DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 12-22 in the reply filed on 7-17-2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: The examiner believes that the “comprising” of the second line was intended to be “comprises”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites an “easy-adhesive layer,” but it is unclear what is meant by the term “easy-adhesive” or how such an “easy” adhesive would differ from a standard adhesive. For the purpose of continued examination, the examiner will assume that limitation is directed to an adhesive layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shoji, JP2019064132 A, cited herein according to a translation.
Regarding claim 12, Shoji teaches a decorative plate comprising, in order, a core paper (21 of Fig. 2), a decorative base paper (22 of Fig. 2), an easy-adhesive layer (13 of Fig. 2), and a surface-protective layer (12 of Fig. 2). Note that although Shoji refers to the layer 12 as a “transfer-layer,” Shoji teaches that the transfer layer 12 is made from a resin with a high hardness so as to provide the surface with scratch resistance ([0048]), and the layer 12 is thus considered to constitute a “protective layer” in accordance with the present claims. Shoji teaches that the core paper and the decorative paper each comprise a cured product of a curable resin ([0094]-[0095], [0101]) and that the transfer layer 12 (corresponding to the claimed “protective layer”) may comprise a UV absorbing agent ([0084]).
Regarding claims 13 and 22, Shoji teaches that the product may comprise additional layers located between layers 13 and layer 22 ([0050]). Such additional layers would correspond to the claimed “heat seal layer”.
Regarding claim 14, Shoji teaches that the adhesive layer may include a UV absorber ([0055]).
Regarding claim 15, Shoji also teaches that the layer may comprise a prepreg ([0096]), which would comprise an additional partly-cured resin.
Regarding claim 16, Shoji teaches that the resin may be melamine ([0098]).
Regarding claim 19, Shoji teaches that the protective layer 12 may comprise a filler ([0032]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 20, Shoji teaches a thickness of 30 – 50 microns ([0049]).
Regarding claim 21, Shoji teaches that the product may comprising a releasable support (base sheet 11 of Fig. 2, [0024]). Note that Shoji teaches in [0024] that the base sheet 11 is “easily peeled off.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoji, JP2019064132 A, as applied above.
Regarding claim 18, Shoji teaches a product as discussed above. The teachings of Shoji differ from the present invention in that although Shoji teaches that the paper of the decorative base paper layer 22 may be decorative ([0097]), Shoji does not explicitly teach that the paper may comprise a pattern. It would, however, have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a pattern on the paper layer 22 of the product of Shoji, as doing so would allow the layer to be “decorative,” in keeping with the teachings of Shoji. Additionally, the claimed pattern appears to be an aesthetic feature with no mechanical function, and as such cannot distinguish the claimed invention because matters related only to ornamentation cannot distinguish the claimed invention (MPEP 2144.04 I).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoji, JP2019064132 A as applied above, in view of Shibayama et al., US 2020/0048445 A1.
Regarding claim 17, the teachings of Shoji differ from the present invention in that although Shoji teaches that the product may contain UV absorbing agents as discussed above, Shoji does not teach any specific type of UV absorbing agent (ie, does not teach a triazine compound as claimed). Shibayama, however, teaches a similar laminate product (Abstract) and teaches numerous triazine compounds as useful UV absorbing additives ([0027]-[0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use triazine compounds as the UV absorbers of Shoji because Shibayama explicitly teaches triazine compounds to be appropriate for use as UV absorbers in such laminate products.
Conclusion
/IAN A RUMMEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785