DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/16/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered. The examiner notes at least US 2009041830 listed in the specification (see page 3), but not on the IDS.
Claim Status
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: they do not include articles (A, An, The, etc…) at the beginning of the claims. The examiner suggests “A” for claims 1, 10, 14, and “The” for claims 2-9, 11-13, 15.
As to claim 1, the term mTBI/TBI has not been explained such that it is clear what the acronym stands for. Although the examiner believes applicants are referring to mild-traumatic brain injury and traumatic brain injury, respectively, the claims need to clearly identify the words defined by the acronym. Claims 10 and 14 recite similar limitations.
As to claim 1, the term ECL is recited in several instances in the claim after line 15, while the term electrochemiluminescent is recited in line 8. The term ECL should be paired with electrochemiluminescent in the first instance of electrochemiluminescent in order to clearly identify the acronym. Claim 10 recites similar limitations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, it is unclear what “the mixed solution” is referencing in lines 10-11 because no mixed solution has been previously recited. Therefore, this limitation has insufficient antecedent basis and is unclear. Are applicants referring to the sample and ligand L1 coupled with the ECL detection label recited in lines 6-8? Claim 10 is rejected similarly as it recites similar limitations.
As to claim 1, it is unclear what “the conductive electrode” is referencing in line 13 because no electrode has been previously recited as conductive. Therefore, this limitation has insufficient antecedent basis and is unclear. Are the one or more electrodes in line 9 intended to be recited as conductive? Claim 10 is rejected similarly as it recites similar limitations.
As to claim 1, it is unclear what “the reagents” is referencing in line 15 because no reagents have been previously recited. Therefore, this limitation has insufficient antecedent basis and is unclear. What reagents are being recited? Further, where do the reagents come from and how are they provided? Claim 10 is rejected similarly as it recites similar limitations.
As to claim 1, it is unclear if “a detector unit” in line 20 is the same as the previously recited detector unit in line 16 or a new and different detector unit. The examiner believes that the detector unit of line 20 is the same and suggests applicants recite “the” detector unit.
Claims 2-9, 11-15 are rejected based on further claim dependency.
As to claim 2, it is unclear what is attempting to be defined by the Network in line 11 because the boundaries of the claim are not discernible. The claim recites a broad limitation of the Network followed by a narrow exemplary limitation in parenthesis, and it is unclear whether the narrower limitation is required or is merely an example. See MPEP 2173.05(c) & (d).
As to claim 4, it is unclear what “the reagent reservoir(s)” is referencing because no reagent reservoir has been previously recited. Therefore, this limitation has insufficient antecedent basis and is unclear. What reagents and reservoirs are being recited? Further, where do the reagents come from and how are they provided, and if they are provided via the reservoirs then how do the reservoirs related to the rest of the claimed system/device elements.
As to claim 5, it is unclear what “it” is referencing in line 2. The examiner requests that the actual structure being referenced is clearly identified.
As to claims 6 and 7, it is unclear what a reagent retaining element is attempting to define. Where is this reagent retaining element and how does it relate to the rest of the device/system? How does the reagent retaining element function with respect to the rest of the device, and how do the recited reagents function with respect to the device function?
As to claim 8, it is unclear what “the reagents solution” is referencing because no reagents solution have been previously recited. Therefore, this limitation has insufficient antecedent basis and is unclear. What reagents solution are being recited? Further, where do the reagents solution come from and how are they provided? How does the reagents solution relate to the previously recited reagent?
As to claim 8, it is unclear what an incubation time is intending to define. Specifically, no function of the device is described with respect to incubating, and there is no step of incubating or heating, and no structure recited that appears to be capable of performing the recited function of incubating. Therefore, it is unclear what is being incubated, and how incubation relates to the rest of the claimed features.
Regarding claim 9, it is unclear how a transparent cartridge window relates to the previously recited cartridge window (134) of lines 23-24 of claim 1. Is this the same window? If the window is the same then why are the reference characters different? If the window is not the same, then where is the window of claim 9 and how does it relate to the rest of the recited cartridge?
As to claim 10, it is unclear what method step “washing step” is attempting to define in the third to last clause. What is being washed, and how is it being washed? Since the claim is a method claim, then the structure of the method should be clarified. Perhaps applicants intend to recite washing a specific feature with a specific washing component?
As to claim 13, it is unclear what is attempting to be defined because the boundaries of the claim are not discernible. The claim recites a broad limitation followed by a narrow exemplary limitation in parenthesis, and it is unclear whether the narrower limitation is required or is merely an example. See MPEP 2173.05(c) & (d). In this case, each of the recited limitatations of “antifouling”, “enrichment”, “conductivity”, and “wettability” are followed by specific limitations in parenthesis and it is unclear which ones are examples or are not required. Further, the examiner notes that line 4 recites “such as” where it becomes unclear if the recited properties are actually required or if all of the recited properties of “antifouling”, “enrichment”, “conductivity”, and “wettability” are merely examples.
As to claim 14, it is unclear what is attempting to be defined because the boundaries of the claim are not discernible. The claim recites a broad limitation followed by a narrow exemplary limitation in parenthesis, and it is unclear whether the narrower limitation is required or is merely an example. See MPEP 2173.05(c) & (d). In this case, it is unclear if “kinetic” requires “multiple follow up”, and also unclear if “analyses” requires “monitoring” or not.
Claim 14 is two sentences, where the proper form for a claim is only a singular sentence. It becomes unclear what the sentence in the last line is attempting to define and how it relates to the actual first sentence of claim 14. Further, the second sentence is claim 14 does not read clearly and it is unclear what is intending to be described since it does not appear to be a correct sentence structure or an active method step.
As to clam 15, it is unclear what “the step” of saving the results in a database is referring to. This limitation is unclear and has insufficient antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlstadter et al (WO 9812539; already of record; hereinafter “Wohlstadter”) in view of McQuiston et al (WO 2018222783; already of record; hereinafter “McQuiston”) in view of Davidson, M (Davidson, M; Microscope Objective Specifications; Nikon Microscopy U; https://web.archive.org/web/20210124212233/https://www.microscopyu.com/microscopy-basics/microscope-objective-specifications; accessed from the wayback machine and published on 1/24/21; hereinafter “Davidson”).
As to claim 1, Wohlstadter teaches a Point-of-Care (POC) in vitro diagnostic (IVD) medical device for specific biomarker detection by means of spatially resolved ECL quantitative multi-analyte immunoassays (SR-ECLIA), including an optic module, a detachable single-use analytical cartridge, and a mobile base station, wherein the cartridge is adapted to receive a sample to analyze through a sample inlet port (201) and to mix it with first biomarker(s)-specific ligands L1 coupled with an electrochemiluminescent detection label, and comprises a sensor unit including one or multiple electrodes pre-functionalized with second biomarker(s)-specific ligands L2 with which the mixed solution is reacted to form a sandwich immunoassay complex, wherein each of the first biomarker(s)-specific ligands L1 can be immobilized at a different, separate location on the conductive electrode surface(s) and being adapted to apply a potential to the pre-functionalized electrode(s) and trigger an ECL reaction between the reagents producing an ECL signal pattern to be acquired by a detector unit (130), and wherein the mobile base station is adapted to receive the cartridge via a cartridge interface and to apply a potential to the pre-functionalized electrode(s) to trigger an ECL reaction between the reagents in the sensor unit (207), and comprises a detector unit (130) for detecting said ECL signal pattern generated in the sensor unit (207) of the cartridge (101), being connected to the sensor unit (207) via an optic path (132) crossing a first window (133) on the station interfacing with the cartridge (101) via a second window on the cartridge (134) (Wohlstadter teaches a cartridge with electrodes with ECL binding domains; p. 79. Wohlstadter discloses the cartridge in claims 103-127 and in claim 112 states that the cartridge receives a sample thereby defining the sample inlet and in claim 113 says that the cartridge has a window. Wohlstadter also teaches the substrate can be transparent; p. 80, 82, 84, 150, 151, 152, 209. Wohlstadter also teaches the inlet port on p. 154 lines 6-19. Wohlstadter teaches that the cartridge includes ligand functionalized electrodes in claims 75 and 86, and also discloses that the ligands are detected via ECL, thereby creating a sandwich immunoassay complex, on page 52. Wohlstadter discloses the mobile base in figures 68-69. Wohlstadter teaches applying a potential for ECL reactions; p. 48, 70, 72, 74-77. Wohlstadter teaches a detector unit as an imaging device which can be a CCD, photodiode, or PMT; Fig. 68, p. 151-153, 179, 181, 182, 196, 209. Wohlstadter teaches that the light is sent to the detector via lenses; p. 52, 83, 112. Wohlstadter also teaches various ECL reagents; p. 154. The examiner notes that the sample and the biomarker specific ligands L1 are not positively recited and do not further define the structure of the device beyond that of a capability).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “configured to…”). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114 and 2173.05(g)). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
Although Wohlstadter teaches using ECL assays for various samples, ligands or cytokines (Wohlstadter; p. 42, 94), Wohlstadter does not specifically teach that the device is for mTBI/TBI and includes specific biomarkers for mTBI/TBI. However McQuiston teaches the analogous art of ECL where specific biomarkers are used to diagnose mTBI/TBI ( McQuiston; [9, 186, 187, 238-352]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device which can detect various samples including cytokines of Wohlstadter to have detected the specific TBI biomarkers as in McQuiston because McQuiston teaches that evaluating TBI biomarkers helps to diagnose TBI which helps identify subjects who made need further evaluation or treatment (McQuiston; [186]) and because McQuiston teaches that correct diagnosis of TBI can help provide accurate and reliable information for triage and recovery as well as aid in patient evaluation and management (McQuiston; [3]), that a diagnostic test for TBI helps to determine how well patients are recovering from treatments/therapies/prophylactics (McQuiston; [6]), and that identifying TBI is important when patients also present with a cardiac injury (McQuiston; [7]).
Modified Wohlstadter does not specifically teach that the optic module is less than 5 cm in length and comprises at least two lenses with a focal distance of less than 30 mm and numerical apertures of at least 0.6, aligned between the sensor unit and the detector unit to quantitatively transfer in a lightproof way the generated light from the sensor to the detector while maintaining spatial resolution of the light pattern, so as to permit for a maximum photon collection efficiency through said dedicated windows on the device and cartridge. However, Wohlstadter teaches a detector unit as an imaging device which can be a CCD, photodiode, or PMT; Fig. 68, p. 151-153, 179, 181, 182, 196, 209. Wohlstadter teaches that the light is sent to the detector via lenses; p. 52, 83, 112. The instant specification on pages 10-11 states that the detection unit can include a CCD, PMT, or photodiodes. Therefore, the examiner believes that since Wohlstadter teaches the same structure as disclosed in the instant specification that the structure would have the same properties. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01. As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on “inherency” under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See MPEP 2112. However, Davidson teaches the analogous art of imaging lenses as an optic module less than 5 cm in length and comprises at least two lenses with a focal distance of less than 30 mm and numerical apertures of at least 0.6, aligned between the sensor unit and the detector unit to quantitatively transfer in a lightproof way the generated light from the sensor to the detector while maintaining spatial resolution of the light pattern (Davidson teaches that based on the magnification and optical correction that there are many objectives with numerical apertures above 0.6 and with working distances less than 30 mm; p. 7. Davidson teaches that the device has multiple lenses; p. 6. The objective is between the sensor unit as the portion of the chip/sample being imaged and the detector that captures the image from the lenses. Davidson teaches that the parafocal distance, which is a distance greater than the length, is typically 45 mm or 4.5 cm, but can vary; p. 11-12, Fig. 3). With respect to the size and properties of the optic modules, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the optic module which uses lenses and detectors of modified Wohlstadter to include the optics module lenses disclosed in Davidson and to have a length of less than 5 cm, a focal distance less than 30 mm an a numerical aperture of at least 0.6 for the purpose of using an objective lens that gathers enough light (higher numerical aperture) has a normalized length, and has a focal distance of less than 30 mm because Davidson discloses that 4.5 cm is a normal length for the lenses while several objectives also have the claimed focal distance and numerical aperture depending on the magnification of the lens (see entirety of Davidson; p. 1-11). Therefore, it is evident that Davidson recognizes that length of the optics module, the numerical aperture, and the focal distance as result effective variables since the dimensions and parameters can vary based on the selected objective lens (Davison; p. 1-11). Although functional, the resulting modification would permit maximum photon collection efficiency through said dedicated windows on the device and cartridge.
As to claim 3, Wohlstadter teaches the Point-of-Care in vitro diagnostic (IVD) medical device according to claim 1, characterized in that the sample inlet port (201) is designed to collect a volume between 5 to 100 μL(The limitations of how the port is used is related to intended use, and the inlet of Wohlstadter is capable of receiving sample volumes; see claim 1 above. Wohlstadter also teaches 20 uL samples; p. 214).
As to claim 4, Wohlstadter teaches the Point-of-Care in vitro diagnostic (IVD) medical device according to claim 1, characterized in that the solution in the reagent reservoir(s) is adapted to remove non-specifically bound compounds in the sensor unit and to dispense an ECL buffer into the sensor unit prior measurement or in that it further comprises a wash buffer unit (208) adapted to contain a solution made to remove the non-specifically bound compounds in the sensor unit (As best understood, Wohlstadter teaches reagents in the device and including a buffer; p. 150-156, 183).
As to claim 5, Wohlstadter teaches the Point-of-Care in vitro diagnostic (IVD) medical device according to claim 1, characterized in that it further comprises a sample processing unit (202) comprising at least one of a filtration unit or a microfluidic blood separator system, and a metering device (203) adapted to support accurate quantification of the biomarkers, and comprising at least one of an active valve, a passive microfluidic channel, and/or a membrane (Wohlstadter teaches a processing unit in the form of a filter/fibril mat, and a metering system in the form of a microfluidic guide/channel ; p. 10, 33, 56, 57, 61, 79, 81, 105, 136, 137, 138, claim 114).
As to claim 6, Wohlstadter teaches the Point-of-Care in vitro diagnostic (IVD) medical device according to claim 1, characterized in that at least one reagent retaining element (204) is adapted to store reagents immobilized, lyophilized, or in solution (As best understood, Wohlstadter teaches reagents that are dried or immobilized or in solution; p. 19, 71, 150-156, 177, 183).
As to claim 7, Wohlstadter teaches the Point-of-Care in vitro diagnostic (IVD) medical device according to claim 1, characterized in that at least one reagent retaining element (204) is adapted to be actuated by an integrated pumping module or by applying manually or mechanically pressure on a pouch (205) (As best understood, Wohlstadter teaches reagents that are dried or immobilized or in solution; p. 19, 71, 150-156, 177, 183. Wohlstadter teaches using pressure to move fluids; p.79-80, 99, 209).
As to claim 8, Wohlstadter teaches the Point-of-Care in vitro diagnostic (IVD) medical device according to claim 1, characterized in that the reagents solution stays in the sensor unit during an incubation time of between 1 to 30 min (The limitations of the device are related to intended use. Wohlstadter teaches incubating; p. 175, 178, 196).
As to claim 9, Wohlstadter teaches the Point-of-Care in vitro diagnostic (IVD) medical device according to claim 1, characterized in that it comprises a transparent cartridge window (217) (Wohlstadter also teaches the substrate can be transparent; p. 80, 82, 84, 150, 151, 152, 209, claim 113).
As to claim 10, Wohlstadter teaches a Biomarker detection method using a Point-of-Care in vitro diagnostic (IVD) medical device for specific biomarker detection by means of spatially resolved ECL quantitative multi-analyte immunoassays (SR-ECLIA), including an optic module, a detachable single-use analytical cartridge, and a mobile base station, wherein the cartridge is adapted to receive a sample to analyze through a sample inlet port (201) and to mix it with first biomarker(s)-specific ligands L1 coupled with an electrochemiluminescent detection label, and comprises a sensor unit including one or multiple electrodes pre-functionalized with second biomarker(s)-specific ligands L2 with which the mixed solution is reacted to form a sandwich immunoassay complex, wherein each of the first biomarker(s)-specific ligands L1 can be immobilized at a different, separate location on the conductive electrode surface (s) and being adapted to apply a potential to the pre-functionalized electrode(s) and trigger an ECL reaction between the reagents producing an ECL signal pattern to be acquired by a detector unit (130), and wherein the mobile base station is adapted to receive the cartridge via a cartridge interface and to apply a potential to the pre-functionalized electrode(s) to trigger an ECL reaction between the reagents in the sensor unit (207, and comprises a detector unit (130) for detecting said ECL signal pattern generated in the sensor unit (207) of the cartridge (101), being connected to the sensor unit (207) via an optic path (132) crossing a first window (133) on the station interfacing with the cartridge (101) via a second window on the cartridge (134), and comprising steps of: obtaining a biological sample from a human subject and performing the sample processing steps to assess biomarker(s) potentially present in the biological sample; binding of one or a plurality of biomarkers present in the biological sample with biomarker(s)-specific ligands coupled with an electrochemiluminescent detection label (L1/ECL) to form a biomarker(s)-L1/ECL complex(es); binding of said biomarker(s)-L1/ECL complex(es) in the sensor unit to the conductive electrode surface functionalized with a plurality of biomarker(s)-specific ligands (L2) to form a sandwich immunoassay complex(es) (L1/ECL-biomarker(s)-L2), wherein each of the ligands L2 can be immobilized at a different, separate location on the conductive electrode surface; washing step; adding an ECL buffer solution; detecting of ECL signal for each biomarker by applying potential to the sensor unit to trigger ECL read-out and correlating it to the concentration of biomarker(s) present in the biological sample (Wohlstadter teaches a cartridge with electrodes with ECL binding domains; p. 79. Wohlstadter discloses the cartridge in claims 103-127 and in claim 112 states that the cartridge receives a sample thereby defining the sample inlet and in claim 113 says that the cartridge has a window. Wohlstadter also teaches the inlet port on p. 154 lines 6-19. Wohlstadter teaches that the cartridge includes ligand functionalized electrodes in claims 75 and 86, and also discloses that the ligands are detected via ECL, thereby creating a sandwich immunoassay complex, on page 52. Wohlstadter teaches reagents in the device and including a buffer; p. 150-156, 183. Wohlstadter discloses the mobile base in figures 68-69. Wohlstadter teaches applying a potential for ECL reactions; p. 48, 70, 72, 74-77. Wohlstadter teaches a detector unit as an imaging device which can be a CCD, photodiode, or PMT; Fig. 68, p. 151-153, 179, 181, 182, 196, 209. Wohlstadter teaches that the light is sent to the detector via lenses; p. 52, 83, 112. Wohlstadter also teaches various ECL reagents; p. 154. Wohlstadter teaches analysis based on a threshold concentration; p. 54. Wohlstadter teaches displaying results; p. 87. The examiner notes that the sample and the biomarker specific ligands L1 are not positively recited and do not further define the structure of the device beyond that of a capability).
Although Wohlstadter teaches using ECL assays for various samples, ligands or cytokines (Wohlstadter; p. 42, 94), Wohlstadter does not specifically teach that the device is for mTBI/TBI and includes specific biomarkers for mTBI/TBI. However McQuiston teaches the analogous art of ECL where specific biomarkers are used to diagnose mTBI/TBI (McQuiston; [9, 186, 187, 238-352]. McQuiston also teaches washing; [245, 258, 268]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device which can detect various samples including cytokines of Wohlstadter to have detected the specific TBI biomarkers as in McQuiston because McQuiston teaches that evaluating TBI biomarkers helps to diagnose TBI which helps identify subjects who made need further evaluation or treatment (McQuiston; [186]) and because McQuiston teaches that correct diagnosis of TBI can help provide accurate and reliable information for triage and recovery as well as aid in patient evaluation and management (McQuiston; [3]), that a diagnostic test for TBI helps to determine how well patients are recovering from treatments/therapies/prophylactics (McQuiston; [6]), and that identifying TBI is important when patients also present with a cardiac injury (McQuiston; [7]).
Modified Wohlstadter does not specifically teach that the optic module is less than 5 cm in length and comprises at least two lenses with a focal distance of less than 30 mm and numerical apertures of at least 0.6, aligned between the sensor unit and the detector unit to quantitatively transfer in a lightproof way the generated light from the sensor to the detector while maintaining spatial resolution of the light pattern, so as to permit for a maximum photon collection efficiency through said dedicated windows on the device and cartridge. However, Wohlstadter teaches a detector unit as an imaging device which can be a CCD, photodiode, or PMT; Fig. 68, p. 151-153, 179, 181, 182, 196, 209. Wohlstadter teaches that the light is sent to the detector via lenses; p. 52, 83, 112. The instant specification on pages 10-11 states that the detection unit can include a CCD, PMT, or photodiodes. Therefore, the examiner believes that since Wohlstadter teaches the same structure as disclosed in the instant specification that the structure would have the same properties. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01. As stated in In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977): Where, as here, the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on “inherency” under 35 U.S.C. § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. See MPEP 2112. However, Davidson teaches the analogous art of imaging lenses as an optic module less than 5 cm in length and comprises at least two lenses with a focal distance of less than 30 mm and numerical apertures of at least 0.6, aligned between the sensor unit and the detector unit to quantitatively transfer in a lightproof way the generated light from the sensor to the detector while maintaining spatial resolution of the light pattern (Davidson teaches that based on the magnification and optical correction that there are many objectives with numerical apertures above 0.6 and with working distances less than 30 mm; p. 7. Davidson teaches that the device has multiple lenses; p. 6. The objective is between the sensor unit as the portion of the chip/sample being imaged and the detector that captures the image from the lenses. Davidson teaches that the parafocal distance, which is a distance greater than the length, is typically 45 mm or 4.5 cm, but can vary; p. 11-12, Fig. 3). With respect to the size and properties of the optic modules, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the optic module which uses lenses and detectors of modified Wohlstadter to include the optics module lenses disclosed in Davidson and to have a length of less than 5 cm, a focal distance less than 30 mm an a numerical aperture of at least 0.6 for the purpose of using an objective lens that gathers enough light (higher numerical aperture) has a normalized length, and has a focal distance of less than 30 mm because Davidson discloses that 4.5 cm is a normal length for the lenses while several objectives also have the claimed focal distance and numerical aperture depending on the magnification of the lens (see entirety of Davidson; p. 1-11). Therefore, it is evident that Davidson recognizes that length of the optics module, the numerical aperture, and the focal distance as result effective variables since the dimensions and parameters can vary based on the selected objective lens (Davison; p. 1-11). Although functional, the resulting modification would permit maximum photon collection efficiency through said dedicated windows on the device and cartridge.
As to claim 11, Wohlstadter teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the electrode's surface can be functionalized with one or plurality of biomarker(s) specific ligands (L2), on one or multiple, different, indexable, locations on the electrode (Wohlstadter teaches a cartridge with electrodes with ECL binding domains; p. 79. Wohlstadter teaches that the cartridge includes ligand functionalized electrodes in claims 75 and 86, and also discloses that the ligands are detected via ECL, thereby creating a sandwich immunoassay complex, on page 52. See also pages 48, 70, 72, 74-77).
As to claim 12, Wohlstadter teaches the method according to claims 10, wherein electrochemiluminescent (ECL) detection labels are loaded on carrier particles, taken in the group comprising mesoporous, conductive, magnetic and nano/microparticles, wherein the carrier particles carrying the label are coupled to biomarker(s)-specific ligands (L1) (Wohlstadter teaches particles; p. 72, 75, 76, 106-107, 110, 112, 122. Wohlstadter teaches a cartridge with electrodes with ECL binding domains; p. 79. Wohlstadter teaches that the cartridge includes ligand functionalized electrodes in claims 75 and 86, and also discloses that the ligands are detected via ECL, thereby creating a sandwich immunoassay complex, on page 52. See also pages 48, 70, 72, 74-77).
As to claim 13, Wohlstadter teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the electrode is modified with a multi-purpose functionalized interface layer wherein the layer is formed from various materials and exhibits and/or improves one or multiple properties, such as: antifouling (reduces background interference and/or non-specific binding); enrichment (target analyte/antibody/ECL detection label enrichment and/or antigen antibody binding events/kinetics improvement); conductivity (improves electron transfer and ECL signal intensities); wettability (improves wettability of the electrode and liquid flow) (Wohlstadter teaches a cartridge with electrodes with ECL binding domains; p. 79. Wohlstadter teaches that the cartridge includes ligand functionalized electrodes in claims 75 and 86, and also discloses that the ligands are detected via ECL, thereby creating a sandwich immunoassay complex, on page 52. See also pages 48, 70, 72, 74-77. Wohlstadter teaches particles, and various other treatments including conductive polymers, or various layers that improve binding and also improve conductivity; p. 72, 75, 76, 106-107, 110, 112, 122. Additionally, the immobilized reagents help to reduce background noise; see claim 10 above).
As to claim 14, Wohlstadter teaches a TBI and mTBI diagnosis method comprising the biomarker(s) detection method of claim 10 and further comprising the steps of: determining whether the TBI and mTBI biomarker(s) concentrations are above or below a predetermined or to be determined threshold range; based on the determining step, judging that TBI and mTBI is diagnosed if the calculated concentrations are above said threshold ranges; displaying results to the user for IVD TBI and mTBI diagnosis; saving results for kinetic (i.e., multiple follow-up) analyses (monitoring) of biomarkers over time with multiple sampling of the same patient. Evaluation of the kinetics to support diagnosis of TBI or mTBI (As best understood, Wohlstadter teaches analysis based on a threshold concentration; p. 54. Wohlstadter teaches displaying results; p. 87. Further, the modification of Wohlstadter with McQuiston has been discussed above, and McQuiston teaches using thresholds for analysis; [181, 186, 187]. McQuiston also teaches follow ups; [338]).
As to claim 15, Wohlstadter teaches the Method according to claim 10, further comprising the step of the saving results in a patient's database comprising data corresponding to biomarker(s) measurements performed at different time points with respect to the target marker(s) and wherein the data and background information related to the patient comprises demographic information corresponding to at least one of age, race, gender, body mass index, and morbidities (Wohlstadter teaches saving to a database; p. 55. Further, the modification of Wohlstadter with McQuiston has been discussed above, and McQuiston teaches saving results for a patient over time [338] and also where age and gender are patient identifiers [337]. Additionally, in McQuiston, the medical records are accessed which includes past information and also demographic information; [336]).
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlstadter et al (WO 9812539; already of record; hereinafter “Wohlstadter”) in view of McQuiston et al (WO 2018222783; already of record; hereinafter “McQuiston”) in view of Davidson, M (Davidson, M; Microscope Objective Specifications; Nikon Microscopy U; https://web.archive.org/web/20210124212233/https://www.microscopyu.com/microscopy-basics/microscope-objective-specifications; accessed from the wayback machine and published on 1/24/21; hereinafter “Davidson”) in view of Gershtein, S (US 20190056304; hereinafter “Gershtein”) in view of MacLean et al (US 20190317115; hereinafter “MacLean”).
As to claim 2, Wohlstadter teaches the Point-of-Care in vitro diagnostic (IVD) medical device according to claim 1, wherein the base station further comprises electronics for managing the tasks of analysis/measurement and a user interface (UI) (173) comprising one or multiple display(s) (171) (Wohlstadter teaches a microprocessor for managing the data and providing output to another device; p. 154, 155. Wohlstadter teaches displaying results; p. 87).
Modified Wohlstadter does not specifically teach actuators (140) for activating the fluids in the cartridge through specific connectors on the device (141) and on the cartridge (142), and a Network (5G/WIFI/BT) unit for database connections, software updates and general communication. However, Gershtein teaches the analogous art of a cartridge and a base station for processing a sample, where the base station includes a processor, a display, Wi-Fi or Bluetooth, actuator to actuate a pump on the cartridge (Gershtein; Fig. 1 [32]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the base station of modified Wohlstadter to include actuators and a network for communications as in Gershtein because Gershtein teaches that Wi-Fi helps to provide wireless transmission and communication to other devices and because Gershtein teaches that actuators help to control fluid movement in the cartridge (Gershtein; [32]).
Modified Wohlstadter does not specifically teach that the user interface includes buttons/keyboard/touch screen or a communication unit adapted to provide connectivity to the cartridge with an NFC reader to access cartridge data and ID . However, MacLean teaches the analogous art of a cartridge and a base station for processing a sample, the base station including a processor, a display, Bluetooth, and an on/off button where the input can also be a touch display (MacLean; Fig. 10, [89, 142, 145, 169, 179]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the base station of modified Wohlstadter to include an NFC communication module as in MacLean because MacLean teaches that an NFC helps to store important information and convey that information to the reader, the information being important and needed for testing and quality assurance (MacLean; [26, 89, 144, 169]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the user interface of the base station of modified Wohlstadter to include a touch screen or button as in MacLean because MacLean teaches touch screens and/or buttons are common user interfaces and a user would need to control the base station in some manner (MacLean; [142, 143, 145]).
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure include;
Janigro et al (US 20190053744; hereinafter “Janigro”; already of record) teaches measured levels of brain health and correlating them with patients and patient demographics; Fig. 2, 9. Janigro teaches electrodes with bound liganrds for detecting; [39], Fig. 9, 10. Janigro teaches chemiluminescent sensors; [107]. Janigro teaches that the diagnostic device includes a display and wireless components; [132].
Denomme et al (US 20230201837; hereinafter “Denomme”) teaches communications between cartridge 110 and base device 100; Fig. 1.
Soto-Moreno et al (US 20220395835; hereinafter “Soto”) teaches that the base device has an NFC for identifying the cartridge; [408, 410, 426].
Hatamian, M (US 20210285910; hereinafter “Hatamian”) teaches a button on the UI device to start a test [284] and NFC reader in the housing to read information about the cartridge [116, 117, 282, 283]. See figures 30-50.
Conclusion
/Benjamin R Whatley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798