DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 October 2024 was considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 -15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “about” in claims 13 and 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how much each elemental composition may vary from its recited percentage and still meet the limitations of the claim.
The term “essentially” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “essentially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how much of the microstructure must contain eutectic structure in order for the limitation to be met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2016158898A1 of Wiehl in view of CN101671783A (machine translation) of Weimin.
Regarding claim 1, Wiehl discloses brazing alloys in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Wiehl discloses elemental ranges as shown in Table A below.
Table A
Wiehl teaches overlapping ranges for all of the elements of claim 1 other than manganese. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Weimin teaches copper-zinc-nickel-cobalt-indium alloy and preparation method thereof in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Weimin discloses that Zhengzhou Institute of Machinery developed Cu53Zn28Mn17SnSi in 1990, but the manganese content of this solder is too high and can only be used for salt bath soldering, Para[0007]. Weimin teaches manganese Mn: 0.08 to 4%, Para[0014]. This overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would use the range of manganese in the alloy disclosed by Weimin in the brazing material taught by Wiehl in order to use the brazing material in applications other than salt bath soldering. Thus, Wiehl in view of Weimin covers all limitations of claim 1.
Claims 2 and 3 further limit claim 1 by claiming a range for Cu of 17.1-30.8 wt% and 18-29.4 wt%, respectively. Wiehl teaches copper from 5-68.4 wt%, Para[0112]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Thus, Wiehl in view of Weimin covers all limitations of claims 2 and 3. Claims 4 and 5 further limit claim 1 by claiming a range for Zn of 20.7-30.8 wt% and 21.8-29.4 wt%, respectively. Wiehl teaches zinc from 10-35 wt%, Para[0112]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Thus, Wiehl in view of Weimin covers all limitations of claims 4 and 5.
Claims 6 and 7 further limit claim 1 by claiming a range for Sn of 1.8-5.5 wt% and 1.9-5.25 wt%, respectively. Wiehl teaches tin from 0.1-5 wt%, Para[0106]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Thus, Wiehl in view of Weimin covers all limitations of claims 6 and 7.
Claims 8 and 9 further limit claim 1 by claiming a range for Mn of 3.6-4.4 wt% and 3.8-4.2 wt%, respectively. Weimin discloses that Zhengzhou Institute of Machinery developed Cu53Zn28Mn17SnSi in 1990, but the manganese content of this solder is too high and can only be used for salt bath soldering, Para[0007]. Weimin teaches manganese Mn: 0.08 to 4%, Para[0014]. This overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would use the range of manganese in the alloy disclosed by Weimin in the brazing material taught by Wiehl in order to use the brazing material in applications other than salt bath soldering. Thus, Wiehl in view of Weimin covers all limitations of claims 8 and 9.
Claims 10 and 11 further limit claim 1 by claiming a range for Co of 1.8-4.4 wt% and 1.9-4.2 wt%, respectively. Wiehl teaches Co from 0-5 wt%, Para[0099]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Thus, Wiehl in view of Weimin covers all limitations of claims 10 and 11.
Regarding Claim 12, applicant further limits the ranges of Cu, Zn, Sn, and Co as shown in Table B below.
Table B
Wiehl teaches overlapping ranges for all of the elements of claim 1 other than manganese. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Weimin teaches copper-zinc-nickel-cobalt-indium alloy and preparation method thereof in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Weimin discloses that Zhengzhou Institute of Machinery developed Cu53Zn28Mn17SnSi in 1990, but the manganese content of this solder is too high and can only be used for salt bath soldering, Para[0007]. Weimin teaches manganese Mn: 0.08 to 4%, Para[0014]. This overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would use the range of manganese in the alloy disclosed by Weimin in the brazing material taught by Wiehl in order to use the brazing material in applications other than salt bath soldering. Thus, Wiehl in view of Weimin covers all limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, applicant further limits the compositional ranges as shown in Table C below.
Table C
Wiehl teaches overlapping ranges for all of the elements of claim 1 other than manganese. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Weimin teaches copper-zinc-nickel-cobalt-indium alloy and preparation method thereof in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Weimin discloses that Zhengzhou Institute of Machinery developed Cu53Zn28Mn17SnSi in 1990, but the manganese content of this solder is too high and can only be used for salt bath soldering, Para[0007]. Weimin teaches manganese Mn: 0.08 to 4%, Para[0014]. This overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would use the range of manganese in the alloy disclosed by Weimin in the brazing material taught by Wiehl in order to use the brazing material in applications other than salt bath soldering. Thus, Wiehl in view of Weimin covers all limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, applicant further limits the compositional ranges as shown in Table D below.
Table D
Wiehl teaches overlapping ranges for all of the elements of claim 1 other than manganese. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Weimin teaches copper-zinc-nickel-cobalt-indium alloy and preparation method thereof in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Weimin discloses that Zhengzhou Institute of Machinery developed Cu53Zn28Mn17SnSi in 1990, but the manganese content of this solder is too high and can only be used for salt bath soldering, Para[0007]. Weimin teaches manganese Mn: 0.08 to 4%, Para[0014]. This overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would use the range of manganese in the alloy disclosed by Weimin in the brazing material taught by Wiehl in order to use the brazing material in applications other than salt bath soldering. Thus, Wiehl in view of Weimin covers all limitations of claim 14.
Claim 15 further limits claim 1 by claiming a microstructure of the brazing material consists essentially of a eutectic structure.
Wiehl discloses that it is well known in the Art that the Ag content of Ag—Cu—X alloys plays a vital role for the liquidus temperature of the alloy due to the eutectic behavior of the binary Ag—Cu system, Para[0009]. Therefore, Wiehl teaches the additional limitation of claim 15. Thus, Wiehl in view of Weimin covers all limitations of claim 15.
Claim 16 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the brazing material is in the form of a powder, atomized powder, paste, tape, wire, sheet or preform.
Wiehl teaches that the molten alloy can be cast into a mold, atomized or granulated to obtain a powder or granules. Atomized powder may be used for making brazing pastes. The powders as well as the granules may be used for pressing and extrusion as described below. In this way, also powders and granules can be employed to obtain punching stamped parts, wires or rods, Para[0158]. Therefore, Wiehl teaches the additional limitation of claim 16. Thus, Wiehl in view of Weimin covers all limitations of claim 16.
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JACOB BENJAMIN STILES/Examiner, Art Unit 1733