DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.2022-032278, filed on 3/3/2022.
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the preliminary amendment filed on 7/16/2024. The amendment has been placed of record in the file.
The Information Disclosure Statements
The prior art cited in the information disclosure statements filed on 7/16/2024, 2/13/2025, 6/9/2025, has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20-21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Piironen et al. (US Patent # 6,327,374 B1) [ hereinafter Piironen].
As claims 8, 21, Piironen teaches a surface inspection method for a metal material in which a surface defect of the metal material is optically detected, the surface inspection method comprising: irradiating a surface of the metal material (20, 80, Figs. 1, 3, 11) with light (10-12, Figs. 1, 3, 11); obtaining a plurality of images (21, 84, Figs. 3, 11) by capturing reflected light from the surface of the metal material by the light emitted in two or more different wavelength bands (light sources of different colors having different wavelength ranges; see column 7, line 50 to column 8, line 20); and detecting the surface defect present on the surface of the metal material (column 6, lines 21-33) from information of a relative signal intensity between the plurality of images obtained from a same position on the surface of the metal material in (b) (column 6, line 48 to column 7, 20; note, in dark-field illumination, Light is directed at the surface. A flawless, smooth surface reflects this light away from the camera lens, appearing dark. Only surface irregularities, such as scratches, edges, pits, or particles, scatter this light back toward the camera, making them appear as bright, high-contrast features against a dark background, and vis a vis in bright-field illumination; thus. from information of relative signal intensity/dark- brightness).
As claim 10, Piironen teaches all as applied to claim 8, and in addition teaches , wherein includes irradiating the metal material with the light so that an angle with respect to a normal direction of the surface of the metal material falls within a range of 60° or more and less than 90°, and includes receiving the reflected light so that a light receiving angle with respect to the surface of the metal material falls within a range of 0° or more and less than 20° (Figs. 1, 3, 12).
As to claim 12, Piironen teaches all as applied to claim 8, and in addition teaches wherein at least one of the two or more different wavelength bands is a wavelength band of 500 nm or less (column 7, lines 50-59).
As to claim 14, Piironen teaches all as applied to claim 10, and in addition teaches wherein at least one of the two or more different wavelength bands is a wavelength band of 500 nm or less (column 7, lines 50-59).
As to claim 16, Piironen teaches all as applied to claim 8, and in addition teaches wherein at least one of the two or more different wavelength bands is a wavelength band of 650 nm or more (column 7, lines 50-59).
As to claim 18, Piironen teaches all as applied to claim 10, and in addition teaches wherein at least one of the two or more different wavelength bands is a wavelength band of 650 nm or more (column 7, lines 50-59).
As to claim 20, Piironen teaches a surface inspection apparatus for a metal material that optically detects a surface defect of the metal material, the surface inspection apparatus comprising: irradiation means (10-12, Figs. 1, 3) for irradiating a surface of the metal material (20, Figs. 1, 3) with light; image capturing means (21, 84, Figs. 1, 3, 11) for obtaining a plurality of images by capturing reflected light from the surface of the metal material by the light emitted by the irradiation means in two or more different wavelength bands ; and detecting means (column 6, lines 21-33) for detecting the surface defect present on the surface of the metal material. Note “from information of a relative signal intensity between the plurality of images obtained from a same position on the surface of the metal material by the image capturing means.’ is intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Piironen in view of Wang (US 2019/0318469 A1).
As to claim 9, Piironen teaches all as applied to claim 8 except wherein detecting the surface defect using a determiner created by a machine learning method using: a relative intensity between the plurality of images as a feature amount; or a plurality of amounts calculated from the relative intensity as the feature amount. However, Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches detecting an speckle pattern generated by the reflected and/or scattered and/or transmitted light from an object, and then analyzing the speckle patterns using artificial neural network based machine learning (paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a learning machine model to Piironen invention in order to provide advantages that include: parallel processing, error tolerance, hardware implementation, and learning ability (paragraph 0039).
As to claim 11, Piironen in view of Wang teaches all as applied to claim 9, and in addition Piironen teaches irradiating the metal material with the light so that an angle with respect to a normal direction of the surface of the metal material falls within a range of 60° or more and less than 90°, and receiving the reflected light so that a light receiving angle with respect to the surface of the metal material falls within a range of 0° or more and less than 20° (Figs. 1, 3, 12).
As to claim 13, Piironen in view of Wang teaches all as applied to claim 9, and in addition Piironen teaches wherein at least one of the two or more different wavelength bands is a wavelength band of 500 nm or less (column 7, lines 50-59).
As to claim 15, Piironen in view of Wang teaches all as applied to claim 11, and in addition Piironen teaches wherein at least one of the two or more different wavelength bands is a wavelength band of 500 nm or less (column 7, lines 50-59).
As to claim 17, Piironen in view of Wang teaches all as applied to claim 9, and in addition Piironen teaches wherein at least one of the two or more different wavelength bands is a wavelength band of 650 nm or more (column 7, lines 50-59).
As to claim 19, Piironen in view of Wang teaches all as applied to claim 11, and in addition Piironen teaches wherein at least one of the two or more different wavelength bands is a wavelength band of 650 nm or more (column 7, lines 50-59).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Nakao (US 2018/0350060 A1) teaches an invention to make it possible to highly accurately specify a contour even with simple operation and further improve accuracy of a defect inspection. A plurality of edge detection regions are set on an image for inspection. A contour segment is formed in each of the edge detection regions. Connection processing for connecting an end portion of one contour segment and an end portion of another contour segment is repeatedly executed to form a closed region. A defect inspection of an inspection target object is executed with the closed region set as an inspection target region (abstract).
/ABDULLAHI NUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2886