DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 17 July 2024 and 29 October 2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Washida et al. (WO2020175506A1, cited on IDS, Machine Translation via EPO) in further view of Wang et al. (Wang et al. Atomic Layer Deposition of Lithium Niobium Oxides as Potential Solid-State Electrolytes for Lithium-Ion Batteries. ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 17 January 2018; 10 (2): 1654–1661., NPL cited on IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Washida teaches a coated positive electrode active material [0019, 0027] that could be used for a lithium secondary battery [0119]. The coated positive electrode active material includes a positive electrode active material (“core material”) [0012] and a coating layer disposed on a surface of the positive electrode active material [0012], and the coating layer can include niobium atoms [0012]. The core particles in Washida correlate to the positive electrode active material of the instant application, and the coating layer of Washida correlates to the coating layer that is disposed on the active material of the instant application.
Washida does not explicitly teach the peaks observed at a niobium (Nb)- L3 absorption edge of an X-ray absorption fine structure spectrum of the coated positive electrode active material measured by X-ray absorption fine structure spectroscopy (XAFS) are designated as a peak A, a peak B, and a peak C in an order from lower absorption energy, a difference between absorption energy at a peak top of the peak A and absorption energy at a peak top of the peak C is 12.9 eV or greater.
However, Wang discusses an atomic layer deposition of lithium niobium oxides as potential solid-state electrolytes for lithium-ion batteries. Wang teaches substrates that are coated with lithium niobium films, and the films are amorphous and layered such as they are in the instant application. Wang further teaches peaks observed at a niobium (Nb)-L3 absorption edge of an X-ray absorption fine structure spectrum of the coated positive electrode active material measured by X-ray absorption fine structure spectroscopy (XAFS) that are designated as a peak A, a peak B and a peak C in an order from lower absorption energy, and a difference between the absorption energy at a peak top of the peak A and absorption energy at a peak top of the peak C being 12.9 eV or greater (Figure 3, Table 1, NbxO). The difference is 14.0 eV.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify and combine the positive electrode active material of Washida with the XAFS peak differences of Wang. One would have been motivated to modify and combine the inventions in this way because both inventions relate to lithium niobium oxide coatings for lithium secondary battery materials, such as active materials or electrolytes, and Wang asserts in its introduction that “lithium niobate glasses have demonstrated good ionic conductivity” (Wang, 2017). Further, Wang concludes that the lithium niobium oxide films, including any of the films found in Table 1, “can provide a moderate ionic conductivity at room temperature, which is higher than that of other similar amorphous systems” (Wang, 2017).
Regarding Claim 2, Washida and Wang teach all the limitations of Claim 1 but do not teach the difference between the absorption energy at the peak top of the peak A and the absorption energy at the peak top of peak C being 12.9 eV or greater and 13.8 eV or less.
However, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the difference in peak absorption energies between peaks A and C to fall between the range of 12.9 and 13.8 eV, inclusive. One would have been motivated to modify the difference in peak absorption energies to find an optimal ionic conductivity for the active material. It would have been obvious to try to modify the peak energy differences for this reason. Wang teaches a peak energy difference between peak A and C that is 14 eV, which is close to the upper limit of the claimed range. Also, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, and, similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding Claim 3, Washida teaches a coated positive electrode active material [0019, 0027] that could be used for a lithium secondary battery [0119]. The coated positive electrode active material includes a positive electrode active material (“core material”) [0012] and a coating layer disposed on a surface of the positive electrode active material [0012], and the coating layer can include niobium atoms [0012]. The core particles in Washida correlate to the positive electrode active material of the instant application, and the coating layer of Washida correlates to the coating layer that is disposed on the active material of the instant application.
Washida does not explicitly teach the peaks observed at a niobium (Nb)- L3 absorption edge of an X-ray absorption fine structure spectrum of the coated positive electrode active material measured by X-ray absorption fine structure spectroscopy (XAFS) are designated as a peak A, a peak B, and a peak C in an order from lower absorption energy, a difference between absorption energy at a peak top of the peak A and absorption energy at a peak top of the peak B is 3.1 eV or less.
However, Wang discusses an atomic layer deposition of lithium niobium oxides as potential solid-state electrolytes for lithium-ion batteries. Wang teaches substrates that are coated with lithium niobium films, and the films are layered and amorphous such as they are in the instant application. Wang further teaches peaks observed at a niobium (Nb)-L3 absorption edge of an X-ray absorption fine structure spectrum of the coated positive electrode active material measured by X-ray absorption fine structure spectroscopy (XAFS) that are designated as a peak A, a peak B and a peak C in an order from lower absorption energy, and a difference between the absorption energy at a peak top of the peak A and absorption energy at a peak top of the peak B being 3.1 eV or less (Figure 3, Table 1, NbxO). The difference is 2.4 eV.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify and combine the positive electrode active material of Washida with the XAFS peak differences of Wang. One would have been motivated to modify and combine the inventions in this way because both inventions relate to lithium niobium oxide coatings for lithium secondary battery materials, such as active materials or electrolytes, and Wang asserts in the introduction section that “lithium niobate glasses have demonstrated good ionic conductivity” (Wang, 2017). Further, Wang concludes that the lithium niobium oxide films, including any of the films found in Table 1, “can provide a moderate ionic conductivity at room temperature, which is higher than that of other similar amorphous systems” (Wang, 2017).
Regarding Claim 4, Washida and Wang teach all the limitations of Claim 3, and Wang further teaches the difference between the absorption energy peak at the peak top of the peak A and the absorption energy at the peak top of the peak B is 2.3 eV or greater and 3.1 eV or less; the difference between the absorption energy peaks at peak tops A and B is 2.4 eV (Figure 3, Table 1, NbxO).
Regarding Claim 5, Washida and Wang teach all the limitations of Claim 1, and Wang further teaches the difference between the absorption energy peak at the peak top of the peak A and the absorption energy at the peak top of the peak B is 2.3 eV or greater and 3.1 eV or less; the difference between the absorption energy peaks at peak tops A and B is 2.4 eV (Figure 3, Table 1, NbxO).
Regarding Claim 6, Washida and Wang teach all the limitations of Claim 5 but do not specifically teach the difference between the absorption energy at the peak top of the peak A and the absorption energy at the peak top of the peak C is 12.9 eV or greater and 13.8 eV or less.
However, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the difference in peak absorption energies between peaks A and C to fall between the range of 12.9 and 13.8 eV, inclusive. One would have been motivated to modify the difference in peak absorption energies to find an optimal ionic conductivity for the active material. It would have been obvious to try to modify the peak energy differences for this reason. Wang teaches a peak energy difference between peak A and C that is 14 eV, which is close to the upper limit of the claimed range. Also, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, and, similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Wang also further teaches the difference between the absorption energy peak at the peak top of the peak A and the absorption energy at the peak top of the peak B is 2.3 eV or greater and 3.1 eV or less; the difference between the absorption energy peaks at peak tops A and B is 2.4 eV (Figure 3, Table 1, NbxO).
Regarding Claim 7, Washida and Wang teach all the limitations of claim 1, and Washida further teaches the coating layer being amorphous [0023].
Regarding Claim 8, Washida and Wang teach all the limitations of claim 1, and Washida further teaches the positive electrode active material having a layered structure [0076]. The active material is comprised of core particles [0026], and core material particle powder, made of lithium metal composite oxide, can have a layered structure [0076].
Regarding Claim 9, Washida and Wang teach all the limitations of Claim 8, and Washida further teaches the positive electrode active material including nickel, cobalt and manganese, and the molar ratio of nickel, cobalt and manganese is Ni:Co:Mn = x:y:z, which satisfies relationships of 0.4<x≤1.0, 0≤y<0.3, 0≤z<0.4 and x + y + z = 1 [0100-0101]. The ratio of Ni:Co:Mn is 0.6:0.2:0.2 [0100-0101].
Regarding Claim 10, Washida in view of Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 1 with respect to the coated positive electrode active material as described in the rejection above, and Washida further teaches a lithium secondary battery [0119] that includes a positive electrode [0121], a negative electrode [0121] (positive and negative electrodes must be present if positive and negative electrode layers are present because the latter are subcomponents of the former) and a solid electrolyte layer [0080]. The solid electrolyte can be a sulfide-based solid electrolyte [0082].
Regarding Claim 11, Washida and Wang teach all the limitations of Claim 3, and Washida further teaches the coating layer being amorphous [0023].
Regarding Claim 12, Washida and Wang teach all the limitations of claim 3, and Washida further teaches the positive electrode active material having a layered structure [0076]. The active material is comprised of core particles [0026], and core material particle powder, made of lithium metal composite oxide, can have a layered structure [0076].
Regarding Claim 13, Washida in view of Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 3 with respect to the coated positive electrode active material as described in the rejection above, and Washida further teaches a lithium secondary battery [0119] that includes a positive electrode [0121], a negative electrode [0121] (positive and negative electrodes must be present if positive and negative electrode layers are present because the latter are subcomponents of the former) and a solid electrolyte layer [0080]. The solid electrolyte can be a sulfide-based solid electrolyte [0082].
Conclusion
/M.D.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/LAURA C POWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785