Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a) Claim 7 line 2: “the first time point” lacks antecedent basis.
b) Claim 7 line 11: “the second time point” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-12, 14, 17-20, 23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20240064858 to Niu et al.
Referring to claim 1, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 a method for triggering an operation, performed by a terminal (UE), comprising:
Receiving target information (distance threshold, timing advance threshold, and time threshold) sent by a network device (UE); wherein the target information is used by the terminal to determine a trigger condition (trigger conditions of Tables 5, 7, 8, 12, and 13) for triggering at least one of a RRC re-establishment operation (Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13) or a neighboring cell measurement operation (Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080; Tables 5, 7, and 8). Section 0005: BS transmits a SI broadcast message or RRC message to UE, which includes threshold parameters such as distance threshold, timing advance threshold, and time threshold. UE uses the threshold parameters determine a trigger condition to trigger a RRC re-establishment operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 12-13 or a neighboring cell measurement operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 5, 7, and 8.
Determining that the trigger condition being is satisfied, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a distance between UE and a serving cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater than the distance threshold; also, UE determines a distance between UE and a neighbor cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater less than the distance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a timing advance to a serving cell, then UE compares the timing advance with a timing advance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the timing advance is greater than the timing advance threshold; also, UE determines a timing advance to a neighbor cell, then UE compares the timing advance with a timing advance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the timing advance is less than the timing advance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080, Table 5: UE determines a distance between UE and a neighboring cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the distance is greater than the distance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080, Table 7: UE determines a timing advance to a neighbor cell, then UE compares the timing advance with a timing advance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the timing advance is greater than the timing advance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 2, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 wherein receiving the target information sent by the network device comprises at least one of:
Receiving a system message (SI broadcast message) comprising the target information sent by the network device.
Or, receiving an RRC message (RRC message) comprising the target information sent by the network device. Sections 0005, 0057-0065, 0071-0080, and 0092-0098: BS transmits a SI broadcast message or RRC message to UE, which includes threshold parameters such as distance threshold, timing advance threshold, and time threshold. UE uses the threshold parameters determine a trigger condition to trigger a RRC re-establishment operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 12-13 or a neighboring cell measurement operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 5, 7, and 8. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 3, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 wherein the target information comprises time information (timing advance threshold and time threshold) or location information (distance threshold). Section 0005: BS transmits a SI broadcast message or RRC message to UE, which includes threshold parameters such as distance threshold, timing advance threshold, and time threshold. UE uses the threshold parameters determine a trigger condition to trigger a RRC re-establishment operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 12-13 or a neighboring cell measurement operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 5, 7, and 8. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 4, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 wherein the time information is used to indicate a target time point (timing threshold), and the target time point comprises any one:
A first time point at which a serving cell ends a service (time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell; the serving cell ends service with UE after UE leaves the serving cell). Sections 0064 and 0094, Table 12: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0064 and 0078, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold. Also: Figure 4 and Sections 0117-0118: BS predicts satellite location and sends the neighbor cell and prediction information to UE in a SI broadcast message or RRC message; the prediction information indicates when a cell will serve and stop serving an area associated with UE; based on the prediction information, UE determines the cell that will serve the area in a coming eDRX cycle, for example, the coming 5th eDRX cycle, and UE performs the neighbor cell measurement for this cell in advance, before the coming 5th eDRX cycle, such as performing cell measurement for the cell during the coming 4th eDRX cycle.
Or, a second time point (time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell) used to trigger the terminal to perform the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation. Sections 0064 and 0094-0096, Table 12: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0064 and 0078-0079, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold.
Or, wherein the time information is used to indicate a target duration (time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell; the serving cell provides services to UE for the duration of time that UE is in the serving cell), and the target duration comprises any one of the following:
A first duration in which a serving cell provides a service (time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell; the serving cell provides services to UE for the duration of time that UE is in the serving cell). Sections 0064 and 0094-0096, Table 12: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0064 and 0078-0079, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold. Also: Figure 4 and Sections 0117-0118: BS predicts satellite location and sends the neighbor cell and prediction information to UE in a SI broadcast message or RRC message; the prediction information indicates when a cell will serve and stop serving an area associated with UE; based on the prediction information, UE determines the cell that will serve the area in a coming eDRX cycle, for example, the coming 5th eDRX cycle, and UE performs the neighbor cell measurement for this cell in advance, before the coming 5th eDRX cycle, such as performing cell measurement for the cell during the coming 4th eDRX cycle.
Or, a second duration (time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell, which is a duration of time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell) used to trigger the terminal to perform the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation. Sections 0064 and 0094-0096, Table 12: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0064 and 0078-0079, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 5, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 wherein determining that the trigger condition is satisfied and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation comprises any one of the following:
In response to an arrival of the target time point (as indicated by the time threshold or as indicated by a timer expiring) indicated by the time information, performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0099-0111: BS transmits a timer value to UE; when the timer expires, UE triggers an RRC reestablishment.
Or, performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) or the neighboring cell measurement operation before an arrival of the target time point indicated by the time information (when a cell will serve and stop serving an area associated with UE). Figure 4 and Sections 0117-0118: BS predicts satellite location and sends the neighbor cell and prediction information to UE in a SI broadcast message or RRC message; the prediction information indicates when a cell will serve and stop serving an area associated with UE; based on the prediction information, UE determines the cell that will serve the area in a coming eDRX cycle, for example, the coming 5th eDRX cycle, and UE performs the neighbor cell measurement for this cell in advance, before the coming 5th eDRX cycle, such as performing cell measurement for the cell during the coming 4th eDRX cycle. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 10, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 further comprising:
Receiving an RRC message comprising the time information (timer value of timer) sent by the network device, and starting a timer; wherein a timing duration of the timer is equal to the target duration indicated by the time information (the duration of the timer is the timer value of the RRC message). Sections 0099-0111: BS transmits a timer value of a timer to UE in a SI broadcast message or RRC message.
Determining that the trigger condition is satisfied, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) comprises:
Determining that the timer expires, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). When the timer expires, UE triggers an RRC reestablishment. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 11, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 wherein the location information comprises at least one of:
A reference location of a serving cell, and a first distance threshold (distance threshold) between the terminal and the reference location of the serving cell. Sections 0005 and 0057-0059: BS transmits a distance threshold to UE, which is the distance between UE and a reference location of a serving cell. Sections 0117-0118: BS also transmits the reference location of a serving cell and neighbor cell to UE.
Or, a reference location of a neighboring cell, and a second distance threshold (distance threshold) between the terminal and the reference location of the neighboring cell. Sections 0005 and 0057-0059: BS transmits a distance threshold to UE, which is the distance between UE and a reference location of a neighbor cell. Sections 0117-0118: BS also transmits the reference location of a serving cell and neighbor cell to UE. Sections 0057-0058 and 0094-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a distance between UE and a serving cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater than the distance threshold; also, UE determines a distance between UE and a neighbor cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater less than the distance threshold. Sections 0057-0058 and 0071-0073, Table 5: UE determines a distance between UE and a neighboring cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the distance is greater than the distance threshold. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 12, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 wherein determining that the trigger condition is satisfied, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation comprises any one of:
Determining (Table 12) that a first distance value between the terminal and the reference
location of the serving cell is greater than or equal to the first distance threshold, and performing
the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement
operation (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Sections 0057-0058 and 0094-0098, Table 12: UE determines a distance between UE and a serving cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater than the distance threshold.
Determining (Table 13) that a second distance value between the terminal and the reference location of the neighboring cell is less than or equal to the second distance threshold, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Sections 0057-0058 and 0094-0098, Table 13: UE determines a distance between UE and a neighbor cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater less than the distance threshold.
Determining (Tables 12-13) that the first distance value is greater than or equal to the first distance threshold, and the second distance value is less than or equal to the second distance threshold, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Sections 0057-0058 and 0094-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a distance between UE and a serving cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater than the distance threshold; also, UE determines a distance between UE and a neighbor cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater less than the distance threshold.
Determining that a first sum value of a first distance hysteresis value and the first distance
value between the terminal and the reference location of the serving cell is greater than or equal
to the first distance threshold, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment
operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation (not in reference; claim is in “or” form).
Determining that a second sum value of the second distance hysteresis value and a second
distance value between the terminal and the reference location of the neighboring cell is less than
or equal to the second distance threshold, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation (not in reference; claim is in “or” form).
Or, determining that the first sum value is greater than or equal to the first distance threshold,
and the second sum value is less than or equal to the second distance threshold, and performing
the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement
operation (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 14, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 wherein, in a case that the target information comprises the location information (distance threshold), determining that the trigger condition is satisfied, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation comprises:
Determining that the trigger condition is satisfied in a second time period (the claimed “second time period” reads on the any time period), and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a distance between UE and a serving cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater than the distance threshold; also, UE determines a distance between UE and a neighbor cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater less than the distance threshold. Also, Section 0092 and Tables 12-13 disclose that the trigger condition is determined in a given time period, such as “increment of the distance in a given time period” of Table 12 and “decrement of the distance in a given time period” of Table 13. Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080, Table 5: UE determines a distance between UE and a neighboring cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the distance is greater than the distance threshold. Also, Section 0067 and Table 5 disclose that the trigger condition is determined in a given time period since UE calculates the RSRP/RSRQ during a configured time period and the calculated RSRP/RSRQ is used in the trigger condition of Table 5. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 17, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 a method for triggering an operation, performed by a network device (BS), comprising:
Configuring target information (distance threshold, timing advance threshold, and time threshold) for a terminal (UE); wherein the target information is used by the terminal to determine a trigger condition (trigger conditions of Tables 5, 7, 8, 12, and 13) for triggering at least one of a RRC re-establishment operation (Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13) or a neighboring cell measurement operation (Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080; Tables 5, 7, and 8).
Sending (using SI broadcast message or RRC message) the target information to the terminal. Section 0005: BS transmits a SI broadcast message or RRC message to UE, which includes threshold parameters such as distance threshold, timing advance threshold, and time threshold. UE uses the threshold parameters determine a trigger condition to trigger a RRC re-establishment operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 12-13 or a neighboring cell measurement operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 5, 7, and 8. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a distance between UE and a serving cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater than the distance threshold; also, UE determines a distance between UE and a neighbor cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater less than the distance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a timing advance to a serving cell, then UE compares the timing advance with a timing advance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the timing advance is greater than the timing advance threshold; also, UE determines a timing advance to a neighbor cell, then UE compares the timing advance with a timing advance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the timing advance is less than the timing advance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080, Table 5: UE determines a distance between UE and a neighboring cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the distance is greater than the distance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080, Table 7: UE determines a timing advance to a neighbor cell, then UE compares the timing advance with a timing advance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the timing advance is greater than the timing advance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 18, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 sending the target information to the terminal comprises at least one of:
Sending a system message (SI broadcast message) comprising the target information to the terminal.
Or, sending an RRC message (RRC message) comprising the target information to the terminal. Sections 0005, 0057-0065, 0071-0080, and 0092-0098: BS transmits a SI broadcast message or RRC message to UE, which includes threshold parameters such as distance threshold, timing advance threshold, and time threshold. UE uses the threshold parameters determine a trigger condition to trigger a RRC re-establishment operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 12-13 or a neighboring cell measurement operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 5, 7, and 8. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 19, refer to the rejection of claim 3.
Referring to claim 20, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 wherein the time information is used to indicate a target time point (timing threshold), and the target time point comprises any one:
A first time point at which a serving cell ends a service (time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell; the serving cell ends service with UE after UE leaves the serving cell). Sections 0064 and 0094-0096, Table 12: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0064 and 0078-0079, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold. Also: Figure 4 and Sections 0117-0118: BS predicts satellite location and sends the neighbor cell and prediction information to UE in a SI broadcast message or RRC message; the prediction information indicates when a cell will serve and stop serving an area associated with UE; based on the prediction information, UE determines the cell that will serve the area in a coming eDRX cycle, for example, the coming 5th eDRX cycle, and UE performs the neighbor cell measurement for this cell in advance, before the coming 5th eDRX cycle, such as performing cell measurement for the cell during the coming 4th eDRX cycle.
Or, a second time point (time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell) used to trigger the terminal to perform a target operation (RRC re-establishment operation or neighboring cell measurement operation). Sections 0064 and 0094-0096, Table 12: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0064 and 0078-0079, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold.
Or, wherein the time information is used to indicate a target duration (time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell; the serving cell provides services to UE for the duration of time that UE is in the serving cell), and the target duration comprises any one of the following:
A first duration in which a serving cell provides a service (time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell; the serving cell provides services to UE for the duration of time that UE is in the serving cell). Sections 0064 and 0094-0096, Table 12: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0064 and 0078-0079, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold. Also: Figure 4 and Sections 0117-0118: BS predicts satellite location and sends the neighbor cell and prediction information to UE in a SI broadcast message or RRC message; the prediction information indicates when a cell will serve and stop serving an area associated with UE; based on the prediction information, UE determines the cell that will serve the area in a coming eDRX cycle, for example, the coming 5th eDRX cycle, and UE performs the neighbor cell measurement for this cell in advance, before the coming 5th eDRX cycle, such as performing cell measurement for the cell during the coming 4th eDRX cycle.
Or, a second duration (time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell, which is a duration of time that UE keeps connected with the serving cell) used to trigger the terminal to perform a target operation (RRC re-establishment operation or neighboring cell measurement operation). Sections 0064 and 0094-0096, Table 12: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0064 and 0078-0079, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Referring to claim 23, refer to the rejection of claim 11.
Referring to claim 30, Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 a device (UE) for triggering an operation, comprising:
A processor (Sections 0009, 0010, and 0119: UE includes a processor).
A memory (Sections 0009, 0010, and 0119: UE includes a memory comprising instructions to be executed by the processor to perform UE functions) configured to store instructions executable by the processor.
Wherein, the processor is configured to:
Receive target information (distance threshold, timing advance threshold, and time threshold) sent by a network device (UE); wherein the target information is used by the terminal to determine a trigger condition (trigger conditions of Tables 5, 7, 8, 12, and 13) for triggering at least one of a RRC re-establishment operation (Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13) or a neighboring cell measurement operation (Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080; Tables 5, 7, and 8). Section 0005: BS transmits a SI broadcast message or RRC message to UE, which includes threshold parameters such as distance threshold, timing advance threshold, and time threshold. UE uses the threshold parameters determine a trigger condition to trigger a RRC re-establishment operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 12-13 or a neighboring cell measurement operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 5, 7, and 8.
Determine that the trigger condition being is satisfied, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a distance between UE and a serving cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater than the distance threshold; also, UE determines a distance between UE and a neighbor cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater less than the distance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a timing advance to a serving cell, then UE compares the timing advance with a timing advance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the timing advance is greater than the timing advance threshold; also, UE determines a timing advance to a neighbor cell, then UE compares the timing advance with a timing advance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the timing advance is less than the timing advance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080, Table 5: UE determines a distance between UE and a neighboring cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the distance is greater than the distance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080, Table 7: UE determines a timing advance to a neighbor cell, then UE compares the timing advance with a timing advance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the timing advance is greater than the timing advance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0071-0080, Table 8: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers neighbor cell measurement if the time is greater than the time threshold. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240064858 to Niu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20180132125 to Li et al.
Referring to claim 6, Niu et al do not disclose further comprising: determining a first time period based on association time information and the target time point; wherein the association time information is used to indicate a time offset value corresponding to the target time point; wherein, determining that the trigger condition is satisfied, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation comprises: performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation or the neighboring cell measurement operation in the first time period.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0011, 0056, 0057, 0078, 0089, 0092, and 0101 wherein BS transmits to UE information on measurement trigger including a terminal device-specific measurement starting point and a measurement period, information on event trigger indicating a trigger condition to trigger an inter-network measurement, and beacon timing offset (claimed “association time information is used to indicate a time offset value corresponding to the target time point; wherein, determining that the trigger condition is satisfied, and performing … the neighboring cell measurement operation comprises: performing … the neighboring cell measurement operation in the first time period”) of a monitored neighbor network, a measurement starting point and a measurement period (claimed “first time period”) which is determined based on mobility speed of the terminal device.
Figure 3: AN1 configures different starting time for UE 1 and UE 2 to start neighbor network measurements; based on the beacon timing offset of AN2 and the measurement starting point, UE1 and UE2 setup up their own timers and start the monitory measurement of neighboring networks when the timers are expired. So, based on the beacon timing offset (claimed “association time information is used to indicate a time offset value corresponding to the target time point”), neighbor network measurement is triggered a measurement period starting at a measurement starting point (claimed “first time period”). Refer to Sections 0038-0121. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising: determining a first time period based on association time information and the target time point; wherein the association time information is used to indicate a time offset value corresponding to the target time point; wherein, determining that the trigger condition is satisfied, and performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) or the neighboring cell measurement operation comprises: performing the at least one of the RRC re-establishment operation (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) or the neighboring cell measurement operation in the first time period. One would have been motivated to do so so that neighbor cell measurements can be triggered according to an offset to determine when to start measurements for a measurement period, thereby facilitating neighboring cell measurements.
Referring to claim 7, Niu et al do not disclose wherein the association time information is
used to indicate a time offset value corresponding to the first time point; determining the first time period based on the association time information and the target time point comprises: determining a start time point of the first time period based on a difference between the first time point and the time offset value corresponding to the first time point; and determining an end time point of the first time period based on the first time point; or wherein the association time information is used to indicate a start time point corresponding to the second time point; determining the first time period based on the association time information and the target time point comprises: determining a time period from the start time point indicated by the association time information to the second time point as the first time period.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0011, 0056, 0057, 0078, 0089, 0092, and 0101 wherein BS transmits to UE information on measurement trigger including a terminal device-specific measurement starting point and a measurement period, information on event trigger indicating a trigger condition to trigger an inter-network measurement, and beacon timing offset of a monitored neighbor network, a measurement starting point (claimed “start time point”) and a measurement period (claimed “the second time point”, wherein “the second time point” is the end of the measurement period) which is determined based on mobility speed of the terminal device. UE determines the measurement period of the neighbor network by using the measurement starting point and the measurement period, which is from the measurement starting point to the end of the measurement period (claimed “determining a time period from the start time point indicated by the association time information to the second time point as the first time period”), and UE performs neighbor network measurement during the measurement period. Refer to Sections 0038-0121. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the association time information is used to indicate a time offset value corresponding to the first time point; determining the first time period based on the association time information and the target time point comprises: determining a start time point of the first time period based on a difference between the first time point and the time offset value corresponding to the first time point; and determining an end time point of the first time period based on the first time point (not in reference; claim is in “or” form); or wherein the association time information is used to indicate a start time point corresponding to the second time point; determining the first time period based on the association time information and the target time point comprises: determining a time period from the start time point indicated by the association time information to the second time point as the first time period. One would have been motivated to do so so UE can perform neighbor network measurements during a measurement period, which is from a measurement starting point to a measurement ending point, thereby facilitating neighbor network measurements.
Referring to claim 21, Niu et al do not disclose further comprising: configuring association time information for the terminal; wherein the association time information is used to indicate a time offset value corresponding to the target time point; and sending the association time information to the terminal.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-11 and Sections 0011, 0056, 0057, 0078, 0089, 0092, and 0101 wherein BS transmits to UE information on measurement trigger including a terminal device-specific measurement starting point and a measurement period, information on event trigger indicating a trigger condition to trigger an inter-network measurement, and beacon timing offset (claimed “association time information is used to indicate a time offset value corresponding to the target time point”) of a monitored neighbor network, a measurement starting point and a measurement period which is determined based on mobility speed of the terminal device. Figure 3: AN1 configures different starting time for UE 1 and UE 2 to start neighbor network measurements; based on the beacon timing offset of AN2 and the measurement starting point, UE1 and UE2 setup up their own timers and start the monitory measurement of neighboring networks when the timers are expired. So, based on the beacon timing offset (claimed “association time information is used to indicate a time offset value corresponding to the target time point”), neighbor network measurement is triggered a measurement period starting at a measurement starting point. Refer to Sections 0038-0121. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising: configuring association time information for the terminal; wherein the association time information is used to indicate a time offset value corresponding to the target time point; and sending the association time information to the terminal. One would have been motivated to do so so that neighbor cell measurements can be triggered according to an offset to determine when to start measurements for a measurement period, thereby facilitating neighboring cell measurements.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240064858 to Niu et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20200100153 to Huang et al.
Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 wherein determining that the trigger condition is satisfied, and performing the RRC re-establishment operation comprises:
Determining that a trigger condition for triggering the RRC re-establishment operation being is satisfied … , and performing the RRC re-establishment operation. Section 0005: BS transmits a SI broadcast message or RRC message to UE, which includes threshold parameters such as distance threshold, timing advance threshold, and time threshold. UE uses the threshold parameters determine a trigger condition to trigger a RRC re-establishment operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 12-13. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a distance between UE and a serving cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater than the distance threshold; also, UE determines a distance between UE and a neighbor cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater less than the distance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a timing advance to a serving cell, then UE compares the timing advance with a timing advance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the timing advance is greater than the timing advance threshold; also, UE determines a timing advance to a neighbor cell, then UE compares the timing advance with a timing advance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the timing advance is less than the timing advance threshold. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a time to keep connected with a serving cell, then UE compares the time with a time threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the time is greater than the time threshold. Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Niu et al do not disclose … determining that a trigger condition for triggering the RRC re-establishment operation being is satisfied and the terminal being not triggered to perform handover, and performing the RRC re-establishment operation.
Huang et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0063 and 0069-0075 wherein UE can be triggered to perform RRC re-establishment or a handover, wherein UE can perform an RRC re-establishment to maintain connection with the current network instead of performing a handover to another network. Refer to Sections 0024-0093. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include … determining that a trigger condition for triggering the RRC re-establishment operation being is satisfied and the terminal being not triggered to perform handover, and performing the RRC re-establishment operation. One would have been motivated to do so so UE can perform an RRC re-establishment to maintain connection with the current network instead of performing a handover to another network.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240064858 to Niu et al in view of 20200187033 to Tang et al.
Niu et al disclose in Figures 1-4 … configuring second time period information corresponding to the location information for the terminal; and sending the second time period information to the terminal. Section 0005: BS transmits a SI broadcast message or RRC message to UE, which includes threshold parameters such as distance threshold. UE uses the threshold parameters determine a trigger condition to trigger a RRC re-establishment operation as shown by the trigger conditions in Tables 12-13. Sections 0099-0111: BS also transmits a timer T310 value (claimed “second time period information corresponding to the location information for the terminal”) to UE. Sections 0057-0065 and 0092-0098, Tables 12-13: UE determines a distance between UE and a serving cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater than the distance threshold and if T310 timer is running; also, UE determines a distance between UE and a neighbor cell, then UE compares the distance with a distance threshold from BS, and then UE triggers RRC establishment if the distance is greater less than the distance threshold and if T310 timer is running.
Refer to Sections 0016-0123.
Niu et al do not disclose further comprising: configuring at least one of a first distance hysteresis value corresponding to the serving cell and/or a second distance hysteresis value corresponding to a neighboring cell for the terminal; and sending the at least one of the first distance hysteresis value or the second distance hysteresis value to the terminal …
Tang et al disclose in Figures 1-16 and Sections 0006, 0011-0016, 0018, 0024-0026, 0058, 0095, 0103, 0108, 0111-0113, 0115-0120, 0124, 0128, 0129, 0131, 0137, and 0139 wherein BS transmits a hysteresis trigger threshold to UE, wherein UE triggers neighbor cell measurement when the hysteresis trigger threshold met. The hysteresis value is based on the distance/height between UE and a neighboring cell. Refer to Sections 0055-0179. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include further comprising: configuring at least one of a first distance hysteresis value corresponding to the serving cell (not in reference; claim is in “or” form) and/or a second distance hysteresis value corresponding to a neighboring cell for the terminal; and sending the at least one of the first distance hysteresis value or the second distance hysteresis value to the terminal … One would have been motivated to do so so that UE can trigger neighbor cell measurements based on a hysteresis value of a neighbor cell, thereby facilitating neighbor cell measurement and prevent unnecessary handovers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20220330075 to Yan et al disclose in Figures 1-7 and Sections 0010-0014 and 0199-0203 wherein UE reports a measurement report when the signal quality of the serving cell is less than or equal to the first serving cell signal quality threshold, and the signal quality of the at least one neighboring cell meets a measurement report triggering condition; so a triggering condition triggers UE to perform a neighboring cell measurement operation. Refer to Sections 0003-0099 and 0107-0316.
U.S. Publication No. 20210099939 to Wu et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0068 and 0084-0099 wherein based on configuration information, UE evaluates the trigger condition and evaluates whether the network-configured trigger condition is satisfied, for example, evaluating whether it is satisfied that the measurement result of the serving cell 1 is less than the threshold 1 and the measurement result of the neighboring cell 2 is greater than the threshold; UE handovers to neighboring cell 2 according to the triggered condition. Refer to Sections 0032-0227.
U.S. Publication No. 20120244905 to Zhao et al disclose in Figures 1-8 and Sections 0040, 0055, 0060, 0062, and 0103 wherein UE performs measurement report for the neighbor cell that meet conditions of triggering report; the conditions include: meeting the entry conditions to enter report lists but not meeting the time of Time To Trigger, meeting conditions to trigger reporting, and being still in the report lists, not only not meeting conditions to enter report lists but also not reaching the time of TimeToTrigger, and other predefined conditions. Refer to Sections 0033-0149.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
July 24, 2026