DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments
This Office Action is in response to the communications filed June 9, 2026. Claims 17, 19, 22-31 and 33-41 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered. It is unclear what sections (e.g. page and line numbers) of the specification are being referred to by “pars.” in the arguments since the specification does not include paragraph numbering.
The rejection of claims 17, 19, 22-27 and 29-31 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) in the Office Action of February 9, 2026 are withdrawn since the respective claims have been amended.
Priority
The applicant claimed priority to foreign priority application EP 22 16 5097.1 filed in EP on March 29, 2022 but the application does not include a certified copy of foreign priority application EP 22 16 5097.1 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The replacement drawings received on June 9, 2026 are objected to because:
in FIG. 14, “e” corresponding to the “symbol-to-grid mapper” should be “e3” and “e-0” corresponding to the output of the “symbol-to-grid mapper” should be “e3-0” (see page 28, lines 1-3; and FIG. 14 of replacement sheets filed July 16, 2024);
in FIG. 17, “e2” corresponding to the “trainable grid mapping element” should be “e23” (see page 33, lines 28-30; and FIG. 17 of replacement sheets filed July 16, 2024); and
in FIG. 18, “e2” corresponding to the “trainable grid mapping element” should be “e23” (see page 34, line 11; and FIG. 18 of replacement sheets filed July 16, 2024).
Specification
The substitute specification filed June 9, 2026 has been entered.
The substitute specification of June 9, 2026 is objected to because of the following informalities:
on page 3, line 24, “and” or “or” should be inserted before “b)”;
on page 3, line 25, “and” or “or” should be inserted before “c)”;
on page 4, line 14, “and” or “or” should be inserted before “b)”;
on page 4, line 19, “and” or “or” should be inserted before “b)”;
on page 5, line 1, “and” or “or” should be inserted before “c)”;
on page 5, line 11, it is unclear what is meant by “(or a, e.g., another, transmitter)”;
on page 5, line 23, “As an example, in” should be “In”;
on page 6, line 6, “and” or “or” should be inserted before “b)”;
on page 6, line 24, “and” or “or” should be inserted before “c)”;
on page 6, line 29, “e.g.,” should be deleted;
on page 7, the text on lines 3-8 should be deleted since it duplicates the text on lines 1-2;
on page 8, line 3, “and” or “or” should be inserted before “a2)”
on page 8, line 24, “and” should be inserted before “h)”;
on page 8, line 27, “and” or “or” should be inserted before “h2)”;
on page 12, line 6, “, e.g.,” should be deleted;
on page 12, line 8, “e.g.,” should be deleted;
on page 13, “, e.g.,” on lines 22 and 24, respectively, should be deleted;
on page 13, line 25, “e.g.,” should be deleted
on page 13, line 27, “and” or “or” should be inserted before “c)”;
on page 14, line 26, “and” or “or” should be inserted before “b)”;
on page 15, lines 14-15, “for example positioning reference signal, for example for joint communication and sensing, for example for joint communication and positioning” is grammatically awkward;
on page 15, line 27, “(or a, e.g., another, transmitter)” should be “or another transmitter”;
on page 17, lines 14-15, “for example positioning reference signal, for example for joint communication and sensing, for example for joint communication and positioning” is grammatically awkward;
on page 18, the sentence on lines 1-2 should be deleted since it duplicates page 17, lines 27-28;
on page 23, line 21, “Communication” should be “communication”;
on page 30, line 24, “a a determination” should be “a determination”;
on page 30, line 28, “Receiver” should be “receiver” and “Transmitter” should be “transmitter”;
on page 31, line 26, “I.e., in” should be “In”;
on page 32, line 9, “Training” should be “training”;
on page 33, line 24, “UE,” should be deleted since FIG. 17 does not depict “UE”; and
page 35, line 27- page 36, line 32 is a single sentence that is difficult to comprehend. Furthermore, this paragraph does not incorporate the changes that are indicated in the marked-up version of the substitute specification (i.e. the clean version includes deleted text or does not included added text as indicated in the mark-up version).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 26, line 5, “the reflected portion” should be “the reflected portion” (see line 4);
in claim 28, “each of” should be inserted before “the at least” on line 4 and “each both” on line 5 should be deleted;
in claim 28, line 9, “the reflected portion” should be “the reflected portion” (see line 4);
in claim 35, line 1, “the selecting of the locations” should be “selecting the locations” (see claim 31, lines 28-29);
in claim 36, line 1, “the selecting of the locations” should be “selecting the locations” (see claim 31, lines 28-29); and
in claim 39, line 1, “the assigning of the information” should be “assigning the information” (see claim 31, line 17).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 41 recites the limitation “the detected positioning reference signal” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner suggests changing “claim 24” on line 1 to “claim 40” to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US Publication No. 2024/0255608 A1 cited in the Office Action of February 9, 2026) in view of Hwang et al. (US Publication No. 2023/0171128 A1). FIG. 13 of Ma et al. discloses the claimed invention including transmitting a first signal using symbols (see 1302); receiving at least one reflected portion of the first signal (see 1304) and determining, based on the first signal and the reflected portion of the first signal, a distance between an object at which the at least one reflected portion has been reflected and a device that transmitted the first signal (see 1306 and paragraphs [0036] and [0058]-[0059] wherein in paragraph [0036], the calculation of the delay that is used to determine the distance information is implicitly based on timing of the first signal transmission thereby reading on “based on the first signal” in the claim). However, Ma et al. does not disclose that the first signal uses symbols wherein the symbols carry data represented by information bits and is usable by a positioning technique.
Hwang et al. teaches using a symbol/signal that carries data represented by information bits and is usable by a positioning technique. (See “301” in FIG. 3; “signal which serves the purpose of pilot signal for communication as well as sensing signal fore [sic] sensing” in paragraph [0023]; and paragraph [0028]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the same symbol for both communication and sensing (as taught by Hwang et al.) in the method of Ma et al. in order to increase/improve spectrum efficiency. (See Hwang et al., paragraph [0028])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 19, 22-25, 27, 29-31, 33, 34, 37, 38, and 40 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: prior art of record does not teach or suggests in combination a computer-implemented method of processing data comprising modifying a mapping of symbols to resource elements of a resource grid of time and frequency resources of the wireless communications system using a trainable resource grid mask that identified locations of resource elements for carrying reference symbols usable for joint communication and sensing wherein the trainable resource grid mask is trained as recited in claim 17, lines 11-13. Claims 27 and 29 are allowed for similar reasons. Furthermore, prior art of record does not teach or suggests in combination a computer-implemented method of processing data comprising modifying a mapping of bits to symbol and modifying a mapping of the symbols to resources as recited in claim 31, lines 10-32.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Please note that non-cited portions of the references may also read on the claim limitations. Therefore, the references should be considered in their entirety.
/BETSY DEPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633