DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Preliminary amendment submitted on August 27th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-13 are currently pending and under consideration. Claims 1, 3, and 8 have been amended. All previously set forth 112(b) rejections have been overcome.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 27th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. While the amended claim language is seen to overcome the previously presented rejection relying on Yan in view of Fangrow, the newly presented rejection of Yan in view of Stevens is seen to render the current limitations obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. As the arguments presented by the applicant are drawn toward the combination of Yan and Fangrow and each of these references not teaching the limitations of “the inner cavity having a diameter smaller than an outer diameter of the spike”, and the current rejection does not rely upon either of these references to disclose/teach this limitations, but rather relies on the teachings of Stevens as seen below, this argument is found to be moot as stated above.
Regarding applicant’s argument against the reasoning of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143 requires that “to reject a claim based on this rational, Office personal must resolve the Graham factual inquiries. The, Office personal must articulate the following:
(1) a finding that the prior art contained a "base" device (method, or product) upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an "improvement;"
(2) a finding that the prior art contained a "comparable" device (method, or product that is not the same as the base device) that has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention;
(3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have applied the known "improvement" technique in the same way to the "base" device (method, or product) and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; and
(4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness.
The below rejection is seen to cover these articulation points in (1) the base device of Yan wherein the claimed invention is seen as an “improvement” to this base device in that it contains a friction fitted sealing connection with the outer component comprising an inner cavity with a smaller diameter than the inner placed component rather than a simple contact seal and therefore is an improvement over the base device with the base device having been disclosed prior to the currently presented devices effective filing date and thus ready for improvement; (2) the comparable device of Stevens has been improved in the same manner as the claimed invention; (3) one of ordinary skill in the art is seen to have been capable of applying this improvement technique in the same way to Yan and the results would have provided the predictable result of improving the sealing engagement between the two components. (4) Additional Stevens describes this improvement as preferable (see below rejection). As such the argument that Yan has not been established as a known device “ready for improvement” as there is no deficiency identified in Yan is not considered persuasive as this establishment of deficiency is not seen as a requirement according to the MPEP 2143 guidance on establishment of obviousness according to the known technique reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WIPO Publication 2019/219383) in view of Stevens (U.S. Patent No. 5,833,662).
Regarding claim 1, Yan discloses a connector assembly (Fig. 14) comprising an adaptor 2 and a cap 50 to be connected to each other, wherein the adaptor comprises:
A proximal connection portion 10 configured to be removably connectable to a medical injection device (Abstract removably screwed to the inner threaded portion); and
a spike 30 extending distally from the proximal connection portion (Abstract extending distally from proximal part) and around a central axis (Fig. 3 shows central axis A),
Wherein the cap comprises a cap body 51 defining an inner cavity extending around the central axis (Fig. 3 shows how 51 extends around axis A), the inner cavity being open at a proximal end (proximal end of proximal part 53) of the cap body (opening 54 results in open at proximal part 53) and is closed at a distal end (end of distal part 52 located at 84) of the cap body (part 52 closed) , wherein the connector assembly is configured such that the cap is removably connected to the adaptor in such a way that the spike is accommodated within the inner cavity (Page 15 lines 4-9 mounting or removing the sealing cap from the hollow spike).
Yan fails to disclose the cap being removable connected to the adaptor by press-fit between the spike and the inner cavity, the inner cavity having a diameter smaller than an outer diameter of the spike.
However, Stevens, in the same field of endeavor of caps with inner cavities for containing a spike element (Col. 5 lines 16-25 cap 20 provided for use on the cutting edge to guard against accidental infection to the operator after the needle has been withdrawn from the dilator…friction fit grip and seal is established between the needle and the lumen of the cap), teaches a cap 20 comprising an inner cavity (Col. 5 lines 16-25 lumen) to be connected around a spike 62 that is connected through press-fit (Col. 5 lines 16-25 adapted to slide over the distal tip of the needle to completely cover the edge 66. A friction fit grip and seal is established between the needle and the lumen of the cap; sliding over such that friction fit and seal is established between the needle and the lumen of the cap which is sized slightly smaller in inner diameter than the outer diameter of the needle constitutes a press-fit), the inner cavity (lumen) having a diameter smaller than an outer diameter of the spike (Col. 5 lines 16-25 which is preferably sized slightly smaller in inner diameter than the outer diameter of the needle) for the purpose of providing a friction fit grip and seal between the needle and the inner cavity of the cap.
Yan further discloses the cap being sealing connected to the spike through contact (contact inherent to friction between the two) between the inner surface of the sealing cap and the outer surface of the spike (Page 14 lines 31-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connection of Yan to have included press-fitting wherein the inner cavity has a smaller diameter than an outer diameter of the spike as taught by Stevens since it has been held that a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device (method, or product) that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. This known technique of press-fitting two components wherein the outer component has a smaller diameter in a cavity meant to receive the inner component in a sealingly connected fashion would have yielded predictable results of connecting the two components in a sealing manner. This would result in a tight connection between the two elements such that fluid cannot pass between the two parts and a seal is maintained accordingly which can be seen as an improvement of the sealing function over two components simply in contact with one another as taught by Stevens in the statement that the formation of an inner cavity having a smaller diameter than the inserted component is a preferable structure for friction sealed components (Col. 5 lines 16-25). See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 5, Yan in view of Stevens suggest the assembly according to claim 1. Yan further discloses the adaptor further comprising a rim 25 extending around the central axis at a distance distally away from the flange (distance of element 24) and wherein the cap further comprises a collar 58 extending distally (extends distal to proximal end and thus extends distally) from the cap body and radially outward of the cap body around the central axis (Fig. 15 shows radial extension outward from the cap body around the central axis).
Regarding claim 6, Yan in view of Stevens suggest the assembly according to claim 5. Yan further discloses the collar having a ring shape (ring shape seen in Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 7, Yan in view of Stevens suggest the assembly according to claim 5. Yan further discloses the adaptor further comprising at least one retention barb (rim 25 extends radially inward forming barb) extending proximally from the rim and being slanted toward the central axis (Fig. 15 shows slant proximally toward the central axis), the retention barb being configured to be engageable with a vial that is to be connected to the adaptor (Page 12 lines 36-37 rim is configured to abut against a recess of the collar of the container).
Yan does not expressly disclose the vial being removably connected to the adaptor, however, the limitations of “removably connected” are considered functional language (describe the function of being capable of removing the vial). While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Thus, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited the claim, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the device of Yan in view of Stevens suggest all the structure as claimed, and further disclose the barbs being capable of having the cap element inserted and removed from the adaptor which shows the capability of being able to remove a component that is inserted into the barbed region of the device. As such, it is capable of performing the functions as claimed (i.e. it is capable of functioning such that the vial is removable).
Regarding claim 8, Yan in view of Stevens suggest the assembly according to claim 7. Yan further discloses a locking claw (portion of ring 58 that abuts rim of 25) configured to be engageable with the retention barb (Page 15 lines 1-3 ring configured to abut the rim, this abutment prevents the sealing cap from being pulled off, thus performing the locking function).
Regarding claim 12, Yan in view of Stevens suggest the assembly according to claim 1. Yan further discloses the adaptor further comprising a flange 21 extending distally from the proximal connection portion and radially outward of the spike around the central axis (Fig. 15 shows distal and radial placement), the flange including on its inner surface (surface facing hollow portion 26) at least one support rib 15 protruding radially and inwardly (protrudes inward to 26 and is radial due to its annular nature around the central axis and its thickness).
Claim(s) 2, 4, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WIPO Publication 2019/219383) in view of Stevens (U.S. Patent No. 5,833,662) and Kitani (U.S. Publication 2008/0004600).
Regarding claim 2, Yan in view of Stevens suggest the assembly according to claim 1. Yan further discloses the adaptor comprising a flange extending distally from the proximal connection portion and radially outward of the spike around the central axis (Page 12 lines 26-30 flange extends radially outwardly from the distal region of the proximal part).
Yan does not expressly disclose the cap further comprising threads on an outer circumference of the cap body.
However, Kitani, in the same field of endeavor of fluidically connecting devices (Fig. 7), teaches providing a connection between a first component 21 and a second component 22 that connects a device through an annular engagement 26 engaging with a groove as well as through threads 25 on an outer circumference of a body of the first component that engage with an engaging protrusion of the second component (threads of female connector that engage with threads 25) for the purpose of preventing unintentional loosening of the screwed together state (¶0033 maintained without this together state becoming looser) while allowing the components to be screwed together in such a manner that they are strongly tightened together to eliminate problems such as the formation of cracks and the leakage of medicinal solution if a gap is formed (¶0035).
It would have been obvious to have modified the cap and adaptor of Yan to have included threads on an outer circumference of the cap body as well as a corresponding female engaging protrusions, i.e. threads, on the adaptor in conjunction with the already present annular ring component 58, as taught by Kitani, to allow for the components to be screwed together in such a manner that they are strongly tightened together to eliminate problems such as the formation of cracks and the leakage of medicinal solution if a gap is formed (¶0035 of Kitani) while preventing unintentional loosening of the screwed together state (¶0033 of Kitani maintained without this together state becoming looser).
Regarding claim 4, Yan in view of Stevens suggest the assembly according to claim 1. Yan further discloses the adaptor comprising a flange extending distally from the proximal connection portion and radially outward of the spike around the central axis (Page 12 lines 26-30 flange extends radially outwardly from the distal region of the proximal part) and the cap body having an outer circumference around the central axis (surface facing away from spike).
Yan does not expressly disclose the cap further comprising at least one tooth in the form of a spiral on the outer circumference of the cap body.
However, Kitani, in the same field of endeavor of fluidically connecting devices (Fig. 7), teaches providing a connection between a first component 21 and a second component 22 that connects a device through an annular engagement 26 engaging with a groove as well as through tooth 25 in the form of a spiral (threads) on an outer circumference of a body of the first component that engage with an engaging protrusion of the second component (threads of female connector that engage with threads 25) for the purpose of preventing unintentional loosening of the screwed together state (¶0033 maintained without this together state becoming looser) while allowing the components to be screwed together in such a manner that they are strongly tightened together to eliminate problems such as the formation of cracks and the leakage of medicinal solution if a gap is formed (¶0035).
It would have been obvious to have modified the cap and adaptor of Yan to have included a tooth on an outer circumference of the cap body as well as a corresponding female engaging protrusions, i.e. threads, on the adaptor in conjunction with the already present annular ring component 58, as taught by Kitani, to allow for the components to be screwed together in such a manner that they are strongly tightened together to eliminate problems such as the formation of cracks and the leakage of medicinal solution if a gap is formed (¶0035 of Kitani) while preventing unintentional loosening of the screwed together state (¶0033 of Kitani maintained without this together state becoming looser).
Regarding claim 9, Yan in view of Stevens and Kitani disclose the assembly according to claim 4. Yan further discloses the adaptor further comprising at least one retention barb (rim 25 extends radially inward forming barb) extending proximally from the rim and being slanted toward the central axis (Fig. 15 shows slant proximally toward the central axis), the retention barb being configured to be engageable with a vial that is to be connected to the adaptor (Page 12 lines 36-37 rim is configured to abut against a recess of the collar of the container).
Yan does not expressly disclose the vial being removably connected to the adaptor, however, the limitations of “removably connected” are considered functional language (describe the function of being capable of removing the vial). While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). Thus, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited the claim, then it meets the claim. In the instant case, the device of Yan in view of Stevens suggest all the structure as claimed, and further disclose the barbs being capable of having the cap element inserted and removed from the adaptor which shows the capability of being able to remove a component that is inserted into the barbed region of the device. As such, it is capable of performing the functions as claimed (i.e. it is capable of functioning such that the vial is removable).
Regarding claim 10, Yan discloses the assembly according to claim 9. Yan further discloses a locking claw (portion of ring 58 that abuts rim of 25) configured to be engageable with the retention barb (Page 15 lines 1-3 ring configured to abut the rim, this abutment prevents the sealing cap from being pulled off, thus performing the locking function).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WIPO Publication 2019/219383) in view of Stevens (U.S. Patent No. 5,833,662) and Kitani (U.S. Publication 20080004600) and further in view of Cooke (U.S. Patent No. 3,952,899).
Regarding claim 3, Yan in view of Stevens and Kitani suggest the assembly according to claim 2. Yan in view of Kitani further suggest the adaptor having an engaging protrusion that engages the threads of the cap (see above rejection of claim 2).
Yan in view of Kitani do not expressly disclose a stopper disposed in a helical groove delimited by the threads or the engaging protrusion being formed with a locking groove (groove configured to receive the stopper when the cap is connected to the adaptor.
However, Cooke in the same field of endeavor of closing caps for sealing a container, teaches a stopper (18) disposed in a helical groove (disposed in helical groove formed by element 16) delimited by the threads (18 formed by thread 16 and therefore delimited by said thread) that is received in a locking groove 19 formed by an engaging protrusion (21) when a cap is connected to a container for the purpose of requiring a special manipulative procedure to remove the cap (Col. 1 lines 11-16 of Cooke) which would have the benefit of preventing unintentional removal of the cap from the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device suggested by Yan in view of Kitani, to have included the stopper and locking groove as taught by Cooke for the purpose of requiring a special manipulative procedure to remove the cap (Col. 1 lines 11-16 of Cooke) which would have the benefit of preventing unintentional removal of the cap from the device.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WIPO Publication 2019/219383) in view of Stevens (U.S. Patent No. 5,833,662) and McLoughlin et al. (U.S. Publication 2014/0358083).
Regarding claim 11, Yan in view of Stevens disclose the assembly according to claim 8. Neither Yan nor Stevens disclose or suggest the at least one locking claw having a forked tip.
However, McLoughlin, in the same field of endeavor of medical syringes, and caps for protecting fluid transfer spikes, i.e. needles, discloses a cap 50 intended to cover a medical spike 15 that comprises a locking claw 52 having a forked tip (see Fig. 3 shows prongs of fork in circumferential pattern) for the purpose of engaging a housing upon which the cap is to be connected (¶0275 a crown arrangement of first engagement features that are sized and shaped to extend up into the cassette unit housing ) and selectively preventing removal of the cap form the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted locking claw of Yan that performs the function of engaging the rim of adaptor for the locking claw of McLoughlin since these elements perform the same function of engaging an element to attach a cap to a device. Simply substituting one annular engagement means for another would yield the predictable result of allowing a(n) cap to attached. See MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (WIPO Publication 2019/219383) in view of Stevens (U.S. Patent No. 5,833,662) and Kitani (U.S. Publication 20080004600) and McLoughlin et al. (U.S. Publication 2014/0358083).
Regarding claim 13, Yan in view of Stevens and Kitani suggest the assembly according to claim 10. Neither Yan nor Stevens disclose or suggest the at least one locking claw having a forked tip.
However, McLoughlin, in the same field of endeavor of medical syringes, and caps for protecting fluid transfer spikes, i.e. needles, discloses a cap 50 intended to cover a medical spike 15 that comprises a locking claw 52 having a forked tip (see Fig. 3 shows prongs of fork in circumferential pattern) for the purpose of engaging a housing upon which the cap is to be connected (¶0275 a crown arrangement of first engagement features that are sized and shaped to extend up into the cassette unit housing ) and selectively preventing removal of the cap form the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted locking claw of Yan that performs the function of engaging the rim of adaptor for the locking claw of McLoughlin since these elements perform the same function of engaging an element to attach a cap to a device. Simply substituting one annular engagement means for another would yield the predictable result of allowing a(n) cap to attached. See MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER DANIEL SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/SARAH AL HASHIMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781