DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on January 22, 2026 in response to the first office action on merit.
Remarks
Pending claims for reconsideration are claims 11-30. Applicant has
Amended claims 11, 18, and 25.
Previously canceled claims 1-10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on January 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed moot in view of new ground of rejection (see 103 rejection below).
Double Patenting
Claims 11-13, 16-20, and 23-27 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-12, 14, 16-19, 21, 23-26, and 30 of co-pending Application No. 11/421748 is still maintained until final disposal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Bauer et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 2021/0297270 A1 / or “Bauer” hereinafter [provided by the applicant]) in view of Lambert et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 2017/0104589 A1 / or “Lambert” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, Bauer discloses “A method for a network component for providing Bluetooth encryption data, the method comprising” (Abstract: a Bluetooth connection is established between a vehicle and phone, where an encrypted payload i.e., “Bluetooth encryption data” is provided to both the mobile device and the vehicle):
“obtaining received information for generating Bluetooth encryption data for establishing an encrypted Bluetooth connection between a first user terminal and a second user terminal based on the received information” (Para 0012-0013: during initial communication setup a Telematics Service Delivery Network (SDN) server provides an encrypted payload i.e., “Bluetooth encryption data” to both the mobile device i.e., a “first user terminal” and the vehicle i.e., a “second user terminal”. Also, Fig. 6: Step 610; and Para 0064-0065: received information is used to pair Bluetooth enabled phone and a vehicle),
[wherein the encrypted Bluetooth connection enables access to perform a vehicle unlocking/locking function];
“generating the Bluetooth encryption data” (Para 0012-0013: during initial communication setup a Telematics Service Delivery Network (SDN) server provides an encrypted payload i.e., “Bluetooth encryption data” to both the mobile device i.e., a “first user terminal” and the vehicle i.e., a “second user terminal”; and Fig. 6: Step 615; and Para 0065: where an security key is used for data transmission);
“and synchronizing the Bluetooth encryption data between the first user terminal and the second user terminal” (Para 0012-0013: during initial communication setup a Telematics Service Delivery Network (SDN) server provides an encrypted payload i.e., “Bluetooth encryption data” to both the mobile device i.e., a “first user terminal” and the vehicle i.e., a “second user terminal”; and Fig. 6: Step 620; and Para 0066: encrypted Bluetooth connection is established by sharing security key, mobile unique ID, and vehicle unique ID).
But Bauer fails to specially disclose a paired device performing a vehicle unlock/locking function.
However, Lambert discloses “wherein the encrypted Bluetooth connection enables access to perform a vehicle unlocking/locking function” (Para 0036-0037: a smart device is used to gain access to a vehicle, where the connection between the vehicle and the smart device may established using a Bluetooth secure pairing i.e., “encrypted Bluetooth connection”).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of paired device performing a vehicle unlock/locking function of Lambert to the Advance Mobile Device and Vehicle Profile Pairing of Bauer to create a system where a vehicle digital key can be shared with multiple users (Lambert, Para 0046) and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine to where the owner of the vehicle can share the digital key with others with desired restrictions (Lambert, Para 0047).
Regarding claim 12, in view of claim 11, Bauer discloses “wherein the received information comprises an identification for at least the first user device or the second user device” (Fig. 6: Step 620; and Para 0066: encrypted Bluetooth connection is established by sharing security key, mobile unique ID, and vehicle unique ID).
Regarding claim 13, in view of claim 12, Bauer discloses “wherein the network component is an administrative platform or another user terminal” (Fig. 2: SDN Server i.e., an “administrative platform”).
Regarding claim 14, in view of claim 13, Bauer discloses “wherein the first user terminal is a vehicle” (Fig. 2: Vehicle 205).
Regarding claim 15, in view of claim 14, Bauer discloses “wherein the Bluetooth encryption data is generated in the vehicle” (Par 0068: vehicle provides MAC address of the vehicle computer).
Regarding claim 16, in view of claim 15, Bauer discloses “wherein the Bluetooth encryption data comprises information about at least one parameter required for a Bluetooth pairing” (Par 0067: session ID).
Regarding claim 17, in view of claim 16, Bauer discloses “further comprising encrypting the Bluetooth encryption data for synchronization” (Par 0067).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is directed to a non-tangible computer readable medium corresponding to the method recited in claim 11. Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 11, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 19-24, claims 19-24 are directed to a non-tangible computer readable medium corresponding to the method recited in claims 12-17. Claims 19-24 are similar in scope to claims 12-17, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is directed to a network device corresponding to the method recited in claim 11. Claim 25 is similar in scope to claim 11, and is therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claims 26-30, claims 26-30 are directed to a network device corresponding to the method recited in claims 12-17. Claims 26-30 are similar in scope to claims 12-17, and are therefore, rejected under similar rationale.
Relevant Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 20210168602 A1) discloses:
[Abstract] … a management server generates a terminal digital key and a vehicle digital key after user authentication in response to a digital key registration request through a dedicated application of a mobile terminal and the mobile terminal stores the terminal digital key in a secure world that is separated from a normal world and a digital key using step in which an authentication token is generated using the terminal digital key stored in the secure world when the mobile terminal approaches or tags a vehicle and a vehicle device locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle by activating the vehicle digital key, ....
SCHUSSMANN et al. (US 20170164192 A1) discloses “…establishing a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) connection between a mobile device and a BLE system in the vehicle, wherein the establishing step includes receiving first credentials of the mobile device at the BLE system; providing second credentials to the mobile device from the vehicle, wherein the second credentials are different than the first credentials; and receiving a message from the mobile device that is encrypted using the first and second credentials” (Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ABDULLAH ALMAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2431
/SARAH SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431