DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 7/17/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Applicant has only provided the abstract to NPL Citation 2. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ANIMAL BEHAVIOR HISTORY ANALYSIS SUPPORTING APPARATUS, ANALYSIS SUPPORTING METHOD, AND COMPUTER PROGRAM.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because it does not fall into any of the categories of statutory subject matter.
Claim 6 recites: “A computer program for causing a computer to function as the analysis supporting apparatus according to claim 1.” This recites software per se. Functional descriptive material such as a computer program must be structurally and functionally interrelated with a medium to allow its intended uses to be realized. Accordingly, claims directed to software per se are not within any of the four statutory categories and are not patentable subject matter. In re Warmerdam, 33 F.3d 1354, 1361, 31 USPQ2d 1754, 1760 (Fed. Cir. 1994). See MPEP § 2106.03 for further guidance and discussion on computer-related nonstatutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “information is presented to the target animal using a terminal apparatus and the behavior history information for each identified individual is acquired.” A terminal device has already been introduced in claim 1, and it is not clear if this is referencing the same or a different terminal device. Moreover, the terminal device in claim 1 is recited in the alternative, and if the devices are the same it is unclear how this step would be performed if the terminal device is not present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abels, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0404883 (Reference A of the attached PTO-892).
As per claim 1, Abels teaches an analysis supporting apparatus comprising: an individual tracker configured to acquire behavior history information indicating a behavior history of each individual of a target animal, which is an animal to be analyzed, based on at least one piece of information (¶¶ 0008-10, 42) among image information obtained by an image sensor that acquires an image of the target animal, acoustic information obtained by an acoustic sensor that acquires a sound emitted by the target animal, information obtained from a wearable sensor attached to the target animal (¶ 0014), and information obtained from a terminal apparatus.
As per claim 2, Abels teaches claim 1 as above. Abels further teaches the wearable sensor is an acceleration sensor that obtains acceleration information of the target animal to which the wearable sensor is attached (¶ 0025).
As per claim 3, Abels teaches claim 1 as above. Abels further teaches the individual tracker uses individual information stored in a storage unit to identify individuals in the used information, and to acquire the behavior history information for each identified individual (¶¶ 0009, 38).
As per claim 5, Abels teaches an analysis supporting method comprising: acquiring at least one piece of information (¶¶ 0008-10, 42) among image information obtained by an image sensor that acquires an image of a target animal, which is an animal to be analyzed, acoustic information obtained by an acoustic sensor that acquires a sound emitted by the target animal, information obtained from a wearable sensor attached to the target animal (¶ 0014), and information obtained from a terminal apparatus; and acquiring behavior history information indicating a behavior history of each individual of the target animal based on the acquired information of the target animal (¶¶ 0008-10, 42).
As per claim 6, Abels teaches a computer program for causing a computer to function as the analysis supporting apparatus according to claim 1 (¶ 0051, see also citations above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abels, et al. in view of Poom, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0333633 (Reference B of the attached PTO-892).
As per claim 4, Abels teaches claim 1 as above. Abels does not explicitly teach information is presented to the target animal using a terminal apparatus and the behavior history information for each identified individual is acquired. However, this is taught by Poon (¶¶ 0027-30). It would have been prima facie obvious to incorporate this element for the same reason it is useful in Poon—namely, to test the animal’s response to particular stimuli (¶ 0032). Moreover, this is merely a combination of old elements in the art of tracking animal behavior. In the combination, no element would serve a purpose other than it already did independently, and one skilled in the art would have recognized that the combination could have been implemented through routine engineering producing predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
De Jesus, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0369600 (Reference C of the attached PTO-892) relates to an animal tracking an analysis system.
Betts-Laceoix, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0146644 (Reference D of the attached PTO-892) relates to an animal tracking an analysis system.
Trottier, et al., U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2017/0196196 (Reference E of the attached PTO-892) relates to an animal tracking an analysis system.
Waymouth, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0044897 (Reference F of the attached PTO-892) relates to an animal tracking an analysis system.
Kong, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0359201 (Reference G of the attached PTO-892) relates to an animal tracking an analysis system.
So, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0196011 (Reference H of the attached PTO-892) relates to an animal tracking an analysis system.
/DANIEL VETTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628