Claim Interpretation
Instant claims are very broad in nature. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, tung oil includes oils modified by another functional groups such as epoxy. Other names for tung oil, which comes from tung tree includes china wood oil, lumbang oil, tung meal, tungoel, kalo nut tree oil, tinfoil tree oil, Aleurites fordii oil, vernicia fordii oil and Tungoil.
Claim 3, is a product by process wherein patentable weight is given to the product and not process by which it is made. Having said that, it would have been readily understood to those skilled in the art that additives have to be added to any composition before the composition is cured.
Claim 4, with respect to the additional drying oils being less than 0.1 wt.%, term less than 0.1 has no lower limit and therefore includes zero wt.%
Claim 9, recited a method with an intended use recitation “for improving the chalking resistant of a polyurethane composition…”. Recitation of intended use does not carry patentable weight. Having said that if the prior art of record teaches the composition of instant claim 1 the composition will meet the recitation of intended use. According to claim 9, the improved chalking resistance is attributed to addition of tung oil. Consequently, the chalking resistance will be improved because compounds and their properties are mutually exclusive.
Claim 13 is directed to an adhesive and or sealant composition for bonding and sealing. Bonding and sealing are inherent properties of adhesive and sealant compositions. Consequently, if the prior art recites adhesive or sealant, its function of bonding or sealing will be met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claim 1 as well as several dependent claims recite content of tung oil and carbon black as a rate, wherein units for rate should be an amount per given amount of time. The claims also state that the claimed numerical ranges are per total weight of the polyurethane composition. The specification does not disclose term “range”. In order to overcome the rejection amendment is required to remove term rate. Adding term range does not have support in the specification as originally filed. One of ordinary skill would understand what applicants mean by, for examples, composition comprising tung oil at 0.7-2.5 wt.%. The rejection applies specifically to claims 1, 3-5, 6, and 7. All other claims inherit the deficiencies of the independent claim.
Applicants are further requested to clarify claim 3. Claim 3 reads:
Claim can be interpreted in two ways. One when content of the isocyanate itself is 20-45 wt.% of wherein the content of the NCO groups within the isocyanate prepolymer is 20-45 wt.%. Usually, the content of the isocyanate is reported in a molar ratio of NCO groups to OH group to ensure proper stoichiometry depending if the final polyurethane has terminal ends as NCO or OH. This content also depends on the type of the isocyanate utilized, specifically the number of NCO groups within each isocyanate. Applicants claims are very broad and the content will be different for isocyanate containing two NCO groups vs. isocyanate having multiple NCO groups. Currently either interpretation will be utilized to reject the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yano (US 2010/0063215).
With respect to claims 1, 9 and 13, Yano discloses composition comprising discloses composition comprising polyurethane [0111], carbon black [0214] and a drying oil as oxygen curable substance wherein preferred compound is either Tung oil or liquid diene polymer [0272], utilized in an amount of 0.1-20 parts by weight [00274]. Yano further states criticality of the tung oil such that if content is less than 0.1, the composition does not have required stain resistance. Wherein similarity chalking resistance is the composition ability to resist UV light and moisture absorption that results in composition breakdown. Stain resistance is also ability to resist absorption of liquids (moisture of water) chemicals or other contaminants. Having said that, consistent with claims interpretation above, chalking resistance is property of tung oil which is attributed to its chemical structure. As such chalking resistance is met. The composition of Yano is adhesive and sealant composition (See claims 12 and 13 of the prior art) or [0066].
With respect to claim 2, the polyurethane a reaction product of polyether polyol and isocyanate [0113-0124].
With respect to claim 4, consistent with claim interpretation above, additional drying oil is viewed as optional component with concentration of 0%.
With respect to claims 5 and 10, carbon black can be utilized in an amount of 10-200 parts [0210, 0214].
With respect to claims 6, 8 and 11, the composition comprises light stabilizers and UV absorbers, wherein light stabilizer is hindered amine [0288].
With respect to claims 7, 12, Yano discloses that in order to render composition photocurable, compounds such as acrylic compounds, vinyl cinnamate polymers and azide resins can be used [0266], wherein acrylic compound can also be in form of acrylic polymer [0265].
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawamura (EP 0 477 899).
With respect to claims 1 and 9, Kawamura discloses composition comprising 100 pbw of urethane prepolymer, 0.01-20 parts of photocurable substance and 0.1-20 parts of unsaturated compound reactive with oxygen (Abstract). Preferred unsaturated compound reactive with oxygen is tung oil (p. 3, l. 27), fillers include carbo black (p. 4, l. 5-6). The composition of Kawamura is a coating composition.
With respect to claim 2, the polyurethane prepolymer of Kawamura is formed from isocyanate and polyether polyol prepolymer (p. 2, l. 32-42).
With respect to claim 4, the content of another drying agent in addition to tung oil is zero which is less than 0.1 pbw.
With respect to claims 5, 6, 11 and 12, the composition of Kawamura discloses photocuring component which includes polyvinyl cinnamate (p. 3, l 2-4), azido resin (p. 3, l. 5-10) and unsaturated acrylic compounds (p. 2, l. 55-58).
With respect to claim 13, the composition of Kawamura is specifically used as a sealant (p. 4, l. 12).
Claims 1, 2, 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umezaki (JP 2012-193285 translation provided).
With respect to claims 1, 9 and 13, Umezaki discloses urethane based sealant composition comprising oxygen durable unsaturated compound in combination with carbon black (claim 1). Oxygen curable unsaturated compounds are drying oils which include tung oil (also exemplified) [0032-0034]. Drying oils are preferably utilized in an amount of 0.1-50 pbw preferably 0.5-20 pbw.
With respect to claim 2, the urethane polymer is a reaction product of isocyanate [0013-0014] and polyol having active hydrogen wherein polyol can be polyoxyalkylene polyol (the same as polyether polyol) [0021].
With respect to claim 4, additional content of drying oil other than tung oil is zero % which meets instant requirement of less than 0.1%.
With respect to claims 5 and 10, carbon black is utilized in amount of 2-50 pbw, preferably 2-30 pb2 or 2-15 pbw [0038].
With respect to claims 6-8, 11 and 12, Umezaki discloses reactive diluent which is based on acrylic acids wherein acrylic acids are unsaturated. Acrylic acids are photocurable as a polymer or monomer. Umezaki further discloses silane coupling agents which comprise unsaturated acrylate functionality which is also reactive component. All compounds comprising vinyl groups including coupling agent are photopolymerizable due to presence of C=C.
Umezaki also discloses use of antioxidants which include HALS [0064].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umezaki (JP 2012-193285).
Discussion of teachings of Umezaki from paragraph 3 of this office action. While Umezaki discloses process of making polyurethane polymers, he does not explicitly disclose content of isocyanate in wt%.
With respect to claim 3, for urethane prepolymer based on polyether polyols, the content of NCO groups is less than polyether polyol. This means that resulting polymer will have hydroxyl terminated chain. The reaction was stopped when the theoretical content of the isocyanate groups was 1.04%, the actual result was 1% (prepolymer P1) polyether polyol in synthesis example 2 (prepolymer U-1) had NCO:OH equivalence of 1.05 comprised 0.06% of NCO by mass. In examples the content of polymer U-1 id 50 pbw and content of polymer P-100 pbw. Even with content of NCO to OH being 1.04 the overall content in the polyurethane (polyether polyol and nco prepolymer) is based on 150 pbw which for NCO is less than 30pbw. Consequently, the overall content of isocyanate is less than 50%.
Looking at applicant’s synthesis of prepolymer P-3, total of polyether polyol is 6042g and total isocyanate is 800g having ratio of approximately 7.50. Umezaki’s prepolymer P1 has total polyether polyol content of 440 and isocyanate content of 59, wherein the ratio is 7.45. Consequently, if the ratio of the polyol to isocyanate is within 0.05 of the instant invention the content of the isocyanate prepolymer has to be within the same range, because the two examples utilize the same IPDI isocyanate.
Umezaki clearly states that the content of the isocyanate component is important as it dictates the final molecular weight of the polyurethane prepolymer. If the molecular weight of polyether polyol based urethane resin is high, the workability of the resulting curable can be good [0045]. If the content of isocyanate group is less than 0.1 % the molecular weight becomes too large and viscosity increases and workability decreases. At the same time the number of crosslinking sites or points becomes too low and sufficient adhesiveness cannot be achieved. Consequently, the molecular weights of the isocyanate and polyether polyol and the ratio of NCO to OH group are well known methods to tailor the properties of the urethane polymers. One of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand the concepts of selecting proper ratios based on the intended use of the composition. In this case the composition of Umezaki is utilized as adhesive or sealant so the goal of good adhesion has to be achieved.
Correspondence
/KATARZYNA I KOLB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767