DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of fuses” of claims 2-5, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3-7 are objected to because:
Claim 1, line 13, “the opposite direction” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 1, lines 15-16, “the direction” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 1, line 18, “the side” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 3, line 3, “the plurality of fuses” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 3, line 4, “a plurality of fuses” should be -the plurality of fuses-.
Claim 4, line 3, “the plurality of fuses” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5, line 2, “the order” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6, line 1, “An electrical energy distribution system” should be – The electrical energy distribution system-.
Claim 6, lines 1-2, “a high-voltage direct current source” should be -the high-voltage direct current source-.
Claim 6, line 2, “a contactor” should be -the contactor-.
Claim 6, line 3, “a first electrical contact” should be -the first electrical contact-.
Claim 6, line 4, “a second electrical contact” should be -the second electrical contact-.
Claim 7, line 1, “An aircraft” should be -The aircraft”.
Claim 7, line 1, “an electrical energy distribution system” should be – the electrical energy distribution system-.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, phrases, “so-called closed position” and “so-called open position” are unclear and leave doubts as to how a technical feature can be, “so-called closed position” or “so-called open position”.
Claims 2-5, phrase, “a plurality of fuses” is unclear and leave doubts as to what technical feature is being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pohl, EP 0410258.
Regarding claim 1, Pohl discloses (figs.1-2) a contactor (2) intended to be used in an electrical power distribution system within an aircraft (intended use) and including a first electrical contact (3), a second electrical contact (4), and a movable bridge (5) displaceable between a so-called closed position in which the movable bridge (5) is in contact with the first electrical contact (3) and the second electrical contact (4), and a so-called open position in which the movable bridge (5) is spaced apart from the first electrical contact (3) and from the second electrical contact (4), the movable bridge (5) having a first face intended to be in contact with the first electrical contact (3) and the second electrical contact (4) in the closed position, and a second face opposite the first face,
the contactor (2) further including:
- a lower arc guide comprising a first portion (6) connected to the first electrical contact (3), extending in the opposite direction to the second electrical contact (4) with respect to the first electrical contact (3), and a second portion (8) connected to the second electrical contact (4), extending in the direction opposite the first electrical contact (3) with respect to the second electrical contact (4),
- an upper arc guide located on the side of the second face of the movable bridge (5) and comprising a first portion (7) facing the first portion (6) of the lower arc guide, a second portion (9) facing the second portion (8) of the lower arc guide.
Pohl fails to disclose a fuse connecting the first portion and the second portion of the upper arc guide.
Darr discloses (figs.1-2) a switch disconnect device (102) comprising a fuse (106) connecting a first portion and a second portion of an upper arc guide (158, 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contactor of Pohl with the inclusion of the fuse of Darr, thereby ensuring that when electrical current through the fuse exceeds a predetermined limit, the fusible elements melt and opens one or more circuits through the fuse to prevent electrical component damage.
Regarding claim 3, Pohl and Darr further disclose where the upper arc guide (158, 160) comprises a fuse holder (154, 154) to receive said fuse (106) by connection.
Regarding claim 6, Pohl further discloses the electrical energy distribution system comprising the high- voltage direct current source, the contactor (2), having the first electrical contact (3) connected to the high-voltage direct current source and the second electrical contact (4) connected to a terminal (15) of the system for the connection of a load.
Regarding claim 7, Pohl further discloses the aircraft (intended use) comprising an electrical energy distribution system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pettersen et al, Mickler et al, Brakefield et al, Neyens et al, Gaudinat et al and Buettner et al are examples of high voltage switches including fuses configured similar to the present invention.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831