DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 7/16/2024 and 2/5/2026 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-11, 13-19, 24-26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al (Zhao), US 2014/0219170.
Zhao is cited by the applicant in the IDS.
As per claim 1, Zhao teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
A memory (pp. 0123); and
One or more processors, coupled to the memory (pp. 0123: UE inherently includes processor and memory), configured to:
Transmit, to a network entity, a report associated with a UE capability for supporting a common timing advance (TA) configuration (pp. 0055-0077), wherein the report indicates one or more of:
A supported TA type that includes one of an independent TA or a common TA (pp. 0058-0065); or
A quantity of timing advance groups (TAGs) for a carrier aggregation (pp. 0060-0066, 0070, 0074); and
Receive, from the network entity, a TA configuration based at least in part on the report (pp. 0071, 0075).
As per claim 2, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Zhao further teaches wherein the report is per band combination (pp. 0064-0070).
As per claim 3, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Zhao further teaches wherein the supported TA type is the independent TA, and wherein the TA configuration indicates an independent TAG for each band in the band combination (pp. 0065: single TAG).
As per claim 4, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. Zhao further teaches wherein the supported TA type is the common TA, and wherein the TA configuration indicates a common TAG for a plurality of bands in the band combination (pp. 0065-0066, 0068-0069: multi-TA group).
As per claim 9, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Zhao further teaches wherein multiple independent TAs are configured as the common TA (pp. 0065-0066, 0068-0069).
As per claim 10, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Zhao further teaches wherein for the quantity of TAGs for the carrier aggregation, the report indicates a set of bands associated with a common TAG per band combination (pp. 0064, 0068-0070).
As per claim 11, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Zhao further teaches wherein for the quantity of TAGs for the carrier aggregation, the report indicates a set of component carriers associated with a common TAG per band and per band combination (pp. 0066).
As per claim 15, Zhao teaches the invention including an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:
A memory (pp. 0123); and
One or more processors, coupled to the memory (pp. 0123: network entity inherently includes processor and memory), configured to:
Receive, from a user equipment (UE), a report associated with a UE capability for supporting a common timing advance (TA) configuration (pp. 0055-0077), wherein the report indicates one or more of:
A supported TA type that includes one of an independent TA or a common TA (pp. 0058-0065); or
A quantity of timing advance groups (TAGs) for a carrier aggregation (pp. 0060-0066, 0070, 0074); and
Transmit, to the UE, a TA configuration based at least in part on the report (pp. 0071, 0075).
As per claim 16, Zhao teaches the invention including a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Transmitting, to a network entity, a report associated with a UE capability for supporting a common timing advance (TA) configuration (pp. 0055-0077), wherein the report indicates one or more of:
A supported TA type that includes one of an independent TA or a common TA (pp. 0058-0065); or
A quantity of timing advance groups (TAGs) for a carrier aggregation (pp. 0060-0066, 0070, 0074); and
Receiving, from the network entity, a TA configuration based at least in part on the report (pp. 0071, 0075).
As per claim 17, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Zhao further teaches wherein the report is per band combination (pp. 0064-0070).
As per claim 18, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 17. Zhao further teaches wherein the supported TA type is the independent TA, and wherein the TA configuration indicates an independent TAG for each band in the band combination (pp. 0065: single TAG).
As per claim 19, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 17. Zhao further teaches wherein the supported TA type is the common TA, and wherein the TA configuration indicates a common TAG for a plurality of bands in the band combination (pp. 0065-0066, 0068-0069: multi-TA group).
As per claim 24, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Zhao further teaches wherein multiple independent TAs are configured as the common TA (pp. 0065-0066, 0068-0069).
As per claim 25, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Zhao further teaches wherein for the quantity of TAGs for the carrier aggregation, the report indicates a set of bands associated with a common TAG per band combination (pp. 0064, 0068-0070).
As per claim 26, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Zhao further teaches wherein for the quantity of TAGs for the carrier aggregation, the report indicates a set of component carriers associated with a common TAG per band and per band combination (pp. 0066).
As per claim 30, Zhao teaches the invention including a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising:
Receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a report associated with a UE capability for supporting a common timing advance (TA) configuration (pp. 0055-0077), wherein the report indicates one or more of:
A supported TA type that includes one of an independent TA or a common TA (pp. 0058-0065); or
A quantity of timing advance groups (TAGs) for a carrier aggregation (pp. 0060-0066, 0070, 0074); and
Transmitting, to the UE, a TA configuration based at least in part on the report (pp. 0071, 0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (Zhao), US 2014/0219170, in view of obviousness.
As per claim 5, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Zhao does not teach wherein the report is per band and per band combination. However, it is obvious to send individual reports for each band and band combination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Zhao and further implement the device to transmit individual reports for each band and for each band combination to provide specific reports.
As per claim 20, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Zhao does not teach wherein the report is per band and per band combination. However, it is obvious to send individual reports for each band and band combination. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Zhao and further implement the device to transmit individual reports for each band and for each band combination to provide specific reports.
Claim(s) 8 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al (Zhao), US 2014/0219170, in view of You et al (YOU), US 2023/0328745.
As per claim 8, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Zhao does not teach wherein the common TA is not configured as multiple independent TAs. YOU teaches a default TA as the common TA that is not configured as multiple independent TAs (pp. 0164-0166). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Zhao and YOU and configure a default TA that is common for different devices and dedicated TAs as independent TAs for each device.
As per claim 23, Zhao teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Zhao does not teach wherein the common TA is not configured as multiple independent TAs. YOU teaches a default TA as the common TA that is not configured as multiple independent TAs (pp. 0164-0166). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Zhao and YOU and configure a default TA that is common for different devices and dedicated TAs as independent TAs for each device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 12-14, 21-22 and 27-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al, US 2023/0164829
Uchino et al, US 2023/0042828
Kim et al, US 2020/0221410
Sebire et al, US 2011/0243102
Echigo et al, US 2024/0340826
Yoshioka et al, EP 4383847A1
Yoshioka et al, EP 4412274A1
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
June 4, 2026