DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/26, regarding claim 4, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is noted that applicant’s arguments regarding amended claim 1 do not apply to claim 4.
Claim 4 is directed to a message receiving apparatus and not the message transmitting apparatus of claim 1. The specific claimed functionality of the message transmitting apparatus does not change or alter the functionality of the receiving apparatus. The particular method used to create a signal prior to its arrival at the receiving apparatus is not limiting upon the receiving apparatus itself.
Thus, this claim is still anticipated by Anderson.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (US 2013/0293584) (of record).
As to claim 4, Anderson discloses a message receiving apparatus (local receiving device receiving message, paragraph 30, 37; Fig. 8) comprising:
a reception controller configured to cause a communication device to receive the transmission information transmitted by the message transmitting apparatus according to claim 1 (data communication module, 825; paragraph 33, 39, 71).
imagery generator configured to generate imagery in which a virtual object moves in a virtual space (virtual object behavior module, 804; paragraph 68, 72) in accordance with the movement track information included in the transmission information (paragraph 34-36, 39); and
a display controller configured to cause a display for a user who is the recipient to display the generated imagery (Screen Rendering Module, 821; paragraph 35, 68).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (US 2013/0293584) (of record) in view of Jang (US 2016/0265934).
As to claim 1, while Anderson discloses a message transmitting apparatus (local sender device sending message, paragraph 30, 37; Fig. 4, 8) comprising:
processing circuitry (Fig. 9, paragraph 66, 82-85) configured to:
a movement track information generator (user input and gesture recognition system, 822; paragraph 22, 44, 69) configured to,
when a virtual object corresponding to a message is moved in a virtual space in accordance with an operation by a user who is a sender, generate movement track information on a movement track of the virtual object (user input designing virtual path or trajectory message will follow; paragraph 39, 44-45);
generate transmission information (paragraph 37-41) including:
the movement track information (paragraph 39, 46, 60); and
message information indicative of the message (paragraph 37-39, 42-43); and
cause a communication device to transmit the transmission information to a recipient specified by the user (data communication module, 825; paragraph 71).
wherein the operation by the user who is the sender includes:
a first operation in which the user who is the sender selects, as one or more movement tracks of the virtual object, one or more movement tracks from among a plurality of movement tracks prepared in advance (path or trajectory of the virtual object determined by the sender's device based upon the selected virtual object, with an airplane having a different route from a car; paragraph 44, 46); and
a second operation in which the user who is the sender moves the virtual object in the virtual space (sender may influence the path based upon the way the message is launched; via particular touch screen or air gesture; paragraph 44),
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to, before the transmission information is transmitted to the recipient, generate, as the movement track information, information indicative of a movement track obtained by combining the one or more movement tracks selected in the first operation with a movement of the virtual object specified in the second operation (paragraph 44-45),
they fail to specifically disclose a movement track specified in the second operation.
In an analogous art, Jang discloses an object routing system (Fig. 3-4; paragraph 45); paragraph 56-62) which will receive a first input in which the user selects a movement track prepared in advance (Fig. 6-7, input of start and destination to determine generated path; paragraph 60-61) and a second operation in which the user moves the virtual object in the virtual space to specify a different movement track (user drag/drop input to modify the original route; Fig. 4, 8-9; paragraph 48-50, 62-63) so as to enable the user to verify and review that the correct desired position was selected when navigating a touch screen (paragraph 47-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson’s system to include a movement track specified in the second operation, as taught in combination with Jang, for the typical benefit of enabling the user to verify and review that the correct desired position was selected when navigating a touch screen (paragraph 47-50).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson and Jang and further in view of Hall et al. (Hall) (US 2017/0228025) (of record).
As to claim 2, while Anderson discloses wherein the movement track represents a change in a location of the virtual object in the virtual space over time (flight path of virtual object traveling to destination over time; paragraph 35, 39, 46-55, 60),
Anderson fails to specifically disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to generate the movement track information by executing processing on the movement track, the processing being processing to remove a noise component caused by the operation by the user.
In an analogous art, Hall discloses an input system for a virtual reality system (Fig. 3; paragraph 56-62) wherein the user input is processed to remove a noise component caused by the operation by the user (paragraph 3, 38, 64-69) so as to suppress and minimize the effects of rhythmic motion and/or other inadvertent input characteristics due to medical conditions, such as Parkinson’s disease (paragraph 3), and provide enhanced user experience in an interactive system, such as a 3D interactive system or any virtual or augmented reality environment (paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anderson’s system to include wherein the movement track information generator is configured to generate the movement track information by executing processing on the movement track, the processing being processing to remove a noise component caused by the operation by the user, as taught in combination with Hall, for the typical benefit of suppressing and minimizing the effects of rhythmic motion and/or other inadvertent input characteristics due to medical conditions, such as Parkinson’s disease (paragraph 3), and providing enhanced user experience in an interactive system, such as a 3D interactive system or any virtual or augmented reality environment (paragraph 3).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424