CTNF 18/729,732 CTNF 101461 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2024 is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 17-20 and 22-25 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 17, line 1, the term “The method of claim 1, wherein” can be changed to “The method of claim 1 16 , wherein” in order to avoid claim 17 depending from a cancelled claim, claim 1. Please note the office is examining the claim as being dependent on claim 16. In claim 17, line 3, the term “than the seconds number of bins” should be changed to “than the seconds second number of bins” in order to avoid a typographical issue. In claim 18, line 1, the term “The method according to claim 1, wherein” can be changed to “The method according to claim 1 16 , wherein” in order to avoid claim 18 depending from a cancelled claim, claim 1. Please note the office is examining the claim as being dependent on claim 16. In claim 19, line 1, the term “The method of claim 1, wherein” can be changed to “The method of claim 1 16 , wherein” in order to avoid claim 19 depending from a cancelled claim, claim 1. Please note the office is examining the claim as being dependent on claim 16. In claim 20, line 1, the term “The method of claim 1, wherein” can be changed to “The method of claim 1 16 , wherein” in order to avoid claim 20 depending from a cancelled claim, claim 1. Please note the office is examining the claim as being dependent on claim 16. In claim 22, line 1, the term “The device of claim 6, wherein” can be changed to “The device of claim 6 21 , wherein” in order to avoid claim 22 depending from a cancelled claim, claim 6. Please note the office is examining the claim as being dependent on claim 21. In claim 23, line 1, the term “The device according to claim 8, wherein” can be changed to “The device according to claim 8 21 , wherein” in order to avoid claim 23 depending from a cancelled claim, claim 6. Please note the office is examining the claim as being dependent on claim 21. In claim 24, line 1, the term “The method of claim 8, wherein” can be changed to “The device of claim 6 21 , wherein” in order to avoid claim 24 depending from a cancelled claim, claim 8. Please note the office is examining the claim as being dependent on claim 21. In claim 25, line 1, the term “The device of claim from claim 6, wherein” can be changed to “The device of claim from claim 6 21 , wherein” in order to avoid a typographical issue and in order to avoid claim 25 depending from a cancelled claim, claim 6. Please note the office is examining the claim as being dependent on claim 21 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 16, 18-21, 23-26, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), hereinafter referenced as KIM, in view of GUERMOUD et al. (US 20180115742 A1), hereinafter referenced as GUERMOUD, and further in view of GUERMOUD et al. (US 20170337670 A1), hereinafter referenced as GUERMOUD2 . Regarding claim 16, KIM explicitly teaches a method comprising (Fig. 6, illustrates a method of tone mapping. Paragraph [0129]) : obtaining a first histogram (Fig. 9, illustrates a first histogram. Paragraph [0162].) of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture (Fig. 8, S102 is for acquire histogram of input image. Paragraph [0147]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire a histogram of an input image (S10[2]) (wherein an input image an SDR picture).) , the first histogram comprising a first number of bins (Fig. 9, illustrates a histogram comprising a first number of bins. Paragraph [0147]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire a histogram of an input image (S10[2]) (wherein an input image an SDR picture).) , a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture (Fig. 9, illustrates bins associated with luminance levels and their associated number of occurrences. [0148-0149] KIM discloses the histogram of the input image may be a graph showing distribution of a luminance level of an input image and shows a frequency for each luminance level of the input image. For example, the controller 170 may group luminance levels of the input image in units of 32 bins (wherein luminance is a sample value).) ; determining a first most representative bin (Fig. 9, illustrates #21 is the max bin for the first histogram. Paragraph [0165]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire the max bin, and in the example of FIG. 9, the max bin may be a bin #21.) representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram (Fig. 8, illustrates S102 called acquire histogram of input image (wherein the input image is an SDR picture). Paragraph [0154-0155]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire the max bin and a representative bin belonging to a group with a high ratio of data (S106). The max bin may refer to a bin with the highest frequency among 32 bins. That is, the max bin may be a bin with concentrated data in the histogram of the input image (wherein the most representative bin is the max bin).) , the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture (Fig. 9. Paragraph [0155]-KIM discloses the max bin may refer to a bin with the highest frequency among 32 bins. That is, the max bin may be a bin with concentrated data in the histogram of the input image (wherein the input image is an SDR picture).) ; determining a first state value (Fig. 9, illustrates bins associated with luminance levels and their associated number of occurrences. [0148-0149] KIM discloses the histogram of the input image may be a graph showing distribution of a luminance level of an input image and shows a frequency for each luminance level of the input image. For example, the controller 170 may group luminance levels of the input image in units of 32 bins (wherein luminance level is a first state value).) based on the determined first representative bin (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0154-0156]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire the max bin and a representative bin belonging to a group with a high ratio of data (S106). The max bin may refer to a bin with the highest frequency among 32 bins. That is, the max bin may be a bin with concentrated data in the histogram of the input image. For example, the controller 170 may acquire a bin with the highest frequency as the max bin in the histogram (wherein the luminance level of the max bin is a first state value).) ; determining at least one intermediate state value (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0167]-KIM discloses to acquire the offset point, the controller 170 may determine whether the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio (wherein an offset point is an intermediate state value).) from the set of allowed transitions (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0167-0169]-KIM discloses to acquire the offset point, the controller 170 may determine whether the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio. In the example of FIG. 9, the controller 170 may determine whether a bin #21 as the max bin corresponds to any one of bins #17 to #22 as the group G6 with a high data ratio. When the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio, the controller 170 may acquire the max bin as an offset point. In the example of FIG. 9, the controller 170 may acquire a bin #21 as an offset point. When the max bin does not belong to the group with a high data ratio, the controller 170 may acquire a bin corresponding to an average of the max bin and the representative bin as an offset point (wherein an offset corresponding to the group with a high data ratio is an allowed transition).) , identifying a second profile of the plurality of profiles (Fig. 11, illustrates a second profile (i.e. the line called OFFSET APPLIED. Paragraph [0196]-KIM discloses “offset applied” indicates an LUT curve when the offset gain is applied.) corresponding to a first determined intermediate state value (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0160]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may obtain an offset point in order to differently apply the offset gain depending on a region in which data is concentrated. Further in paragraph [0167]-KIM discloses to acquire the offset point, the controller 170 may determine whether the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio (wherein an offset point is an intermediate state value).) , and KIM fails to explicitly teach determining that a transition between a previous state value and the first state value belongs to a set of allowed transitions, the previous state value being representative of a previous SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture; responsive to the transition is belonging to the set of allowed transitions, and responsive to the transition not belonging to the set of allowed transitions and applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated to the identified second profile to obtain the HDR picture. However, GUERMOUD explicitly teaches determining that a transition between a previous state value and the first state value (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0039]-GUERMOUD discloses a bright video shot designates a video shot comprising at least one key frame including a bright area having a luminance value greater than a luminance threshold L1 and a size (i.e. surface) greater than a size threshold SZ1. The luminance threshold L1 is for example equal to ⅔ of the maximum value of SDR luminance range and the size threshold SZ1 is for example equal to 1/16 of the total size of the image (wherein L1 is a previous state value and the measured luminance that is compared to L1 is the first state value).) belongs to a set of allowed transitions (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0057]-GUERMOUD discloses the block 111 detects if the video shots are bright video shots or non-bright video shots. As mentioned above, a bright video shot is a video shot comprising at least one key frame including a bright area having a luminance value greater than L1 and a size greater than SZ1. The key frame is for example the first frame of the video shot. The block 111 delivers a signal F3 having a high level when a bright video shot is detected (wherein belonging to a set of allowed transitions is when a bright video shot is detected).) , the previous state value being representative of a previous SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0039]-GUERMOUD discloses a bright video shot designates a video shot comprising at least one key frame including a bright area having a luminance value greater than a luminance threshold L1 and a size (i.e. surface) greater than a size threshold SZ1. The luminance threshold L1 is for example equal to ⅔ of the maximum value of SDR luminance range and the size threshold SZ1 is for example equal to 1/16 of the total size of the image (wherein L1 has been determined based on testing previous images).) ;- responsive to the transition is belonging to the set of allowed transitions (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0039]-GUERMOUD discloses a bright video shot designates a video shot comprising at least one key frame including a bright area having a luminance value greater than a luminance threshold L1 and a size (i.e. surface) greater than a size threshold SZ1. The luminance threshold L1 is for example equal to ⅔ of the maximum value of SDR luminance range and the size threshold SZ1 is for example equal to 1/16 of the total size of the image (wherein exceeding luminance and size thresholds are allowed transitions).), responsive to the transition not belonging to the set of allowed transitions (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0039]-GUERMOUD discloses since only large areas with a high number of pixels having high luminance values will generate high values at the output of such filters, at the output of this filter any value higher than the luminance threshold L1 will be considered as indicating a bright area (wherein any value lower than L1 will not be considered and is thus not belonging to the allowed transitions).) , applying an inverse tone mapping (Fig. 3, #12 called inverse tone mapping. Paragraph [0050]-GUERMOUD discloses a mapper 12 for applying inverse tone mapping to the SDR as a function of the results of the detector 11.) to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated to the identified second profile to obtain the HDR picture (Fig. 3, illustrates applying inverse tone mapping to obtain an HDR image. Paragraph [0040]-GUERMOUD discloses in a step S3, an adaptive inverse tone mapping is applied to the SDR sequence. According to the invention, the luminance range of bright video shots of the detected subsequence is mapped from the low dynamic range to a first high dynamic range while the other shots of the SDR sequence from the standard dynamic range to a second, high dynamic range, the first high dynamic range having a maximal value Lmax1 lower than the maximal value Lmax2 of the second high dynamic range (wherein the map is the expansion function and the second high dynamic range is a second identified profile).) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM of a method comprising: obtaining a first histogram of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture, the first histogram comprising a first number of bins, a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture; determining a first most representative bin representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram, the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture with the teachings of GUERMOUD of determining that a transition between a previous state value and the first state value belongs to a set of allowed transitions, the previous state value being representative of a previous SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture; responsive to the transition is belonging to the set of allowed transitions, and responsive to the transition not belonging to the set of allowed transitions and applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated to the identified second profile to obtain the HDR picture. Wherein having KIM’s method of tone mapping determining that a transition between a previous state value and the first state value belongs to a set of allowed transitions, the previous state value being representative of a previous SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture; responsive to the transition is belonging to the set of allowed transitions, and responsive to the transition not belonging to the set of allowed transitions and applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated to the identified second profile to obtain the HDR picture. The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of tone mapping that improves the coloring and contrast of an image in order to improve a user’s view of an image. Since both KIM and GUERMOUD relate to tone mapping and converting to HDR, wherein KIM there is a need for a method of improving color or contrast irrespective of the characteristics of an image, while GUERMOUD the brightness of the bright video shots having a short duration is reduced in the HDR sequence. The discomfort perceived by the viewer is thus reduced. Please see KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), Paragraph [0006], and GUERMOUD et al. (US 20180115742 A1), Paragraph [0042]. KIM in view of GUERMOUD fail to explicitly teach applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated with a first profile of a plurality of profiles corresponding to the first state value to obtain a high dynamic range (HDR) picture, each profile of the plurality of profiles being associated to an expansion function. However, GUERMOUD2 explicitly teaches applying an inverse tone mapping (Fig. 3, #4 called inverse tone mapper. Paragraph [0095]-GUERMOUD2 discloses the inverse tone mapper 4 applies the expansion exponent map computed using a function defined by expansion exponent map data of the selected cluster to the image I as defined in step S6, i.e. by parameters a, b and c defining a quadratic function.) to the current SDR picture using an expansion function (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0072]-GUERMOUD2 discloses these functions are each defined by 3 parameters: a, b and c, which means 30 parameters a, 30 parameters b and 30 parameters c for one cluster. These parameters are sorted in ascending or descending order and the median value for each parameter (a.sub.median, b.sub.median, c.sub.median) is selected as the parameters defining a function representing an expansion exponent map for a cluster. These parameters form “expansion exponent map data” of this cluster (wherein an expansion function is expansion exponent map data).) associated with a first profile of a plurality of profiles (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0073]-GUERMOUD2 discloses in the same manner, in the step S2, a visual feature is computed for each cluster based on the 30 visual features of the reference images of the cluster. This visual feature of a reference image is a feature representative of the luminance of the different reference images of the cluster. The visual feature of a reference image is for example the histogram of the luminance levels of the pixels of said reference image or image (wherein a histogram is a profile).) corresponding to the first state value (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0064]-GUERMOUD2 discloses a single expansion exponent map is computed for each cluster based on the reference expansion exponent maps of the reference images of the cluster. This step is illustrated by FIG. 2. In this figure, there are 3 clusters, each comprising 30 reference images. A function representing an expansion exponent map is generated, for each cluster, based on the 30 reference expansion exponent maps of the reference images of the cluster. Paragraph [0087-0088]-GUERMOUD2 discloses the visual feature of the image I is compared with the visual features of the clusters of reference images according to a distance criterion. For example, a Euclidean distance between the parameters of the visual feature of the image I and the parameters of the visual feature of each one of the clusters. In the step S5, the cluster, the visual feature of which is the closest (minimum distance) to the visual feature of the image I is selected (wherein a first state value is an expansion exponent map for a cluster, as shown in fig. 2).) to obtain a high dynamic range (HDR) picture (Fig. 3, illustrates the outputting of an expanded image (i.e. an HDR picture) from the inverse tone mapper #4. Paragraph [0095]-GUERMOUD2 discloses the inverse tone mapper 4 applies the expansion exponent map computed using a function defined by expansion exponent map data of the selected cluster to the image I as defined in step S6, i.e. by parameters a, b and c defining a quadratic function.) , each profile of the plurality of profiles being associated to an expansion function (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0073]-GUERMOUD2 discloses in the same manner, in the step S2, a visual feature is computed for each cluster based on the 30 visual features of the reference images of the cluster. This visual feature of a reference image is a feature representative of the luminance of the different reference images of the cluster. The visual feature of a reference image is for example the histogram of the luminance levels of the pixels of said reference image or image. Further in paragraph [0092]-GUERMOUD discloses the memory 1 stores, for each one of the clusters of reference images, expansion exponent map data and a visual feature, representative of the luminance of reference images of the cluster.) ; and Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM in view of GUERMOUD of a method comprising: obtaining a first histogram of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture, the first histogram comprising a first number of bins, a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture; determining a first most representative bin representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram, the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture with the teachings of GUERMOUD2 of applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated with a first profile of a plurality of profiles corresponding to the first state value to obtain a high dynamic range (HDR) picture, each profile of the plurality of profiles being associated to an expansion function. Wherein having KIM’s method of tone mapping applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated with a first profile of a plurality of profiles corresponding to the first state value to obtain a high dynamic range (HDR) picture, each profile of the plurality of profiles being associated to an expansion function. The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of tone mapping that improves the coloring and contrast of an image in order to improve a user’s view of an image. Since both KIM and GUERMOUD2 relate to tone mapping and converting to HDR, wherein KIM there is a need for a method of improving color or contrast irrespective of the characteristics of an image, while GUERMOUD2 there is a need to set a global tone mapping algorithm that can adapt automatically to the content to tone-map. Please see KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), Paragraph [0006], and GUERMOUD et al. (US 20170337670 A1), Paragraph [0011]. Regarding claim 18, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the method according to claim 1, KIM further explicitly teaches wherein at least one second most representative bin is determined from the first histogram (Fig. 9, illustrates a histogram comprising a first number of bins. Paragraph [0147]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire a histogram of an input image (S10[2]) (wherein an input image an SDR picture).), a second most representative bin being a bin of the first histogram different from the most representative bin representing one of the highest number of samples of the current SDR picture (Fig. 9, illustrates various bins with max bin, #21, and any bin in G6 representing a bin eligible to be the second most representative bin. Paragraph [0156-0157]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire a bin with the highest frequency as the max bin in the histogram. The representative bin may be any one bin belonging to a group with a high ratio of data. For example, the representative bin may be the first bin of the group with a high data ratio (wherein the representative bin is the second most representative bin).) , each determined most representative bin being used to identify determine the first state value (Fig. 9. Paragraph [0148-0149]-KIM discloses the histogram of the input image may be a graph showing distribution of a luminance level of an input image and shows a frequency for each luminance level of the input image. For example, the controller 170 may group luminance levels of the input image in units of 32 bins (wherein the luminance level of a representative bin is the first state value).) . Regarding claim 19, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the method of claim 1, KIM further explicitly teaches comprising, responsive to at least one second intermediate state value (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0167]-KIM discloses to acquire the offset point, the controller 170 may determine whether the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio (wherein an offset point is an intermediate state value).) is determined from the set of allowed transitions (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0167-0169]-KIM discloses to acquire the offset point, the controller 170 may determine whether the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio. In the example of FIG. 9, the controller 170 may determine whether a bin #21 as the max bin corresponds to any one of bins #17 to #22 as the group G6 with a high data ratio. When the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio, the controller 170 may acquire the max bin as an offset point. In the example of FIG. 9, the controller 170 may acquire a bin #21 as an offset point. When the max bin does not belong to the group with a high data ratio, the controller 170 may acquire a bin corresponding to an average of the max bin and the representative bin as an offset point (wherein an offset corresponding to the group with a high data ratio is an allowed transition).) , KIM in view of GUERMOUD fail to explicitly teach identifying a third profile in the plurality of profiles for each second determined intermediate state value, and applying an inverse tone mapping to SDR pictures following the current SDR picture using expansion functions associated to each identified third profiles to obtain a corresponding HDR picture. However, GUERMOUD2 explicitly teaches identifying a third profile in the plurality of profiles (Fig. 2, illustrates 3 profiles (wherein the histograms are profiles and the reference images are intermediate state values). Paragraph [0064]) for each second determined intermediate state value (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0064]-GUERMOUD discloses a single expansion exponent map is computed for each cluster based on the reference expansion exponent maps of the reference images of the cluster. This step is illustrated by FIG. 2. In this figure, there are 3 clusters, each comprising 30 reference images. A function representing an expansion exponent map is generated, for each cluster, based on the 30 reference expansion exponent maps of the reference images of the cluster (wherein an intermediate state value is a reference expansion exponent map for an image).) , and applying an inverse tone mapping (Fig. 3, #4 called inverse tone mapper. Paragraph [0095]-GUERMOUD2 discloses the inverse tone mapper 4 applies the expansion exponent map computed using a function defined by expansion exponent map data of the selected cluster to the image I as defined in step S6, i.e. by parameters a, b and c defining a quadratic function.) to SDR pictures following the current SDR picture using expansion functions (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0072]-GUERMOUD2 discloses these functions are each defined by 3 parameters: a, b and c, which means 30 parameters a, 30 parameters b and 30 parameters c for one cluster. These parameters are sorted in ascending or descending order and the median value for each parameter (a.sub.median, b.sub.median, c.sub.median) is selected as the parameters defining a function representing an expansion exponent map for a cluster. These parameters form “expansion exponent map data” of this cluster (wherein an expansion function is expansion exponent map data).) associated to each identified third profiles (Fig. 2, illustrates expansion maps for the three identified profiles. Paragraph [0064]-GUERMOUD2 discloses in this figure, there are 3 clusters, each comprising 30 reference images. A function representing an expansion exponent map is generated, for each cluster, based on the 30 reference expansion exponent maps of the reference images of the cluster.) to obtain a corresponding HDR picture (Fig. 3, illustrates the outputting of an expanded image (i.e. an HDR picture) from the inverse tone mapper #4. Paragraph [0095]-GUERMOUD2 discloses the inverse tone mapper 4 applies the expansion exponent map computed using a function defined by expansion exponent map data of the selected cluster to the image I as defined in step S6, i.e. by parameters a, b and c defining a quadratic function.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 of a method comprising: obtaining a first histogram of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture, the first histogram comprising a first number of bins, a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture; determining a first most representative bin representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram, the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture with the teachings of GUERMOUD2 of identifying a third profile in the plurality of profiles for each second determined intermediate state value, and applying an inverse tone mapping to SDR pictures following the current SDR picture using expansion functions associated to each identified third profiles to obtain a corresponding HDR picture. Wherein having KIM’s method of tone mapping identifying a third profile in the plurality of profiles for each second determined intermediate state value, and applying an inverse tone mapping to SDR pictures following the current SDR picture using expansion functions associated to each identified third profiles to obtain a corresponding HDR picture. The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of tone mapping that improves the coloring and contrast of an image in order to improve a user’s view of an image. Since both KIM and GUERMOUD2 relate to tone mapping and converting to HDR, wherein KIM there is a need for a method of improving color or contrast irrespective of the characteristics of an image, while GUERMOUD2 there is a need to set a global tone mapping algorithm that can adapt automatically to the content to tone-map. Please see KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), Paragraph [0006], and GUERMOUD et al. (US 20170337670 A1), Paragraph [0011]. Regarding claim 20, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the method of claim 1, KIM fails to explicitly teach wherein the expansion function used for the inverse tone mapping of the current SDR picture is based on the expansion function associated to the first or second profile and on at least one expansion function determined for a SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture However, GUERMOUD discloses wherein the expansion function used for the inverse tone mapping of the current SDR picture is based on the expansion function associated to the first or second profile and on at least one expansion function determined for a SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture (Fig. 3, illustrates applying inverse tone mapping to obtain an HDR image. Paragraph [0040]-GUERMOUD discloses in a step S3, an adaptive inverse tone mapping is applied to the SDR sequence. According to the invention, the luminance range of bright video shots of the detected subsequence is mapped from the low dynamic range to a first high dynamic range while the other shots of the SDR sequence from the standard dynamic range to a second, high dynamic range, the first high dynamic range having a maximal value Lmax1 lower than the maximal value Lmax2 of the second high dynamic range (wherein the map is the expansion function and the two dynamic ranges are two profiles).) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 of a method comprising: obtaining a first histogram of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture, the first histogram comprising a first number of bins, a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture; determining a first most representative bin representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram, the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture with the teachings of GUERMOUD of wherein the expansion function used for the inverse tone mapping of the current SDR picture is based on the expansion function associated to the first or second profile and on at least one expansion function determined for a SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture Wherein having KIM’s method of tone mapping wherein the expansion function used for the inverse tone mapping of the current SDR picture is based on the expansion function associated to the first or second profile and on at least one expansion function determined for a SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of tone mapping that improves the coloring and contrast of an image in order to improve a user’s view of an image. Since both KIM and GUERMOUD relate to tone mapping and converting to HDR, wherein KIM there is a need for a method of improving color or contrast irrespective of the characteristics of an image, while GUERMOUD the brightness of the bright video shots having a short duration is reduced in the HDR sequence. The discomfort perceived by the viewer is thus reduced. Please see KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), Paragraph [0006], and GUERMOUD et al. (US 20180115742 A1), Paragraph [0042]. Regarding claim 21, KIM explicitly teaches a device comprising electronic circuitry configured for (Fig. 1, illustrates a device comprised of electronic circuitry. Paragraph [0044]) : obtaining a first histogram (Fig. 9, illustrates a first histogram. Paragraph [0162].) of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture (Fig. 8, S102 is for acquire histogram of input image. Paragraph [0147]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire a histogram of an input image (S10[2]) (wherein an input image an SDR picture).), the first histogram comprising a first number of bins (Fig. 9, illustrates a histogram comprising a first number of bins. Paragraph [0147]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire a histogram of an input image (S10[2]) (wherein an input image an SDR picture).) , a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture (Fig. 9, illustrates bins associated with luminance levels and their associated number of occurrences. [0148-0149] KIM discloses the histogram of the input image may be a graph showing distribution of a luminance level of an input image and shows a frequency for each luminance level of the input image. For example, the controller 170 may group luminance levels of the input image in units of 32 bins (wherein luminance is a sample value).) ; determining a first most representative (Fig. 9, illustrates #21 is the max bin for the first histogram. Paragraph [0165]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire the max bin, and in the example of FIG. 9, the max bin may be a bin #21.) bin representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram (Fig. 8, illustrates S102 called acquire histogram of input image (wherein the input image is an SDR picture). Paragraph [0154-0155]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire the max bin and a representative bin belonging to a group with a high ratio of data (S106). The max bin may refer to a bin with the highest frequency among 32 bins. That is, the max bin may be a bin with concentrated data in the histogram of the input image (wherein the most representative bin is the max bin).), the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture (Fig. 9. Paragraph [0155]-KIM discloses the max bin may refer to a bin with the highest frequency among 32 bins. That is, the max bin may be a bin with concentrated data in the histogram of the input image (wherein the input image is an SDR picture).) ; determining a first state value (Fig. 9, illustrates bins associated with luminance levels and their associated number of occurrences. [0148-0149] KIM discloses the histogram of the input image may be a graph showing distribution of a luminance level of an input image and shows a frequency for each luminance level of the input image. For example, the controller 170 may group luminance levels of the input image in units of 32 bins (wherein luminance level is a first state value).) based on the determined first representative bin (Fig. 8. Paragraph [0154-0156]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire the max bin and a representative bin belonging to a group with a high ratio of data (S106). The max bin may refer to a bin with the highest frequency among 32 bins. That is, the max bin may be a bin with concentrated data in the histogram of the input image. For example, the controller 170 may acquire a bin with the highest frequency as the max bin in the histogram (wherein the luminance level of the max bin is a first state value).) ; determining at least one intermediate state value (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0167]-KIM discloses to acquire the offset point, the controller 170 may determine whether the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio (wherein an offset point is an intermediate state value).) from the set of allowed transitions (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0167-0169]-KIM discloses to acquire the offset point, the controller 170 may determine whether the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio. In the example of FIG. 9, the controller 170 may determine whether a bin #21 as the max bin corresponds to any one of bins #17 to #22 as the group G6 with a high data ratio. When the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio, the controller 170 may acquire the max bin as an offset point. In the example of FIG. 9, the controller 170 may acquire a bin #21 as an offset point. When the max bin does not belong to the group with a high data ratio, the controller 170 may acquire a bin corresponding to an average of the max bin and the representative bin as an offset point (wherein an offset corresponding to the group with a high data ratio is an allowed transition).) , identifying a second profile (Fig. 11, illustrates a second profile (i.e. the line called OFFSET APPLIED. Paragraph [0196]-KIM discloses “offset applied” indicates an LUT curve when the offset gain is applied.) of the plurality of profiles corresponding to a first determined intermediate state value (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0160]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may obtain an offset point in order to differently apply the offset gain depending on a region in which data is concentrated. Further in paragraph [0167]-KIM discloses to acquire the offset point, the controller 170 may determine whether the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio (wherein an offset point is an intermediate state value).) , KIM fails to explicitly teach determining that a transition between a previous state value and the first state value belongs to a set of allowed transitions, the previous state value being representative of a previous SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture; responsive to the transition is belonging to the set of allowed transitions, and responsive to the transition not belonging to the set of allowed transitions and applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated to the identified second profile to obtain the HDR picture. However, GUERMOUD explicitly teaches determining that a transition between a previous state value and the first state value (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0039]-GUERMOUD discloses a bright video shot designates a video shot comprising at least one key frame including a bright area having a luminance value greater than a luminance threshold L1 and a size (i.e. surface) greater than a size threshold SZ1. The luminance threshold L1 is for example equal to ⅔ of the maximum value of SDR luminance range and the size threshold SZ1 is for example equal to 1/16 of the total size of the image (wherein L1 is a previous state value and the measured luminance that is compared to L1 is the first state value).) belongs to a set of allowed transitions (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0057]-GUERMOUD discloses the block 111 detects if the video shots are bright video shots or non-bright video shots. As mentioned above, a bright video shot is a video shot comprising at least one key frame including a bright area having a luminance value greater than L1 and a size greater than SZ1. The key frame is for example the first frame of the video shot. The block 111 delivers a signal F3 having a high level when a bright video shot is detected (wherein belonging to a set of allowed transitions is when a bright video shot is detected).) , the previous state value being representative of a previous SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0039]-GUERMOUD discloses a bright video shot designates a video shot comprising at least one key frame including a bright area having a luminance value greater than a luminance threshold L1 and a size (i.e. surface) greater than a size threshold SZ1. The luminance threshold L1 is for example equal to ⅔ of the maximum value of SDR luminance range and the size threshold SZ1 is for example equal to 1/16 of the total size of the image (wherein L1 has been determined based on testing previous images).) ;- responsive to the transition is belonging to the set of allowed transitions (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0039]-GUERMOUD discloses a bright video shot designates a video shot comprising at least one key frame including a bright area having a luminance value greater than a luminance threshold L1 and a size (i.e. surface) greater than a size threshold SZ1. The luminance threshold L1 is for example equal to ⅔ of the maximum value of SDR luminance range and the size threshold SZ1 is for example equal to 1/16 of the total size of the image (wherein exceeding luminance and size thresholds are allowed transitions).), responsive to the transition not belonging to the set of allowed transitions (Fig. 3. Paragraph [0039]-GUERMOUD discloses since only large areas with a high number of pixels having high luminance values will generate high values at the output of such filters, at the output of this filter any value higher than the luminance threshold L1 will be considered as indicating a bright area (wherein any value lower than L1 will not be considered and is thus not belonging to the allowed transitions).) , and applying an inverse tone mapping (Fig. 3, #12 called inverse tone mapping. Paragraph [0050]-GUERMOUD discloses a mapper 12 for applying inverse tone mapping to the SDR as a function of the results of the detector 11.) to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated to the identified second profile to obtain the HDR picture (Fig. 3, illustrates applying inverse tone mapping to obtain an HDR image. Paragraph [0040]-GUERMOUD discloses in a step S3, an adaptive inverse tone mapping is applied to the SDR sequence. According to the invention, the luminance range of bright video shots of the detected subsequence is mapped from the low dynamic range to a first high dynamic range while the other shots of the SDR sequence from the standard dynamic range to a second, high dynamic range, the first high dynamic range having a maximal value Lmax1 lower than the maximal value Lmax2 of the second high dynamic range (wherein the map is the expansion function and the second high dynamic range is a second identified profile).).) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM of a device comprising electronic circuitry configured for: obtaining a first histogram of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture, the first histogram comprising a first number of bins, a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture; determining a first most representative bin representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram, the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture with the teachings of GUERMOUD of determining that a transition between a previous state value and the first state value belongs to a set of allowed transitions, the previous state value being representative of a previous SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture; responsive to the transition is belonging to the set of allowed transitions, and responsive to the transition not belonging to the set of allowed transitions and applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated to the identified second profile to obtain the HDR picture. Wherein having KIM’s method of tone mapping determining that a transition between a previous state value and the first state value belongs to a set of allowed transitions, the previous state value being representative of a previous SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture; responsive to the transition is belonging to the set of allowed transitions, and responsive to the transition not belonging to the set of allowed transitions and applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated to the identified second profile to obtain the HDR picture. The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of tone mapping that improves the coloring and contrast of an image in order to improve a user’s view of an image. Since both KIM and GUERMOUD relate to tone mapping and converting to HDR, wherein KIM there is a need for a method of improving color or contrast irrespective of the characteristics of an image, while GUERMOUD the brightness of the bright video shots having a short duration is reduced in the HDR sequence. The discomfort perceived by the viewer is thus reduced. Please see KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), Paragraph [0006], and GUERMOUD et al. (US 20180115742 A1), Paragraph [0042]. KIM in view of GUERMOUD fail to explicitly teach applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated with a first profile of a plurality of profiles corresponding to the first state value to obtain a high dynamic range (HDR) picture, each profile of the plurality of profiles being associated to an expansion function. However, GUERMOUD2 explicitly teaches applying an inverse tone mapping (Fig. 3, #4 called inverse tone mapper. Paragraph [0095]-GUERMOUD2 discloses the inverse tone mapper 4 applies the expansion exponent map computed using a function defined by expansion exponent map data of the selected cluster to the image I as defined in step S6, i.e. by parameters a, b and c defining a quadratic function.) to the current SDR picture using an expansion function (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0072]-GUERMOUD2 discloses these functions are each defined by 3 parameters: a, b and c, which means 30 parameters a, 30 parameters b and 30 parameters c for one cluster. These parameters are sorted in ascending or descending order and the median value for each parameter (a.sub.median, b.sub.median, c.sub.median) is selected as the parameters defining a function representing an expansion exponent map for a cluster. These parameters form “expansion exponent map data” of this cluster (wherein an expansion function is expansion exponent map data).) associated with a first profile of a plurality of profiles (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0073]-GUERMOUD2 discloses in the same manner, in the step S2, a visual feature is computed for each cluster based on the 30 visual features of the reference images of the cluster. This visual feature of a reference image is a feature representative of the luminance of the different reference images of the cluster. The visual feature of a reference image is for example the histogram of the luminance levels of the pixels of said reference image or image (wherein a histogram is a profile).) corresponding to the first state value (Fig. 1-2. Paragraph [0087-0088]-GUERMOUD2 discloses the visual feature of the image I is compared with the visual features of the clusters of reference images according to a distance criterion. For example, a Euclidean distance between the parameters of the visual feature of the image I and the parameters of the visual feature of each one of the clusters. In the step S5, the cluster, the visual feature of which is the closest (minimum distance) to the visual feature of the image I is selected (wherein the visual feature is the first state value).) to obtain a high dynamic range (HDR) picture (Fig. 3, illustrates the outputting of an expanded image (i.e. an HDR picture) from the inverse tone mapper #4. Paragraph [0095]-GUERMOUD2 discloses the inverse tone mapper 4 applies the expansion exponent map computed using a function defined by expansion exponent map data of the selected cluster to the image I as defined in step S6, i.e. by parameters a, b and c defining a quadratic function.) , each profile of the plurality of profiles being associated to an expansion function (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0073]-GUERMOUD2 discloses in the same manner, in the step S2, a visual feature is computed for each cluster based on the 30 visual features of the reference images of the cluster. This visual feature of a reference image is a feature representative of the luminance of the different reference images of the cluster. The visual feature of a reference image is for example the histogram of the luminance levels of the pixels of said reference image or image. Further in paragraph [0092]-GUERMOUD discloses the memory 1 stores, for each one of the clusters of reference images, expansion exponent map data and a visual feature, representative of the luminance of reference images of the cluster.) ; and Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM in view of GUERMOUD of a device comprising electronic circuitry configured for: obtaining a first histogram of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture, the first histogram comprising a first number of bins, a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture; determining a first most representative bin representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram, the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture with the teachings of GUERMOUD2 of applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated with a first profile of a plurality of profiles corresponding to the first state value to obtain a high dynamic range (HDR) picture, each profile of the plurality of profiles being associated to an expansion function. Wherein having KIM’s method of tone mapping applying an inverse tone mapping to the current SDR picture using an expansion function associated with a first profile of a plurality of profiles corresponding to the first state value to obtain a high dynamic range (HDR) picture, each profile of the plurality of profiles being associated to an expansion function. The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of tone mapping that improves the coloring and contrast of an image in order to improve a user’s view of an image. Since both KIM and GUERMOUD2 relate to tone mapping and converting to HDR, wherein KIM there is a need for a method of improving color or contrast irrespective of the characteristics of an image, while GUERMOUD2 there is a need to set a global tone mapping algorithm that can adapt automatically to the content to tone-map. Please see KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), Paragraph [0006], and GUERMOUD et al. (US 20170337670 A1), Paragraph [0011]. Regarding claim 23, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the device according to claim 6, KIM further explicitly teaches wherein at least one second most representative bin of the first histogram is determined (Fig. 9, illustrates a histogram comprising a first number of bins. Paragraph [0147]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire a histogram of an input image (S10[2]) (wherein an input image an SDR picture).) , the second most representative bin being a bin of the first histogram different from the most representative bin representing one of the highest number of samples of the current SDR picture (Fig. 9, illustrates various bins with max bin, #21, and any bin in G6 representing a bin eligible to be the second most representative bin. Paragraph [0156-0157]-KIM discloses the controller 170 may acquire a bin with the highest frequency as the max bin in the histogram. The representative bin may be any one bin belonging to a group with a high ratio of data. For example, the representative bin may be the first bin of the group with a high data ratio (wherein the representative bin is the second most representative bin).), each determined most representative bin being used to determine the state value (Fig. 9. Paragraph [0148-0149]-KIM discloses the histogram of the input image may be a graph showing distribution of a luminance level of an input image and shows a frequency for each luminance level of the input image. For example, the controller 170 may group luminance levels of the input image in units of 32 bins (wherein the luminance level of a representative bin is the first state value).) . Regarding claim 24, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the device of claim 8, KIM further explicitly teaches wherein, responsive to at least one second intermediate state value (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0167]-KIM discloses to acquire the offset point, the controller 170 may determine whether the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio (wherein an offset point is an intermediate state value).) is determined from the set of allowed transitions (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0167-0169]-KIM discloses to acquire the offset point, the controller 170 may determine whether the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio. In the example of FIG. 9, the controller 170 may determine whether a bin #21 as the max bin corresponds to any one of bins #17 to #22 as the group G6 with a high data ratio. When the max bin belongs to the group with a high data ratio, the controller 170 may acquire the max bin as an offset point. In the example of FIG. 9, the controller 170 may acquire a bin #21 as an offset point. When the max bin does not belong to the group with a high data ratio, the controller 170 may acquire a bin corresponding to an average of the max bin and the representative bin as an offset point (wherein an offset corresponding to the group with a high data ratio is an allowed transition).), the electronic circuitry is further configured for (Fig. 1, illustrates a device comprised of electronic circuitry. Paragraph [0044]) : KIM in view of GUERMOUD fail to explicitly teach identifying a third profile in plurality of profiles for each second determined intermediate state value, and applying an inverse tone mapping to SDR pictures following the current SDR picture using expansion functions associated to the identified third profiles to obtain the HDR pictures. However, GUERMOUD2 explicitly teaches identifying a third profile in the plurality of profiles (Fig. 2, illustrates 3 profiles (wherein the histograms are profiles and the reference images are intermediate state values). Paragraph [0064]) for each second determined intermediate state value (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0064]-GUERMOUD discloses a single expansion exponent map is computed for each cluster based on the reference expansion exponent maps of the reference images of the cluster. This step is illustrated by FIG. 2. In this figure, there are 3 clusters, each comprising 30 reference images. A function representing an expansion exponent map is generated, for each cluster, based on the 30 reference expansion exponent maps of the reference images of the cluster (wherein an intermediate state value is a reference expansion exponent map for an image).), and applying an inverse tone mapping (Fig. 3, #4 called inverse tone mapper. Paragraph [0095]-GUERMOUD2 discloses the inverse tone mapper 4 applies the expansion exponent map computed using a function defined by expansion exponent map data of the selected cluster to the image I as defined in step S6, i.e. by parameters a, b and c defining a quadratic function.) to SDR pictures following the current SDR picture using expansion functions (Fig. 2. Paragraph [0072]-GUERMOUD2 discloses these functions are each defined by 3 parameters: a, b and c, which means 30 parameters a, 30 parameters b and 30 parameters c for one cluster. These parameters are sorted in ascending or descending order and the median value for each parameter (a.sub.median, b.sub.median, c.sub.median) is selected as the parameters defining a function representing an expansion exponent map for a cluster. These parameters form “expansion exponent map data” of this cluster (wherein an expansion function is expansion exponent map data).) associated to each identified third profiles (Fig. 2, illustrates expansion maps for the three identified profiles. Paragraph [0064]-GUERMOUD2 discloses in this figure, there are 3 clusters, each comprising 30 reference images. A function representing an expansion exponent map is generated, for each cluster, based on the 30 reference expansion exponent maps of the reference images of the cluster.) to obtain the HDR pictures (Fig. 3, illustrates the outputting of an expanded image (i.e. an HDR picture) from the inverse tone mapper #4. Paragraph [0095]-GUERMOUD2 discloses the inverse tone mapper 4 applies the expansion exponent map computed using a function defined by expansion exponent map data of the selected cluster to the image I as defined in step S6, i.e. by parameters a, b and c defining a quadratic function.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 of a device comprising electronic circuitry configured for: obtaining a first histogram of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture, the first histogram comprising a first number of bins, a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture; determining a first most representative bin representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram, the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture with the teachings of GUERMOUD2 of identifying a third profile in plurality of profiles for each second determined intermediate state value, and applying an inverse tone mapping to SDR pictures following the current SDR picture using expansion functions associated to the identified third profiles to obtain the HDR pictures. Wherein having KIM’s method of tone mapping identifying a third profile in plurality of profiles for each second determined intermediate state value, and applying an inverse tone mapping to SDR pictures following the current SDR picture using expansion functions associated to the identified third profiles to obtain the HDR pictures. The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of tone mapping that improves the coloring and contrast of an image in order to improve a user’s view of an image. Since both KIM and GUERMOUD2 relate to tone mapping and converting to HDR, wherein KIM there is a need for a method of improving color or contrast irrespective of the characteristics of an image, while GUERMOUD2 there is a need to set a global tone mapping algorithm that can adapt automatically to the content to tone-map. Please see KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), Paragraph [0006], and GUERMOUD et al. (US 20170337670 A1), Paragraph [0011]. Regarding claim 25, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the device of claim from claim 6, KIM fails to explicitly teach wherein the expansion function used for the inverse tone mapping of the current SDR picture is based on the expansion function associated to the first or second profile and on at least one expansion function determined for a SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture However, GUERMOUD discloses wherein the expansion function used for the inverse tone mapping of the current SDR picture is based on the expansion function associated to the first or second profile and on at least one expansion function determined for a SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture (Fig. 3, illustrates applying inverse tone mapping to obtain an HDR image. Paragraph [0040]-GUERMOUD discloses in a step S3, an adaptive inverse tone mapping is applied to the SDR sequence. According to the invention, the luminance range of bright video shots of the detected subsequence is mapped from the low dynamic range to a first high dynamic range while the other shots of the SDR sequence from the standard dynamic range to a second, high dynamic range, the first high dynamic range having a maximal value Lmax1 lower than the maximal value Lmax2 of the second high dynamic range (wherein the map is the expansion function and the two dynamic ranges are two profiles).) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 of a device comprising electronic circuitry configured for: obtaining a first histogram of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture, the first histogram comprising a first number of bins, a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture; determining a first most representative bin representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram, the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture with the teachings of GUERMOUD of wherein the expansion function used for the inverse tone mapping of the current SDR picture is based on the expansion function associated to the first or second profile and on at least one expansion function determined for a SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture. Wherein having KIM’s method of tone mapping wherein the expansion function used for the inverse tone mapping of the current SDR picture is based on the expansion function associated to the first or second profile and on at least one expansion function determined for a SDR picture preceding the current SDR picture. The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of tone mapping that improves the coloring and contrast of an image in order to improve a user’s view of an image. Since both KIM and GUERMOUD relate to tone mapping and converting to HDR, wherein KIM there is a need for a method of improving color or contrast irrespective of the characteristics of an image, while GUERMOUD the brightness of the bright video shots having a short duration is reduced in the HDR sequence. The discomfort perceived by the viewer is thus reduced. Please see KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), Paragraph [0006], and GUERMOUD et al. (US 20180115742 A1), Paragraph [0042]. Regarding claim 26, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the method according to claim 16, KIM further explicitly teaches non-transitory information storage medium (Fig. 1, #140 called storage. Paragraph [0058]) storing program code instructions for implementing (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0058-0061]-KIM discloses the storage 140 can store signal-processed image, voice, or data signals stored by a program in order for each signal processing and control in the controller 170. Additionally, the storage 140 can perform a function for temporarily store image, voice, or data signals outputted from the external device interface 135 or the network interface 133 and can store information on a predetermined image through a channel memory function. The storage 140 can store an application or an application list inputted from the external device interface 135 or the network interface 133. The display device 100 can play content files (for example, video files, still image files, music files, document files, application files, and so on) stored in the storage 140 and provide them to a user.). Regarding claim 28 , KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the method according to claim 18, KIM further explicitly teaches non-transitory information storage medium (Fig. 1, #140 called storage. Paragraph [0058]) storing program code instructions for implementing (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0058-0061]-KIM discloses the storage 140 can store signal-processed image, voice, or data signals stored by a program in order for each signal processing and control in the controller 170. Additionally, the storage 140 can perform a function for temporarily store image, voice, or data signals outputted from the external device interface 135 or the network interface 133 and can store information on a predetermined image through a channel memory function. The storage 140 can store an application or an application list inputted from the external device interface 135 or the network interface 133. The display device 100 can play content files (for example, video files, still image files, music files, document files, application files, and so on) stored in the storage 140 and provide them to a user.) . Regarding claim 29, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the method according to claim 19, KIM further explicitly teaches non-transitory information storage medium (Fig. 1, #140 called storage. Paragraph [0058]) storing program code instructions for implementing (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0058-0061]-KIM discloses the storage 140 can store signal-processed image, voice, or data signals stored by a program in order for each signal processing and control in the controller 170. Additionally, the storage 140 can perform a function for temporarily store image, voice, or data signals outputted from the external device interface 135 or the network interface 133 and can store information on a predetermined image through a channel memory function. The storage 140 can store an application or an application list inputted from the external device interface 135 or the network interface 133. The display device 100 can play content files (for example, video files, still image files, music files, document files, application files, and so on) stored in the storage 140 and provide them to a user.) . Regarding claim 30, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the method according to claim 20, KIM further explicitly teaches non-transitory information storage medium (Fig. 1, #140 called storage. Paragraph [0058]) storing program code instructions for implementing (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0058-0061]-KIM discloses the storage 140 can store signal-processed image, voice, or data signals stored by a program in order for each signal processing and control in the controller 170. Additionally, the storage 140 can perform a function for temporarily store image, voice, or data signals outputted from the external device interface 135 or the network interface 133 and can store information on a predetermined image through a channel memory function. The storage 140 can store an application or an application list inputted from the external device interface 135 or the network interface 133. The display device 100 can play content files (for example, video files, still image files, music files, document files, application files, and so on) stored in the storage 140 and provide them to a user.) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 17, 22, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), hereinafter referenced as KIM, in view of GUERMOUD et al. (US 20180115742 A1), hereinafter referenced as GUERMOUD, and further in view of GUERMOUD et al. (US A1), hereinafter referenced as GUERMOUD2, and further in view of WOODALL (US 20230117976 A1), hereinafter referenced as WOODALL . Regarding claim 17, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the method of claim 1, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 fail to explicitly teach However, WOODALL explicitly teaches wherein the first histogram is obtained from a second histogram of the current SDR picture comprising a second number of bins (Fig. 7A-7I, illustrate various histograms being downsampled to have fewer number of bins than the initial histograms. Paragraph [0039]-WOODALL discloses histograms of the desired resolution can be generated by downsampling the high resolution histogram. The result for the three different input distributions of FIG. 7A after bin averaging, upsampling, filtering, and downsampling are shown in FIGS. 7E, 7G, and 7I.) , the first number of bins being less than the seconds number of bins (Fig. 7A-7I, illustrate various histograms being downsampled to have fewer number of bins than the initial histograms. Paragraph [0069]-WOODALL discloses in FIG. 7E, the first filtered upsampled histogram 742 is downsampled to form a first downsampled histogram 752. Downsampling is accomplished by adding the pixel intensity values of neighboring bins together. For example, if the downsampling is done at a ratio of 2:1, the contents of each two neighboring bins are added to form one new bin. Similarly, in FIG. 7G, a second downsampled histogram 772 is the result of downsampling the second filtered upsampled histogram 762 and FIG. 7I a third downsampled histogram 792 represents a downsampling of the third filtered upsampled histogram 782.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 of a method comprising: obtaining a first histogram of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture, the first histogram comprising a first number of bins, a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture; determining a first most representative bin representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram, the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture with the teachings of WOODALL of wherein the first histogram is obtained from a second histogram of the current SDR picture comprising a second number of bins, the first number of bins being less than the seconds number of bins. Wherein having KIM’s method of tone mapping wherein the first histogram is obtained from a second histogram of the current SDR picture comprising a second number of bins, the first number of bins being less than the seconds number of bins. The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of tone mapping that improves the coloring and contrast of an image in order to improve a user’s view of an image. Since both KIM and WOODALL relate to tone mapping and analyzing histograms of an image, wherein KIM there is a need for a method of improving color or contrast irrespective of the characteristics of an image, while WOODALL various picture quality improvement algorithms may be efficiently combined during image processing in a way that reduces visual artifacts without increasing the time for those effects to be applied. Please see KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), Paragraph [0006], and WOODALL (US 20230117976 A1), Paragraph [0004]. Regarding claim 22, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 explicitly teach the device of claim 6, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 fail to explicitly teach wherein the first histogram is obtained from a second histogram of the current SDR picture comprising a second number of bins, the first number of bins being less than the second number of bins. However, WOODALL explicitly teaches wherein the first histogram is obtained from a second histogram of the current SDR picture comprising a second number of bins (Fig. 7A-7I, illustrate various histograms being downsampled to have fewer number of bins than the initial histograms. Paragraph [0039]-WOODALL discloses histograms of the desired resolution can be generated by downsampling the high resolution histogram. The result for the three different input distributions of FIG. 7A after bin averaging, upsampling, filtering, and downsampling are shown in FIGS. 7E, 7G, and 7I.) , the first number of bins being less than the second number of bins (Fig. 7A-7I, illustrate various histograms being downsampled to have fewer number of bins than the initial histograms. Paragraph [0069]-WOODALL discloses in FIG. 7E, the first filtered upsampled histogram 742 is downsampled to form a first downsampled histogram 752. Downsampling is accomplished by adding the pixel intensity values of neighboring bins together. For example, if the downsampling is done at a ratio of 2:1, the contents of each two neighboring bins are added to form one new bin. Similarly, in FIG. 7G, a second downsampled histogram 772 is the result of downsampling the second filtered upsampled histogram 762 and FIG. 7I a third downsampled histogram 792 represents a downsampling of the third filtered upsampled histogram 782.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine the teachings of KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 of a device comprising electronic circuitry configured for: obtaining a first histogram of a current standard dynamic range (SDR) picture, the first histogram comprising a first number of bins, a bin associating a sample value to a number of occurrences of the sample value in the current SDR picture; determining a first most representative bin representative of the current SDR picture from the first histogram, the first most representative bin being the bin of the first histogram representing a highest number of samples of the current SDR picture with the teachings of WOODALL of wherein the first histogram is obtained from a second histogram of the current SDR picture comprising a second number of bins, the first number of bins being less than the second number of bins. Wherein having KIM’s method of tone mapping wherein the first histogram is obtained from a second histogram of the current SDR picture comprising a second number of bins, the first number of bins being less than the seconds number of bins. The motivation behind the modification would have been to obtain a method of tone mapping that improves the coloring and contrast of an image in order to improve a user’s view of an image. Since both KIM and WOODALL relate to tone mapping and analyzing histograms of an image, wherein KIM there is a need for a method of improving color or contrast irrespective of the characteristics of an image, while WOODALL various picture quality improvement algorithms may be efficiently combined during image processing in a way that reduces visual artifacts without increasing the time for those effects to be applied. Please see KIM et al. (US 20220277428 A1), Paragraph [0006], and WOODALL (US 20230117976 A1), Paragraph [0004]. Regarding claim 27, KIM in view of GUERMOUD and further in view of GUERMOUD2 and further in view of WOODALL explicitly teach the method according to claim 17, KIM further explicitly teaches non-transitory information storage medium (Fig. 1, #140 called storage. Paragraph [0058]) storing program code instructions for implementing (Fig. 1. Paragraph [0058-0061]-KIM discloses the storage 140 can store signal-processed image, voice, or data signals stored by a program in order for each signal processing and control in the controller 170. Additionally, the storage 140 can perform a function for temporarily store image, voice, or data signals outputted from the external device interface 135 or the network interface 133 and can store information on a predetermined image through a channel memory function. The storage 140 can store an application or an application list inputted from the external device interface 135 or the network interface 133. The display device 100 can play content files (for example, video files, still image files, music files, document files, application files, and so on) stored in the storage 140 and provide them to a user.) . Conclusion Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. CAUVIN et al. (US 20230267579 A1) - A method for inverse tone mapping by obtaining a gain function, called initial gain function, of a first inverse tone mapping function; if an analysis of a current image shows that at least a pixel of the current image with a luminance value at least equal to a luminance value depending of a predetermined percentage of the pixels of the current image have an expanded luminance value resulting from an application of the first ITM function to the current image higher than a target value, applying a second ITM function to the current image, …Abstract, Fig. 4. NAKATANI et al. (US 20150356904 A1) - An image processing apparatus according to the present invention includes: an obtaining unit configured to obtain a brightness range value; and a generating unit configured to generate a display-image data on the basis of the brightness range value obtained by the obtaining unit, wherein the generating unit generates the display-image data on the basis of two or more of first image data, second image data, and brightness difference data such that, when the brightness range value obtained by the obtaining unit is within a predetermined range, …Abstract, Figs. 5A-5G. LASSERRE et al. (US 20180005358 A1) - The present disclosure generally relates to a method and device for inverse-tone mapping a picture. The method comprising: —obtaining (20) a first component (Y) comprising: —obtaining a luminance component (L) from said color picture; —obtaining a resulting component by applying (20), a non-linear function on said luminance component (L) in order that the dynamic of the resulting component is increased compared to the dynamic of the luminance component (L)—obtaining (50) a modulation value (Ba) from the luminance of said color picture; —obtaining the first component (Y) by multiplying said resulting component by said modulation value (Ba);)…Abstract, Figs. 1-4. Leleannec et al. (US 11182882 B2) - The present principles relates to a method and device for tone-mapping an input picture by using a parametric tone-adjustment function. The method is characterized in that the method comprises determining at least one parameter of said tone-adjustment function modulated by a brightness level of the input picture…Abstract, Fig. 10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ETHAN N WOLFSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1898. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chineyere Wills-Burns can be reached at (571) 272-9752. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ETHAN N WOLFSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2673 /CHINEYERE WILLS-BURNS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 2 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 3 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 4 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 5 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 6 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 7 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 8 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 9 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 10 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 11 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 12 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 13 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 14 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 15 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 16 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 17 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 18 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 19 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 20 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 21 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 22 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 23 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 24 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 25 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 26 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 27 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 28 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 29 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 30 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 31 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 32 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 33 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 34 Art Unit: 2673 Application/Control Number: 18/729,732 Page 35 Art Unit: 2673