DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 in the reply filed on 4/1/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-5,7 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/1/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,6,8-17,20-22,25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN113482433.
Claim 1. CN113482433 discloses a camping assembly comprising:
a primary inflatable camping structure comprising:
an elongate support member (1 alone or in combination with 2) extending between a first end and a second end, the elongate support member comprising:
an inflatable component (1 alone or in combination with 2) which is arranged to be inflated to provide a structural support element for the camping assembly (as noted in the disclosure), and
a pump module (3) configured to inflate the inflatable component,
wherein the pump module: is positioned in-line with the inflatable component, and locates between the first end and the second end of the elongate support member (where it is between a first and second end of 1 or alternative between a bottom of 1 and top of 2), and wherein a longitudinal length of the elongate support member defined between the first end and the second end is formed from a longitudinal length of the pump module together with a longitudinal length of the inflatable component in the inflated configuration (as seen in at least figure 1).
Claim 2. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the inflatable component comprise a single inflatable component (as seen in the figure and noted in the disclosure).
Claim 3. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the pump module extends between the first end of the elongate support member and an end of the inflatable component and the inflatable component extends between an end of the pump module and the second end of the elongate support member (as noted in the figures and disclosure).
Claim 6. A camping assembly according to Claim 2 in which an end of the pump module (such as at 10 or the housing 4 and/or 5) may form an interface with an end of the inflatable component such that the pump module extends between the first end of the elongate support member and the interface and the inflatable component extends between the interface and the second end of the elongate support member (as noted in the figures and disclosure).
Claim 8. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the pump module is contiguous with the inflatable component to provide the elongate support member (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure).
Claim 9. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the pump module is in-line with the inflatable component in order for the pump module to extend along a longitudinal axis and the or each inflatable component to also extend along the same longitudinal axis (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure).
Claim 10. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the pump module is embedded in the elongate support member (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure).
Claim 11. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the pump module is integral with the inflatable component to form the elongate support member (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure).
Claim 12. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which a longitudinal length of the elongate support member comprises a longitudinal length of the pump module plus a longitudinal length of the inflatable component (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure).
Claim 13. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the elongate support member provides an air pole for the primary inflatable camping structure and in which the primary inflatable camping structure comprise an inflatable network of air poles (where 1 and 2 form a network) and a canopy (the tent cover as disclosed) and in which the primary inflatable structure comprises one of an awning or a gazebo (where it can be an awning or gazebo).
Claim 14. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the elongate support member is an upright support member (where upright is a relative term and it is capable of being upright or alternatively where it has an upright extent) and the pump module is disposed at a lower end of the elongate support member (as seen in the figures where lower is a relative term).
Claim 15. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the pump module provides structural support to the inflatable component (where it includes a housing and is part of the structure and therefore provides structural support).
Claim 16. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 which the elongate support member is a first elongate support member (where 1 is a first elongate support member; or where there is a first side of 1) of a pair of elongate support members (where 2 is the pair or alternatively where there is a another side of 1 opposite the first forming the pair) and a length of the inflatable component of the first elongate support member is less than a length of the inflatable component of the second elongate support member, to accommodate a height of the pump module (as seen in the figures).
Claim 17. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the inflatable component is generally cylindrical (where 1 is composed of generally cylindrical members as seen in the figures) and wherein the pump module comprises a generally cylindrical housing (where 4 forms a generally cylindrical housing), which is arranged to be coaxial with an axis of the inflatable component.
Claim 20. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the primary inflatable camping structure is arranged to be stored in a storage configuration in which the pump module is secured to the inflatable component (where it is capable of the claimed configuration as noted in the figures and disclosure).
Claim 21. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the pump module comprises a detachable battery (12) and a battery receiver comprising a slot (as seen in figures 8-9 and as noted in the disclosure) and wherein the battery receiver is arranged to receive the battery in a direction perpendicular to an axis of a housing of the pump module (as seen in figures 8-9).
Claim 22. A camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the pump module comprises at least one ancillary power connector (any of 8,9,10,13) configured to supply power to an ancillary device.
Claim 25. CN113482433 discloses a method of providing an elongate support member for a camping assembly, the camping assembly comprising:
a primary inflatable camping structure comprising: an elongate support member (1 alone or in combination with 2) extending between a first end and a second end,
the elongate support member comprising: an inflatable component (where 1 and 2 are inflatable) which is arranged to be inflated to provide a structural support element for the camping assembly, and a pump module (3) configured to inflate the inflatable component,
wherein the pump module: is positioned in-line with the inflatable component (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure), and locates between the first end and the second end of the elongate support member (as noted above), and wherein a longitudinal length of the elongate support member defined between the first end and the second end is formed from a longitudinal length of the pump module together with a longitudinal length of the inflatable component in the inflated configuration (as noted above), wherein the method comprises inflating the inflatable component with the pump module (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN113482433 in view of Pirkle (20160201351).
Claims 18-19. CN113482433 discloses a camping assembly according to Claim 1 but does not expressly disclose the elongate support member comprises a sleeve and the inflatable component comprises a bladder and the bladder locates within the sleeve and the pump module locates at least partially within the sleeve; and further in which the sleeve retains the pump module with the inflatable component and in which the pump module remains secured to the inflatable component whilst the inflatable component is in an inflated configuration and a deflated configuration, but does disclose that the pump module remains secured to the inflatable component whilst the inflatable component is in an inflated configuration and a deflated configuration (as noted in the figures and disclosure).
Pirkle discloses that it is known in the art to have an inflating camping assembly having an elongate support member comprising a sleeve (32) and an inflatable component (34) comprising a bladder located within the sleeve. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the camping assembly of CN113482433 to have the elongate support member comprise a sleeve and the inflatable component comprise a bladder located within the sleeve to achieve the predictable result of the sleeve constrain the expansion of the bladder under high pressure to maintain the desired configuration enabling the air to be forced into the members under consideration pressure to assure a rigid structure. Thus upon such a modification the pump module locates at least partially within the sleeve and the sleeve retains the pump module with the inflatable component (via the flange assembly) and the pump remains secured to the inflatable component whilst the inflatable component is inflated and deflated.
Claim(s) 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN113482433 in view of Ensign (10801231).
Claim 23. CN113482433 discloses a camping assembly according to Claim 1 in which the pump module comprises one or more connectors for charging an accessory but does not disclose the connectors are USB.
Ensign discloses a camping assembly having an electronics housing including a USB connector (column 6). Accordingly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the connector of CN113482433 to be a USB to achieve the predictable result of a connector that can connect to various types of devices and provide users with charging port commonly used for handheld electronics.
Claim 24. CN113482433 discloses a camping assembly according to Claim 1 but does not disclose in which the camping assembly comprises a lighting arrangement comprising one or LED strips and wherein the lighting arrangement is provided on the inflatable camping structure and the lighting arrangement is configured to be powered by a power source of the pump module. Ensign discloses a camping assembly including a lighting arrangement comprising one or LED strips arranged on the inflatable camping structure and configured to be powered by a power source (col 5). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the camping assembly of CN113482433 to having a lighting arrangement comprising one or LED strips arranged on the inflatable camping structure and configured to be powered by the power source of the pump module to achieve the predictable result of providing a user with additional illumination without requiring additional power sources, where the power module of CN113482433 is disclosed as being able to provide power to additional devices.
Conclusion
JESSICA L. LAUX
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/JESSICA L LAUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635