DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 14-16, 18, 19, 22, 24-26, 28, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hart et al. (US 11396196).
Regarding claim 1, Hart et al. disclose “a flexible stamp (Figures, column 4, lines 45-46) configured for nanoimprinting, comprising: at least one substantially flexible substrate (item 110, column 4, lines 45-46), said substrate comprising at least one textured area (see the area of the pillars in Figures 6 and 7); at least one functional element (item 120); and at least two conductive tracks which are connected or connectable to at least one functional element (Figure 7, multiple connections to each pillar; column 5, lines 2-6); wherein at least one functional element fully covers and/or overlaps with at least one textured area and/or wherein at least one functional element is positioned outside the textured area (Figures 7a-c).” Regarding claim 2, Hart et al. further disclose “wherein at least one functional element is a conductive element, in particular an electrically conductive element and/or a thermally conductive element (column 5, lines 6-8).” Regarding claim 4, Hart et al. further disclose “wherein at least part of at least one functional element is made of an electrically conductive material, wherein the at least one conductive material comprises at least one metal, at least one non-metallic inorganic compound and/or at least one electrically conductive polymer (column 5, lines 6-8).” Regarding claim 14, Hart et al. further disclose “wherein at least one functional element is chosen from the group of: an electrical component, a heating element, a load cell array, a gripper array, a sensor, a strain sensor, a temperature sensor, a recognition tag, RFID tag and/or a piezo element (column 5, lines 47-50).” Regarding claim 15, Hart et al. further disclose “wherein at least one functional element comprises at least one electric circuit (Figure 7a, column 5, lines 46-53).” Regarding claim 16, Hart et al. further disclose “wherein at least one functional element is provided upon a surface the substrate and/or wherein at least part of at least one functional element is embedded in the substrate (Figure 7a, Figure 1).” Regarding claim 18, Hart et al. further disclose “wherein at least one substrate comprises a front surface and a rear surface, wherein at least one further functional element is at the rear surface of the substrate and the textured area is at the front surface (Figures 7a-c: see the single line connecting to the voltage source).” Regarding claim 19, Hart et al. further disclose “comprising multiple functional elements, wherein at least one functional element fully covers and/or overlaps with at least one textured area and wherein at least one functional element is positioned outside the textured area (Figures 7a-c).” Regarding claim 22, Hart et al. further disclose “wherein at least part of at least one conductive track is provided upon a surface the substrate and/or wherein at least part of at least one conductive track is embedded in the substrate and/or wherein at least one conductive track is positioned at a distance from the textured area (Figure 7a).” Regarding claim 24, Hart et al. further disclose “comprising at least two electrical contacts, wherein each electrical contact is connected to or connectable with at least one conductive track (Figure 7a).” Regarding claim 25, Hart et al. further disclose “wherein at least one electrical contact is at least partially galvanic, capacitive and/or inductive (Figures 7a-c).” Regarding claim 26, no structure is recited which defines over the structure of Hart et al., as at least one electrical contact is not required by the claim. Regarding claim 28, Hart et al. disclose the stamp of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above). Since no specific steps other than “providing” each element of the stamp are recited in claim 28, Hart et al. are deemed to meet all of the claim limitations.
Regarding claim 30, Hart et al. further disclose “a system for nanoimprinting, configured for retaining at least one stamp according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above) and said system comprising at least one steering structure for electrical steering of the stamp (see the arrow Figure 7c: Examiner interprets whatever structure is used to cause the relative motion to be the recited ‘steering structure’).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al.
Regarding claim 6, Hart et al. disclose all that is claimed, as in claim 1 above, except “wherein at least one conductive material comprises at least one doped metal oxides, wherein at least part of at least one functional element is made of at least one conductive material.” However, Hart et al. do teach that “the conductive layer can include a variety of appropriate conductive materials, such as TiN, silver, and gold, among others (column 5, lines 6-8). It has been held that selection based upon a suitability for an intended purpose is prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.07. Examiner takes Official Notice that, at the time of filing of the invention, indium-tin oxide was a known conductive material and/or that it was used as an electrode. Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use indium-tin oxide as the conductive material because of its known conductivity and/or because of its known use as an electrode.
Regarding claim 29, Hart et al. further disclose “wherein the textured area is” provided “upon the substrate after the substrate is provided with at least one functional element (column 8, lines 21-230), but fail to disclose that the providing is done by imprinting. However, Hart et al. do disclose using lithography (column 8, line 30). Examiner takes Official Notice that, at the time of the invention, that imprint lithography was a known method of lithography to provide a patterned layer. Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use imprint lithography to provide the patterned layer of Hart et al. because it was known in the art to be suitable for the intended purpose.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hart et al. in view of Blanchet et al. (US 20080248205). Regarding claims 7-9, Hart et al. disclose all that is claimed, as in claim 1 above, including that the substrate can be polymeric substrates (column 4, line 39), but do not disclose what material or the thickness of the substrate layer. Blanchet et al. disclose that in similar stamps, the substrate material can be made from PET (paragraph 32) and have thickness of 2 mils (51 microns) (paragraph 34) in order to have a support that is sufficiently flexible to be able to conforming the relief structure of the stamp to the substrate to be printed (paragraph 32). It has been held that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP §2144.07. Therefore, at the time of the filing of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use PET having a thickness of 51 microns as the substrate of et al. because it has been shown in the art to be suitable for the intended purpose. PET is also known to be transparent and/or translucent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/17/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Examiner has not interpreted the electrodes as the functional element. This is not true. Examiner cited the conductive layer 120 as the functional element. Examiner further notes that column 5, lines 2-5, show that the conductive layer 120 includes the plurality of electrodes.
Applicant further argues that Hart et al. do not disclose at least two conductive tracks connected or connectable to at least one functional element. This is not true. Each electrode in Figure 7a has a connection to the power source. Examiner interprets these multiple connections to be “at least two conductive tracks”. Furthermore, the claim only requires a) that they be “connectable” or b) that they be connected to “at least one functional element.” With respect to a), Examiner interprets “connectable” to mean that it is possible to alter the structure to provide a connection. In this sense, it is possible to provide another wire/trace/track to connect to a selected electrode. With respect to b), the language does not require that the tracks be directly connected to a given electrode. In this sense, Examiner interprets, for example, tracks from two different electrodes 714 to be indirectly connected to each other (since they are both connected to the same power source), and therefore, each track is indirectly connected to one of two electrodes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853