DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cirik et al. (US 2023/0209538 A1), hereinafter referred to as D1.
Regarding claims 1, 11, 16, and 16, D1 discloses a unified transmission configuration indicator state indication, which comprises:
receiving a control message indicating a configuration for a signal, wherein the configuration indicates whether the signal is associated with one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states of a selected unified transmission configuration indicator codepoint (Referring to Figures 17, 20A/B, and 30A/B, The TCI state update may comprise a unified beam update. A wireless device 1701 may receive one or more messages (e.g., at time T.sub.0). The wireless device 1701 may receive the one or more messages from a computing device 1702, which may comprise any computing device described herein (e.g., base station, relay node, wireless device, etc.). For example, the wireless device 1701 may receive the one or more messages from a base station. See paragraph 0213-0215. One or more configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of TCI states (e.g., provided by a higher layer parameter tci-StatesToAddModList in PDSCH_Config, PUSCH_Config, PDCCH_Config or PUCCH_Config, etc.). The one or more configuration parameters may be sent/received in one or more messages 1710, such as shown in FIG. 17 at time T.sub.0. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate the plurality of TCI states, for example, for the downlink BWP of the cell. In FIG. 17, the plurality of TCI states may comprise TCI state 1, TCI state 2, . . . , TCI state M. See paragraphs 0227-0229. TCI states associated with a TCI codepoint as shown in Figure 17. At least two TCI states may be/comprise at least two unified TCI states. The first TCI state may be/comprise a first unified TCI state. The second TCI state may be/comprise a second unified TCI state. See paragraphs 0261-0263.);
receiving a first downlink control information message indicating a set of one or more activated transmission configuration indicator codepoints that are each associated with one or more transmission configuration indicator states (Referring to Figures 17, 20A/B, and 30A/B, The activation command may be sent/received in one or more messages (e.g., DCI (first DCI), MAC-CE, TCI States Activation/Deactivation for UE-specific MAC CE, Activation command at time T.sub.1 in FIG. 17) indicating activation of a subset of the plurality of TCI states. The activation command may activate/select/indicate/update the subset of the plurality of TCI states. The subset of the plurality of TCI states may comprise/be, for example, one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states. The subset of the plurality of TCI states may comprise/be, for example, a first plurality of TCI states of the plurality of TCI states. For example, in FIG. 17, the subset of the plurality of TCI states are TCI state 4, TCI state 5, TCI state 8, TCI state 26, TCI state 61, and TCI state 42. See paragraphs 0242-0244. TCI states associated with a TCI codepoint as shown in Figure 17. See paragraphs 0391-0395.);
receiving a second downlink control information message indicating the selected unified transmission configuration indicator codepoint from the set of one or more activated transmission configuration indicator codepoints (Referring to Figures 17, 20A/B, and 30A/B, A wireless device may receive a downlink signal 1730 such as shown in FIG. 17. The downlink signal may be sent/received in one or more messages. The downlink signal may comprise date and/or control information (e.g., transport block, PDCCH/PDSCH transmission, CSI-RS, aperiodic CSI-RS, DCI (second DCI), and the like). The wireless device may receive the downlink signal, for example, based on a TCI state of the subset of the plurality of TCI states. The DCI may comprise a TCI field indicating the TCI state (or a TCI codepoint comprising/indicating the TCI state). The one or more configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a TCI field indicating the TCI state (or a TCI codepoint comprising/indicating the TCI state) for transmission/reception of the downlink signal. See paragraphs 0251-0253. TCI states associated with a TCI codepoint as shown in Figure 17. At least two TCI states may be/comprise at least two unified TCI states. The first TCI state may be/comprise a first unified TCI state. The second TCI state may be/comprise a second unified TCI state. See paragraphs 0261-0263.); and
applying a transmission configuration indicator state for communication of the signal in accordance with the configuration (Referring to Figures 17, 20A/B, and 30A/B, A wireless device may apply (or start using) the at least two TCI states indicated/activated by the DCI (e.g., at time T.sub.2 in FIG. 17) starting from the starting/initial/earliest/first slot, for example, based on the number of the one or more TCI codepoints being greater than one. See paragraphs 0269-0271.)
Regarding claims 2 and 17, D1 discloses wherein receiving the control message further comprises: identifying that an association between the signal and the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states is per a control resource set or per a search space of the control resource set (Referring to Figures 17, 19A/B, 20A/B, and 30A/B, one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the RS resource set, a field (e.g., Unified/Common/Joint TCI state index field, TRP index field, CORESET pool index field, and the like) indicating the TCI state. See paragraphs 0369-0371.)
Regarding claims 3 and 18, D1 discloses identifying that the control resource set or the search space is common to multiple UEs, wherein the configuration includes an indication that indicates one of a first option, a second option, a third option, or a fourth option based at least in part on the control resource set or the search space being common to multiple UEs, wherein the first option is that the signal is to be associated with none of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states, the second option is that the signal is to be associated with a first one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with a first transmission and reception point of a network entity, the third option is that the signal is to be associated with a second one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with a second transmission and reception point of the network entity, and the fourth option is that the signal is to be associated with both the first one and the second one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with both the first transmission and reception point and the second transmission and reception point of the network entity (Referring to Figure 17, a wireless device may receive one or more messages, such as a control message/command (e.g., DCI, MAC-CE), indicating activation of at least two common/unified TCI states. The at least two common/unified TCI states may comprise a first common/unified TCI state and a second common/unified TCI state. The wireless device may not have information indicating whether the first common/unified TCI state is associated with the first TRP or the second TRP (first option). There may not be an explicit/implicit association between the first common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. Configuration parameter(s) may not indicate, for the first common/unified TCI state, a TRP index (or a CORESET pool index, or a common/unified TCI state index, and the like) indicating an association between the first common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. The wireless device may not have information indicating whether the second common/unified TCI state is associated with the first TRP or the second TRP. There may not be an explicit/implicit association between the second common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. Configuration parameter(s) may not indicate, for the second common/unified TCI state, a TRP index (or a CORESET pool index, or a common/unified TCI state index, and the like) indicating an association between the second common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. See paragraph 0206. The search space may be a wireless device-specific search space (e.g., a UE-specific search space) or a common search space (e.g., potentially usable by a plurality of wireless devices or a group of wireless user devices). See paragraph 0106.)
Regarding claims 4 and 19, D1 discloses identifying that the control resource set or the search space is specific to the UE, wherein the configuration includes an indication that indicates one of a first option, a second option, or a third option based at least in part on the control resource set or the search space being specific to the UE, wherein the first option is that the signal is to be associated with a first one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with a first transmission and reception point of a network entity, the second option is that the signal is to be associated with a second one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with a second transmission and reception point of the network entity, and the third option is that the signal is to be associated with both the first one and the second one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with both the first transmission and reception point and the second transmission and reception point of the network entity (Referring to Figure 17, a wireless device may receive one or more messages, such as a control message/command (e.g., DCI, MAC-CE), indicating activation of at least two common/unified TCI states. The at least two common/unified TCI states may comprise a first common/unified TCI state and a second common/unified TCI state. The wireless device may not have information indicating whether the first common/unified TCI state is associated with the first TRP or the second TRP (third option, interpreted as associated with both as it may be applicable to both). There may not be an explicit/implicit association between the first common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. Configuration parameter(s) may not indicate, for the first common/unified TCI state, a TRP index (or a CORESET pool index, or a common/unified TCI state index, and the like) indicating an association between the first common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. The wireless device may not have information indicating whether the second common/unified TCI state is associated with the first TRP or the second TRP. There may not be an explicit/implicit association between the second common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. Configuration parameter(s) may not indicate, for the second common/unified TCI state, a TRP index (or a CORESET pool index, or a common/unified TCI state index, and the like) indicating an association between the second common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. See paragraph 0206. The search space may be a wireless device-specific search space (e.g., a UE-specific search space) or a common search space (e.g., potentially usable by a plurality of wireless devices or a group of wireless user devices). See paragraph 0106.)
Regarding claims 5 and 20, D1 discloses identifying that the configuration indicates that the signal is to be associated with both a first one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with a first transmission and reception point of a network entity and a second one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with a second transmission and reception point of the network entity, wherein the configuration is based at least in part on a single frequency network based control resource set being enabled to comprise multiple transmission configuration indicators (Referring to Figure 17, a wireless device may receive one or more messages, such as a control message/command (e.g., DCI, MAC-CE), indicating activation of at least two common/unified TCI states. The at least two common/unified TCI states may comprise a first common/unified TCI state and a second common/unified TCI state. The wireless device may not have information indicating whether the first common/unified TCI state is associated with the first TRP or the second TRP (first and second unified transmission and reception point of the network entity). There may not be an explicit/implicit association between the first common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. Configuration parameter(s) may not indicate, for the first common/unified TCI state, a TRP index (or a CORESET pool index, or a common/unified TCI state index, and the like) indicating an association between the first common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. The wireless device may not have information indicating whether the second common/unified TCI state is associated with the first TRP or the second TRP. There may not be an explicit/implicit association between the second common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. Configuration parameter(s) may not indicate, for the second common/unified TCI state, a TRP index (or a CORESET pool index, or a common/unified TCI state index, and the like) indicating an association between the second common/unified TCI state and the first TRP or the second TRP. See paragraph 0206. The search space may be a wireless device-specific search space (e.g., a UE-specific search space) or a common search space (e.g., potentially usable by a plurality of wireless devices or a group of wireless user devices). See paragraph 0106. Associated with a single frequency network enabled to comprise multiple indicators. See paragraph 0509.)
Regarding claims 6 and 21, D1 discloses wherein receiving the control message further comprises: identifying that an association between the signal and the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states is per a physical uplink control channel resource, a physical uplink control channel resource set, a physical uplink control channel resource group, or a combination thereof, and that the signal is associated with a physical uplink control channel (Referring to Figures 17, 20, and 30, The wireless device may receive a first message comprising: a first field indicating at least one physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource; and a second field indicating a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state index associated with the at least one PUCCH resource. The wireless device may receive a second message indicating activation of at least two TCI states of a plurality of TCI states. The wireless device may transmit, via the at least one PUCCH resource and based on one or more TCI states, of the at least two TCI states, being indicated by the unified TCI state index, an uplink signal. The first message may comprise a radio resource control (RRC) message. The second message may comprise at least one of a media access control (MAC)-control element (CE) or downlink control information (DCI). The first message may indicate the at least one PUCCH resource by indicating at least one PUCCH resource group comprising the at least one PUCCH resource. The wireless device may transmit the uplink signal based on the one or more TCI states, of the at least two TCI states, being indicated by the unified TCI state index by transmitting the uplink signal. See paragraph 0879.)
Regarding claims 7 and 22, D1 discloses identifying that the configuration includes an indication that indicates one of a first option, a second option, or a third option based at least in part on the signal being associated with the physical uplink control channel, wherein the first option is that the signal is to be associated with a first one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with a first transmission and reception point of a network entity, the second option is that the signal is to be associated with a second one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with a second transmission and reception point of the network entity, and the third option is that the signal is to be associated with both the first one and the second one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with both the first transmission and reception point and the second transmission and reception point of the network entity (Referring to Figures 25A and 25B, A fourth field (e.g., Unified TCI State ID in FIG. 25A) of the one or more fields may indicate/comprise a second value for/of the field (e.g., Unified/Common/Joint TCI state index field, TRP index field, CORESET pool index field, and the like) of the PUCCH resource group (e.g., in FIG. 25A). A fourth field (e.g., Unified TCI State ID in FIG. 25B) of the one or more fields may indicate/comprise a second value for/of the field (e.g., Unified/Common/Joint TCI state index field, TRP index field, CORESET pool index field, and the like) of the PUCCH resource (e.g., in FIG. 25B). A size/length of the fourth field may be 2 bits (or any quantity of bits). The size/length of the fourth field may be 2 bits, for example, based on a PUCCH transmission being able to be repeated among multiple TRPs (e.g., multi-TRP PUCCH repetition). The wireless device may perform the PUCCH transmission to the first TRP only (first option). The wireless device may perform the PUCCH transmission to the second TRP only (second option). The wireless device may perform the PUCCH transmission to the first TRP and the second TRP (third option). The wireless device may perform the PUCCH transmission to the first TRP and the second TRP, starting with the first TRP for the repetitions. The wireless device may perform the PUCCH transmission to the first TRP and the second TRP, starting with the second TRP for the repetitions. 1-bit for the size/length of the fourth field may not be enough to indicate these cases (e.g., first TRP only, second TRP only, both the first TRP and the second TRP). See paragraphs 0578-0580.)
Regarding claims 8 and 23, D1 discloses identifying that the configuration indicates that the signal is to be associated with both a first one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with a first transmission and reception point of a network entity and a second one of the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states used for communications with a second transmission and reception point of the network entity, wherein individual repetitions of the physical uplink control channel are mapped to either the first transmission and reception point or the second transmission and reception point based at least in part on a configured pattern (Referring to Figures 25A and 25B, A fourth field (e.g., Unified TCI State ID in FIG. 25A) of the one or more fields may indicate/comprise a second value for/of the field (e.g., Unified/Common/Joint TCI state index field, TRP index field, CORESET pool index field, and the like) of the PUCCH resource group (e.g., in FIG. 25A). A fourth field (e.g., Unified TCI State ID in FIG. 25B) of the one or more fields may indicate/comprise a second value for/of the field (e.g., Unified/Common/Joint TCI state index field, TRP index field, CORESET pool index field, and the like) of the PUCCH resource (e.g., in FIG. 25B). A size/length of the fourth field may be 2 bits (or any quantity of bits). The size/length of the fourth field may be 2 bits, for example, based on a PUCCH transmission being able to be repeated among multiple TRPs (e.g., multi-TRP PUCCH repetition). The wireless device may perform the PUCCH transmission to the first TRP only. The wireless device may perform the PUCCH transmission to the second TRP only. The wireless device may perform the PUCCH transmission to the first TRP and the second TRP. The wireless device may perform the PUCCH transmission to the first TRP and the second TRP, starting with the first TRP for the repetitions. The wireless device may perform the PUCCH transmission to the first TRP and the second TRP, starting with the second TRP for the repetitions. 1-bit for the size/length of the fourth field may not be enough to indicate these cases (e.g., first TRP only, second TRP only, both the first TRP and the second TRP). See paragraphs 0578-0580.)
Regarding claims 9 and 24, D1 discloses identifying that an association between the signal and the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states is per a reference signal resource, a reference signal resource set, or a combination thereof, and that the signal is a reference signal (Referring to Figures 17, 19A/B, 20A/B, and 30A/B, one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the RS resource set, a field (e.g., Unified/Common/Joint TCI state index field, TRP index field, CORESET pool index field, and the like) indicating the TCI state. See paragraphs 0369-0371.)
Regarding claims 10 and 25, D1 discloses wherein receiving the control message further comprises: identifying that an association between the signal and the one or more unified transmission configuration indicator states is per configured grant, wherein the configured grant is a type 1 configured grant or a type 2 configured grant (Referring to Figure 17, The one or more configuration parameters indicate, for a configured uplink grant (e.g., Type 1 configured uplink grant), the TCI state. The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit) the uplink signal (e.g., transport block) for/of the configured uplink grant (e.g., Type 1 configured uplink grant). See paragraphs 0255-0256.)
Regarding claims 12 and 27, D1 discloses wherein receiving the second downlink control information message further comprises: receiving the second downlink control information message comprising a transmission configuration indication codepoint from a set of transmission configuration indication codepoints, the transmission configuration indication codepoint indicative of the transmission configuration indicator state associated with a first network entity (Referring to Figures 17, 20A/B, and 30A/B, A wireless device may receive a downlink signal 1730 such as shown in FIG. 17. The downlink signal may be sent/received in one or more messages. The downlink signal may comprise date and/or control information (e.g., transport block, PDCCH/PDSCH transmission, CSI-RS, aperiodic CSI-RS, DCI (second DCI), and the like). The wireless device may receive the downlink signal, for example, based on a TCI state of the subset of the plurality of TCI states. The DCI may comprise a TCI field indicating the TCI state (or a TCI codepoint comprising/indicating the TCI state). The one or more configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a TCI field indicating the TCI state (or a TCI codepoint comprising/indicating the TCI state) for transmission/reception of the downlink signal. See paragraphs 0251-0253. TCI states associated with a TCI codepoint as shown in Figure 17. At least two TCI states may be/comprise at least two unified TCI states. The first TCI state may be/comprise a first unified TCI state. The second TCI state may be/comprise a second unified TCI state associated with a network entity. See paragraphs 0261-0263.)
Regarding claims 13 and 28, D1 discloses wherein receiving the second downlink control information message further comprises: receiving the second downlink control information message comprising an indication of whether one or multiple transmission configuration indication states are to be applied to the signal; and identifying the transmission configuration indicator state in accordance with a rule based at least in part on the indication (Referring to Figures 17, 20A/B, and 30A/B, A wireless device may receive a downlink signal 1730 such as shown in FIG. 17. The downlink signal may be sent/received in one or more messages. The downlink signal may comprise date and/or control information (e.g., transport block, PDCCH/PDSCH transmission, CSI-RS, aperiodic CSI-RS, DCI (second DCI), and the like). The wireless device may receive the downlink signal, for example, based on a TCI state of the subset of the plurality of TCI states. The DCI may comprise a TCI field indicating the TCI state (or a TCI codepoint comprising/indicating the TCI state). The one or more configuration parameters may comprise/indicate a TCI field indicating the TCI state (or a TCI codepoint comprising/indicating the TCI state) (rule) for transmission/reception of the downlink signal. See paragraphs 0251-0253. TCI states associated with a TCI codepoint as shown in Figure 17. At least two TCI states may be/comprise at least two unified TCI states. The first TCI state may be/comprise a first unified TCI state. The second TCI state may be/comprise a second unified TCI state associated with a network entity. See paragraphs 0261-0263.)
Regarding claims 14 and 29, D1 discloses wherein the second downlink control information message implicitly indicates the transmission configuration indicator state, the UE identifies the transmission configuration indicator state based at least in part on the second downlink control information message refraining to include a transmission configuration indicator state field (Referring to Figure 17, A wireless device and a base station may use resources for wireless communications. A unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state may be indicated using a parameter, field, message, and/or signaling. The unified TCI state may be associated with a reference signal resource (or a reference signal resource set). The unified TCI state may be applied for communications, via a reference signal of the reference signal resource set, between the wireless device and the base station for which at least two unified TCI states may be activated, without requiring additional signaling to configure parameters for each communication (implicitly). See paragraphs 0212-0213.)
Regarding claims 15 and 30, D1 discloses wherein receiving the second downlink control information message further comprises: receiving the second downlink control information message comprising a sounding reference signal resource set indicator field indicative of at least one sounding reference signal resource set, the transmission configuration indicator state indicated by the at least one sounding reference signal resource set (Referring to Figure 17, A wireless device may receive second DCI (e.g., DCI format 0-1, DCI format 1-1, DCI format 0-2, DCI format 1-2, and the like) triggering/indicating/scheduling transmission of the SRS resource. Second DCI may comprise an SRS request field. The SRS request field may trigger/indicate transmission of the SRS resource. The SRS request field may indicate the SRS resource set comprising the SRS resource. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate, for the SRS resource set, a value of/for an aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger parameter. A value of the SRS request field may indicate (or may be mapped to or may be equal to) the value of the aperiodicSRS-ResourceTrigger parameter. See paragraph 0317-0320.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nilsson et al. (US 2025/0167968 A1) - receiving, for each of one or more uplink channels or signals, a configuration that indicates with which of multiple activated unified transmission configuration indication (TCI) states the uplink channel or signal is associated; determining, for each of the one or more uplink channels or signals, a spatial filter for the uplink channel or signal based on one or more activated unified TCI states that are associated with the uplink channel or signal according to the configuration received for that uplink channel or signal; and transmitting the one or more uplink channels or signals using the one or more spatial filters determined for the one or more uplink channels or signals.
Zhang et al. (US 2023/0344607 A1) - receiving a downlink control information (DCI) that indicates a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state that is applicable for a plurality of communication channels within a band; determining channel properties of one or more of the communication channels based on a one or more quasi co-location (QCL) type indicators of the TCI state, wherein the TCI state configures i) a QCL typeA and a QCL typeD, ii) the QCL typeA, a QCL typeC, and a QCL typeD, or iii) the QCL typeA, the QCL typeB, and the QCL typeC for corresponding reference signals; and decoding a message of the one or more communication channels based on the channel properties.
Grant et al. (US 2020/0280409 A1) - user equipment (UE) the UE being configured to receive a message comprising configuration information, CI, indicating that a reference signal, RS, is quasi-co-located, QCL, with a transmission; and adjust a spatial Tx configuration for the transmission based on an RS associated with the received CI.
DONALD L. MILLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/Donald L Mills/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462