DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold “Electrochemical and morphological properties of chloride-doped lithium argyrodite solid electrolytes.”, in view of Muldoon et al. US 20200030768.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 8 and 9, the Arnold reference teaches forming Li6PS5Cl solid electrolyte by combining , Li3PS4, Li2S and LiCl in ethanol. The solvent is dried out and then the product is annealed at 200°C (See Pg. 26 of 62, Section 2.2). Ethanol is an organic solvent. The components Li2S, Li3PS4 and LiCl read on the claimed raw material inclusion containing the required atoms. The instant Specification defines that the raw material inclusion is not particularly limited as long as it contains these atoms, and examples thereof include a compound containing at least one kind of atom selected from these atoms alone as a raw material or an inclusion containing a plurality of kinds of the compound (instant Spec Para [0046]).
The difference between the invention of Arnold and that of claim 1 is that claim 1 requires microwave irradiation of the raw materials to form the solid sulfide electrolyte.
The Muldoon et al. reference teaches microwave induced formation of sulfide solid electrolytes (Abstract). The reference teaches that the microwave irradiation induced of Li2S and P2S5 reactants for formation of Li3PS4 and Li7P3S11 electrolytes results in a lower reaction temperate in organic solvents (Para [0035]). Acetonitrile, used by Muldoon Para[0064], is an organic solvent.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary level of skill in the art to form the Li6PS5Cl electrolyte of Arnold by the microwave method of Muldoon et al. One would be motivated to do so in an effort to reduce the required reaction temperature, as taught by Muldoon Para [0035].
Regarding claim 2, the modified Arnold reference does not teach the integrated energy of 1.0 kW.s/g or the microwave output of 140W/g.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been within the skill of a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable or optimal level of energy or microwave output to use. The energy and the microwave output would directly control how long it takes to achieve a desired temperature. Thuse these variables (kW.s/g and W/g) are result effective variables and can be optimized without undue experimentation.
Regarding claim 3, the Muldoon reference teaches microwave irradiation induced sulfide electrode formation in acetonitrile (Para [0064). The reference does not specify the dielectric loss of this solvent. However, acetonitrile has a dielectric loss of less than 10.0 at a temperature of 25°C. See evidentiary reference indicating this property (Stoppa et al. “Dielectric response and collective dynamics of acetonitrile” Pg. #964, Fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 4, the Muldoon reference teaches heating to a temperature of 200°C to remove the ACN solvent (Para [0077]). This indicates that the boiling point is higher than 50°C.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Arnold reference does not teach the mass ratio of the mixture.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary level of skill in the art to determine a suitable or optimal amount of raw material reactants and solvent to use in the process of Maniwa. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical (MPEP §2144.05 II). The amount of raw material would directly control the rate of reaction. Thus, this is a result effective variable which can be optimized without undue experimentation.
Regarding claim 7, The Muldoon reference teaches an example where the microwave irradiation is performed at a temperature of 290°C (Para [0064]).
Regarding claim 10, the Arnold reference teaches the use of Li3PS4 as the raw material for Li6PS5Cl formation (Pg. 26 of 62, section 2.2). Li3PS4 is considered to read on the claimed raw material sulfide solid electrolyte.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, The Arnold reference does not teach pulverizing as a method of making the Li3PS4.
However, the Muldoon reference teaches that it is known in the art to combing Li2S and P2S5 powders by ball milling to form amorphous Li3PS4 (Para [0007]). The amorphous phase is annealed at 150°C (Para [0069]) to form crystallized b-Li3PS4.The Li2S and P2S5 are considered as the at least two kinds of compounds in a solvent and the annealing is considered analogous to calcining.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-7, 9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, 8, 12 of copending Application No. 19/118416 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications require heating a mixture with microwave irradiation to produce the sulfide solid electrolyte. However, the instant claims require a raw material that has inclusions of the desired atoms and the other application broadly requires a substance.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Relevant Art
Subramanian et al. “High ionic-conducting Li-argyrodites…” teaches forming a solid electrolyte comprising Li-P-S-Cl argyrodite (Abstract). The reference teaches combing Li2S, LiCl and P2S in a solvent and then heat treating to remove the solvent and then calcining to yield Li6P5SCl (See Fig. 1 and Pg. 2, right hand column, last para).
Maniwa et al. “Synthesis of sulfide solid electrolytes from Li2S and P2S5 in anisole” teaches synthesis of solid sulfide electrolytes from Li2S and P2S5 using anisole at 200-300°C under microwave irradiation (Abstract). The reference synthesizes argyrodite Li6PS5Cl by first forming Li3PS4 and the adding LiCl (See section 2.1.3 on Pg. #401). The reference first combines a mixture of Li2S and P2S5 in anisole and heats this mixture by microwave irradiation to form the Li3PS4. This is then dried at 150°C for 3h to remove any solvent (See Pg. #401, right hand column, first para). The product formed from the LiCl addition (Li6PS5Cl) was also dried at 180°C for 3h (See Fig. 1).
[AltContent: textbox ([img-media_image1.png])]
Conclusion
/SYED T IQBAL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736