DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 received on 7/16/2024 have been examined, of which claims 1, 17, 28 and 30 are independent.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 25 recites “during one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions”, which is preceded by “one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions” in claim 17. If the recitations refer to the same occasions, it is suggested to amend limitation in claim 25 to “during the one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions” for proper antecedent basis in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 14-15, 17-24, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrison et al. (US 20200045675) in view of Harada et al. (US 20240090012)
Regarding claim 1, Harrison teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (abstract: method for transmitting semi-persistent channel state information (SP-CSI) on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a message indicating that the UE is to generate a periodic channel state information report (fig 16; para 210: receiving, via the receiver circuitry 30, a control signaling message, the control signaling message configuring the wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, and the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S144)) that includes refinement information with respect to a previously transmitted channel state information report (fig 15, step s136-s140; transmitter circuitry 28, transmits a second CSI report in a second time instant (Block S136), the second time instant is T time units later than the first time instant, if T is greater than the threshold, processing circuitry 32 updates the CSI in the second CSI report (Block S140));
receiving, from the network entity, one or more reference signals during one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions of a plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions (fig. 4 shows the timing of semi-persistent CSI-RS transmission; para 52: reference signals for downlink channel state estimation measurements are commonly referred to as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); para 245: the WD measures the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS transmission instance of the activated semi-persistent CSI-RS, and calculates a complete CSI message once for each such CSI-RS transmission, the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is given by the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting times the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message; CSI-RS in fig 21); and
transmitting, to the network entity, the periodic channel state information report that includes the refinement information (para 210: transmitting, via the transmitter circuitry 28, a plurality of SP CSI reports, the reports being transmitted with the periodicity and according to the physical layer control signaling and the control signaling message (block S148); para 241: the wireless device 14 may not update the CSI report (that is, change the values of the CSI parameters that are reported) until a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since the time a prior report has been triggered, the WD does not update the CSI carried in CSI report two, and the same CSI information bits are reported in CSI report two as for CSI report one. On the other hand, the WD does update CSI report three, and so the information bits in CSI report three may be different from those in CSI reports one and two), wherein the refinement information is based at least in part on measurements made of the one or more reference signals (para 231: the semi-persistent CSI reporting can be used to periodically update CSI to keep up with potential channel variations; para 245: the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is fixed and this number is semi-statically configured as part of a CSI report setting. The WD measures the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS transmission instance of the activated semi-persistent CSI-RS, and calculates a complete CSI message once for each such CSI-RS transmission. In this embodiment, the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is given by the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting times the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message. In the example of FIG. 21, the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is four, and the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is four times the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting).
Harrison teaches the semi-persistent or periodic CSI feedback, for semi-persistent CSI-RS. Para 52 describes reference signals for downlink channel state estimation measurements are commonly referred to as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), which would include any reference signal used for CSI measurement. However, the reference does not teach the reference signal for CSI measurement to be demodulation reference signal (DMRS). Harada is directed to reference signal used for a purpose other than a measurement related to a radio resource management; and a control unit that performs the measurement related to the radio resource management using the reference signal.
Harada further teaches receiving, from the network entity, one or more demodulation reference signals (para 115-121: the measurement for CSI Acquisition is performed using the second RS, A DMRS may be used as the second RS, the resource arrangement and sequence of the second RS may be set by an RRC message); transmitting, to the network entity, the periodic channel state information report that includes the refinement information, wherein the refinement information is based at least in part on measurements made of the one or more demodulation reference signals (para 123: the measurement is performed for the CSI Acquisition using the second RS within a specific period; para 214: when the first purpose is a CSI acquisition, the CSI measurement report can be executed at an appropriate timing while reducing the transmission frequency of the first RS (Periodic CSI-RS, Semi-persistent CSI-RS, Aperiodic CSI-RS, etc.) by diverting the second RS (DMRS, PRS, etc.) to the CSI acquisition). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine periodic CSI reporting based on semi-persistent reference signal measurement as taught by Harrison with using DMRS for CSI acquisition as taught by Harada for the benefit of reducing the overhead associated with the transmission of a reference signal while covering a coverage area as taught by Harada in para 7.
Regarding claim 17, Harrison teaches a method for wireless communication at a network entity (abstract: method for transmitting semi-persistent channel state information (SP-CSI) on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)), comprising:
outputting a message indicating that a user equipment (UE) is to generate a periodic channel state information report (fig 17; para 211: transmitting, via transmitter circuitry 16, a control signaling message to configure a wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S150)) that includes refinement information with respect to a previously received channel state information report (fig 15, step s136-s140; transmitter circuitry 28, transmits a second CSI report in a second time instant (Block S136), the second time instant is T time units later than the first time instant, if T is greater than the threshold, processing circuitry 32 updates the CSI in the second CSI report (Block S140));
outputting one or more reference signals during one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions of a plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions (fig. 4 shows the timing of semi-persistent CSI-RS transmission; para 52: reference signals for downlink channel state estimation measurements are commonly referred to as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); para 245: the WD measures the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS transmission instance of the activated semi-persistent CSI-RS, and calculates a complete CSI message once for each such CSI-RS transmission, the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is given by the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting times the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message; CSI-RS in fig 21); and
obtaining the periodic channel state information report that includes the refinement information (para 211: receiving, via receiver circuitry 18, a plurality of SP CSI reports, the reports being transmitted with the periodicity and according to the physical layer control signaling and the control signaling message (block S154); para 241: the wireless device 14 may not update the CSI report (that is, change the values of the CSI parameters that are reported) until a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since the time a prior report has been triggered, the WD does not update the CSI carried in CSI report two, and the same CSI information bits are reported in CSI report two as for CSI report one. On the other hand, the WD does update CSI report three, and so the information bits in CSI report three may be different from those in CSI reports one and two), wherein the refinement information is based at least in part on measurements made of the one or more reference signals (para 231: the semi-persistent CSI reporting can be used to periodically update CSI to keep up with potential channel variations; para 245: the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is fixed and this number is semi-statically configured as part of a CSI report setting. The WD measures the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS transmission instance of the activated semi-persistent CSI-RS, and calculates a complete CSI message once for each such CSI-RS transmission. In this embodiment, the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is given by the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting times the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message. In the example of FIG. 21, the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is four, and the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is four times the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting).
Harrison teaches the semi-persistent or periodic CSI feedback, for semi-persistent CSI-RS. Para 52 describes reference signals for downlink channel state estimation measurements are commonly referred to as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), which would include any reference signal used for CSI measurement. However, the reference does not teach the reference signal for CSI measurement to be demodulation reference signal (DMRS). Harada is directed to reference signal used for a purpose other than a measurement related to a radio resource management; and a control unit that performs the measurement related to the radio resource management using the reference signal.
Harada further teaches outputting one or more demodulation reference signals (para 115-121: the measurement for CSI Acquisition is performed using the second RS, A DMRS may be used as the second RS, the resource arrangement and sequence of the second RS may be set by an RRC message); and obtaining the periodic channel state information report that includes the refinement information, wherein the refinement information is based at least in part on measurements made of the one or more demodulation reference signals (para 123: the measurement is performed for the CSI Acquisition using the second RS within a specific period; para 214: when the first purpose is a CSI acquisition, the CSI measurement report can be executed at an appropriate timing while reducing the transmission frequency of the first RS (Periodic CSI-RS, Semi-persistent CSI-RS, Aperiodic CSI-RS, etc.) by diverting the second RS (DMRS, PRS, etc.) to the CSI acquisition). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine periodic CSI reporting based on semi-persistent reference signal measurement as taught by Harrison with using DMRS for CSI acquisition as taught by Harada for the benefit of reducing the overhead associated with the transmission of a reference signal while covering a coverage area as taught by Harada in para 7.
Regarding claim 28, Harrison teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (wireless device 14, fig 7), comprising:
at least one processor (processor 34, fig 7); and
memory (memory 36, fig 7) coupled to the at least on processor (fig 7), the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor (para 197: memory 36 may be configured to store code executable by processor 34) to causes the apparatus to:
receive, from a network entity, a message indicating that the UE is to generate a periodic channel state information report (fig 16; para 210: receiving, via the receiver circuitry 30, a control signaling message, the control signaling message configuring the wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, and the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S144)) that includes refinement information with respect to a previously transmitted channel state information report (fig 15, step s136-s140; transmitter circuitry 28, transmits a second CSI report in a second time instant (Block S136), the second time instant is T time units later than the first time instant, if T is greater than the threshold, processing circuitry 32 updates the CSI in the second CSI report (Block S140));
receive, from the network entity, one or more reference signals during one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions of a plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions (fig. 4 shows the timing of semi-persistent CSI-RS transmission; para 52: reference signals for downlink channel state estimation measurements are commonly referred to as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); para 245: the WD measures the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS transmission instance of the activated semi-persistent CSI-RS, and calculates a complete CSI message once for each such CSI-RS transmission, the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is given by the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting times the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message; CSI-RS in fig 21); and
transmit, to the network entity, the periodic channel state information report that includes the refinement information (para 210: transmitting, via the transmitter circuitry 28, a plurality of SP CSI reports, the reports being transmitted with the periodicity and according to the physical layer control signaling and the control signaling message (block S148); para 241: the wireless device 14 may not update the CSI report (that is, change the values of the CSI parameters that are reported) until a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since the time a prior report has been triggered, the WD does not update the CSI carried in CSI report two, and the same CSI information bits are reported in CSI report two as for CSI report one. On the other hand, the WD does update CSI report three, and so the information bits in CSI report three may be different from those in CSI reports one and two), wherein the refinement information is based at least in part on measurements made of the one or more reference signals (para 231: the semi-persistent CSI reporting can be used to periodically update CSI to keep up with potential channel variations; para 245: the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is fixed and this number is semi-statically configured as part of a CSI report setting. The WD measures the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS transmission instance of the activated semi-persistent CSI-RS, and calculates a complete CSI message once for each such CSI-RS transmission. In this embodiment, the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is given by the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting times the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message. In the example of FIG. 21, the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is four, and the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is four times the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting).
Harrison teaches the semi-persistent or periodic CSI feedback, for semi-persistent CSI-RS. Para 52 describes reference signals for downlink channel state estimation measurements are commonly referred to as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), which would include any reference signal used for CSI measurement. However, the reference does not teach the reference signal for CSI measurement to be demodulation reference signal (DMRS). Harada is directed to reference signal used for a purpose other than a measurement related to a radio resource management; and a control unit that performs the measurement related to the radio resource management using the reference signal.
Harada further teaches to receive, from the network entity, one or more demodulation reference signals (para 115-121: the measurement for CSI Acquisition is performed using the second RS, A DMRS may be used as the second RS, the resource arrangement and sequence of the second RS may be set by an RRC message); transmit, to the network entity, the periodic channel state information report that includes the refinement information, wherein the refinement information is based at least in part on measurements made of the one or more demodulation reference signals (para 123: the measurement is performed for the CSI Acquisition using the second RS within a specific period; para 214: when the first purpose is a CSI acquisition, the CSI measurement report can be executed at an appropriate timing while reducing the transmission frequency of the first RS (Periodic CSI-RS, Semi-persistent CSI-RS, Aperiodic CSI-RS, etc.) by diverting the second RS (DMRS, PRS, etc.) to the CSI acquisition). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine periodic CSI reporting based on semi-persistent reference signal measurement as taught by Harrison with using DMRS for CSI acquisition as taught by Harada for the benefit of reducing the overhead associated with the transmission of a reference signal while covering a coverage area as taught by Harada in para 7.
Regarding claim 30, Harrison teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (network node 12, fig 7), comprising:
at least one processor (processor 34, fig 7); and
memory (memory 24, fig 7) coupled with the at least one processor (fig 7), the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor (para 192: memory 24 may be configured to store code executable by processor 22) to cause the apparatus to:
output a message indicating that a user equipment (UE) is to generate a periodic channel state information report (fig 17; para 211: transmitting, via transmitter circuitry 16, a control signaling message to configure a wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S150)) that includes refinement information with respect to a previously received channel state information report (fig 15, step s136-s140; transmitter circuitry 28, transmits a second CSI report in a second time instant (Block S136), the second time instant is T time units later than the first time instant, if T is greater than the threshold, processing circuitry 32 updates the CSI in the second CSI report (Block S140));
output one or more reference signals during one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions of a plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions (fig. 4 shows the timing of semi-persistent CSI-RS transmission; para 52: reference signals for downlink channel state estimation measurements are commonly referred to as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS); para 245: the WD measures the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS transmission instance of the activated semi-persistent CSI-RS, and calculates a complete CSI message once for each such CSI-RS transmission, the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is given by the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting times the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message; CSI-RS in fig 21); and
obtain the periodic channel state information report that includes the refinement information (para 211: receiving, via receiver circuitry 18, a plurality of SP CSI reports, the reports being transmitted with the periodicity and according to the physical layer control signaling and the control signaling message (block S154); para 241: the wireless device 14 may not update the CSI report (that is, change the values of the CSI parameters that are reported) until a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since the time a prior report has been triggered, the WD does not update the CSI carried in CSI report two, and the same CSI information bits are reported in CSI report two as for CSI report one. On the other hand, the WD does update CSI report three, and so the information bits in CSI report three may be different from those in CSI reports one and two), wherein the refinement information is based at least in part on measurements made of the one or more reference signals (para 231: the semi-persistent CSI reporting can be used to periodically update CSI to keep up with potential channel variations; para 245: the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is fixed and this number is semi-statically configured as part of a CSI report setting, the WD measures the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS transmission instance of the activated semi-persistent CSI-RS, and calculates a complete CSI message once for each such CSI-RS transmission, the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is given by the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting times the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message. In the example of FIG. 21, the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is four, and the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is four times the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting).
Harrison teaches the semi-persistent or periodic CSI feedback, for semi-persistent CSI-RS. Para 52 describes reference signals for downlink channel state estimation measurements are commonly referred to as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), which would include any reference signal used for CSI measurement. However, the reference does not teach the reference signal for CSI measurement to be demodulation reference signal (DMRS). Harada is directed to reference signal used for a purpose other than a measurement related to a radio resource management; and a control unit that performs the measurement related to the radio resource management using the reference signal.
Harada further teaches to output one or more demodulation reference signals (para 115-121: the measurement for CSI Acquisition is performed using the second RS, A DMRS may be used as the second RS, the resource arrangement and sequence of the second RS may be set by an RRC message); and obtain the periodic channel state information report that includes the refinement information, wherein the refinement information is based at least in part on measurements made of the one or more demodulation reference signals (para 123: the measurement is performed for the CSI Acquisition using the second RS within a specific period; para 214: when the first purpose is a CSI acquisition, the CSI measurement report can be executed at an appropriate timing while reducing the transmission frequency of the first RS (Periodic CSI-RS, Semi-persistent CSI-RS, Aperiodic CSI-RS, etc.) by diverting the second RS (DMRS, PRS, etc.) to the CSI acquisition). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine periodic CSI reporting based on semi-persistent reference signal measurement as taught by Harrison with using DMRS for CSI acquisition as taught by Harada for the benefit of reducing the overhead associated with the transmission of a reference signal while covering a coverage area as taught by Harada in para 7.
Regarding claim 2 and 29, Harrison further teaches wherein receiving the message indicating that the UE is to generate the periodic channel state information report (fig 16; para 210: receiving, via the receiver circuitry 30, a control signaling message, the control signaling message configuring the wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, and the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S144)) comprises: receiving signaling that indicates a configuration for the plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions (para 210: the control signaling message configuring the wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, and the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S144); fig 18-21), wherein the configuration includes the message indicating that the UE is to generate the periodic channel state information report (para 218-219: semi-persistent CSI reporting is activated by using DCI over the PDCCH and the CSI is reported on the PUSCH periodically until the semi-persistent CSI reporting is deactivated as shown in fig. 18, fig. 18 is a diagram of semi-persistent CSI reporting over the PUSCH in accordance with the principles of the disclosure, the subframes over which CSI is reported are semi-persistently configured through higher layer signaling, such as periodicity and subframe offset).
Regarding claim 3, Harrison further teaches wherein receiving the message indicating that the UE is to generate the periodic channel state information report (fig 16; para 210: receiving, via the receiver circuitry 30, a control signaling message, the control signaling message configuring the wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, and the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S144)) comprises: receiving signaling indicating a periodicity for transmission of the periodic channel state information report (para 210: the control signaling message configuring the wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, and the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S144); fig 18-21).
Regarding claim 4, Harrison further teaches determining a first periodicity for transmission of the periodic channel state information report, the first periodicity based at least in part on a second periodicity of the plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions and a scaling factor to be applied to the second periodicity (para 245: the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is fixed and this number is semi-statically configured as part of a CSI report setting, the WD measures the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS transmission instance of the activated semi-persistent CSI-RS, and calculates a complete CSI message once for each such CSI-RS transmission, the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is given by the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting times the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message. In the example of FIG. 21, the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is four, and the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is four times the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting).
Regarding claim 5, Harrison in view of Harada teaches the limitations of parent claim, including Harada teaching that the reference signal for CSI measurement is DMRS (demodulation reference signal).
Harrison further teaches generating the periodic channel state information report based at least in part on measurements made of the one or more reference signals during a single semi-persistent scheduling occasion of the plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions (para 241: the wireless device 14 may not update the CSI report (that is, change the values of the CSI parameters that are reported) until a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since the time a prior report has been triggered, the WD does not update the CSI carried in CSI report two, and the same CSI information bits are reported in CSI report two as for CSI report one. On the other hand, the WD does update CSI report three, and so the information bits in CSI report three may be different from those in CSI reports one and two; as shown in fig 15, the second CSI is same as first CSI within predetermined time unit).
Regarding claim 6, Harrison in view of Harada teaches the limitations of parent claim, including Harada teaching that the reference signal for CSI measurement is DMRS (demodulation reference signal).
Harrison further teaches generating the periodic channel state information report based at least in part on measurements made of the one or more reference signals during two or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions of the plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions (para 241: the wireless device 14 may not update the CSI report (that is, change the values of the CSI parameters that are reported) until a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since the time a prior report has been triggered, the WD does not update the CSI carried in CSI report two, and the same CSI information bits are reported in CSI report two as for CSI report one. On the other hand, the WD does update CSI report three, and so the information bits in CSI report three may be different from those in CSI reports one and two; as shown in fig 15, the second CSI is updated CSI after predetermined time unit; fig 21).
Regarding claim 7, Harrison further teaches wherein transmitting the periodic channel state information report (para 210: transmitting, via the transmitter circuitry 28, a plurality of SP CSI reports, the reports being transmitted with the periodicity and according to the physical layer control signaling and the control signaling message (block S148)) comprises: transmitting the periodic channel state information report during a resource allocated for feedback for data signaling received during the one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions (para 212: for periodic CSI reporting, the CSI is carried on the PUCCH, the maximum CSI payload size would be known by the gNB based on the configured downlink transmission scheme for which to feedback CSI, and the CSI feedback type for the periodic CSI reporting. PUCCH resources would be semi-statically reserved/configured for the WD based on the CSI payload size).
Regarding claim 8, Harrison further teaches wherein transmitting the periodic channel state information report (para 210: transmitting, via the transmitter circuitry 28, a plurality of SP CSI reports, the reports being transmitted with the periodicity and according to the physical layer control signaling and the control signaling message (block S148)) comprises: transmitting the periodic channel state information report during a slot that is offset, via an offset value, from one of the one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions or a feedback occasion associated with the one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions (para 67-70: types of CSI reporting will be supported in NR - periodic CSI Reporting: CSI is reported periodically by the wireless device, parameters such as periodicity and subframe offset are configured semi-statically using higher layer signaling from the network node to the wireless device, semi-Persistent CSI Reporting: similar to periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting has a periodicity and subframe offset which may be semi-statically configured by the network node to the wireless device).
Regarding claim 14, Harrison further teaches wherein: the refinement information comprises a quantity of bits, the quantity of bits indicating a differential adjustment of a parameter with respect to a value of the parameter indicated in the previously transmitted channel state information report (para 241: the wireless device 14 may not update the CSI report (that is, change the values of the CSI parameters that are reported) until a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since the time a prior report has been triggered, the information bit payload of the second transmission of a CSI report can be identical to the first CSI report, and so the network node 12 receiving the CSI report can use HARQ combining on the first and second transmission, the WD does not update the CSI carried in CSI report two, and the same CSI information bits are reported in CSI report two as for CSI report one. On the other hand, the WD does update CSI report three, and so the information bits in CSI report three may be different from those in CSI reports one and two); and the previously transmitted channel state information report is one of a previous periodic report transmitted in accordance with the message (fig 15, s134: transmit a first CSI report in a first time instance; CSI report 1 in fig 20, para 241; fig 16, s148 – transmit SP CSI reports according to control signaling).
Regarding claim 15 and 27, Harrison further teaches wherein the refinement information indicates refinement of a channel quality index (para 54: the rank, the precoding matrix and the channel quality are reported in the form of a rank indicator (RI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) and a channel quality indicator (CQI) as part of CSI feedback; para 231: the semi-persistent CSI reporting can be used to periodically update CSI to keep up with potential channel variations).
Regarding claim 18, Harrison further teaches wherein outputting the message indicating that the UE is to generate the periodic channel state information report (fig 17; para 211: transmitting, via transmitter circuitry 16, a control signaling message to configure a wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S150)) comprises: transmitting signaling indicating a configuration for the plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions (para 210: the control signaling message configuring the wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, and the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S144); fig 18-21), wherein the configuration includes the message indicating that the UE is to generate the periodic channel state information report (para 218-219: semi-persistent CSI reporting is activated by using DCI over the PDCCH and the CSI is reported on the PUSCH periodically until the semi-persistent CSI reporting is deactivated as shown in fig. 18, fig. 18 is a diagram of semi-persistent CSI reporting over the PUSCH in accordance with the principles of the disclosure, the subframes over which CSI is reported are semi-persistently configured through higher layer signaling, such as periodicity and subframe offset).
Regarding claim 19, Harrison further teaches wherein outputting the message indicating that the UE is to generate the periodic channel state information report (fig 17; para 211: transmitting, via transmitter circuitry 16, a control signaling message to configure a wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S150)) comprises: transmitting signaling indicating a periodicity for transmission of the periodic channel state information report (para 210: the control signaling message configuring the wireless device 14 with at least one SP CSI report configuration on the PUSCH, and the message identifying a SP CSI reporting periodicity (block S144); fig 18-21).
Regarding claim 20, Harrison further teaches wherein a first periodicity for transmission of the periodic channel state information report is based at least in part on a second periodicity of the plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions and a scaling factor to be applied to the second periodicity (para 245: the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is fixed and this number is semi-statically configured as part of a CSI report setting, the WD measures the CSI-RS in each CSI-RS transmission instance of the activated semi-persistent CSI-RS, and calculates a complete CSI message once for each such CSI-RS transmission, the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is given by the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting times the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message. In the example of FIG. 21, the number of CSI reports per complete CSI message is four, and the periodicity of the semi-persistent CSI-RS is four times the periodicity of the semi-persistent reporting).
Regarding claim 21, Harrison in view of Harada teaches the limitations of parent claim, including Harada teaching that the reference signal for CSI measurement is DMRS (demodulation reference signal).
Harrison further teaches wherein the message further indicates that the UE is to generate the periodic channel state information report based at least in part on measurements made of one or more reference signals during a single semi-persistent scheduling occasion of the plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions (para 241: the wireless device 14 may not update the CSI report (that is, change the values of the CSI parameters that are reported) until a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since the time a prior report has been triggered, the WD does not update the CSI carried in CSI report two, and the same CSI information bits are reported in CSI report two as for CSI report one. On the other hand, the WD does update CSI report three, and so the information bits in CSI report three may be different from those in CSI reports one and two; as shown in fig 15, the second CSI is same as first CSI within predetermined time unit).
Regarding claim 22, Harrison in view of Harada teaches the limitations of parent claim, including Harada teaching that the reference signal for CSI measurement is DMRS (demodulation reference signal).
Harrison further teaches wherein the message further indicates that the UE is to generate the periodic channel state information report based at least in part on measurements made of one or more reference signals during two or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions of the plurality of semi-persistent scheduling occasions (para 241: the wireless device 14 may not update the CSI report (that is, change the values of the CSI parameters that are reported) until a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since the time a prior report has been triggered, the WD does not update the CSI carried in CSI report two, and the same CSI information bits are reported in CSI report two as for CSI report one. On the other hand, the WD does update CSI report three, and so the information bits in CSI report three may be different from those in CSI reports one and two; as shown in fig 15, the second CSI is updated CSI after predetermined time unit; fig 21).
Regarding claim 23, Harrison further teaches wherein obtaining the periodic channel state information report (para 211: receiving, via receiver circuitry 18, a plurality of SP CSI reports, the reports being transmitted with the periodicity and according to the physical layer control signaling and the control signaling message (block S154)) comprises: receiving the periodic channel state information report during a resource allocated for feedback of data signaling received during the one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions (para 212: for periodic CSI reporting, the CSI is carried on the PUCCH, the maximum CSI payload size would be known by the gNB based on the configured downlink transmission scheme for which to feedback CSI, and the CSI feedback type for the periodic CSI reporting. PUCCH resources would be semi-statically reserved/configured for the WD based on the CSI payload size).
Regarding claim 24, Harrison further teaches wherein obtaining the periodic channel state information report (para 211: receiving, via receiver circuitry 18, a plurality of SP CSI reports, the reports being transmitted with the periodicity and according to the physical layer control signaling and the control signaling message (block S154)) comprises: receiving the periodic channel state information report during a slot that is offset, via a slot offset, from one or more of the one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions or from a feedback occasion associated with the one or more semi-persistent scheduling occasions (para 67-70: types of CSI reporting will be supported in NR - periodic CSI Reporting: CSI is reported periodically by the wireless device, parameters such as periodicity and subframe offset are configured semi-statically using higher layer signaling from the network node to the wireless device, semi-Persistent CSI Reporting: similar to periodic CSI reporting, semi-persistent CSI reporting has a periodicity and subframe offset which may be semi-statically configured by the network node to the wireless device).
Regarding claim 26, Harrison further teaches wherein: the refinement information comprises a quantity of bits, the quantity of bits indicating a differential adjustment of a parameter with respect to a value of the parameter indicated in the previously received channel state information report (para 241: the wireless device 14 may not update the CSI report (that is, change the values of the CSI parameters that are reported) until a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since the time a prior report has been triggered, the information bit payload of the second transmission of a CSI report can be identical to the first CSI report, and so the network node 12 receiving the CSI report can use HARQ combining on the first and second transmission, the WD does not update the CSI carried in CSI report two, and the same CSI information bits are reported in CSI report two as for CSI report one. On the other hand, the WD does update CSI report three, and so the information bits in CSI report three may be different from those in CSI reports one and two); and the previously received channel state information report is one of a previous periodic report received in accordance with the message (fig 15, s134: transmit a first CSI report in a first time instance; CSI report 1 in fig 20, para 241; fig 16, s148 – transmit SP CSI reports according to control signaling).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13, 16 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 6/25/2026