DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites, “a length from the predetermined radius distance to the central point position does not exceed a length from the central point position in the virtual reality panoramic space to a surface of the virtual reality panoramic space.” The underlined phrase is ambiguous because someone cannot measure a length from a radius distance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HWANG et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20180332265 “Hwang”).
Regarding claim 1 Hwang teaches A method of subtitle displaying (ABSTRACT: “the present invention suggests a method of providing subtitles for a 360 content”), comprising:
obtaining a subtitle content corresponding to a currently played virtual reality video frame (“[0005]…. it is necessary to extend subtitle related features and subtitle related signaling information to be adapted to use cases of a VR service in order to provide subtitles suitable for 360-degree video”. [0492] According to one embodiment of the present invention, 3D subtitles for 3D video may be provided”);
determining a target spatial position in a virtual reality panoramic space based on a current line-of-sight direction of a user comprising determining a central point position of the virtual reality panoramic space, and obtaining a predetermined radius distance; and extending the current line-of-sight direction of the user, from the central point position according to the predetermined radius distance to a position, and taking the position as the target spatial position (“[0097]…. An apparatus such as a VR display can extract a viewport region on the basis of the position/direction of a user's head, vertical or horizontal FOV supported by the apparatus, etc. [0291] The num_of_rendering_positions field can signal the number of positions at which one subtitle is simultaneously rendered on the sphere. That is, this field can indicate the number of subtitle regions in which the corresponding subtitle is rendered. Detailed information about the subtitle regions can be provided depending on the number of subtitle regions indicated by this field. 0317] The 360-degree subtitle related metadata according to the present embodiment can specify a subtitle region by indicating the center point and a field of view (FOV) value of the subtitle region. Here, the 360-degree subtitle related metadata can indicate an offset value with respect to the center point of the viewport as the center point of the subtitle region. Accordingly, the 360-degree subtitle related metadata can specify the subtitle region at a relative position with respect to the viewport”).; and
rendering a subtitle layer at the target spatial position based on the subtitle content, and synchronously rendering the subtitle content in the subtitle layer (“[0316] According to one embodiment of the present invention, subtitles for 360-degree video may be rendered at a position varying according to viewports. In the present embodiment, the 360-degree subtitle related metadata can specify a subtitle region at a relative position of a viewport on the basis of the viewport. The viewport can refer to a region currently viewed by a user in 360-degree video as described above”).
Claim 20 is directed to an electronic device comprising a processor, a memory (“[0015] The apparatus for providing subtitles for a 360 content, according to other aspect of the present invention, comprising: a processor configured to generate 360 video data captured by at least one camera; a stitcher configured to stitch the 360 video data; a projection processor configured to project the 360 video data to a 2D image; a data encoder configured to encode the 2D image into a video stream; [0662] The module or unit may be one or more processors designed to execute a series of execution steps stored in the memory (or the storage unit)”) and its elements are similar in scope and functions of the method claim1 and therefore claim 20 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 21 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (“ [0665] In addition, a method according to the present invention can be implemented with processor-readable code in a processor-readable recording medium provided to a network device. The processor-readable medium may include all kinds of recording devices capable of storing data readable by a processor”) and its elements are similar in scope and functions of the method claim1 and therefore claim 21 is also rejected with the same rationale as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Hwang teaches, wherein the central point position is located at a center of the virtual reality panoramic space, and a length from the predetermined radius distance to the central point position does not exceed a length from the central point position in the virtual reality panoramic space to a surface of the virtual reality panoramic space.( Fig. 17 discloses the wherein the central point position is located at a center of the virtual reality panoramic space, which is point O. The length of the predetermined radius distance doesn’t exceed a length from the central point position in the virtual reality panoramic space to a surface of the virtual reality panoramic space ” See the center of the viewport or position of the target spatial position for subtitle is at the surface of the sphere of Fig. 17.).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang teaches, wherein determining the target spatial position in the virtual reality panoramic space based on the current line-of-sight direction of the user comprises:
obtaining a historical space position corresponding to a subtitle content of a previous frame displayed in the virtual reality panoramic space; (“[0013] Preferably, when the type information indicates a second type, the offset center information indicates yaw, pitch and roll offsets between the center point of the subtitle region and a center point of a previous subtitle region specified by a previous 360 subtitle SEI message.”)
obtaining a line-of-sight change information between the current line-of-sight direction of the user relative to a line-of-sight direction for viewing the previous frame; (“[0011] Preferably, the offset region information includes offset center information indicating yaw, pitch and roll offsets for a center point of the subtitle region, range information indicating horizontal and vertical ranges of the subtitle region from the center point, and type information for indicating a type of the offset center information……..[0013] Preferably, when the type information indicates a second type, the offset center information indicates yaw, pitch and roll offsets between the center point of the subtitle region and a center point of a previous subtitle region specified by a previous 360 subtitle SEI message.”) and
determining the target spatial position based on the line-of-sight change information and the historical spatial position. (“[0011] Preferably, the offset region information includes offset center information indicating yaw, pitch and roll offsets for a center point of the subtitle region, range information indicating horizontal and vertical ranges of the subtitle region from the center point, and type information for indicating a type of the offset center information.”)
Regarding claim 5, Hwang teaches, wherein obtaining line-of-sight change information between the current line-of-sight direction of the user relative to the line-of-sight direction for viewing the previous frame comprises:
obtaining a horizontal axis rotation angle of a camera in a virtual reality device worn by the user relative to the previous frame in a horizontal direction, wherein the horizontal axis rotation angle is change information of the user from a horizontal line-of-sight direction for viewing the previous frame to a horizontal line-of-sight direction for viewing a current frame. (“[0019] Preferably, the offset region information includes offset center information indicating yaw, pitch and roll offsets for a center point of the subtitle region, range information indicating horizontal and vertical ranges of the subtitle region from the center point, and type information for indicating a type of the offset center information.”).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang teaches, wherein rendering the subtitle layer at the target spatial position based on the subtitle content comprises: obtaining a displaying quantity of the subtitle content; and rendering the subtitle layer that matches the displaying quantity (“[0582] The 360-degree subtitle related metadata according to the present embodiment may further include signaling information for changing a window size and a subtitle font size according to change in the depth/disparity of subtitles”).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang teaches, wherein rendering the subtitle layer that matches the displaying quantity comprises: determining a subtitle real-time width and a subtitle real-time height based on the displaying quantity, a predetermined unit subtitle width, and a predetermined unit subtitle height; in response to a width change of the subtitle real-time width, rendering a real-time subtitle layer width that matches the subtitle content based on a layer width of a unit subtitle and the subtitle real-time width; and/or in response to a height change of the subtitle real-time height, rendering a real-time subtitle layer height that matches the subtitle content based on a predetermined layer height of a unit subtitle and the subtitle real-time height (“[0395] A subtitle_region_unit field can indicate a unit that specifies a corresponding subtitle region. The unit specifying a subtitle region may include a percentage, a cell and a pixel according to an embodiment. [0582] The 360-degree subtitle related metadata according to the present embodiment may further include signaling information for changing a window size and a subtitle font size according to change in the depth/disparity of subtitles”).
Regarding claim 17, Hwang teaches, performing background addition displaying processing on the subtitle layer (“[0444] A background_color field may indicate a background color of corresponding subtitles. The background color of the subtitles can be changed using the value of this field. This field may replace tts:backgroundColor in TTML”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Dorn et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20220174361 “Dorn”).
Regarding claim 2 Hwang is silent about performing a speech recognition processing on an audio stream corresponding to the currently played virtual reality video frame to obtain the subtitle content; or querying a predetermined database to obtain a subtitle content corresponding to the currently played virtual reality video frame.
Dorn teaches querying a predetermined database to obtain a subtitle content corresponding to the currently played virtual reality video frame (“[0072]….The annotation processor dynamically generates the annotated video content stream by querying the annotation database 205 and receiving the annotation layers with the annotations generated by select ones”).
Hwang and Dorn are analogous art as both of them are related to subtitle display.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang by performing a speech recognition processing on an audio stream corresponding to the currently played virtual reality video frame to obtain the subtitle content; or querying a predetermined database to obtain a subtitle content corresponding to the currently played virtual reality video frame as taught by Dorn.
The motivation for the above is to reduce the generation time of subtitle.
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Zhang (US Pat. Pub. No. 20190394419 “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 10 Hwang is silent about in response to a detection that a further layer is displayed in the virtual reality panoramic space, identifying displaying state information of the further layer; and adjusting the displaying state information of the subtitle layer based on the displaying state information of the further layer.
Zhang teaches in response to a detection that a further layer is displayed in video frame, identifying displaying state information of the further layer; and adjusting the displaying state information of the subtitle layer based on the displaying state information of the further layer (“[0104] In an example implementation, the subtitle display region may be determined in the region in the video frame other than the key region according to the subtitle information. For example, when the subtitle displayed according to the display position information in the subtitle information may block the key region, the subtitle display position determined according to the display position information may be adjusted to the region in the video frame other than the key region, such that the subtitle displayed in the adjusted subtitle display region will not block the key content in the video frame”);
Hwang and Zhang are analogous art as both of them are related to subtitle display.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang by having in response to a detection that a further layer is displayed in the virtual reality panoramic space, identifying displaying state information of the further layer; and adjusting the displaying state information of the subtitle layer based on the displaying state information of the further layer similar to having, in response to a detection that a further layer is displayed in video frame, identifying displaying state information of the further layer; and adjusting the displaying state information of the subtitle layer based on the displaying state information of the further layer as taught by Zhang.
The motivation for the above is to enhance viewing experience of a viewer.
Regarding claim 11 Hwang modified by Zhang teaches wherein the displaying state information comprises a space position for display, and adjusting the displaying state information of the subtitle layer based on the displaying state information of the further layer (Zhang “[0092] Subtitle information may merely include subtitle content. A subtitle may be added to the video frame after a display position of the subtitle is determined as required”) comprises:
determining whether a reference spatial position where the further layer is located and the target spatial position satisfy a predetermined occlusion condition (Zhang “[0102] In an example implementation, the subtitle display region may be determined in the region in the video frame other than the key region without considering the subtitle information. The subtitle display region may be determined according to preset parameters (such as a size and a position)”);
in response to the occlusion condition being satisfied, determining a target moving position and/or a target layer displaying size of the subtitle layer, wherein the subtitle layer corresponding to the target moving position and/or the target layer displaying size and the further layer do not satisfy the occlusion condition; and displaying the subtitle layer based on the target moving position and/or the target layer displaying size (Zhang “[0160] In an example implementation, the subtitle display region may also be determined in the region in the video frame other than the key region according to the subtitle content and display position information in the subtitle information. When the subtitle displayed according to the display position information in the subtitle information may block the key region, a subtitle display region of which the size is proportional to the number of words may be directly determined in the region in the video frame other than the key region according to the number of words in the subtitle content. The subtitle display region determined according to the display position information in the subtitle information may also be adjusted to the region in the video frame other than the key region.
[0161] When the subtitle displayed according to the display position information in the subtitle information will block the key region, the subtitle display position determined according to the display position information may not be adjusted, and the final subtitle display region is determined directly according to the display position information”).
Regarding claim 12 Hwang modified by Zhang teaches wherein the method further comprises: before adjusting the displaying state information of the subtitle layer based on the displaying state information of the further layer, determining a layer level of the further layer, and determining that the layer level is higher than a predetermined level threshold (Zhang “[0132] In an example implementation, when a large target object is determined in the video frame (that is, the proportion of the target object in the video frame exceeds a threshold), or multiple target objects are determined in the video frame, the proportion of the key region in the video frame is also large, finally resulting in an undesirable display position of the subtitle. For example, a video frame C is a close-shot of a racing car picture, and a display region where the racing car is located occupies 80% of the area in the video frame C. If the key region is determined merely according to the target object, the subtitle may only be displayed on two lateral sides or at the top of the video frame, and the display position of the subtitle is undesirable”).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang modified by Zhang as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of LIU et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20230359351 “Liu”).
Regarding cli 16Hwang modified by Zhang is silent about in response to a detection of an instruction for disabling displaying of the further layer, controlling the subtitle layer to move to the target spatial position for display.
Liu teaches in response to a detection of an instruction for disabling displaying of a further layer, controlling second layer to move to a target spatial position for display (“[0810] When the user does not need to use the control region temporarily, display of the control region is temporarily disabled, so that a display area of another application on the second display can be expanded. If the control region is not needed, interference of the control region with the another application on the second display is reduced, and a user operation interface is simplified”);
Liu and Hwang modified by Zhang are analogous art as both of them are related to image processing.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang modified by Zhang by including in response to a detection of an instruction for disabling displaying of the further layer, controlling the subtitle layer to move to the target spatial position for display similar to including in response to a detection of an instruction for disabling displaying of a further layer, controlling second layer to move to a target spatial position for display as taught by Liu.
The motivation for the above is to place the subtitle layer at a position for better visibility.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in view of Zhang et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 20210096362 “Zhang_Y”).
Regarding claim 18 Hwang is silent about adding a backlight sub-layer and a quantum dot matrix sub-layer under the subtitle layer; and/or rendering a lighting animation on the subtitle layer.
Zhang_Y teaches adding a backlight sub-layer and a quantum dot matrix sub-layer under the subtitle layer; and/or rendering a lighting animation on the subtitle layer (“[0094] For example, for active type (self-luminous type) light emitting display panels such as an OLED (organic light emitting diode display panel), a QLED (quantum dot light emitting diode display panel), a Mini LED (submillimeter light emitting diode), a Micro LED (micro light emitting diode) or the like, a region, which contains semantics (such as texts, icons, charts, etc.), of an input image may be selected as the information zone at least, for controlling brightness of pixels in the information zone and non-information zone when the display module performs display function. As understood easily, for active type (self-luminous type) light emitting display panels, a region, which contains semantics (such as texts, icons, charts, etc.), of an input image may also be selected as the information zone, for example, a rectangular region, a circular region or the like including texts, icons, charts and other semantics may be selected as the information zone.
[0095] For example, for a liquid crystal display panel with a backlight, a suitable information zone may be selected according to the type of its backlight. For a liquid crystal display panel with a direct-light type backlight, a region, which contains semantics, of an input image (e.g., texts, icons, charts, etc.), such as a rectangular region”).
Hwang and Zhang_Y are analogous art as both of them are related to subtitle display.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified Hwang by adding a backlight sub-layer and a quantum dot matrix sub-layer under the subtitle layer; and/or rendering a lighting animation on the subtitle layer as taught by Zhang_Y.
The motivation for the above is to provide better focus to the subtitle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is objected because the combination of the best available prior arts fails to expressly teach the limitation of claim 8.
Claim 9 is objected by virtue of dependency.
Claims 13-15 is objected because the combination of the best available prior arts fails to expressly teach the limitation of claims 13-15
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks Page 9, filed 05/27/2026, with respect to rejection of claims under non-statutory double patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks Page 9, filed 05/27/2026, with respect to rejection of claims 10-16 and 18 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks Page 9, filed 05/27/2026, with respect to rejection of claims 1 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The rejection has been maintained.
Applicant argues, see remarks Page 12, “Hwang at paragraph [0317] discloses that "The 360-degree subtitle related metadata according to the present embodiment can specify a subtitle region by indicating the center point and a field of view (FOY) value of the subtitle region. Here, the 360-degree subtitle related metadata can indicate an offset value with respect to the center point of the viewport as the center point of the subtitle region. Accordingly, the 360-degree subtitle related meta data can specify the subtitle region at a relative position with respect to the viewport." In other words, Hwang signals, via metadata, a subtitle region whose center point is expressed as an offset relative to the viewport's center point. Hwang thus identifies a two-dimensional region (specified by a center and a horizontal/vertical FOV range; see Hwang at paragraph [0319]) on the spherical/2D rendering surface.
Amended claim 1, in contrast, requires a specific geometric construction of the target spatial position that Hwang does not perform: the determining the target spatial position in the virtual reality panoramic space based on the current line-of-sight direction of the user, comprising: determining a central point position of the virtual reality panoramic space, and obtaining a predetermined radius distance; and extending the current line-of-sight direction of the user, from the central point position according to the predetermined radius distance to a position, and taking the position as the target spatial position.”
Examiner replies, Hwang, Fig. 17 and {315-317] teaches the argued limitation. See [0317]….” . In Fig. 17, O is the central point position of the virtual reality panoramic space or the center of the sphere. The view port for the user is at a radial distance from the center of the sphere and the viewport is at user’s line of sight, User’s line of sight is extended upto the surface of the sphere ( at a predefined distance from the center of the sphere.) The center of the viewport is the position of target spatial position.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAPAS MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615