DETAILED ACTION
This is a first office action in response to application 18/729,333 filed 07/16/2024, in which claims 1-17 are presented for examination. A preliminary amendment was filed concurrently therewith which provides amendments to claims 3-6, 10-14, 16 and 17 is hereby acknowledged.
Currently claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: The claim recites two times “a connection wire” however the claim does not make expressly clear if this is the same wire or a different wire. Clarification and or correction of the claim language is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0242668 A1 hereinafter Sun.
Consider Claim 1:
Sun discloses a light-emitting device, comprising: (Sun, See Abstract.)
a first light emitter; and a second light emitter, (Sun, [0085] An embodiment of the present disclosure provides a pixel circuit. Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, FIGS. 2 and 3 individually schematically show a schematic structural diagram of the pixel circuit according to the present disclosure. As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the pixel circuit includes a first driving circuit 21, a first light emitting device 22, a second light emitting device 23 and a second driving circuit 24 that are sequentially connected in series.”)
wherein a first drive current through the first light emitter and a second drive current through the second light emitter flow in opposite directions, and a period in which the first drive current flows and a period in which the second drive current flows at least partially overlap each other. (Sun, [0143], “at the light-emission stage, as shown in FIG. 10d, controlling the source electrode of the first driving transistor DT1 to be conducted with the first power-supply terminal 25, controlling the drain electrode of the first driving transistor DT1 to be conducted with the first electrode of the first light emitting device 22, controlling the source electrode of the second driving transistor DT2 to be conducted with the second power-supply terminal 26, and controlling the drain electrode of the second driving transistor DT2 to be conducted with the first electrode of the second light emitting device 23. The first light emitting device 22 and the second light emitting device 23 synchronously emit light at the light-emission stage.”)
Consider Claim 2:
Sun discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the first light emitter and the second light emitter are at a distance less than or equal to a maximum distance at which a magnetic field generated by the first drive current and a magnetic field generated by the second drive current interact with each other. (Sun, [0094] Referring to FIG. 4, FIG. 4 shows a schematic sectional structural diagram of the pixel circuit according to the present implementation. As shown in FIG. 4, the pixel circuit shown in FIG. 2 may be disposed on a substrate 41, and between the first light emitting device 22 and the first driving circuit 21, a medium layer 42 may be disposed between the second light emitting device 23 and the second driving circuit 24, and a pixel defining layer 43 may be disposed between the first light emitting device 22 and the second light emitting device 23. The electrode layer 44 in FIG. 4 also serves as the cathode of the first light emitting device 22 and the anode of the second light emitting device 23, and the first light emitting device 22 and the second light emitting device 23 realize the cathode-anode connection by using the electrode layer 44 vapor-deposited on the surfaces. The first light emitting device 22 in FIG. 4 is of an uprightly placed structure, and the second light emitting device 23 is of an inversely placed structure.”)
Consider Claim 3:
Sun discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the first drive current has a same magnitude as the second drive current. (Sun, [0143], [0109], “Referring to FIG. 5a, FIG. 5a shows a schematic diagram of the electric-current flowing direction when the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 and the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 are equal.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Sun discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1, wherein the first light emitter is connected to a connection wire including a portion parallel to a portion of a connection wire connected to the second light emitter. (Sun, [0138-0145], [0093], “In an alternative implementation, as shown in FIG. 2, the channel type of the first driving transistor DT1 is a P type, and the channel type of the second driving transistor DT2 is an N type. In such a case, the voltage signal inputted by the first power-supply terminal 25 may be the high-level signal VDD, and the voltage signal inputted by the second power-supply terminal 26 may be the low-level signal VSS. In the present implementation, the first electrode of the first light emitting device 22 is an anode, the second electrode of the first light emitting device 22 is a cathode, the first electrode of the second light emitting device 23 is a cathode, and the second electrode of the second light emitting device 23 is an anode.”)
Consider Claim 5:
Sun discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1, further comprising: a connection switcher configured to connect the first light emitter and the second light emitter in series or in parallel. (Sun, [0165], [0191], “As shown in FIGS. 14 to 16, one first light emitting device 22 and one first driving circuit 21 in the first sub-pixel unit 141 form a first branch circuit, one second light emitting device 23 and one second driving circuit 24 in the second sub-pixel unit 142 form a second branch circuit, the three first branch circuits in the third pixel unit 1103 are connected in parallel, the three second branch circuits in the fourth pixel unit 1104 are connected in parallel, and the three parallel-connected first branch circuits and the three parallel-connected second branch circuits are connected in series.”)
Consider Claim 6:
Sun discloses the light-emitting device according claim 1, further comprising: an electromagnetic wave shield between the first light emitter and the second light emitter. (Sun, [0094] Referring to FIG. 4, FIG. 4 shows a schematic sectional structural diagram of the pixel circuit according to the present implementation. As shown in FIG. 4, the pixel circuit shown in FIG. 2 may be disposed on a substrate 41, and between the first light emitting device 22 and the first driving circuit 21, a medium layer 42 may be disposed between the second light emitting device 23 and the second driving circuit 24, and a pixel defining layer 43 may be disposed between the first light emitting device 22 and the second light emitting device 23. The electrode layer 44 in FIG. 4 also serves as the cathode of the first light emitting device 22 and the anode of the second light emitting device 23, and the first light emitting device 22 and the second light emitting device 23 realize the cathode-anode connection by using the electrode layer 44 vapor-deposited on the surfaces. The first light emitting device 22 in FIG. 4 is of an uprightly placed structure, and the second light emitting device 23 is of an inversely placed structure.”)
Consider Claim 7:
Sun discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 6, wherein the electromagnetic wave shield is located closer to one of the first light emitter or the second light emitter having a greater drive current when the first drive current and the second drive current have different magnitudes. (Sun, [0116], [0109], “When the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 and the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 are not equal, the bleeder component 27 may serve for electric-current shunting. Referring to FIG. 5a, FIG. 5a shows a schematic diagram of the electric-current flowing direction when the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 and the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 are equal. As shown in FIG. 5a, both of the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 and the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 are I1. Referring to FIG. 5b, FIG. 5b shows a schematic diagram of the electric-current flowing direction when the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 and the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 are not equal. As shown in FIG. 5b, the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 is I1, the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 is zero, and the electric current I1 in the second light emitting device 23 flows out via the bleeder component 27.”)
Consider Claim 8:
Sun discloses a display device, comprising: (Sun. See Abstract.)
a pixel; a first light emitter included in the pixel; and a second light emitter included in the pixel, (Sun, [0085] An embodiment of the present disclosure provides a pixel circuit. Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, FIGS. 2 and 3 individually schematically show a schematic structural diagram of the pixel circuit according to the present disclosure. As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the pixel circuit includes a first driving circuit 21, a first light emitting device 22, a second light emitting device 23 and a second driving circuit 24 that are sequentially connected in series.”)
wherein a first drive current through the first light emitter and a second drive current through the second light emitter flow in opposite directions, and a period in which the first drive current flows and a period in which the second drive current flows at least partially overlap each other. (Sun, [0094] Referring to FIG. 4, FIG. 4 shows a schematic sectional structural diagram of the pixel circuit according to the present implementation. As shown in FIG. 4, the pixel circuit shown in FIG. 2 may be disposed on a substrate 41, and between the first light emitting device 22 and the first driving circuit 21, a medium layer 42 may be disposed between the second light emitting device 23 and the second driving circuit 24, and a pixel defining layer 43 may be disposed between the first light emitting device 22 and the second light emitting device 23. The electrode layer 44 in FIG. 4 also serves as the cathode of the first light emitting device 22 and the anode of the second light emitting device 23, and the first light emitting device 22 and the second light emitting device 23 realize the cathode-anode connection by using the electrode layer 44 vapor-deposited on the surfaces. The first light emitting device 22 in FIG. 4 is of an uprightly placed structure, and the second light emitting device 23 is of an inversely placed structure.”)
Consider Claim 9:
Sun discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein the first light emitter and the second light emitter are at a distance less than a maximum distance at which a magnetic field generated by the first drive current and a magnetic field generated by the second drive current interact with each other. (Sun, [0094] Referring to FIG. 4, FIG. 4 shows a schematic sectional structural diagram of the pixel circuit according to the present implementation. As shown in FIG. 4, the pixel circuit shown in FIG. 2 may be disposed on a substrate 41, and between the first light emitting device 22 and the first driving circuit 21, a medium layer 42 may be disposed between the second light emitting device 23 and the second driving circuit 24, and a pixel defining layer 43 may be disposed between the first light emitting device 22 and the second light emitting device 23. The electrode layer 44 in FIG. 4 also serves as the cathode of the first light emitting device 22 and the anode of the second light emitting device 23, and the first light emitting device 22 and the second light emitting device 23 realize the cathode-anode connection by using the electrode layer 44 vapor-deposited on the surfaces. The first light emitting device 22 in FIG. 4 is of an uprightly placed structure, and the second light emitting device 23 is of an inversely placed structure.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Sun discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein the first drive current has a same magnitude as the second drive current. (Sun, [0143], [0109], “Referring to FIG. 5a, FIG. 5a shows a schematic diagram of the electric-current flowing direction when the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 and the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 are equal.”)
Consider Claim 11:
Sun discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein the first light emitter is connected to a connection wire including a portion parallel to a portion of a connection wire connected to the second light emitter. (Sun, [0138-0145], [0093], “In an alternative implementation, as shown in FIG. 2, the channel type of the first driving transistor DT1 is a P type, and the channel type of the second driving transistor DT2 is an N type. In such a case, the voltage signal inputted by the first power-supply terminal 25 may be the high-level signal VDD, and the voltage signal inputted by the second power-supply terminal 26 may be the low-level signal VSS. In the present implementation, the first electrode of the first light emitting device 22 is an anode, the second electrode of the first light emitting device 22 is a cathode, the first electrode of the second light emitting device 23 is a cathode, and the second electrode of the second light emitting device 23 is an anode.”)
Consider Claim 12:
Sun discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein the first light emitter and the second light emitter are red light emitters configured to emit red light. (Sun, [0084], [0105], [0166], [0033], “In an alternative implementation, the first light emitting device is a light emitting device capable of emitting a blue light, the second light emitting device is a light emitting device capable of emitting a green light, and the third light emitting device is a light emitting device capable of emitting a red light.”)
Consider Claim 13:
Sun discloses the display device according to claim 8, further comprising: a connection switcher configured to connect the first light emitter and the second light emitter in series or in parallel. (Sun, [0165], [0191], “As shown in FIGS. 14 to 16, one first light emitting device 22 and one first driving circuit 21 in the first sub-pixel unit 141 form a first branch circuit, one second light emitting device 23 and one second driving circuit 24 in the second sub-pixel unit 142 form a second branch circuit, the three first branch circuits in the third pixel unit 1103 are connected in parallel, the three second branch circuits in the fourth pixel unit 1104 are connected in parallel, and the three parallel-connected first branch circuits and the three parallel-connected second branch circuits are connected in series.”)
Consider Claim 14:
Sun discloses the display device according to claim 8, further comprising: an electromagnetic wave shield between the first light emitter and the second light emitter. (Sun, [0094] Referring to FIG. 4, FIG. 4 shows a schematic sectional structural diagram of the pixel circuit according to the present implementation. As shown in FIG. 4, the pixel circuit shown in FIG. 2 may be disposed on a substrate 41, and between the first light emitting device 22 and the first driving circuit 21, a medium layer 42 may be disposed between the second light emitting device 23 and the second driving circuit 24, and a pixel defining layer 43 may be disposed between the first light emitting device 22 and the second light emitting device 23. The electrode layer 44 in FIG. 4 also serves as the cathode of the first light emitting device 22 and the anode of the second light emitting device 23, and the first light emitting device 22 and the second light emitting device 23 realize the cathode-anode connection by using the electrode layer 44 vapor-deposited on the surfaces. The first light emitting device 22 in FIG. 4 is of an uprightly placed structure, and the second light emitting device 23 is of an inversely placed structure.”)
Consider Claim 15:
Sun discloses the display device according to claim 14, wherein the electromagnetic wave shield is located closer to one of the first light emitter or the second light emitter having a greater drive current when the first drive current and the second drive current have different magnitudes. (Sun, [0116], [0109], “When the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 and the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 are not equal, the bleeder component 27 may serve for electric-current shunting. Referring to FIG. 5a, FIG. 5a shows a schematic diagram of the electric-current flowing direction when the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 and the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 are equal. As shown in FIG. 5a, both of the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 and the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 are I1. Referring to FIG. 5b, FIG. 5b shows a schematic diagram of the electric-current flowing direction when the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 and the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 are not equal. As shown in FIG. 5b, the electric current in the first light emitting device 22 is I1, the electric current in the second light emitting device 23 is zero, and the electric current I1 in the second light emitting device 23 flows out via the bleeder component 27.”)
Consider Claim 16:
Sun discloses the display device according to claim 8, further comprising: a third light emitter included in the pixel, wherein the first light emitter, the second light emitter, and the third light emitter are arranged in a predetermined direction in an order of the first light emitter, the second light emitter, and the third light emitter, a third drive current through the third light emitter and the second drive current flow in opposite directions, and a period in which the first drive current flows, a period in which the second drive current flows, and a period in which the third drive current flows at least partially overlap one another. (Sun, [0157-0200], [0175], “In a type of the light emitting base plate, the plurality of pixel units 110 may include a first pixel unit 1101. The first pixel unit 1101, as shown in FIGS. 11 to 13, includes a first light emitting device 22, a second light emitting device 23 and a third light emitting device 111. In the first pixel unit 1101, the channel type of the first driving transistor DT1 is a P type, the channel type of the second driving transistor DT2 and the channel type of the third driving transistor DT3 are an N type, the first electrode of the first light emitting device 22 is an anode, the first electrode of the second light emitting device 23 and the first electrode of the third light emitting device 111 are a cathode, and the voltage inputted by the first power-supply terminal 25 is greater than the voltage inputted by the second power-supply terminal 26. The second electrode of the first light emitting device 22 is a cathode, and the second electrode of the second light emitting device 23 and the second electrode of the third light emitting device 111 are an anode. The voltage signal inputted by the first power-supply terminal 25 may be the high-level signal VDD, and the voltage signal inputted by the second power-supply terminal 26 may be the low-level signal VSS. Optionally, the pixel units 110 of the light emitting base plate are the first pixel unit 1101.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0242668 A1.
Consider Claim 17:
Sun discloses the display device according to claim 8, further comprising: and discloses also adding a third light emitter included in the pixel; …wherein the first light emitter and the second light emitter are adjacent to each other, and each of the first drive current and the second drive current is greater than a third drive current flowing through the third light emitter. (Sun, [0157-0200], [0175], “In a type of the light emitting base plate, the plurality of pixel units 110 may include a first pixel unit 1101. The first pixel unit 1101, as shown in FIGS. 11 to 13, includes a first light emitting device 22, a second light emitting device 23 and a third light emitting device 111. In the first pixel unit 1101, the channel type of the first driving transistor DT1 is a P type, the channel type of the second driving transistor DT2 and the channel type of the third driving transistor DT3 are an N type, the first electrode of the first light emitting device 22 is an anode, the first electrode of the second light emitting device 23 and the first electrode of the third light emitting device 111 are a cathode, and the voltage inputted by the first power-supply terminal 25 is greater than the voltage inputted by the second power-supply terminal 26. The second electrode of the first light emitting device 22 is a cathode, and the second electrode of the second light emitting device 23 and the second electrode of the third light emitting device 111 are an anode. The voltage signal inputted by the first power-supply terminal 25 may be the high-level signal VDD, and the voltage signal inputted by the second power-supply terminal 26 may be the low-level signal VSS. Optionally, the pixel units 110 of the light emitting base plate are the first pixel unit 1101.”)
Sun teaches adding in the third light emitting element however does not further specify adding in a fourth light emitter included in the pixel, and the each of the first drive current and the second drive current is greater than a fourth drive current flowing through the fourth light emitter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to additionally add similarly a fourth light emitter provided with a different current as this was similarly taught as an addition with the third light emitting device, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (1977).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626