DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/16/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4,5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 4, line 3 of the claim, it is not understood what is meant by the recitation of “an expanding outer diameter” because it is part of a tip and not the stent retaining section. Thus, is this some changing diameter section, that has a first diameter which expands to a second diameter or is it meaning there is a tapering of the diameter?
The term “substantially” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not evident how much deviation is permitted within the scope of use of “substantially” uniform because it is a broadening term and thus can there be some tapering or flaring?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,6,7,16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoang et al. (WO 2021/113201). Hoang et al. disclose a system comprising: (Fig. 1) a prosthetic heart valve 10 including: a stent frame 12 transitionable between a compressed condition (Fig. 17B) and an expanded condition, a valve structure 14 supported by the stent frame, wherein a first region 30 of the stent frame extends longitudinally beyond the valve structure in a first direction. Additionally there is a second region 24 of the stent frame extends longitudinally beyond the valve structure (please note the examiner interprets the valve to terminate at bottom of leaflet end or at reinforcement 46, see Fig. 7) in a second direction opposite the first direction. Hoang et al. additionally show (Fig. 10) a delivery device 102 including: an outer shaft assembly 104 including a capsule 106 extending distally from an outer shaft (Fig. 18, paragraph 109). Fig. 9 shows an inner shaft assembly 120 coaxially received within the outer shaft 104 assembly. Fig. 17 shows the inner shaft assembly 120 including: an inner shaft, a valve retainer 132 maintained by the inner shaft via base 138, a tip unit 122 extending distally from the inner shaft. Fig. 17 shows the tip unit 122 defining a proximal section 182 opposite a distal section, and an intermediate section 176 between the proximal section and the distal section, wherein: an outer diameter of the proximal section is greater than an outer diameter of the inner shaft. Figs. 31,39 show tips of a delivery system can be provided with an outer diameter of the intermediate section is greater than the outer diameter of the proximal section, an outer diameter of the tip unit increases at a transition from the intermediate section to the distal section. Figs. 17B,19 show the system is configured to provide a delivery state in which the prosthetic heart valve 12 is contained in the compressed condition over the inner shaft assembly 120 by the capsule 106, the first region 30 of the stent frame is connected to the valve retainer, and at least a portion of the second region of the stent frame contacts the proximal section 182. Regarding claim 2, Fig. 18 shows the capsule terminates in a distal end, and further wherein the delivery state includes the distal end disposed over the intermediate section. Regarding claim 3, it can be seen (Figs. 31,39) the distal section defines a tapering outer diameter extending from the intermediate section to a distal end of the tip unit. With respect to claim 6, Hoang et al. disclose (paragraph 121) the tip unit is an integral, homogenous body secured to the inner shaft, see Fig. 17. Regarding claim 7, it can be construed as seen in Figs. 31,39 the tip unit includes: a tip body defining the intermediate and distal sections (established by stepped portion); and a support body provided apart (since it tapers proximally) from the tip body and defining the proximal section. With respect to claim 16, the system of Hoang involves a method of loading as claimed, since the claimed features are the same as claim 1 and the prosthetic valve can be loaded in the capsule compressed as claimed, the method is anticipated since there is no special step. Regarding claim 17, Hoang discloses (paragraph 108) the prosthetic valve can be crimped onto the catheter shaft. Regarding claim 18, it can be seen (Figs. 17B,19) the second region terminates in a plurality of crowns, and further wherein the step of arranging is characterized by the tip unit preventing the crowns from crossing over one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4,5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (WO 2021/113201) in view of Argentine et al. (2014/0236278). Hoang et al. is explained supra. However, Hoang et al. did not explicitly state the intermediate section defines a trailing segment extending from the proximal section and a leading segment extending from the trailing segment to the distal section, and further wherein the trailing segment defines an expanding outer diameter from the proximal section to the leading segment. It is noted the tip section of Hoang has a trailing segment extending from the proximal end towards the intermediate section. Argentine et al. show (Fig. 2) a tip 228 having a proximal section 260, intermediate section 258 and distal section. Argentine teach (paragraph 38) that the proximal portion provides holes for delivery elements. Regarding claim 5, it can be construed that Hoang shows (Fig. 17B) leading segment 176 defines a substantially uniform diameter extending from the trailing segment to the distal section. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the proximal section with a length along the shaft and be uniform and alternatively have the intermediate section be defined with the taper already present on the tip of Hoang and use a longer proximal section as taught by Argentine for adding holes for instrumentation and use in the delivery system of Hoang to provide greater capability with the system if wanting to have cable controls.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (WO 2021/113201) in view of Bishop et al. (2013/0297010). Hoang et al. is explained supra. However, Hoang et al. did not explicitly state the tip body and the support body are manufactured from different materials. Bishop et al. show (Fig. 5A) a tip 915 of a delivery system 900 for delivering a prosthetic implant 800. Bishop et al. also teach (paragraph 133) the tip body can be manufactured from different materials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the tip body and the support body in the prosthetic delivery system of Hoang et al. per the teaching of Bishop et al. such that it enhances flexibility where needed but provides rigidity for guiding.
Claim(s) 9,10,19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoang et al. (WO 2021/113201) in view of Creaven et al. (2015/0112430). Hoang et al. is explained supra. However, Hoang et al. did not explicitly state the inner shaft assembly further includes a tubular support body assembled over the inner shaft and extending distally from the valve retainer, and further wherein the delivery state includes at least a portion of the first region of the stent frame in contact with the tubular support body, such that the first region terminates in a plurality of crowns, and further wherein the step of arranging is characterized by the tubular support body preventing the crowns from crossing over one another. As noted above Hoang discloses a stent frame for the prosthetic valve with crowns and Creaven shows (Figs. 10A-10B) a stent structure with crowns that are captured in a tubular support body 532 and the crowns would be supported by retaining portions 544. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a tubular support body on the inner shaft to capture crowns as taught by Creaven et al. with the prosthetic valve delivery device of Hoang et al. such that it provides some versatility in matching the valve to be used, see Creaven, pa 62.
/BRIAN E PELLEGRINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799