a first secondary torque sensor. [(see at least paragraphs 54-58) As in 57 “The robot joints comprise an output flange 216a,216b,216f and a joint motor 217a, 217b, 217f, where the output flange 216a,216b,216f is rotatable in relation to the robot joint and the joint motor 217a, 217b, 217f is configured to rotate the output flange via an output axle 218a, 218b, 218f. In this embodiment the output flange 216f of the tool joint 103f comprises the tool flange 107. At least one joint sensor 219a, 219b, 219f providing a sensor signal 222a, 222b, 222f indicative of at least one joint sensor parameter J.sub.sensor,a, J.sub.sensor,b, J.sub.sensor,f of the respective joint. The joint sensor parameter (also generic referred to as operation parameters) is at least indicative of at least one of a pose parameter indicating the position and orientation of the output flange in relation to the robot joints for instance: an angular position of the output flange, an angular position of a shaft of the joint motor, a motor current of the joint motor.” As in 58 “The motor control signals 223a, 223b, 223f are indicative of the motor torque T.sub.motor,a, T.sub.motor, b, and T.sub.motor,f that each joint motor shall provide to the output flange”]
Regarding claim 22, Beck teaches wherein the first processor is configured to receive, e.g. from a second primary sensor, a second primary sensor signal indicative of a second motion characteristic of the second link relative to the joint housing and configured to calculate the second motion characteristic of the second link relative to the joint housing at least based on the second primary sensor signal, and wherein the second processor is configured to receive, e.g. from a second secondary sensor, a second secondary sensor signal indicative of the second motion characteristic of the second link relative to the joint housing and configured to calculate the second motion characteristic of the second link relative to the joint housing at least based on the second secondary sensor signal. [(see at least Fig.2, paragraphs 54-58) As in 54 “Additionally, the robot joint comprises at least one joint sensor providing a sensor signal indicative of at least one of the following parameters: an angular position of the output flange, an angular position of the motor shaft of the joint motor, a motor current of the joint motor or an external force trying to rotate the output flange or motor shaft. For instance, the angular position of the output flange can be indicated by an output encoder such as optical encoders, magnetic encoders which can indicate the angular position of the output flange in relation to the robot joint.” As in 55 “one or more joints each comprise two sensors and two joint controllers. In this way, joint specific calculations and measurements can be established without impacting the robot controller thereby reducing risk of malfunctioning thereof, data communication between joint and robot controller and generally by performing decentral measuring and processing increase the system response time.” As in 57 “The robot joints comprise an output flange 216a,216b,216f and a joint motor 217a, 217b, 217f, where the output flange 216a,216b,216f is rotatable in relation to the robot joint and the joint motor 217a, 217b, 217f is configured to rotate the output flange via an output axle 218a, 218b, 218f. In this embodiment the output flange 216f of the tool joint 103f comprises the tool flange 107. At least one joint sensor 219a, 219b, 219f providing a sensor signal 222a, 222b, 222f indicative of at least one joint sensor parameter J.sub.sensor,a, J.sub.sensor,b, J.sub.sensor,f of the respective joint. The joint sensor parameter (also generic referred to as operation parameters) is at least indicative of at least one of a pose parameter indicating the position and orientation of the output flange in relation to the robot joints for instance: an angular position of the output flange, an angular position of a shaft of the joint motor, a motor current of the joint motor.” As in 58 “The dynamic model of the robot arm can be stored in the controller memory 221 and be adjusted based on the joint sensor parameters J.sub.sensor,a, J.sub.sensor,b, J.sub.sensor,f For instance, the joint motors can be provided as multiphase electromotors and the robot controller can be configured to adjust the motor torque provided by the joint motors by regulating the current through the phases of the multiphase motors as known in the art of motor regulation.”]
Regarding claim 23, Beck teaches robot comprising a first joint assembly according to the joint assembly of claim 16. [(see at least paragraph 21) “the robot system is configured to bring the robot arm in a protective stop mode if the robot process controller estimates that an operation parameter violates the more restrictive of the normal value and the process value of the at least one safety limit is violated. This is advantageous in that it has the effect, that in case of violation or expected violation of a safety limit the robot arm enters a soft stop mode that does not include power off and activation of mechanical brakes”]
Regarding claim 24, Beck teaches comprising one or more further rotatable joints, and wherein the first processor is configured to receive one or more further primary signals indicative of one or more motion characteristics of the one or more further rotatable joints and configured to calculate the one or more motion characteristics of each of the one or more further rotatable joints at least based on the one or more further primary signals, and wherein the second processor is configured to receive one or more further secondary signals indicative of the one or more motion characteristics of the one or more further rotatable joints and configured to calculate the one or more motion characteristics of the one or more further rotatable joints at least based on the one or more further secondary signal. [(see at least Fig.2, paragraphs 53-58) As in 53 “FIG. 1 illustrates a robot arm 101 comprising a plurality of robot joints 103a, 103b, 103c, 103d, 103e, 103f connecting a robot base 105 and a robot tool flange 107. A base joint 103a is configured to rotate the robot arm around a base axis 111a (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113a; a shoulder joint 103b is configured to rotate the robot arm around a shoulder axis 111b (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113b; an elbow joint 103c is configured to rotate the robot arm around an elbow axis 111c (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113c, a first wrist joint 103d is configured to rotate the robot arm around a first wrist axis 111d (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113d and a second wrist joint 103e is configured to rotate the robot arm” As in 57 “ The robot joints 103a, 103b and 103f have been illustrated in structural form and the robot joints 103c, 103d, 103e have been omitted for the sake of simplicity of the drawing. Further the robot joints are illustrated as separate elements however it is to be understood that they are interconnected as illustrated in FIG. 1. The robot joints comprise an output flange 216a,216b,216f and a joint motor 217a, 217b, 217f, where the output flange 216a,216b,216f is rotatable in relation to the robot joint and the joint motor 217a, 217b, 217f is configured to rotate the output flange via an output axle 218a, 218b, 218f. In this embodiment the output flange 216f of the tool joint 103f comprises the tool flange 107. At least one joint sensor 219a, 219b, 219f providing a sensor signal 222a, 222b, 222f indicative of at least one joint sensor parameter J.sub.sensor,a, J.sub.sensor,b, J.sub.sensor,f of the respective joint. The joint sensor parameter (also generic referred to as operation parameters) is at least indicative of at least one of a pose parameter indicating the position and orientation of the output flange in relation to the robot joints for instance: an angular position of the output flange, an angular position of a shaft of the joint motor, a motor current of the joint motor. For instance, the angular position of the output flange can be indicated by an output encoder such as optical encoders, magnetic encoders which can indicate the angular position of the output flange in relation to the robot joint.”]
Regarding claim 25, Beck teaches comprising a plurality of motors including the first motor and the second motor, configured to cause relative rotation around a plurality of respective axes including the first axis and the second axis, and wherein the plurality of motors are at least 6 motors and the plurality of respective axes are at least 6 axes. [(see at least paragraphs 53-58) As in 56 “The robot arm comprises at least one robot controller arrange in a robot control box 109 and configured to control the robot joints by controlling the motor torque provided to the joint motors based on a dynamic model of the robot arm, the direction of gravity acting 112 and the joint sensor signal. The robot controller can be provided as a computer comprising in interface device 104 enabling a user to communicate with the robot, for instance to control and program the robot arm.” As in 53 “FIG. 1 illustrates a robot arm 101 comprising a plurality of robot joints 103a, 103b, 103c, 103d, 103e, 103f connecting a robot base 105 and a robot tool flange 107.A base joint 103a is configured to rotate the robot arm around a base axis 111a (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113a; a shoulder joint 103b is configured to rotate the robot arm around a shoulder axis 111b (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113b; an elbow joint 103c is configured to rotate the robot arm around an elbow axis 111c (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113c, a first wrist joint 103d is configured to rotate the robot arm around a first wrist axis 111d (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113d and a second wrist joint 103e is configured to rotate the robot arm around a second wrist axis 111e (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113e. Robot joint 103f is a tool joint comprising the robot tool flange 107, which is rotatable around a tool axis 111f (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113f. The illustrated robot arm is thus a six-axis robot arm with six degrees of freedom, however it is noticed that the present invention can be provided in robot arms comprising fewer or more robot joints, further it is to be understood that the robot joint also may comprise prismatic joints or a combination of both rotational joints and prismatic joints.” As in 57 “FIG. 2 illustrates a simplified structural diagram of the robot arm illustrated in FIG. 1. The robot joints 103a, 103b and 103f have been illustrated in structural form and the robot joints 103c, 103d, 103e have been omitted for the sake of simplicity of the drawing. Further the robot joints are illustrated as separate elements however it is to be understood that they are interconnected as illustrated in FIG. 1. The robot joints comprise an output flange 216a,216b,216f and a joint motor 217a, 217b, 217f, ”]
Regarding claim 26, Beck teaches comprising a second joint assembly comprising:- a second joint housing, wherein the second link extends between the joint housing of the first joint assembly and the second joint housing, - a third motor connecting the second joint housing with the second link and the third motor being adapted to rotate the second link relative to the second joint housing around a third axis, - second circuitry accommodated in the second joint housing and comprising a third processor and a fourth processor, the third processor being adapted to control the third motor, wherein the third processing unit receives, e.g. from a third primary sensor, a third primary sensor signal indicative of a third motion characteristic of the second link relative to the second joint housing and configured to calculate the third motion characteristic of the second link relative to the second joint housing at least based on the third primary sensor signal, and wherein the fourth processor is configured to receive, e.g. from a third secondary sensor, a third secondary sensor signal indicative of the third motion characteristic of the second link relative to the second joint housing and configured to calculate the third motion characteristic of the second link relative to the second joint housing at least based on the third secondary sensor signal. [(see at least Figs.2-3, paragraphs 53-58) As in 54 “Each of the joints comprises an output flange rotatable in relation to the robot joint and the output flange is connected to a neighbor robot joint either directly or via an arm section as known in the art. The robot joint comprises a joint motor configured to rotate the output flange, for instance via a gearing or directly connected to the motor shaft.” As in 54 “FIG. 1 illustrates a robot arm 101 comprising a plurality of robot joints 103a, 103b, 103c, 103d, 103e, 103f connecting a robot base 105 and a robot tool flange 107. A base joint 103a is configured to rotate the robot arm around a base axis 111a (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113a; a shoulder joint 103b is configured to rotate the robot arm around a shoulder axis 111b (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113b; an elbow joint 103c is configured to rotate the robot arm around an elbow axis 111c (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113c, a first wrist joint 103d is configured to rotate the robot arm around a first wrist axis 111d (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113d and a second wrist joint 103e is configured to rotate the robot arm around a second wrist axis 111e (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113e. Robot joint 103f is a tool joint comprising the robot tool flange 107, which is rotatable around a tool axis 111f (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113f. The illustrated robot arm is thus a six-axis robot arm with six degrees of freedom, however it is noticed that the present invention can be provided in robot arms comprising fewer or more robot joints, further it is to be understood that the robot joint also may comprise prismatic joints or a combination of both rotational joints and prismatic joints.”]
Regarding claim 27, Beck teaches wherein the third processor and/or the fourth processor configured to receive a first overall motion characteristic signal from the first processor and/or the second processor indicative of a first overall motion characteristic of the second link relative to a common reference point, and wherein the third processor and/or the fourth processor configured to calculate a second overall motion characteristic of the second joint housing relative to the common reference point based on the first overall motion characteristic signal. [(see at least paragraphs 54-58) As in 54 “Each of the joints comprises an output flange rotatable in relation to the robot joint and the output flange is connected to a neighbor robot joint either directly or via an arm section as known in the art. The robot joint comprises a joint motor configured to rotate the output flange, for instance via a gearing or directly connected to the motor shaft. Additionally, the robot joint comprises at least one joint sensor providing a sensor signal indicative of at least one of the following parameters: an angular position of the output flange, an angular position of the motor shaft of the joint motor, a motor current of the joint motor or an external force trying to rotate the output flange or motor shaft. For instance, the angular position of the output flange can be indicated by an output encoder such as optical encoders, magnetic encoders which can indicate the angular position of the output flange in relation to the robot joint” As in 57 “In this embodiment the output flange 216f of the tool joint 103f comprises the tool flange 107. At least one joint sensor 219a, 219b, 219f providing a sensor signal 222a, 222b, 222f indicative of at least one joint sensor parameter J.sub.sensor,a, J.sub.sensor,b, J.sub.sensor,f of the respective joint. The joint sensor parameter (also generic referred to as operation parameters) is at least indicative of at least one of a pose parameter indicating the position and orientation of the output flange in relation to the robot joints for instance: an angular position of the output flange, an angular position of a shaft of the joint motor, a motor current of the joint motor. For instance, the angular position of the output flange can be indicated by an output encoder such as optical encoders, magnetic encoders which can indicate the angular position of the output flange”]
Regarding claim 28, Beck teaches wherein the first processor and/or the second processor configured to receive, from the third processor and/or the fourth processor, a third motion characteristic signal indicative of the third motion characteristic of the second link relative to the second joint housing, and wherein the first processor and/or the second processor configured to calculate a second overall motion characteristic of the second joint housing relative to the common reference point based on the third motion characteristic signal. [(see at least Figs.2-3, paragraphs 53-58) As in 54 “Each of the joints comprises an output flange rotatable in relation to the robot joint and the output flange is connected to a neighbor robot joint either directly or via an arm section as known in the art. The robot joint comprises a joint motor configured to rotate the output flange, for instance via a gearing or directly connected to the motor shaft.” As in 54 “FIG. 1 illustrates a robot arm 101 comprising a plurality of robot joints 103a, 103b, 103c, 103d, 103e, 103f connecting a robot base 105 and a robot tool flange 107. A base joint 103a is configured to rotate the robot arm around a base axis 111a (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113a; a shoulder joint 103b is configured to rotate the robot arm around a shoulder axis 111b (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113b; an elbow joint 103c is configured to rotate the robot arm around an elbow axis 111c (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113c, a first wrist joint 103d is configured to rotate the robot arm around a first wrist axis 111d (illustrated as a cross indicating the axis) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113d and a second wrist joint 103e is configured to rotate the robot arm around a second wrist axis 111e (illustrated by a dashed dotted line) as illustrated by rotation arrow 113e.”]
Regarding claim 29, Beck teaches wherein the second joint assembly comprises a fourth motor connecting the second joint housing with the third link and the fourth motor being adapted to rotate the third link relative to the second joint housing around a fourth axis non-parallel with the third axis, the fourth processor being adapted to control the fourth motor. [(see at least paragraphs 53-58) As in 54 “The robot joint comprises a joint motor configured to rotate the output flange, for instance via a gearing or directly connected to the motor shaft. Additionally, the robot joint comprises at least one joint sensor providing a sensor signal indicative of at least one of the following parameters: an angular position of the output flange, an angular position of the motor shaft of the joint motor, a motor current of the joint motor or an external force trying to rotate the output flange or motor shaft.” As in 57 “The robot joints 103a, 103b and 103f have been illustrated in structural form and the robot joints 103c, 103d, 103e have been omitted for the sake of simplicity of the drawing. Further the robot joints are illustrated as separate elements however it is to be understood that they are interconnected as illustrated in FIG. 1. The robot joints comprise an output flange 216a,216b,216f and a joint motor 217a, 217b, 217f, where the output flange 216a,216b,216f is rotatable in relation to the robot joint and the joint motor 217a, 217b, 217f is configured to rotate the output flange via an output axle 218a, 218b, 218f. In this embodiment the output flange 216f of the tool joint 103f comprises the tool flange 107.”]
Regarding claim 30, Beck teaches wherein the third processor configured to receive, e.g. from a fourth primary sensor, a fourth primary sensor signal indicative of a fourth motion characteristic of the third link relative to the second joint housing and configured to calculate the fourth motion characteristic of the third link relative to the second joint housing at least based on the fourth primary sensor signal, and wherein the fourth processor configured to receive, e.g. from a fourth secondary sensor, a fourth secondary sensor signal indicative of the fourth motion characteristic of the third link relative to the first joint housing and configured to calculate the fourth motion characteristic of the third link relative to the first joint housing at least based on the fourth secondary sensor signal. [(see at least paragraphs 53-58) As in 58 “The robot controller 202 also referred to as robot process controller comprises a controller processer 220 and controller memory 221 and is configured to control the joint motors of the robot joints by providing motor control signals 223a, 223b, 223f to the joint motors. The motor control signals 223a, 223b, 223f are indicative of the motor torque T.sub.motor,a, T.sub.motor, b, and T.sub.motor,f that each joint motor shall provide to the output flanges, and the robot controller is configured to determine the motor torque based on a dynamic model of the robot arm as known in the prior art. The dynamic model makes it possible for the controller to calculate which torque the joint motors shall provide to each of the joint motors to make the robot arm perform a desired movement. The dynamic model of the robot arm can be stored in the controller memory 221 and be adjusted based on the joint sensor parameters J.sub.sensor,a, J.sub.sensor,b, J.sub.sensor,f For instance, the joint motors can be provided as multiphase electromotors and the robot controller can be configured to adjust the motor torque provided by the joint motors by regulating the current through the phases of the multiphase motors as known in the art of motor regulation.”]
Regarding claim 31, Beck teaches wherein the first motor comprises a first control interface and the second motor comprises a second control interface, and wherein the first processor is electrically connected to the first control interface to thereby control the first motor, and the second processor is electrically connected to the second control interface to thereby control the second motor. [(see at least paragraphs 66) “As noted above, the basic operation of the robot arm 301 is controlled by means of basic control software. This means that a user can provide waypoints and move commands to the robot controller 302 (e.g. via the interface device 104) and then based on this input, the robot controller is able to, based on the basic control software, control the joints of the robot arm to move between the waypoints according to the provided instructions.” As in 85 “In the situation where the process control software is controlling a robot tool, the actuators and sensors are electrically connected to I/O ports associated with the robot controller. When this is done and the process control software is uploaded to the robot controller, the robot controller based on the combination of basic control software and process control software is able to control the robot arm including an eventual robot tool. When uploaded, at least part of the operation values including the safety limits of the process control software are changeable without changing mode of the robot arm to a powered off mode.”]
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED YOUSEF ABUELHAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656