DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding both claims 2 & 12, the recitations of ‘preferably’ render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the term is a required feature or an optional one.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1, 2, 4 & 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zweigart (DE 102020209055 A1). The English translation of the reference was relied upon for the purpose of examination.
Regarding claim 1, Zweigart discloses a component for an acid electrolyte fuel cell or electrolyser ([0001]), comprising:
an electrically conductive substrate (“polar plate”, [0008])
and an anticorrosion coating deposited on at least one surface of the substrate ([0008]),
wherein the anticorrosion coating comprises at least one main tantalum-nitride-based layer doped with one or more dopant elements chosen from the family of transition metals or lanthanides ([0008] and [0018]).
Regarding claim 2, Zweigart discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein the substrate is metallic, preferably made of steel. ([0019])
Regarding claim 4, Zweigart discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein the total content of dopants within the main layer is between 1 ppm and 10 at.% (“ A preferred ratio of the metal nitride precursor to the foreign metal nitride precursor is: approx. 250:1” [0012])
Regarding claim 6, Zweigart discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein the thickness of the anticorrosion coating is between 5 nm and 5 µm ([0035])
Regarding claim 7, Zweigart discloses the component according to claim 1, wherein the anticorrosion coating comprises a plurality of superposed layers wherein the material of the main layer consists of a main material, and wherein the anticorrosion coating comprises at least one secondary layer based on a secondary material that is different from the main material. ([0015])
Regarding claim 8, Zweigart discloses the component according to claim 7, wherein the main material consists of at least 30% by volume of the anticorrosion coating. (“A preferred ratio of the metal nitride precursor to the foreign metal nitride precursor is: approx. 250:1” [0012])
Regarding claim 9, Zweigart discloses the component according to claim 7, wherein the anticorrosion coating comprises alternating layers based alternately on the main material and the secondary material. ([0015])
Regarding claim 10, Zweigart discloses the component according to claim 7, wherein the secondary material is tantalum nitride having a crystal system and/or a doping that is different from the main material ([0015]). The examiner notes that the “the layers of the metal nitride and the foreign metal nitride [that] merge into each other” is the main layer and “the layers of the metal nitride [that] merge into each other” is the secondary layer so the main material has doping whereas the secondary material does not. Thus, the secondary material has a doping that is different from the main material.
Regarding claim 11, Zweigart discloses an acid electrolyte fuel cell or electrolyser, comprising at least one component according to claim 1. ([0001])
Regarding claim 12, Zweigart discloses a fuel cell or electrolyser according to claim 11, of the proton- exchange membrane fuel cell (PEMFC) type or of the phosphoric acid fuel cell (PAFC) type, supplied with gaseous fuel, preferably molecular hydrogen H2. ([0001])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zweigart (DE 102020209055 A1) in view of Zaman et al (MDPI.com)
Regarding claim 3, Zweigart discloses the component according to claim 1 or 2 but fails to disclose that the crystal system of the tantalum nitride of the main layer is hexagonal or cubic. Zaman identifies four different crystal structures of tantalum nitride: hexagonal, cubic, tetragonal and orthorhombic. [p2 of Introduction] It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use one of the four main crystal phases of tantalum nitride known in the art. Such a selection would have involved choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zweigart (DE 102020209055 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Zweigart discloses the component according to claim 1, and teaches that the “suitable metal nitride-based coating is alloyed/doped with a foreign metal, in particular a foreign metal nitride, to form the metal nitride contact coating 200, such that the chemical stability of the metal nitride-based coating in an acidic electrolyte environment is increased” [0033]. Zweigart also teaches that the foreign metal nitride can be a transition metal nitride [0018]. However, Zweigart fails to mention that the dopant element is specifically chosen from zirconium, hafnium, vanadium, titanium, niobium, chromium or molybdenum. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use a transition metal such as zirconium, hafnium, vanadium, titanium, niobium, chromium or molybdenum as the dopant. Such a selection would have involved choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-10 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 1-10 of Application No. 18/730,193. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/730,193 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the purpose or intended use of the invention is not considered a limitation and has no patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.02 II. Apart from the stated intended use in the preamble, claim 1 of the instant application is identical to claim 1 of the reference application so it is patentably indistinct. Similarly, claims 2-10 are patentably indistinct from claims 2-10 of the reference application respectively.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KAZIAH OWUSU-ANSAH/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748