DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 24, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Badic et al. (US 2021/0120555 A1), hereinafter referred to as D1.
Regarding claims 1, 24, 28, and 30, D1 discloses a method and device configured to perform wireless communication for one or more RATs, which comprises:
a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: configure a short-range wireless communication link for use by a first communication technology, wherein a configuration of the short-range wireless communication link includes a number of configured retransmission opportunities to support multiple coexistence transmission patterns associated with the first communication technology and a second communication technology (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-31, coexistence between the A2DP and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) profiles and D2D technology on a shared frequency spectrum. Coexistence between Bluetooth and 6 ms multi-tone mini slots is shown according to some aspects. In case no Bluetooth coexistence is required, 5 mini slots a 6 ms could be placed inside a 30 ms normal slot as shown in 3102. If the Bluetooth coexistence is known to at both the Tx and Rx, the number of mini slots can be reduced to 4 while placing a Bluetooth Tx and Rx pair, as well as some guard times, in between each of the mini-slots as shown in 3104. Since Tx and Rx know about the interruptions, the coded bits for transmission can be rate-matched around the Bluetooth gaps so that a higher code rate can be used because no coded bits get lost due to the Bluetooth transmission. Also shown in 3104 is an optional, additional Bluetooth retransmission slot 3105, i.e. the last BT transmission slot shown in 3104. See paragraphs 0206-0214.); and
transmit, to another wireless communication device, a communication using at least one of the first communication technology and the second communication technology based at least in part on a selected coexistence transmission pattern, of the multiple coexistence transmission patterns (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-32, scheduling communications (transmission) for the first RAT using the plurality of slots or the plurality of minislots, wherein communications for the first RAT are prevented during slots or minislots associated with communications for the second RAT based on the at least one second RAT communication profile. The prevention of the first RAT communications may for example, include muting the first RAT during slots and/or minislots which are allocated to the second RAT based on the second RAT communication profile. In the case where the second RAT is Bluetooth, for example, the second RAT communication profile may be at least one of Hands-Free Profile (HFP), Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) for streaming stereo music, Basic Printing Profile (BPP), Dial-Up Networking (DUN), or Object Push Profile (OPP). See paragraphs 0214-0217.)
Regarding claim 2, and 29, D1 discloses wherein one of the first communication technology and the second communication technology is associated with Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-31, coexistence between the A2DP and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) profiles and D2D technology on a shared frequency spectrum. See paragraphs 0206-0214.)
Regarding claim 3, and further regarding claim 29, D1 discloses wherein one of the first communication technology and the second communication technology is associated with a wireless local area network (WLAN) (Referring Figures 1 and 2, radio access network context (e.g., LTE, UMTS, GSM, other 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) networks, WLAN/WiFi, Bluetooth, 5G NR, mmWave, etc.). See paragraphs 0069-0070.)
Regarding claim 4, D1 discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select the selected coexistence transmission pattern, of the multiple coexistence transmission patterns (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-31, coexistence between the A2DP and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) profiles and D2D technology on a shared frequency spectrum. Coexistence (coexistence transmission patterns as described below) between Bluetooth and 6 ms multi-tone mini slots is shown according to some aspects. In case no Bluetooth coexistence is required, 5 mini slots a 6 ms could be placed inside a 30 ms normal slot as shown in 3102. If the Bluetooth coexistence is known to at both the Tx and Rx, the number of mini slots can be reduced to 4 while placing a Bluetooth Tx and Rx pair, as well as some guard times, in between each of the minislots as shown in 3104. Since Tx and Rx know about the interruptions, the coded bits for transmission can be rate-matched around the Bluetooth gaps so that a higher code rate can be used because no coded bits get lost due to the Bluetooth transmission. Also shown in 3104 is an optional, additional Bluetooth retransmission slot 3105, i.e. the last BT transmission slot shown in 3104. See paragraphs 0206-0214.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-20, 22-23, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of Kondareddy (US 2022/0078623 A1), hereinafter referred to as D2.
Regarding claims 5 and 25, D1 does not disclose wherein the short-range wireless communication link is associated with an isochronous (ISO) interval comprising multiple subevents.
D2 teaches coexistence of isochronous communication device with co-located asynchronous communication device, which comprises system 100 for managing the coexistence of co-located isochronous and asynchronous communication devices sharing a common radio frequency spectrum. System 100 includes a multi-radio communication device 101 with an isochronous communication device, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) communication device 102. BLE communication device 102 may be compliant with Bluetooth® Core Specification version 5.2, for example, which supports isochronous audio data transmission in the 2.4 GHz ISM (industrial, scientific and medical) Band. BLE communication device 102 may operate as the master device in a Bluetooth® network, controlling one or more BLE slave devices 105. BLE communication device 102 may transmit connected isochronous streams (CIS) to one or more BLE devices 105 comprising a connected isochronous group (CIG). BLE communication device 102 may also transmit a broadcast isochronous stream (BIS) to a group of BLE devices 105 comprising a broadcast isochronous group (BIG). See paragraphs 0017-0020.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the isochronous communication device of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability.
Regarding claims 6 and 26, the primary reference further teaches wherein the selected coexistence transmission pattern includes multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the first communication technology and multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the second communication technology (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-32, scheduling communications (transmission) for the first RAT using the plurality of slots or the plurality of minislots (multiple groups of one or more subevents), wherein communications for the first RAT are prevented during slots or minislots associated with communications for the second RAT based on the at least one second RAT communication profile. The prevention of the first RAT communications may for example, include muting the first RAT during slots and/or minislots which are allocated to the second RAT based on the second RAT communication profile (multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the second communication technology). In the case where the second RAT is Bluetooth, for example, the second RAT communication profile may be at least one of Hands-Free Profile (HFP), Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) for streaming stereo music, Basic Printing Profile (BPP), Dial-Up Networking (DUN), or Object Push Profile (OPP). See paragraphs 0214-0217.)
Regarding claims 7 and 27, the primary reference further teaches wherein the multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the first communication technology are distributed across the interval such that a group of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the second communication technology is interspersed between each group of the multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the first communication technology (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-32, scheduling communications (transmission) for the first RAT using the plurality of slots or the plurality of minislots (multiple groups of one or more subevents), wherein communications for the first RAT are prevented during slots or minislots associated with communications for the second RAT based on the at least one second RAT communication profile. The prevention of the first RAT communications may for example, include muting the first RAT during slots and/or minislots which are allocated to the second RAT based on the second RAT communication profile (multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the second communication technology). In the case where the second RAT is Bluetooth, for example, the second RAT communication profile may be at least one of Hands-Free Profile (HFP), Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) for streaming stereo music, Basic Printing Profile (BPP), Dial-Up Networking (DUN), or Object Push Profile (OPP). See paragraphs 0214-0217. As shown in Figure 30, mini-slots for BT and D2D activity interspersed between each grouping of the multiple groups of mini-slots.)
D1 does not disclose an ISO interval.
D2 teaches coexistence of isochronous communication device with co-located asynchronous communication device, which comprises system 100 for managing the coexistence of co-located isochronous and asynchronous communication devices sharing a common radio frequency spectrum. System 100 includes a multi-radio communication device 101 with an isochronous communication device, Bluetooth® Low Energy (BLE) communication device 102. BLE communication device 102 may be compliant with Bluetooth® Core Specification version 5.2, for example, which supports isochronous audio data transmission in the 2.4 GHz ISM (industrial, scientific and medical) Band. BLE communication device 102 may operate as the master device in a Bluetooth® network, controlling one or more BLE slave devices 105. BLE communication device 102 may transmit connected isochronous streams (CIS) to one or more BLE devices 105 comprising a connected isochronous group (CIG). BLE communication device 102 may also transmit a broadcast isochronous stream (BIS) to a group of BLE devices 105 comprising a broadcast isochronous group (BIG). See paragraphs 0017-0020.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the isochronous communication device of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability.
Regarding claim 8, the primary reference further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the communication using at least one of the first communication technology and the second communication technology based at least in part on the selected coexistence transmission pattern, are configured to transmit a set of data packets (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-32, scheduling communications (transmission) for the first RAT using the plurality of slots or the plurality of minislots (multiple groups of one or more subevents), wherein communications for the first RAT are prevented during slots or minislots associated with communications for the second RAT based on the at least one second RAT communication profile. The prevention of the first RAT communications may for example, include muting the first RAT during slots and/or minislots which are allocated to the second RAT based on the second RAT communication profile (multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the second communication technology). In the case where the second RAT is Bluetooth, for example, the second RAT communication profile may be at least one of Hands-Free Profile (HFP), Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) for streaming stereo music, Basic Printing Profile (BPP), Dial-Up Networking (DUN), or Object Push Profile (OPP). See paragraphs 0214-0217. As shown in Figure 30, mini-slots for BT and D2D activity interspersed between each grouping of the multiple groups of mini-slots.)
Regarding claim 9, the primary reference further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the communication using at least one of the first communication technology and the second communication technology based at least in part on the selected coexistence transmission pattern, are configured to: transmit a first data packet, of the set of data packets, using a first group of the multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the first communication technology; and transmit a second data packet, of the set of data packets, using a second group of the multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the first communication technology (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-32, scheduling communications (transmission) for the first RAT using the plurality of slots or the plurality of minislots (multiple groups of one or more subevents), wherein communications for the first RAT are prevented during slots or minislots associated with communications for the second RAT based on the at least one second RAT communication profile. The prevention of the first RAT communications may for example, include muting the first RAT during slots and/or minislots which are allocated to the second RAT based on the second RAT communication profile (multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the second communication technology). In the case where the second RAT is Bluetooth, for example, the second RAT communication profile may be at least one of Hands-Free Profile (HFP), Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) for streaming stereo music, Basic Printing Profile (BPP), Dial-Up Networking (DUN), or Object Push Profile (OPP). See paragraphs 0214-0217. As shown in Figure 30, mini-slots for BT and D2D activity interspersed between each grouping of the multiple groups of mini-slots, coexistence transmission pattern, to transmit a first packet in a first group of mini slots dedicated for the first communication technology and to transmit a second packet in a second group of mini slots dedicated for the second communication technology.)
Regarding claim 10, the primary reference further teaches wherein a duration of each group of the multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the first communication technology is less than a duration threshold (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-32, scheduling communications (transmission) for the first RAT using the plurality of slots or the plurality of minislots (multiple groups of one or more subevents), wherein communications for the first RAT are prevented during slots or minislots associated with communications for the second RAT based on the at least one second RAT communication profile. The prevention of the first RAT communications may for example, include muting the first RAT during slots and/or minislots which are allocated to the second RAT based on the second RAT communication profile (multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the second communication technology). In the case where the second RAT is Bluetooth, for example, the second RAT communication profile may be at least one of Hands-Free Profile (HFP), Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) for streaming stereo music, Basic Printing Profile (BPP), Dial-Up Networking (DUN), or Object Push Profile (OPP). See paragraphs 0214-0217. As shown in Figure 30, mini-slots for BT and D2D activity interspersed between each grouping of the multiple groups of mini-slots, coexistence transmission pattern, to transmit a first packet in a first group of mini slots dedicated for the first communication technology and to transmit a second packet in a second group of mini slots dedicated for the second communication technology according to a first and second slot (the mini slot duration less than the time slot duration).)
Regarding claim 11, the primary reference further teaches wherein the selected coexistence transmission pattern includes a first group of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the first communication technology and a second group of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the second communication technology (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-32, scheduling communications (transmission) for the first RAT using the plurality of slots or the plurality of minislots (multiple groups of one or more subevents), wherein communications for the first RAT are prevented during slots or minislots associated with communications for the second RAT based on the at least one second RAT communication profile. The prevention of the first RAT communications may for example, include muting the first RAT during slots and/or minislots which are allocated to the second RAT based on the second RAT communication profile (multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the second communication technology). In the case where the second RAT is Bluetooth, for example, the second RAT communication profile may be at least one of Hands-Free Profile (HFP), Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) for streaming stereo music, Basic Printing Profile (BPP), Dial-Up Networking (DUN), or Object Push Profile (OPP). See paragraphs 0214-0217. As shown in Figure 30, mini-slots for BT and D2D activity interspersed between each grouping of the multiple groups of mini-slots, coexistence transmission pattern, to transmit a first packet in a first group of mini slots dedicated for the first communication technology and to transmit a second packet in a second group of mini slots dedicated for the second communication technology according to a first and second slot.)
Regarding claim 12, the primary reference further teaches wherein a duration of the second group of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the second communication technology is greater than a duration threshold (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-32, scheduling communications (transmission) for the first RAT using the plurality of slots or the plurality of minislots (multiple groups of one or more subevents), wherein communications for the first RAT are prevented during slots or minislots associated with communications for the second RAT based on the at least one second RAT communication profile. The prevention of the first RAT communications may for example, include muting the first RAT during slots and/or minislots which are allocated to the second RAT based on the second RAT communication profile (multiple groups of one or more subevents dedicated for use by the second communication technology). In the case where the second RAT is Bluetooth, for example, the second RAT communication profile may be at least one of Hands-Free Profile (HFP), Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP) for streaming stereo music, Basic Printing Profile (BPP), Dial-Up Networking (DUN), or Object Push Profile (OPP). See paragraphs 0214-0217. As shown in Figure 30, mini-slots for BT and D2D activity interspersed between each grouping of the multiple groups of mini-slots, coexistence transmission pattern, to transmit a first packet in a first group of mini slots dedicated for the first communication technology and to transmit a second packet in a second group of mini slots dedicated for the second communication technology according to a first and second slot (D2D activity greater than BT activity).)
Regarding claim 13, D1 does not disclose wherein the first group of one or more subevents occurs at a beginning portion of the ISO interval and the second group of one or more subevents occurs at an ending portion of the ISO interval.
D2 teaches where isochronous data information is transmitted over a coexistence bus (e.g., bus 104) from an isochronous communication device (e.g., BLE communication device 102) to an asynchronous communication device (e.g., Wi-Fi communication device 103) sharing a common wireless spectrum (e.g., 2.4 GHz ISM band), where the isochronous data information comprises an isochronous interval (e.g., 201-1, 201-2, etc.) and a duration of isochronous data (202-1, 202-2, etc.) for transmission within the isochronous interval. Method 300 continues at operation 304, where the asynchronous communication device reserves the common wireless spectrum for the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Next, method 300 continues at operation 306, where the asynchronous communication device aggregates asynchronous data for transmission by the asynchronous communication device within the isochronous interval, after the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Method 300 concludes at operation 308, where the asynchronous communication device transmits the aggregated data within the isochronous interval. See paragraphs 0030-0032.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the isochronous communication device of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability.
Regarding claim 14, the primary reference further teaches wherein each subevent of the second group of one or more subevents occurs during a configured retransmission opportunity (Referring to Figures 1-3 and 28-31, coexistence between the A2DP and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) profiles and D2D technology on a shared frequency spectrum. Coexistence between Bluetooth and 6 ms multi-tone mini slots is shown according to some aspects. In case no Bluetooth coexistence is required, 5 mini slots a 6 ms could be placed inside a 30 ms normal slot as shown in 3102. If the Bluetooth coexistence is known to at both the Tx and Rx, the number of mini slots can be reduced to 4 while placing a Bluetooth Tx and Rx pair, as well as some guard times, in between each of the minislots as shown in 3104. Since Tx and Rx know about the interruptions, the coded bits for transmission can be rate-matched around the Bluetooth gaps so that a higher code rate can be used because no coded bits get lost due to the Bluetooth transmission. Also shown in 3104 is an optional, additional Bluetooth retransmission slot 3105, i.e. the last BT transmission slot shown in 3104 (subevent of the second group occurs during a configured retransmission opportunity). See paragraphs 0206-0214.)
Regarding claim 15, D1 does not disclose wherein the second group of one or more subevents is associated with a first number of subevents in a first ISO interval, and wherein the second group of one or more subevents is associated with a second number of subevents, different than the first number of subevents, in a second ISO interval.
D2 teaches where isochronous data information is transmitted over a coexistence bus (e.g., bus 104) from an isochronous communication device (e.g., BLE communication device 102) to an asynchronous communication device (e.g., Wi-Fi communication device 103) sharing a common wireless spectrum (e.g., 2.4 GHz ISM band), where the isochronous data information comprises an isochronous interval (e.g., 201-1, 201-2, etc.) and a duration of isochronous data (202-1, 202-2, etc.) for transmission within the isochronous interval (first ISO interval associated with a first number of subevents). Method 300 continues at operation 304, where the asynchronous communication device reserves the common wireless spectrum for the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Next, method 300 continues at operation 306, where the asynchronous communication device aggregates asynchronous data for transmission by the asynchronous communication device within the isochronous interval, after the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Method 300 concludes at operation 308, where the asynchronous communication device transmits the aggregated data within the isochronous interval (second ISO interval associated with a second number of subevents different than the first number of subevents). See paragraphs 0030-0032.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the isochronous communication device of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability.
Regarding claim 16, D1 does not disclose wherein the second number of subevents is less than the first number of subevents.
D2 teaches where isochronous data information is transmitted over a coexistence bus (e.g., bus 104) from an isochronous communication device (e.g., BLE communication device 102) to an asynchronous communication device (e.g., Wi-Fi communication device 103) sharing a common wireless spectrum (e.g., 2.4 GHz ISM band), where the isochronous data information comprises an isochronous interval (e.g., 201-1, 201-2, etc.) and a duration of isochronous data (202-1, 202-2, etc.) for transmission within the isochronous interval (first ISO interval associated with a first number of subevents). Method 300 continues at operation 304, where the asynchronous communication device reserves the common wireless spectrum for the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Next, method 300 continues at operation 306, where the asynchronous communication device aggregates asynchronous data for transmission by the asynchronous communication device within the isochronous interval, after the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Method 300 concludes at operation 308, where the asynchronous communication device transmits the aggregated data within the isochronous interval (second ISO interval associated with a second number of subevents different than the first number of subevents, configurable such that it may either be more, the same, or less than the first ISO interval). See paragraphs 0030-0032.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the isochronous communication device of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability.
Regarding claim 17, the primary reference further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to reduce the first number of subevents to the second number of subevents based at least in part on detecting a link quality associated with the first communication technology (Referring to Figures 16-20, number and duration of the coexistence resource(s) can be adjusted (increased or decreasing the number of mini-slots according to link quality) based on the technology profile that conflicts with the technology of low priority, scenario, channel quality, or based on applications. When a device needs to communicate with a peer device, it has to ensure that the local resources reserved for in-device coexistence are time and frequency aligned with its peers. This time alignment can be made implicitly or explicitly. See paragraphs 0161-0163.)
Regarding claim 18, the primary reference further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to change the first number of subevents to the second number of subevents based at least in part on a demand for at least one of the first communication technology or the second communication technology (Referring to Figures 16-20, number and duration of the coexistence resource(s) can be adjusted (increased or decreasing the number of mini-slots according to demand for the first and second communication technology) based on the technology profile that conflicts with the technology of low priority, scenario, channel quality, or based on applications. When a device needs to communicate with a peer device, it has to ensure that the local resources reserved for in-device coexistence are time and frequency aligned with its peers. This time alignment can be made implicitly or explicitly. See paragraphs 0161-0163.)
Regarding claim 19, the primary reference further teaches wherein at least one of the first communication technology is associated with a power-saving mode during the second group of one or more subevents, or the second communication technology is associated with a power- saving mode during the first group of one or more subevent (Referring to Figures 16-20 and 28-30, allow the coexistence between the A2DP and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) profiles (power saving mode) and D2D technology on a shared frequency spectrum. See paragraph 0206-0208. See Figure 30 regarding mini-slot usage for BT and D2D activity associated with each grouping of mini-slots.)
Regarding claim 20, D1 does not disclose wherein the selected coexistence transmission pattern is associated with a maximum number of subevents, and wherein a number of subevents of the ISO interval is smaller than the maximum number of subevents associated with the coexistence transmission pattern.
D2 teaches where isochronous data information is transmitted over a coexistence bus (e.g., bus 104) from an isochronous communication device (e.g., BLE communication device 102) to an asynchronous communication device (e.g., Wi-Fi communication device 103) sharing a common wireless spectrum (e.g., 2.4 GHz ISM band), where the isochronous data information comprises an isochronous interval (e.g., 201-1, 201-2, etc.) and a duration of isochronous data (202-1, 202-2, etc.) for transmission within the isochronous interval (first ISO interval associated with a first number of subevents, less than the maximum number of subevents/period of transmission for ISO data and asynchronous data). Method 300 continues at operation 304, where the asynchronous communication device reserves the common wireless spectrum for the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Next, method 300 continues at operation 306, where the asynchronous communication device aggregates asynchronous data for transmission by the asynchronous communication device within the isochronous interval, after the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Method 300 concludes at operation 308, where the asynchronous communication device transmits the aggregated data within the isochronous interval (second ISO interval associated with a second number of subevents different than the first number of subevents, configurable such that it may either be more, the same, or less than the first ISO interval). See paragraphs 0030-0032.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the isochronous communication device of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability.
Regarding claim 22, D1 does not disclose wherein the selected coexistence transmission pattern includes at least a portion of a first isochronous (ISO) interval dedicated for use by the first communication technology and at least a portion of a second ISO interval dedicated for use by the second communication technology.
D2 teaches where isochronous data information is transmitted over a coexistence bus (e.g., bus 104) from an isochronous communication device (e.g., BLE communication device 102) to an asynchronous communication device (e.g., Wi-Fi communication device 103) sharing a common wireless spectrum (e.g., 2.4 GHz ISM band), where the isochronous data information comprises an isochronous interval (e.g., 201-1, 201-2, etc.) and a duration of isochronous data (202-1, 202-2, etc.) for transmission within the isochronous interval (first ISO interval dedicated for use by first communication technology). Method 300 continues at operation 304, where the asynchronous communication device reserves the common wireless spectrum for the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Next, method 300 continues at operation 306, where the asynchronous communication device aggregates asynchronous data for transmission by the asynchronous communication device within the isochronous interval, after the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Method 300 concludes at operation 308, where the asynchronous communication device transmits the aggregated data within the isochronous interval (second ISO interval dedicated for use by second communication technology). See paragraphs 0030-0032.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the isochronous communication device of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability.
Regarding claim 23, D1 does not disclose wherein the selected coexistence transmission pattern includes multiple isochronous intervals dedicated for use by one of the first communication technology or the second communication technology.
D2 teaches where isochronous data information is transmitted over a coexistence bus (e.g., bus 104) from an isochronous communication device (e.g., BLE communication device 102) to an asynchronous communication device (e.g., Wi-Fi communication device 103) sharing a common wireless spectrum (e.g., 2.4 GHz ISM band), where the isochronous data information comprises an isochronous interval (e.g., 201-1, 201-2, etc.) and a duration of isochronous data (202-1, 202-2, etc.) for transmission within the isochronous interval (first ISO interval comprising multiple isochronous intervals dedicated for the first communication technology). Method 300 continues at operation 304, where the asynchronous communication device reserves the common wireless spectrum for the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Next, method 300 continues at operation 306, where the asynchronous communication device aggregates asynchronous data for transmission by the asynchronous communication device within the isochronous interval, after the duration of the isochronous data transmission. Method 300 concludes at operation 308, where the asynchronous communication device transmits the aggregated data within the isochronous interval (second ISO interval dedicated for use by second communication technology). See paragraphs 0030-0032.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the isochronous communication device of D2 in the system of D1. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to comply with well-known standards and improve system operability.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 in further view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0396849 A1), hereinafter referred to as D3.
Regarding claim 21, D1 does not disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to select a flush timeout associated with the ISO interval based at least in part on the number of subevents associated with one of the ISO interval or the coexistence transmission pattern.
D3 teaches a method and system for transmitting and receiving data in short-range wireless communication systems, which comprises a buffer management between the master device and the slave device performed in units of the ISO interval 2510, and the master device may store data for error recovery for n times the time of the ISO interval 2510 based on a flush timeout (FT) parameter. See paragraphs 0331-0333.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the flush timeout of D3 in the system of D1 and D2. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to do so to flushes a transmission buffer regardless of whether data transmission is successful or not in one ISO interval to prevent system congestion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Persson et al. (US 2014/0269534 A1) - a second determiner configured to determine an effect of pausing the communication by the second transceiver during the communication by the first transceiver on the throughput of the communication by the second transceiver and a controller configured to control the second transceiver to pause communication during the communication by the first transceiver if the effect of the communication by the first transceiver on the throughput of the communication by the second transceiver is higher than the effect of pausing the communication by the second transceiver during the communication by the first transceiver on the throughput of the communication by the second transceiver.
Ferrari et al. (US 2021/0400688 A1) - aligning a timing of audio frames of a first wireless communication protocol with a timing of slots of a second wireless communication protocol to reduce overlapping requests to access a shared transceiver from the first wireless communication protocol and the second wireless communication protocol; receiving a first request to access the shared transceiver of the wireless communication device from the first wireless communication protocol and receiving a second request to access the shared transceiver of the wireless communication device from the second wireless communication protocol during a coexistence window; and granting the second request from the second wireless communication protocol
DONALD L. MILLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2462
/Donald L Mills/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462