DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of invention and/or species, and corresponding claims (1-8) is acknowledged. The election has been made without traverse. Non-elected claims are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action is overcome (terminal disclaimer) and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US12359027B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (NPL 20211)
Lin demonstrates the ink but does not teach providing the ink as a kit. Lin is demonstrating an ink for 3D printing. It would be obvious to provide the materials of Lin as a kit.)
In reference to claim 7 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
Lin shows the mixture is aqueous.
In reference to claim 8 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
Lin is silent regarding the addition of surfactants and cosolvents to the ink, however, Lin is a research publication. Examiner takes notice that commercial formulation of the inks would include as an obvious matter the incorporation of solvents and surfactants at least in order to optimize viscosity and stability.
Claim 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (NPL 20212) and in view of Conceicao (NPL 20193)
In reference to claim 3 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 1.
Lin uses alpha cyclodextrin. The claim requires beta cyclodextrin.
In the same field and for the same intended use, Conceicao demonstrates the use of beta cyclodextrin in 3D printing (title).
It would be obvious to use the beta cyclodextrin.
In reference to claim 4 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 3.
Lin shows the UV absorber being photo-initiator Irgacure D-2959 (33.3 mg/mL, 148 mM), which corresponds to 3.3 weight/volume % and is about 1-2 weight/weight %.
Alternatively, Examiner takes notice that (a) it would be obvious to reduce the amount of Irgacure to reduce cost, and (b) that other Irgacure types (or other brand) curatives are known for the same purpose including those usable at lower concentrations.
In reference to claim 5, Conceicao shows that “hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin” (abstract) is useful for 3d printing. In reference to claim 6 the cited prior art discloses the invention as in claim 5.
Lin shows the UV absorber being photo-initiator Irgacure D-2959 (33.3 mg/mL, 148 mM), which corresponds to 3.3 weight/volume % and is about 1-2 weight/weight %.
Conclusion
Any prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NICHOLAS KRASNOW/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
1 https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2451929421003089#sec4
2 https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2451929421003089#sec4
3 https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0144861719305570?via%3Dihub