DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/31/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-5, 9-10 have been amended. Claims 3 and 8 have been cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-14 remain pending in the application. Examiner appreciates the thorough explanation of the invention and amendments provided in the applicant’s response. Unfortunately, the claims remain obviated in view of Applicant’s amendments as explained below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoitsutei (JP H06255575 A) in view of Miller (US Patent No. 9926051).
Regarding claim 1, Hoitsutei teaches a fin (element 11) configured to be attached to a board (Figures 1-7), wherein the board comprises a front and rear portion, wherein the board comprises a top and bottom surface, wherein the fin is configured to be attached to the rear portion of the bottom surface of a board (¶ [0016-0030] and Figures 1-7), wherein a core member (leg members, elements 20) having high strength is provided in the fin so as to be arranged biasedly toward a board side of the fin (¶ [0016-0030] and Figures 1-7), but fails to specifically teach wherein an outer edge of the core member extends continuously from a front leg portion to a rear leg portion of the fin to be attached to the back surface side of the board. However, use of core portions connected from front leg portion to rear leg portion and attached to back surface sides of boards are well known in the art as is evidenced by Figure 1 of Miller. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the core of Hoitsutei with the connected core of Miller, in order to provide additional strength and support to the interior core of the fin to increase durability and longevity of use.
Regarding claim 2, Hoitsutei in view of Miller teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the core member is arranged along an outer shape of the fin (Figure 1 of Hoitsutei inasmuch as applicant has claimed).
Regarding claim 4, Hoitsutei in view of Miller teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein a leading end of the core member is positioned on a board side of a top point of a rear edge portion of the fin (Figure 1 of Hoitsutei depicts that the leading end of the core members are positioned closer to the board than the apex of the rear edge portion of the fin).
Regarding claim 5, Hoitsutei in view of Miller teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein a rear end of the core member is positioned on the front side of a base point of a rear edge portion of the fin (Figure 1 of Hoitsutei depicts that the rear ends of the core members are positioned further forward than the base point of the rear edge portion of the fin).
Regarding claim 6, Hoitsutei in view of Miller teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the core member is formed of a wire rod (¶ [0016-0030] and Figures 1-7 of Hoitsutei).
Regarding claim 7, Hoitsutei in view of Miller teaches the invention in claim 1, wherein the core member is bonded to a base member forming the fin (Figures 5-7 and ¶ [0016-0031] of Hoitsutei teach a plurality of different bonding between the core and base plug 12).
Regarding claim 9, Hoitsutei in view of Miller teaches the invention in claim 2, wherein a leading end of the core member is positioned on a board side of a top point of a rear edge portion of the fin (Figure 1 of Hoitsutei depicts that the leading end of the core members are positioned closer to the board than the apex of the rear edge portion of the fin).
Regarding claim 10, Hoitsutei in view of Miller teaches the invention in claim 2, wherein a rear end of the core member is positioned on the front side of a base point of a rear edge portion of the fin Figure 1 of Hoitsutei depicts that the rear ends of the core members are positioned further forward than the base point of the rear edge portion of the fin).
Regarding claim 11, Hoitsutei in view of Miller teaches the invention in claim 2, wherein the core member is formed of a wire rod (¶ [0016-0030] and Figures 1-7 of Hoitsutei).
Regarding claim 12, Hoitsutei in view of Miller teaches the invention in claim 2, wherein the core member is bonded to a base (Figures 5-7 and ¶ [0016-0031] teach a plurality of different bonding between the core and base plug 12 of Hoitsutei).
Regarding claim 13, Hoitsutei in view of Miller teaches a board comprising a fin as claimed in claim 1, affixed to the board (abstract of Hoitsutei).
Regarding claim 14, Hoitsutei in view of Miller teaches a board comprising a fin as claimed in claim 13, wherein the board comprises a surfboard (Abstract of Hoitsutei).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN MICHAEL HESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3644