DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment, filed on April 30th, 2026, the following are withdrawn from the previous office action, mailed on March 31st, 2026.
Objections of claims 16, 17, 21, 22 and 27 due to minor informalities
Rejections of claims 16-27 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Rejections of claims 16-27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in view of the amendments
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 16-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, line 21, “the core members” should say “the first and second movable core members” for claim language consistency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 20-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 20130240150 A1; hereafter Suzuki; reference disclosed in IDS filed on 08/22/2024), in view of Lehmann et al. (US 20190024630 A1; Lehmann), Nagayama et al. (JPH10212649A; hereafter Nagayama; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation) and evidenced by Dahl et al. (US 20140030096 A1; hereafter Dahl).
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki discloses a method of manufacturing an embedding element (Fig. 9; [0002-0003]; producing a fiber-reinforced resin beam used as various structural members), the method comprising:
providing a lower mold plate (Fig. 9; [0346]; bottom mold 112, which is a flat plate as per Fig. 6 and [0321]) comprising a first lateral side, an opposing second lateral side, and a top surface extending between the first and second lateral sides (Fig. 9; bottom mold 112 has a left side, right side and a top surface);
arranging a first movable core member (Fig. 9; [0346]; left side mold 113b) and a second movable core member (Fig. 9; [0346]; right side mold 113a) on the top surface of the lower mold plate (Fig. 9; [0346]), such that the first movable core member is closer to the first lateral side (Fig. 9; [0346]; 113b is closer to left side of 112) and the second movable core member is closer to the second lateral side of the lower mold plate (Fig. 9; [0346]; 113a is closer to right side of 112);
arranging a fiber material (Fig. 9; [0347, 0349]; 120, 121a, 121b and 122 comprise reinforcing fiber) and a binding agent ([0351]; adhesive resin) on the lower mold plate in between the first movable core member and the second movable core member (Fig. 9; [0346]);
placing an upper mold plate (Fig. 9; [0346]; top mold 114, which is a flat plate as per Fig. 6 and [0321]) on top of the first movable core member and the second movable core member (Fig. 9; [0346
d]) to form a cavity between the upper and lower mold plates and the first and second movable core members (Fig. 9; bottom mold 112, top mold 114, left side mold 113b and right side mold 113a together form a hollow shaping space);
pushing one or both of the moveable core members towards the cavity for compacting the fiber material (Fig. 9; [0350]; 113a and 113b move towards the center to press the reinforcing fiber);
heating the fiber material and the binding agent (Fig. 9; [0391]) to form the embedding element or a preform thereof ([0391]);
cooling the embedding element or the preform thereof ([0323, 0346]; the molds comprise the heating means, such that when the molds release from the reinforcing material the temperature of the reinforcing material is lowered);
retracting one or both of the moveable core members for releasing the embedding element or the preform thereof (Fig. 9-10; [0323, 0358]; implicit to demolding the shaped reinforcing fiber and providing the resin beam in Figure 10);
and when the preform is formed by heating the fiber material and the binding agent, cutting the preform to provide two or more embedding elements ([0458]; cutting the beam in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise direction to inspect the cross-section would result in two beams).
Suzuki does not explicitly disclose the embedding element is for embedment in a shell structure of a wind turbine rotor blade, the first movable core member and the second movable core member each contact the top surface of the lower mold and placing the upper mold plate in contact with the first movable core member and the second movable core member to form an enclosed cavity containing the fiber material and the binding agent.
However, Lehmann teaches an embedding element for embedment in a shell structure of a wind turbine rotor blade (Fig. 1; [0001]) may be formed by molding fiber material and binding agent ([0029-0033]).
Suzuki and Lehmann are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of molding to form fiber-reinforced composite embedding elements. The compression molding method of Suzuki can be used to make embedding elements with a variety of different shapes (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the composite compression molding method of Suzuki to provide the embedding element of Lehmann. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). As evidenced by Figure 9 and [0026, 0034, 0062] of Dahl there would have been a reasonable expectation of success when making the combination. Doing so would allow for the manufacture of a wind turbine blade shell embedding element at a reduced cost with good quality (Suzuki [0084-0085]).
Suzuki, in view of Lehmann, does not explicitly disclose the first movable core member and the second movable core member each contact the top surface of the lower mold and placing the upper mold plate in contact with the first movable core member and the second movable core member to form an enclosed cavity containing the fiber material and the binding agent.
However, in the analogous art Nagayama teaches a method of compression molding ([0013]) comprising compacting a fiber material ([0013]; fiber mixture) and a binding agent ([0012]; binder) in between a first movable core member (Fig. 4; [0013]; left cross-sectional mold), a second movable core member (Fig. 4; [0013]; right cross-sectional mold), an upper mold plate (Fig. 4; [0013]; upper mold) and a lower mold plate (Fig. 4; [0013]; lower mold), wherein the first movable core member and the second movable core member each contact a top surface of the lower mold plate and a bottom surface of the upper mold plate to form an enclosed cavity (Fig. 4; space in between the left cross-sectional mold, the right cross-sectional mold, the upper mold and the lower mold). The first movable core member and the second movable core member push towards the enclosed cavity to compact the fiber material (Fig. 4; the left and right cross-sectional molds move inward towards the cavity to apply pressure in the transverse direction).
Suzuki and Nagayama are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of compression molding to form fiber-reinforced composite elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the composite compression molding method of Suzuki, in view of Lehmann, with the teachings of Nagayama to provide the first movable core member and the second movable core member each contact the top surface of the lower mold and placing the upper mold plate in contact with the first movable core member and the second movable core member to form an enclosed cavity containing the fiber material and the binding agent. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so would allow for the manufacture of an embedding element with excellent shape conformability through a simplified process (Nagayama [0037]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Suzuki discloses the method of claim 16, wherein Suzuki further discloses each movable core member is provided with a longitudinally extending lateral surface for engaging the fiber material (Fig. 9; [0345-0347]; right side of 113b and left side of 113a engages reinforcing fiber), the lateral surface of the movable core member extending convexly in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the core member (Fig. 9; [0350]; left side of 113a goes into concave portion of reinforcing fiber and therefore extends convexly), and wherein the respective lateral surfaces of the movable core members face each other (Fig. 9; [0345-0347]; right side of 113b and left side of 113a face each other) when the first movable core member and a second movable core member are arranged on the top surface of the lower mold plate (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 18, modified Suzuki discloses the method of claim 16, wherein Suzuki further discloses the fiber material comprises glass fiber rovings ([0301]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Suzuki discloses the method of claim 16, wherein Suzuki further discloses arranging the fiber material on the top surface of the lower mold plate comprises arranging fiber rovings of different lengths (Fig. 11; [0359]), successively going from the longest to the shortest fiber rovings (Fig. 11; [0359]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Suzuki discloses the method of claim 16, wherein Suzuki further discloses pushing comprises pushing both of the first and second movable core members towards the cavity for compacting the fiber material until both of the core members reach a predetermined position (Fig. 9; [0346, 0350]; 113a and 113b move towards the center to press the reinforcing fiber, wherein their positioning takes into consideration the desired thickness).
Regarding claim 22, modified Suzuki discloses the method of claim 16, wherein Suzuki further discloses one or both of the movable core members comprises a heating element ([0346, 0354]; molds contain heating means) for heating the fiber material and the binding agent.
Regarding claim 23, modified Suzuki discloses the method of claim 16, wherein Suzuki further discloses cutting the preform comprises cutting the preform in half along a plane normal to a longitudinal axis of the preform ([0458]; cutting the beam in a direction perpendicular to the lengthwise direction) to provide two embedding elements.
Regarding claim 24, modified Suzuki discloses the method of claim 16, wherein Suzuki further discloses the embedding element has a first end portion (Fig. 10; first end 12b) and a second end portion (Fig. 10; second end 16b), wherein the embedding element comprises a wedge-shaped part (Fig. 10; [0358]; ply drops 133a, 133b) which tapers in a direction towards the second end portion (Fig. 10; [0358]; ply drops 133a, 133b towards second end 16b).
Regarding claim 25, modified Suzuki discloses the method of claim 16, wherein Suzuki further discloses a first end portion (Fig. 10; first end 12b) of the embedding element comprises a butterfly-shaped cross section (Fig. 9-10).
Regarding claim 27, modified Suzuki discloses the method of claim 16, wherein Suzuki further discloses the embedding element comprises a first longitudinal lateral face extending concavely in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the embedding element (Fig. 9; [0350]; concave portion of portion corresponding to 121a of reinforcing fiber) and a second longitudinal lateral face facing opposite the first lateral face and extending concavely in a cross-sectional view perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the embedding element (Fig. 9; [0350]; concave portion of portion corresponding to 121b of reinforcing fiber).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (US 20130240150 A1; hereafter Suzuki; reference disclosed in IDS filed on 08/22/2024), in view of Lehmann et al. (US 20190024630 A1; Lehmann) and Nagayama et al. (JPH10212649A; hereafter Nagayama; paragraph numbers correspond to attached English machine translation) as applied to claim 16, and further in view of Kaiser et al. (WO 2014012774 A1).
Regarding claim 19, modified Suzuki discloses the method of claim 16, wherein Suzuki further discloses arranging glass fiber rovings on the lower mold plate (Fig. 9; [0301]) and wherein the glass fiber rovings are contacted with the binding agent prior to the arranging ([0351]; adhesive resin).
Modified Suzuki does not explicitly disclose unwinding glass fiber rovings from one or more bobbins and the glass fiber rovings are contacted with the binding agent prior to the unwinding, or after the unwinding but before the arranging.
However, in the analogous art Kaiser teaches it is well-known to unwind fiber rovings (Fig. 1a; [0048]; unwinding stations 3, 4) from one or more bobbins (Fig. 1a; [0048]; spools or bobbins) before arranging on a compression mold (Fig. 1a; [0048]; first forming tool 1 and further forming tool 2) in order to form a fiber-reinforced composite element (). The fiber rovings may be glass fiber rovings ([0017]) and contact a binding agent (Fig. 1a; [0048]; impregnation station 10 with resin impregnation bath providing resin matrix material) after the unwinding but before the arranging (Fig. 1a).
Suzuki and Kaiser are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of compression molding to form fiber-reinforced composite elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the composite compression molding method of Suzuki with the teachings of Kaiser to provide unwinding glass fiber rovings from one or more bobbins and the glass fiber rovings are contacted with the binding agent after the unwinding but before the arranging. Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way supports a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2143 I(C). Doing so ensure good penetration of the glass fiber rovings with the binding agent and eliminate the time lost to storage and transportation of impregnated fiber materials (Kaiser [0016]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIPUL MALIK/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754