REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-11, drawn to systems and methods for processing a live tissue sample comprising a blade.
Group II, claim(s) 12-17, drawn to systems for processing a live tissue sample comprising a funnel-shaped structure.
Group III, claim(s) 18-23, drawn to systems for processing a live tissue sample comprising a ring.
Group IV, claim(s) 24-26, drawn to systems for processing a live tissue sample comprising at least one column.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I-IV lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a system for processing a live tissue sample comprising: a well plate; and a filter, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Sawyer et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0354668; hereinafter Sawyer).
Sawyer teaches a system for processing a live tissue sample ([0279], see Fig. 1) comprising: a well plate; and a filter ([0176]-[0177], see Fig. 1 at well plate 110, and filter material 122 compressed between well plate 110 and center plate 120).
During a telephone conversation with Lawrence Sung on 10/22/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-11. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 12-26 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention or species may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected invention or species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions have unity of invention (37 CFR 1.475(a)), applicant must provide reasons in support thereof. Applicant may submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. Where such evidence or admission is provided by applicant, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Status
Claims 1-26 are pending, with claims 1-11 being examined, and claims 12-26 deemed withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) received on 7/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an indexing mechanism configured to move the live tissue sample in precise increments” in claim 1.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: [0011] of the Pre-Grant Publication of the instant Application, US Pub. No. 2025/0172460 (Workman et al., hereinafter “Workman”) teaches the indexing mechanism being a linear actuator. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the indexing mechanism to be a linear actuator, and equivalents thereof.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Examiner’s Note: Claim 2 provides sufficient structure for the indexing mechanism to not require an interpretation under 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “precise increments” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “precise increments” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what distance the indexing mechanism must be configured to move the live tissue sample that would be considered a “precise increment”.
Claims 2-8 are rejected at least for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the device" in Ln. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of compact prosecution, the above limitation has been examined as “the system”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyatani et al. (Translation of JP Pub. No. 2008-164458; hereinafter Miyatani).
Regarding claim 1, Miyatani discloses a system for processing a live tissue sample (Pg. 3 5th Para., Pg. 6 Last Para.-Pg. 7 First Para., see Fig. 1). The system comprises:
a sample holder configured to receive a live tissue sample (Pg. 6 3rd to Last Para.-Pg. 7 2nd to Last Para., see Fig. 1 at cassette K).
A bracket configured to receive the sample holder (Pg. 6 3rd to Last Para.-Pg. 7 2nd to Last Para., see Fig. 1 at height stage 12).
An indexing mechanism configured to move the live tissue sample in precise increments (Pg. 6 3rd to Last Para.-Pg. 7 2nd to Last Para., see Fig. 1 at moving stage 11, which is reciprocated on a guide rail 10 by a motor. See the Claim Interpretation in the instant Office Action above, which states that the indexing mechanism has been interpreted under 112(f) as a linear actuator, and equivalents thereof).
A blade operatively connected to the sample holder that is configured to cut the live tissue sample (Pg. 6 3rd to Last Para.-Pg. 7 2nd to Last Para., see Fig. 1 at cutting blade 2).
Note: The instant Claims contain a large amount of functional language (ex: “configured to receive a live tissue sample…”, “configured to receive the sample holder…”, “configured to move the live tissue sample in precise increments”, etc.). However, functional language does not add any further structure to an apparatus beyond a capability. Apparatus claims must distinguish over the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). Therefore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then the prior art meets the limitation in the claims.
Regarding claim 4, Miyatani discloses the system of claim 1, further comprises a cutting surface configured to receive a controlled amount of fluid sufficient to lubricate the cutting surface and the live tissue sample, wherein the indexing mechanism is operatively connected to the cutting surface (Pg. 8 1st Para.-2nd to Last Para., see Fig. 1 at spraying unit 24, where sprayed water from the spraying unit adheres to the conveyance belt 20 for transporting thin slice M from cutting blade 2).
Regarding claim 5, Miyatani discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the fluid is provided in the form of a mist having at least one droplet (Pg. 4 3rd to Last Para., Pg. 8 1st Para.-2nd to Last Para.).
Regarding claim 6, Miyatani discloses the system of claim 4, further comprising:
a receptacle operatively connected to the sample holder that is configured to receive a section of the live tissue sample after the section is cut by the blade (Pg. 6 2nd to Last Para., see Fig. 1 at liquid tank 4).
Regarding claim 7, Miyatani discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the receptacle is positioned to contact the fluid (Pg. 4 3rd to Last Para., Pg. 6 2nd to Last Para., Pg. 8 1st Para.-2nd to Last Para., see Fig. 1 at liquid tank 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyatani, as applied to claims 1 and 4-7 above, in view of Kong et al. (US Pat. No. 7,146,895; hereinafter Kong; already of record on the IDS received 7/17/2024).
Regarding claim 2, Miyatani discloses the system of claim 1, and all limitations recited therein.
Miyatani fails to explicitly disclose that the indexing mechanism comprises a linear actuator that comprises a plunger configured to move the live tissue sample towards the blade.
Kong is in the analogous field of specimen cutting devices (Kong Col. 1 Lns. 36-56). Kong teaches an indexing mechanism that comprises a linear actuator that comprises a plunger configured to move a live tissue sample towards a blade (Kong; Col. 1 Ln. 36-Col. 2 Ln. 9, Col. 3 Ln. 14-Col. 4 Ln. 47, see Fig. 3 at specimen 148 on plunger 140 of syringe 130). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Miyatani with the teachings of Kong so that the indexing mechanism comprises a linear actuator that comprises a plunger configured to move the live tissue sample towards the blade, in order to control the thickness of the slices cut from the specimen by the axial movement of the plunger (Kong; Col. 1 Ln. 36-Col. 2 Ln. 9, Col. 3 Ln. 14-Col. 4 Ln. 47, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, modified Miyatani discloses the system of claim 2.
Modified Miyatani fails to explicitly disclose that the live tissue sample is moved from about 200 micrometers to about 400 micrometers.
However, Kong teaches live tissue sample that is moved incrementally on a micrometer scale (Kong Col. 4 Lns. 35-47). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of modified Miyatani so that the live tissue sample is moved from about 200 micrometers to about 400 micrometers, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), and MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). The motivation would have been to optimize the thickness of the slices of the live tissue samples for subsequent use.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyatani, as applied to claims 1 and 4-7 above, in view of Magavi et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0019725; hereinafter Magavi).
Regarding claim 8, Miyatani discloses the system of claim 1. Miyatani further discloses that the system is configured for automated operation with no more than one single live tissue sample (Col. 3 3rd-6th Paras., Pg. 6 3rd to Last Para.-Pg. 7 1st Para., see Fig. 1, where a single sample is in an embedding block B).
Miyatani fails to explicitly disclose a user interface.
Magavi is in the analogous field of tissue sample processing (Magavi [0006]). Magavi teaches a user interface (Magavi [0037]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Miyatani with the teachings of Magavi so that the system comprises a user interface, so that a user can set parameters for automated control of the system (Magavi [0037]).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokubo (US Pat. No. 7,811,518) in view of Folch et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0362765; hereinafter Folch).
Regarding claim 9, Kokubo discloses a method of processing a live tissue sample (Col. 1 Lns. 15-27). The method comprises:
providing an assembly that is operatively connected to a blade (Col. 5 Ln. 54-Col. 6 Ln. 39, see Figs. 1, 5 at knife 22, where a specimen slice 41 is transferred from carrier tape 5 onto a glass slide through contact of a water droplet 43).
Cutting the live tissue sample with the blade (Col. 5 Ln. 54-Col. 6 Ln. 39, see Figs. 1, 5).
Obtaining a section of the live tissue sample (Col. 5 Ln. 54-Col. 6 Ln. 39, see Figs. 1, 5).
Kokubo fails to explicitly disclose that the assembly is a well plate comprising a filter assembly.
Folch is in the analogous field of devices for trapping tissue samples (Folch [0007]). Folch teaches a well plate comprising a filter assembly (Folch; [0075], [0113], [0129]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly in the method of Kokubo to be a well plate comprising a filter assembly as in Folch, as Folch teaches that a well plate comprising a filter assembly can be used to culture a tissue sample (Folch; [0075], [0113], [0129]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kokubo discloses the method of claim 9. Modified Kokubo further discloses:
contacting the live tissue sample with a fluid configured to generate a droplet of the fluid sufficient to lubricate the live tissue sample;
contacting the droplet with the filter assembly; and
contacting the section of the live tissue sample with the droplet contacted filter assembly (Kokubo; Col. 5 Ln. 54-Col. 6 Ln. 39, see Figs. 1, 5 at knife 22, where a specimen slice 41 is transferred from carrier tape 5 onto a glass slide through contact of a water droplet 43 (i.e. the water film). Further, see Claim 9 above at Folch teaching the filter assembly in [0075], [0113], [0129]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kokubo in view of Folch as applied to claims 9-10 above, and further in view of Magavi.
Regarding claim 11, modified Kokubo discloses the method of claim 9.
Modified Kokubo fails to explicitly disclose providing a user interface operatively connected to a device configured to perform the steps of the method in an automated operation with no more than one single live tissue sample.
Magavi is in the analogous field of tissue sample processing (Magavi [0006]). Magavi teaches providing a user interface operatively connected to a device configured to perform the steps of the method in an automated operation with no more than one single live tissue sample (Magavi; [0037], see Fig. 2, which shows a single tissue sample). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of modified Kokubo with the teachings of Magavi to comprise providing a user interface operatively connected to a device configured to perform the steps of the method in an automated operation with no more than one single live tissue sample, so that the system comprises a user interface, so that a user can set parameters for automated control of the system (Magavi [0037]).
Conclusion
/JOHN MCGUIRK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798