DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 10-11 of Remarks, filed 10/1/25, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-15 and 21-25 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 11 of Remarks, with respect to the objection of the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the drawings has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dhawan et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0046879).
Consider claim 1. Dhawan et al. discloses a data augmentation apparatus comprising: at least one memory that is configured to store instructions (fig. 1 shows a memory 118); and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions (fig. 1 shows a processing system 116) to: acquire source time-series data including a plurality of frames in a time series (para. 0038 describes recording a video containing a series of frames); and generate augmented time-series data from the source time-series data by executing, on one or more pieces of target time-series data that are included in the source time- series data and configured by a plurality of consecutive frames belonging to a same class as each other, a deletion process of deleting target time-series data, a length change process of changing a length of the target time-series data, or a position change process of changing a position of the target time-series data on a time axis (para. 0049 describes editing a video for length), wherein the source time-series data includes a plurality of frames belonging to different classes, and wherein the class represents a scene or a situation represented by a plurality of consecutive frames belonging to that class (para. 0075 describes a scene represented as a collection of consecutive frames).
Consider claim 10. Dhawan et al. discloses the data augmentation apparatus according to the data augmentation apparatus according to wherein the source time-series data is video data, and wherein a class to which the frame belongs represents a type of work captured on that frame (para. 0032 describes a candidate frame determination module, including a scene detection module, to determine multiple candidate frames that are suitable for consideration as salient frames).
Claims 11 and 21 are rejected using similar reasoning as corresponding claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 12, 13, 15, 22, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhawan et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0046879) in view of Wang et al. (US Pat. No. 10,158,907).
Consider claim 2. Dhawan et al. discloses all claimed limitations as stated above, except wherein the length change process includes: a process of lengthening the target time-series data by copying one or more frames included in the target time-series data; or a process of shortening the target time-series data by deleting one or more frames included in the target time-series data.
However, Wang et al. teaches wherein the length change process includes: a process of lengthening the target time-series data by copying one or more frames included in the target time-series data (col. 15, lines 3-7 describe modifying video by repeating frames); or a process of shortening the target time-series data by deleting one or more frames included in the target time-series data (col. 15, lines 3-7 describe modifying video by dropping frames).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, wherein the length change process includes: a process of lengthening the target time-series data by copying one or more frames included in the target time-series data; or a process of shortening the target time-series data by deleting one or more frames included in the target time-series data, in order to synchronize multiple video as suggested by the prior art.
Consider claim 3. Dhawan et al. discloses all claimed limitations as stated above, except wherein the length change process is a process of lengthening the target time-series data by causing a part or a whole of the target time-series data to be repeated in the augmented time-series data (col. 15, lines 3-7 describe modifying video by repeating frames).
Consider claim 5. The data augmentation apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the position change process is a process of changing a position of the target time-series data by exchanging positions of two pieces of the target time-series data.
However, Wang et al. teaches wherein the position change process is a process of changing a position of the target time-series data by exchanging positions of two pieces of the target time-series data (col. 15, lines 3-7 describe modifying video by interpolating frames).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, wherein the position change process is a process of changing a position of the target time-series data by exchanging positions of two pieces of the target time-series data, in order to synchronize multiple video as suggested by the prior art.
Claims 12, 13, 15, 22, 23, and 25 are rejected using similar reasoning as corresponding claims above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-9, 14, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MISHAWN N. HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484