DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The current Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on May 4, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues Nelson fails to disclosed a continuous one-way Bluetooth advertising signal because Nelson discloses a general wireless communication. However, Nelson discloses one way communication in [0034] and discloses that the signal is continuous while the user wears the dosimeter in [0037].
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., transmit radiation dose data without requiring any user operation and to suppress power consumption when the device is not worn) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 4-6, filed May 4, 2026, with respect to Claims 1-2 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the claims has been withdrawn. Applicant has corrected the minor informalities.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nelson (U.S. 2017/0248703).
Regarding claim 1:
Nelson discloses an electronic dosimeter, comprising a communication unit (Fig. 2, 255) that is mounted on the electronic dosimeter and that continuously [0037], continuous signal) and in one way transmits, by an advertising signal via Bluetooth ([0034], communication using Bluetooth; one way communication), radiation dose data measured by a radiation detection unit mounted on the electronic dosimeter ([0021], signals transmitted wirelessly; [0024], signals regarding dose exposure generated).
Regarding claim 2:
Nelson discloses he electronic dosimeter according to claim 1, further comprising a control unit (Fig. 2, 245 and 225) that detects that the electronic dosimeter is not being worn on a body by an acceleration sensor ([0024], acceleration sensor) and/or a gyro sensor mounted on the electronic dosimeter, and, in a case in which the electronic dosimeter is judged to not have been worn for a predetermined period, stops transmission of the advertising signal or stops supply of power to the radiation detection unit ([0024], detecting motion from user; [0037], standby mode or turned off when not worn after a certain period).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID J MAKIYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884