DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on September 22, 2026. In accordance with this amendment, claims 1 and 3-20 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 remain pending and are finally rejected herein, with claim 1 as the sole independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US 2006/0245694 A1.
Chen et al. US 2006/0245694 A1 teaches (ABS; Figs. 1-5; corresponding text, in particular paragraphs [0016] – [0025]; Claims) a fiber exit element (cited Figs. 4 and 5 show the entire element) having a plurality of glass fibers (optical fibers 134) each of the plurality of glass fibers having at least one core (fiber core / cladding) and being configured (and capable of) to guide a signal light beam, and having at least one optical element (102 with 106; note the vast breadth of “optical element” in a patent claim), which is connected (optically and/or mechanically, see Fig. 5 “connected”) at an entry surface to an open end of each of the cores of the glass fibers, and is configured (and capable of) to receive the signal light beam from the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers and to emit the same outwards in the form of exit beams via at least one exit surface, characterized by at least one first housing (housing in cited Figs., comprised of at least by outer element 112 that retain the ferrule and fiber(s); however the “housing” could also be part(s) of the element 124 and/or 100) which is connected to the optical element and, together with the optical element, forms a first housing space (see negative space in Figs. 4-5) which at least substantially encloses at least the entry surface of the optical element with the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers, wherein the first housing has a first housing “shell” which extends substantially parallel to the glass fibers (see Figs. 1 and 2; negative space in a recess area for the fiber(s); part(s) of elements 112, 124, and/or 100 can be a “shell” formation for surrounding the fiber(s)) and is optically transparent and/or optically absorbent at least in sections (either absorbs some light and potentially transmits some light; the claim does not state which wavelength of light is used for this material property), and wherein the first housing has a fiber feedthrough element (fiber(s) of Chen are fed through by element 124 and also are fed into/upon the grooves at 109) through which the plurality of glass fibers extend, in a loosely guided (frame of reference) or fixedly connected manner (see how fibers are guided / connected in Fig. 5 of Chen), wherein at least sections of the fiber feedthrough element are optically reflective and/or optically absorbent (some light is absorbed by those features in Chen, again the claim does not state which wavelength of light is used for this material property), which clearly, fully meets Applicant’s claimed structural limitations of sole pending independent claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 10, at least part of the interior of the housing is filled with a material (Fig. 5 Chen).
Regarding claim 11, the groove of the element 102 can be considered as the intermediate element, in between the feedthrough at 124 and the optical element (lens end face), which meets all structure, and noting that the formation of the intermediate element (grooves) is capable of being optical absorbent (at a wavelength, will absorb some light).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoki et al US 2013/0071063 A1.
Aoki et al US 2013/0071063 A1 teaches (ABS; Figs. 1A, 2A, 2B, 9A-B, 10A-B, 11A-B, 12A-C, 13A; corresponding text, in particular paragraphs [0026] – [0057]; Claims) a fiber exit element (cited Figs. above) having a plurality of glass fibers (optical fibers) each of the plurality of glass fibers having at least one core (fiber core / cladding) and being configured (and capable of) to guide a signal light beam, and having at least one optical element (note the vast breadth of “optical element” in a patent claim), which is connected (optically and/or mechanically, see Figs. cited as optically “connected”) at an entry surface to an open end of each of the cores of the glass fibers, and is configured (and capable of) to receive the signal light beam from the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers and to emit the same outwards in the form of exit beams via at least one exit surface, characterized by at least one first housing (housing in cited Figs.) which is connected to the optical element and, together with the optical element, forms a first housing space (see negative space in Figs.) which at least substantially encloses at least the entry surface of the optical element with the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers, wherein the first housing has a first housing “shell” which extends substantially parallel to the glass fibers (see Figs. having negative space in a recess area for the fiber(s)) and is optically transparent and/or optically absorbent at least in sections (either absorbs some light and potentially transmits some light; the claim does not state which wavelength of light is used for this material property), and wherein the first housing has a fiber feedthrough element (fiber(s) of Aoki are fed through and toward lens) through which the plurality of glass fibers extend, in a loosely guided (frame of reference) or fixedly connected manner (see how fibers are guided / connected in Figs. of Aoki), wherein at least sections of the fiber feedthrough element are optically reflective and/or optically absorbent (some light is absorbed by those features in Aoki, again the claim does not state which wavelength of light is used for this material property), which clearly, fully meets Applicant’s claimed structural limitations of sole pending independent claim 1.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. U.S. Patent No. 9,213,148 B2.
Li et al. U.S. Patent No. 9,213,148 B2 teaches (ABS; Figs. 4A-4C, 5A-5D, 6, 10A-10B, 12A, 13A; corresponding text, in particular columns 5-10; see column 8, lines 29-38; Claims) a fiber exit element (cited Figs. above) having a plurality of glass fibers (optical fibers) each of the plurality of glass fibers having at least one core (fiber core / cladding) and being configured (and capable of) to guide a signal light beam, and having at least one optical element (note the vast breadth of “optical element” in a patent claim; see Li Figs. 10A-10B), which is connected (optically and/or mechanically, see Figs. cited as optically “connected”) at an entry surface to an open end of each of the cores of the glass fibers, and is configured (and capable of) to receive the signal light beam from the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers and to emit the same outwards in the form of exit beams via at least one exit surface, characterized by at least one first housing (housing in cited Figs.; at least 40 and/or 42) which is connected to the optical element and, together with the optical element, forms a first housing space (see negative space in Figs.) which at least substantially encloses at least the entry surface of the optical element with the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers, wherein the first housing has a first housing “shell” 42 which extends substantially parallel to the glass fibers (see Fig. 6 negative space in a recess area for the fiber(s)) and is optically transparent and/or optically absorbent at least in sections (either absorbs some light and potentially transmits some light; the claim does not state which wavelength of light is used for this material property), and wherein the first housing has a fiber feedthrough element (fiber(s) of Li are fed through and located to couple as shown; note Figs. 12A and 13A) through which the plurality of glass fibers extend, in a loosely guided (frame of reference) or fixedly connected manner (see how fibers are guided / connected in Figs. of Li), wherein at least sections of the fiber feedthrough element are optically reflective and/or optically absorbent (some light is absorbed by those features in Li, again the claim does not state which wavelength of light is used for this material property), which clearly, fully meets Applicant’s claimed structural limitations of sole pending independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budd et al. US 2011/0026882 A1, and further in view of Li et al. U.S. Patent No. 9,213,148 B2. Also of note is the Written Opinion from PCT / EP 2023 / 051068, which is fully incorporated herein as reference.
The combination of Budd ‘882 and Li ‘148 make obvious all such features of claim 1, in that Li ‘148 teaches specific ferrule and/or housing materials chosen (see column 8, lines 29-38) that will functionally optically absorb at least some light. Li’s ferrule and/or housing will be a selectable plastic for the ferrule feature of Budd. Budd ‘882 teaches all structural elements of independent claim 1 but is silent to those optically absorbing features of a ferrule-like element. Budd teaches (ABS; Figs. 1A-1C, 2A-2D, 3A-3C, 5A-5D; corresponding text, notably paragraphs [0018] – [0023], [0025] – [0027]; Claims) a fiber exit element (cited Figs.) having a plurality of glass fibers 16 (fibers) each of the fibers having at least one core (fiber core), each of which is configured to guide a signal light beam, and having at least one optical element 40 / 28 (which may be comprised from the group of: an optical lens, an optical beam splitter or an optical prism), as in Figs 1-3 and 5 (note the vast breadth of optical “element” in a patent claim), which is connected at an entry surface to an open end of each of the cores of the glass fibers, and is configured to receive the signal light beam from the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers and to emit the same outwards in the form of exit beams via at least one exit surface, characterized by at least one first housing (housing in cited Figs., comprised of at least 10, a “ferrule”) which is connected to the optical element and, together with the optical element, forms a first housing space (see Figs. 1-3 and 5) which at least substantially encloses at least the entry surface of the optical element with the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers, wherein the first housing has a first housing shell (part of ferrule) which extends substantially parallel to the glass fibers (see Figs. cited in Budd) and is designed to be optically transparent and/or optically absorbent at least in sections (either absorbs some light and potential transmits some light, no wavelength of light recited for this property), and wherein the first housing has a fiber feedthrough element (negative space for the fiber(s) of Budd to be located) through which the glass fiber extends, preferably vertically, in a loosely guided (frame of reference) or fixedly connected manner, and at least sections of which are configured to be optically reflective and/or optically absorbent (some light(s) are absorbed, but not express from Budd itself, but no wavelength of light is claimed).
Since Budd and Li are both from the same field of endeavor, the purpose disclosed by Li would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Budd.
A person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the current application would have recognized the teaching of Li, to have a ferrule feature that includes an optically absorbing material, to absorb some light in the system (as a protection mechanism), into the base design of the fiber exit element of Budd, to allow for the absorption of some stray light that is unwanted, for improving optical operation of the exit element (and decrease of heat). Further, it would have required no undue burden or unnecessary experimentation to arrive at such feature of the absorbing material in the ferrule of Budd by viewing Li’s teachings. See KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727 (2007). For these reasons, independent claim 1 is found obvious over Budd and further in view of Li (henceforth “COMBO”).
The Examiner also fully incorporates the logic and analysis of the Written Opinion from PCT EP ‘068, found in the file (Sections 2.2 – 3).
Regarding further dependent claims 2-20, based on the hypothetical design of COMBO for claim 1, and considering the further limitations, all such dependent features are either found with Budd and/or Li themselves, or would have been simple and obvious design choices for the normally skilled artisan at the time of the effective filing date of the current application. At this “time” before the effective filing date of the current application, it would have been an obvious matter of common skill and design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use features such as those optical selections and integrations because Applicant has not disclosed that using such features provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected COMBO to perform equally well with such features as the optical dependencies (in claims 2-20) because these claim terms would have been easily integrated and would have also been recognized by one with common skill in the art to improve optical signal propagation and the resultant output connectivity for a “connector” type element (at the “exit”). It would have required no undue burden or unnecessary experimentation to arrive at those features with a fiber exit element such as in COMBO’s hypothetical claim 1. Further, the base structure of the sole independent claim 1 is found obvious over COMBO as discussed prior in this section. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of common skill and design choice to modify (and/or update) COMBO to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2-20. See KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727 (2007).
Claims 2-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US 2006/0245694 A1, based on independent claim 1, standing alone.
Regarding independent claim 1, Chen et al. US 2006/0245694 A1 teaches (ABS; Figs. 1-5; corresponding text, in particular paragraphs [0016] – [0025]; Claims) a fiber exit element (cited Figs. 4 and 5 show the entire element) having a plurality of glass fibers (optical fibers 134) each of the plurality of glass fibers having at least one core (fiber core / cladding) and being configured (and capable of) to guide a signal light beam, and having at least one optical element (102 with 106; note the vast breadth of “optical element” in a patent claim), which is connected (optically and/or mechanically, see Fig. 5 “connected”) at an entry surface to an open end of each of the cores of the glass fibers, and is configured (and capable of) to receive the signal light beam from the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers and to emit the same outwards in the form of exit beams via at least one exit surface, characterized by at least one first housing (housing in cited Figs., comprised of at least by outer element 112 that retain the ferrule and fiber(s); however the “housing” could also be part(s) of the element 124 and/or 100) which is connected to the optical element and, together with the optical element, forms a first housing space (see negative space in Figs. 4-5) which at least substantially encloses at least the entry surface of the optical element with the open ends of the cores of the glass fibers, wherein the first housing has a first housing “shell” which extends substantially parallel to the glass fibers (see Figs. 1 and 2; negative space in a recess area for the fiber(s); part(s) of elements 112, 124, and/or 100 can be a “shell” formation for surrounding the fiber(s)) and is optically transparent and/or optically absorbent at least in sections (either absorbs some light and potentially transmits some light; the claim does not state which wavelength of light is used for this material property), and wherein the first housing has a fiber feedthrough element (fiber(s) of Chen are fed through by element 124 and also are fed into/upon the grooves at 109) through which the plurality of glass fibers extend, in a loosely guided (frame of reference) or fixedly connected manner (see how fibers are guided / connected in Fig. 5 of Chen), wherein at least sections of the fiber feedthrough element are optically reflective and/or optically absorbent (some light is absorbed by those features in Chen, again the claim does not state which wavelength of light is used for this material property).
Regarding further dependent claims 2-9 and 12-20, based on the design of Chen US ‘694 for claim 1, and considering the further limitations, all such dependent features are within the general level of skill in the optical ferrule / connector art, and would have been simple and obvious design choices for the normally skilled artisan at the time of the effective filing date of the current application. At this “time” before the effective filing date of the current application, it would have been an obvious matter of common skill and design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use features such as those optical selections and integrations because Applicant has not disclosed that using such features provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Chen to perform equally well with such features as the optical dependencies (in claims 2-9 and 12-20) because these claim terms would have been easily integrated and would have also been recognized by one with common skill in the art to improve optical signal propagation and the resultant output connectivity for a “connector” type element (at the “exit”). It would have required no undue burden or unnecessary experimentation to arrive at those features with a fiber exit element such as in Chen in claim 1. Further, the base structure of the sole independent claim 1 is clearly and fully anticipated by Chen and a number of other prior art references discussed prior in this section. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of common skill and design choice to modify (and/or update) Chen to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2-9 and 12-20. See KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 22, 2026 (pages 7-14) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Applicant alleges that the prior art references (Aoki and Li) do not teach that the “optical element” is connected to the “fibers.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this allegation. The fiber(s) of both Aoki and Li are optically connected to the optical element(s). For these reasons, and based on broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) of the claims, the rejections of Aoki and Li for amended independent claim 1 are maintained and this office action is made FINAL.
Applicant notes that “housing shell 42” is cited by Aoki. However, this was simply a typo in the office action. The element “42” was from the Li reference’s “housing shell”, as in the subsequent rejection. The Examiner appreciates Applicant pointing out a typo in the office action. See Aoki’s Figs. 12A and 13A for the housing shell.
Although Applicant’s substantial amendment (to claim 1) has necessitated further search and consideration of prior art, the amendments do not overcome either Aoki and/or Li. Those rejections are made FINAL.
The Examiner has presented new rejections to Chen ‘694, which are necessitated by the amendments to at least sole pending independent claim 1 (dated September 22, 2026).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections to Budd / Li are made FINAL. The Examiner emphasizes the vast claim breadth of sole independent claim 1 in a BRI. Similar “connected to” language in an optical nature can meet the claim(s). Further, the negative space within the housing of Budd can be still be considered negative space even if it is later filled. Applicant’s care is requested to make substantial structural amendments (and/or functional operations), amendments that may preclude the making of prior art rejections with reasonable interpretations of the prior art in view of the claimed language. Applicant may be reading features from the specification into claim 1 that are not required to be given patentable weight, based on the language chosen.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: PTO-892 form references B and C, which pertain to the state of the art of fiber optic exit elements that use optical features and housings.
The breadth of sole pending independent claim 1 is duly noted. Under U.S, PTO rules, the Examiner must give a claim its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). The language chosen by Applicant, such as “optical element”, “connected to”, “space”, “optical transparent and/or optical absorbent at least in sections”, “optical reflective and/or optical absorbent” are all broad terms in English. Notably, the optical wavelength of light is not recited / claimed for the material properties defined in claim 1. Most, if not all, elements found in the prior art would absorb some optical wavelengths of light.
Applicant's amendment dated on September 22, 2026 have necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection, or shift(s) of rejection, as presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL PETKOVSEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 October 15, 2026