Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-4, 6-15 and 17-18 in the reply filed on 9/18/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no burden in searching both sets of claims. This is not found persuasive because the inventions are classified in different international search areas making the overall search area overly large and burdensome.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-13, 15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunter et al. (USPGPub 2005/0149157).
Regarding claims 1-4, 9-13, 15 and 17 Hunter teaches providing a medical implant such as a sensor [0890] or an infusion set (devices for continuous subarachnoid infusions being reasonably implicit of an “infusion set” or at least part thereof) with a coating thereon that may comprise an elastase inhibitor [0291-0292], an antimicrobial agent [0436] or an anti-inflammatory agent [0436]wherein the provided drugs may be provided with a carrier [0131] that may be a synthetic matrix [0168] wherein the medical device may be sterilized and packaged [1034].
Regarding claim 18, Hunter further teaches the use of pacemakers and ICD systems that have sensors thereon [0145][0152] which may be coated by the same drugs listed above in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally it noted that the sensors of Hunter read upon analyte sensors wherein the sensors would reasonably be able of detecting analytes that are detectable based upon electrical charge variations. "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter et al. (USPGPub 2005/0149157) as applied to claims 1-4, 9-13, 15 and 17-18 above.
Regarding claims 6-7, the teachings of Hunter are as shown above. Hunter is silent as to whether the elastase inhibitors are intracellular or extracellular in nature. However, reasonably this covers all possibilities given that all elastase inhibitors fall into one of these two categories. Therefore, given a limited number of defined possibilities, it would have been considered “obvious to try” for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attempt to use intracellular or extracellular elastase inhibitors wherein either option would provide predictable results that would be expected to function in the invention of Hunter.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter et al. (USPGPub 2005/0149157) as applied to claims 1-4, 9-13, 15 and 17-18 above and further in view of Masters (USPGPub 2003/0007991).
Regarding claim 8, the teachings of Hunter are as shown above. Hunter fails to teach wherein the medical device comprises a therapeutic nucleic acid as an active agent in the medical coating. However, Masters teaches that it is known to incorporate DNAs and RNAs as active agents in coated medical devices [0146] such as pacemakers (abstract) wherein the benefit provided is relative to the specific nucleic acid chosen as described. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the DNA or RNA derivatives and variations of Masters in the invention of Hunter in order to gain the specific drug/therapeutic benefit provided dependent upon the specific DNA or RNA derivative or variation chosen.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter et al. (USPGPub 2005/0149157) as applied to claims 1-4, 9-13, 15 and 17-18 above and further in view of Mirov (USPGPub 2018/0165422).
Regarding claim 14, the teachings of Hunter are as shown above. Hunter fails to teach wherein the medical device to be coated is a drug-injecting pen. However, Mirov teaches that it is known to provided the same sensors to medical devices such as drug dispensing pens that are provided to implantable medical devices [0071]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the drug-injecting pen of Mirov for the implantable medical device of Hunter as a simple substitution of one medical device for another wherein the substitution would be predictable based upon the teachings of Mirov.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717