DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7-8 recites the limitation "the temperature". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1, 7 and 8 recites the limitation "the conical shape of the spindle” and “the conical shape of the containment hole". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims are also rejected for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the temperature" in line 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brunnert et al. (US 6,170,576).
With regards to claim 1, Brunnert et al. discloses a system (10) comprising: a support and containment structure (12, 147, 152) having an outside and an inside and provided with a containment hole (25, 146, 151, 156) extending from the outside of the support and containment structure to the inside of the support and containment structure (figure 1a-1m and figure 14-17); and a spindle (26, figure 1H; 145, 148, 150, 155 figures 14-17) designed to be inserted in the containment hole; wherein the containment hole is elongated and has a first end oriented towards the outside of the support and containment structure having a first diameter and a second, opposite end oriented towards the inside the support and containment structure having a second diameter; wherein the spindle is elongated and has a first end oriented towards the outside of the support and containment structure having a third diameter, and a second, opposite end oriented towards the inside of the support and containment structure having a fourth diameter; wherein the first diameter and the third diameter are substantially identical; wherein the second diameter and the fourth diameter are substantially identical; wherein the first diameter is smaller than the second diameter and the third diameter is smaller than the fourth diameter; whereby the spindle is not allowed to be extracted from the containment hole, but does not apply significant radial loads since the conical shape of the spindle and the conical shape of the containment hole are coupled but not in interference (figures 14-17).
With regards to claim 7, Brunnert et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a system (figure 1), comprising: a support and containment structure (147, 152), having an outside and an inside and provided with a containment hole extending from the outside of the support and containment structure to the inside of the support and containment structure; and a spindle (145, 148, 150, 155) designed to be inserted in the containment hole; wherein the containment hole is elongated and has a first end oriented towards the outside of the support and containment structure having a first diameter, and a second, opposite end oriented towards the inside the support and containment structure having a second diameter; wherein the spindle is elongated and has a first end oriented towards the outside of the support and containment structure having a third diameter, and a second, opposite end oriented towards the inside of the support and containment structure having a fourth diameter (figure 14-17); wherein the first diameter and the third diameter are substantially identical; wherein the second diameter and the fourth diameter are substantially identical; wherein the first diameter is smaller than the second diameter and the third diameter is smaller than the fourth diameter; said method comprising: raising the temperature of the support and containment structure, thus dilating the containment hole until the first diameter becomes greater than the fourth diameter; inserting the spindle inside the containment hole; making the temperature of the support and containment structure uniform with the spindle realizing the return to the original dimensions where the fourth diameter is greater than the first diameter; whereby the spindle is not allowed to be extracted from the containment hole, but does not apply significant radial loads since the conical shape of the spindle and the conical shape of the containment hole are coupled but not in interference (col. 6, lines 38-45; “heat-shrink fit”; figures 14-17).
With regards to claim 8, Brunnert et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a system (figure 1), comprising: a support and containment structure (147, 152), having an outside and an inside and provided with a containment hole extending from the outside of the support and containment structure to the inside of the support and containment structure; and a spindle (145, 148, 150, 155) designed to be inserted in the containment hole; wherein the containment hole is elongated and has a first end oriented towards the outside of the support and containment structure having a first diameter, and a second, opposite end oriented towards the inside the support and containment structure having a second diameter; wherein the spindle is elongated and has a first end oriented towards the outside of the support and containment structure having a third diameter, and a second, opposite end oriented towards the inside of the support and containment structure having a fourth diameter (figure 14-17); wherein the first diameter and the third diameter are substantially identical; wherein the second diameter and the fourth diameter are substantially identical; wherein the first diameter is smaller than the second diameter and the third diameter is smaller than the fourth diameter; said method comprising: lowering the temperature of the spindle, thus shrinking the spindle until the fourth diameter becomes smaller than the first diameter, inserting the spindle inside the containment hole; making the temperature of the spindle uniform with the support and containment structure realizing the return to the original dimensions where the fourth diameter is greater than the first diameter; whereby the spindle is not allowed to be extracted from the containment hole, but does not apply significant radial loads since the conical shape of the spindle and the conical shape of the containment hole are coupled but not in interference (col. 3, lines 18-23; col. 6, lines 38-45; figures 14-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunnert et al. (US 6,170,576) in view of Sollami (US 10,995,614).
As to claim 4-6, Brunnert et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Brunnert et al. is silent about wherein the spindle is made of tungsten alloy with a hardness higher than 60 HRC and resistance to temperatures up to 500 ºC; and wherein the support and containment structure is made of steel. Sollami teaches a spindle and a support and containment structure can be made of tungsten alloy and/or steel resistance to temperatures up to 500 ºC (col. 12, lines 31-65). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the spindle and support and containment structure material of Brunnert for the materials as taught in Sollami, since it would provide know materials such as steel and tungsten carbide to increase the in-service life of the bit and holders. Eventhough, Brunnert as modified above is silent about the tungsten alloy with a hardness higher than 60HRC, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to choose known tungsten alloy with a hardness as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/CARIB A OQUENDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678