Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trenoras et al (FR3106492).
In reference to claim 1, Trenoras teaches a parking device (figure 7) for a motorized self-balancing wheelchair (intended use), wherein the device is connected to a base (11) of the self-balancing wheelchair by means of a pair of leverages (57, 55, 58), wherein each of the leverages is connected, by means of a proximal lever (58), to a shared gear (53) that can be driven by means of a gearmotor assembly (50, note that this is written with the language “can be driven” and therefor the motor is not necessary for this portion of the claim) that in turn is constrained to one of the aforesaid leverages, each of the proximal levers being articulated to a respective distal lever (57, 58), wherein each of the distal levers is guided along a respective guide, wherein the guide is constrained to the base of the wheelchair and has a respective supporting foot (62) for supporting on the ground, wherein the shared gear has a pair of cogwheels meshing with one another, wherein each of the cogwheels is integral to a respective proximal lever of the leverages and has its own rotation axis, in such a way that the operation of the gearmotor assembly puts the pair of cogwheels in simultaneous rotation to drive the leverages up or down.
In reference to claim 8, Trenoras teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the aforesaid supporting feet (62) to be supported on the ground are articulated with respect to the corresponding distal levers (note pivots on the feet), such as to provide a better support on the ground to the parking device.
In reference to claim 10, Trenoras teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the gearmotor assembly (50') can be driven electrically. Please note that can be is treated broadly. Even if positively recited, this feature would not yield patentability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trenoras et al (FR3106492) in view of Couch et al (1923190).
Trenoras does not teach guides fixed to the base for the levers.
Couch teaches a ground engaging brake with a lever-like device (6) with guides (13, 13’) providing as a guide for the levers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have provided the brake device of Trenoras with lever guides as taught by Couch in order to securely guide Trenoras levers and to add rigidity to the brake device as would be readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-7, 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The changes to the abstract and to overcome the 112 issues are acceptable to the examiner. Applicants arguments with respect to the 102 are not persuasive. Applicant appears to be reading the claim in a more specific context than what the claim actually states. The claim does not recite a connection of the distal lever to the guide. The claim only recites that the distal lever is guided along the guide. This recitation is considered broad. Further, in the instant invention the distal lever is element 34 and the guide is element 36 which appears to be part of the lever 34. In case of the reference, the guide can be the surface of the lever cooperating with the side of the base of the wheelchair. Namely the side surface of element 11 can provide a “guide” for the lever or the most distal end of the lever can guide the shoe into engagement with the ground. Note that the entire assembly is contrained or attached to the wheelchair.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVON C. KRAMER
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3746
/DEVON C KRAMER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741