DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 07/17/2024.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHA et al. (US 2022/0286254 A1), in view of Dayvdov et al. (US 2015/0171939 A1), Muruganathan et al. (US 2024/0056247 A1).
As to claims 1 and 29, CHA discloses the invention as claimed, including an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 20), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 20, 210);
memory (Fig. 20, 225, 230) coupled with the processor (Fig. 20, 210); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (¶0362-¶0365):
transmit, to a first network entity, a first report indicating a measurement for a first beam based at least in part on a source reference signal (Fig. 18, 1805; ¶0298, “the UE may report to the LMF/location server/BS measurement 1 obtained based on a first DL RS resource and/or resource set”; ¶0299, “the first DL RS resource and/or resource set and the second DL RS resource and/or resource set may be transmitted/received on transmission/ reception beams with the same direction among a plurality of transmission/reception beams with different directions”; ¶0354, “In operations 1705, 1805, and 1905 according to exemplary embodiments, the UE may transmit/report information on the first measurement, and the network node may receive the information”);
receive control signaling configuring the UE to report a differential measurement for the source reference signal, wherein the control signaling includes an indication of the source reference signal from a plurality of source reference signals that are quasi co-located with a plurality of demodulation reference signals (¶0044, “reducing signaling overhead by reporting a different between a second measurement based on a second RS and a first measurement based on a first RS”; ¶0130, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH”; ¶0133, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH. The QCL relationship is configured by the following RRC parameters: qcl-Type1 for the first DL RS and qcl-Type2 (if configured) for the second DL RS”; ¶0298, “the UE may report to the LMF/location server/BS measurement 1 obtained based on a first DL RS resource and/or resource set. When the UE is configured to report (as an additional measurement) measurement 2 obtained based on a second DL RS resource and/or resource set, the UE may report a difference between measurement 1 and measurement 1, instead of reporting measurement 2”; ¶0319);
determine the differential measurement for the source reference signal, wherein the differential measurement is determined with reference to a most recently reported beam measurement for the source reference signal (¶0009, “receiving a first downlink (DL) reference signal (RS) and a second DL RS; obtaining a first measurement related to positioning based on the first DL RS; reporting information on the first measurement; obtaining a second measurement related to the positioning based on the second DL RS; and reporting information on a difference between the second measurement and the first measurement”; ¶0018, “reporting the information on the difference may include reporting information on the difference based on reception of information configured to report the difference between the second measurement and the first measurement”; ¶0023; ¶0130, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH”; ¶0133, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH. The QCL relationship is configured by the following RRC parameters: qcl-Type1 for the first DL RS and qcl-Type2 (if configured) for the second DL RS”; ¶0139, “indicated/configured to be QCL with a specific tracking reference signal (TRS) in terms of QCL-Type A and QCL with a specific SSB in terms of QCL-Type D. Upon receiving the above indication/configuration, the UE may receive the corresponding NZP CSI-RS based on Doppler and delay values measured on the QCL-TypeA TRS and apply a reception beam used to receive the QCL-TypeD SSB to the reception of the corresponding NZP CSI-RS”; ¶0298, “the UE may report to the LMF/location server/BS measurement 1 obtained based on a first DL RS resource and/or resource set. When the UE is configured to report (as an additional measurement) measurement 2 obtained based on a second DL RS resource and/or resource set, the UE may report a difference between measurement 1 and measurement 1, instead of reporting measurement 2”; ¶0318, “The reason for this is that since only the difference between the UE measurements obtained based on the first DL RS and second DL RS is reported, the UE may need to acquire the measurements for the first DL RS and second DL RS with the same reception (RX) beam. Otherwise, the measurement obtained based on the second DL RS may not be significantly related to the measurement obtained based on the first DL RS”); and
transmit, to the first network entity, a second report indicating the differential measurement for the source reference signal (Fig. 17, 1709; Fig. 18, 1809; Fig. 19, 1909; ¶0018, “reporting the information on the difference may include reporting information on the difference based on reception of information configured to report the difference between the second measurement and the first measurement”; ¶0044, “reducing signaling overhead by reporting a different between a second measurement based on a second RS and a first measurement based on a first RS”; ¶0298, “the UE may report to the LMF/location server/BS measurement 1 obtained based on a first DL RS resource and/or resource set. When the UE is configured to report (as an additional measurement) measurement 2 obtained based on a second DL RS resource and/or resource set, the UE may report a difference between measurement 1 and measurement 1, instead of reporting measurement 2”; ¶0356, “In operations 1709, 1809, and 1909 according to exemplary embodiments, the UE may transmit/report information on a difference between the second and first measurements”).
Although CHA discloses determine the differential measurement for the source reference signal, and wherein the differential measurement is determined with reference to a most recently reported beam measurement for the source reference signal, CHA does not specifically disclose determine the differential measurement for the source reference signal based at least in part on measuring a demodulation reference signal that is quasi co-located with the source reference signal
However, Dayvdov discloses determine the differential measurement (i.e., delta feedback) for the source reference signal (Fig. 4, 440) based at least in part on measuring a demodulation reference signal (i.e., DM-RS) with the source reference signal (Fig. 4, 452, 454, 470-476; ¶0013; ¶0021; ¶0022, “The new CQI feedback 454 may be CQI reporting feedback based on measurements performed on the DM-RS signals 470, an explicit request from the UE(s) 420 to the eNB 410 to apply a new modulation and coding scheme (MCS) based on the measurements performed on the DM-RS signals 472, delta feedback”; ¶0048). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of CHA to include determine the differential measurement for the source reference signal based at least in part on measuring a demodulation reference signal with the source reference signal, as taught by Dayvdov because it would reduce feedback overhead by identifying the relative differences instead of full feedback information and consequently decreases uplink resource usage and power consumption (Dayvdov, ¶0013; ¶0022; ¶0048).
Muruganathan, on the other hand, discloses a demodulation reference signal that is quasi co-located with the source reference signal (¶0106, "parameters including Doppler shift/spread, average delay spread, and/or average delay. These antenna ports are then said to be “quasi co-located” or “QCL”. The network can signal to the UE that two antenna ports are QCL with respect to one or more parameters…Typically, the first antenna port is represented by a measurement reference signal such as CSI-RS (referred to as “source RS”) and the second antenna port is a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (referred to as “target RS”)”; ¶0107, “if antenna ports A and B are QCL with respect to average delay, the UE can estimate the average delay from the signal received from antenna port A (source RS) and assume that the signal received from antenna port B (target RS) has the same average delay. This can be useful for demodulation since the UE can know beforehand the properties of the channel when trying to measure the channel utilizing the DMR”; ¶0116, “Each TCI state contains QCL information between the DMRS for PDSCH and one or two DL reference signals such as NZP CSI-RS or SSB. Different NZP CSI-RS or SSB may be associated with different TRPs or beams. The QCL information can be used by a UE to apply large scale channel properties associated with the DL reference signals (e.g., NZP CSI-RS or SSB) to DMRS of PDSCH”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of CHA to include a demodulation reference signal that is quasi co-located with the source reference signal, as taught by Muruganathan because it would better channel estimation, improved beam tracking, and lower system overhead (Muruganathan, ¶0106-¶0107).
As to claim 2, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1. In addition, CHA receive the demodulation reference signal on a downlink shared channel that is quasi co-located with the source reference signal (¶0011, “the first DL RS and the second DL RS may be received based on one or more RS resources with same quasi co-location (QCL) type D among different RS resources”; ¶0133, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH. The QCL relationship is configured by the following RRC parameters: qcl-Type1 for the first DL RS and qcl-Type2 (if configured) for the second DL RS”).
As to claim 3, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1. In addition, CHA discloses the differential measurement from the demodulation reference signal is based at least in part on the demodulation reference signal being associated with a transmission configuration indicator state of the source reference signal (¶0114, “The PDCCH is transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET). A CORESET is defined as a set of REGs having a given numerology (e.g., SCS, CP length, and so on). A plurality of CORESETs for one UE may overlap with each other in the time/frequency domain. A CORESET may be configured by system information…”; ¶0129; ¶0130, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH”; ¶0132; ¶0133, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH. The QCL relationship is configured by the following RRC parameters: qcl-Type1 for the first DL RS and qcl-Type2 (if configured) for the second DL RS”; ¶0140; ¶0216).
As to claim 4, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the indication of the source reference signal includes a transmission configuration indicator state associated with the source reference signal, a reference signal identifier for the source reference signal, or both (¶0114, “The PDCCH is transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET). A CORESET is defined as a set of REGs having a given numerology (e.g., SCS, CP length, and so on). A plurality of CORESETs for one UE may overlap with each other in the time/frequency domain. A CORESET may be configured by system information…”; ¶0129; ¶0130, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH”; ¶0132; ¶0133, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH. The QCL relationship is configured by the following RRC parameters: qcl-Type1 for the first DL RS and qcl-Type2 (if configured) for the second DL RS”; ¶0140; ¶0216).
As to claim 5, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the reference signal identifier is a synchronization signal block resource identifier or a channel state information reference signal resource identifier (¶0016, “the first DL RS may be a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)”; ¶0077, “The SSB includes a primary synchronization signal (PSS), a secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH)”; ¶0321, “the first DL RS is CSI-RS resource #1, and the second DL RS is PRS resource #1, the QCL type D source of CSI-RS resource #1 may be CSI-RS resource #2, and the QCL type D source of PRS resource #1 may be CSI-RS resource #3”).
As to claim 6, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the downlink shared channel is a semi-persistent scheduling downlink shared channel (¶0080, “receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”; ¶0081; ¶0083; ¶0109-¶0110).
As to claim 7, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the demodulation reference signal on a downlink control channel with a frequency domain precoder cycling, wherein the downlink control channel is quasi co-located with the source reference signal (¶0110, “The PDSCH may deliver up to two codewords. Scrambling and modulation mapping are performed on a codeword basis, and modulation symbols generated from each codeword are mapped to one or more layers (layer mapping). Each layer together with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is mapped to resources, generated as an OFDM symbol signal, and transmitted through a corresponding antenna port”; ¶0113, “The PDCCH carries downlink control information (DCI) and is modulated in quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK). One PDCCH includes 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 control channel elements (CCEs) according to an aggregation level (AL). One CCE includes 6 resource element groups (REGs). One REG is defined by one OFDM symbol by one (P)RB”; ¶0114).
As to claim 8, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the instructions to receive the demodulation reference signal are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the demodulation reference signal in one or more resource element groups associated with the source reference signal based at least in part on the indication of the source reference signal (¶0110, “The PDSCH may deliver up to two codewords. Scrambling and modulation mapping are performed on a codeword basis, and modulation symbols generated from each codeword are mapped to one or more layers (layer mapping). Each layer together with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is mapped to resources, generated as an OFDM symbol signal, and transmitted through a corresponding antenna port”; ¶0113, “The PDCCH carries downlink control information (DCI) and is modulated in quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK). One PDCCH includes 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 control channel elements (CCEs) according to an aggregation level (AL). One CCE includes 6 resource element groups (REGs). One REG is defined by one OFDM symbol by one (P)RB”; ¶0114).
As to claim 9, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the indication of the source reference signal includes a transmission configuration indicator state associated with the source reference signal, a reference signal identifier for the source reference signal, a group of resource element groups, or any combination thereof (¶0114, “The PDCCH is transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET). A CORESET is defined as a set of REGs having a given numerology (e.g., SCS, CP length, and so on). A plurality of CORESETs for one UE may overlap with each other in the time/frequency domain. A CORESET may be configured by system information…”; ¶0129; ¶0130, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH”; ¶0132; ¶0133, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH. The QCL relationship is configured by the following RRC parameters: qcl-Type1 for the first DL RS and qcl-Type2 (if configured) for the second DL RS”; ¶0140; ¶0216).
As to claim 10, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the demodulation reference signal on a downlink control channel with a time domain precoder cycling, wherein the downlink control channel is quasi co-located with the source reference signal (¶0110, “The PDSCH may deliver up to two codewords. Scrambling and modulation mapping are performed on a codeword basis, and modulation symbols generated from each codeword are mapped to one or more layers (layer mapping). Each layer together with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is mapped to resources, generated as an OFDM symbol signal, and transmitted through a corresponding antenna port”; ¶0113, “The PDCCH carries downlink control information (DCI) and is modulated in quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK). One PDCCH includes 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 control channel elements (CCEs) according to an aggregation level (AL). One CCE includes 6 resource element groups (REGs). One REG is defined by one OFDM symbol by one (P)RB”; ¶0114; ¶0130, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH”; ¶0133, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH. The QCL relationship is configured by the following RRC parameters: qcl-Type1 for the first DL RS and qcl-Type2 (if configured) for the second DL RS”).
As to claim 11, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the instructions to receive the demodulation reference signal are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the demodulation reference signal in a monitoring occasion associated with the source reference signal, a search space associated with the source reference signal, a control resource set associated with the source reference signal, or any combination thereof, based at least in part on the indication of the source reference signal (¶0110, “The PDSCH may deliver up to two codewords. Scrambling and modulation mapping are performed on a codeword basis, and modulation symbols generated from each codeword are mapped to one or more layers (layer mapping). Each layer together with a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) is mapped to resources, generated as an OFDM symbol signal, and transmitted through a corresponding antenna port”; ¶0122-¶0125; ¶0133; ¶0389).
As to claim 12, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the indication of the source reference signal includes a transmission configuration indicator state associated with the source reference signal, a reference signal identifier for the source reference signal, one or more downlink control channel monitoring occasion identifiers associated with a set of downlink control channel repetitions, one or more downlink control channel search space identifier associated with a set of downlink control channel repetitions, or any combination thereof (¶0114, “The PDCCH is transmitted in a control resource set (CORESET). A CORESET is defined as a set of REGs having a given numerology (e.g., SCS, CP length, and so on). A plurality of CORESETs for one UE may overlap with each other in the time/frequency domain. A CORESET may be configured by system information…”; ¶0129, “decode a PDSCH based on a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the corresponding UE and a given serving cell, a list of up to M TCI-state configurations may be configured by the higher layer parameter PDSCH-Config”; ¶0130, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH”; ¶0132; ¶0133, “Each TCI-state includes parameters for establishing a QCL relationship between one or two DL RSs and DMRS ports of the PDSCH. The QCL relationship is configured by the following RRC parameters: qcl-Type1 for the first DL RS and qcl-Type2 (if configured) for the second DL RS”; ¶0140; ¶0216).
As to claim 13, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine a second differential measurement for the source reference signal based at least in part on measuring a second demodulation reference signal of the plurality of demodulation reference signals; and transmit, to network entity, a third report indicating the second differential measurement for the source reference signal (Fig. 17, 1709; Fig. 18, 1809; Fig. 19, 1909; ¶0018, “reporting the information on the difference may include reporting information on the difference based on reception of information configured to report the difference between the second measurement and the first measurement”; ¶0044, “reducing signaling overhead by reporting a different between a second measurement based on a second RS and a first measurement based on a first RS”; ¶0298, “the UE may report to the LMF/location server/BS measurement 1 obtained based on a first DL RS resource and/or resource set. When the UE is configured to report (as an additional measurement) measurement 2 obtained based on a second DL RS resource and/or resource set, the UE may report a difference between measurement 1 and measurement 1, instead of reporting measurement 2”; ¶0356, “In operations 1709, 1809, and 1909 according to exemplary embodiments, the UE may transmit/report information on a difference between the second and first measurements”).
As to claim 14, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a control message configuring resources for a channel state information report corresponding, the resources corresponding to a periodicity of a semi-periodic scheduling downlink shared channel resource carrying the plurality of demodulation reference signals, wherein the second report is a first channel state information report, and the third report is a second channel state information report (¶0313, “the first DL RS is an SSB/CSI-RS and the second DL RS is a PRS, the UE may be configured/instructed to report UE measurement information obtained based on the first DL RS to the BS and report UE measurement information obtained based on the second DL RS to the LMF/location server. In this case, the BS may inform the LMF/location server of the reported first DL RS measurement information”).
As to claim 15, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions to transmit the second report are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit a channel state information report indicating the differential measurement (¶0233, “CSI-RS: channel state information reference signal”; ¶0312, “The first DL RS and second DL RS may be configured/indicated as the same type of RS. As an example, it may be considered that both the first DL RS and second DL RS are PRSs. As another example, it may be considered that both the first DL RS and second DL RS are SSBs/CSI-RSs”).
As to claim 16, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from network entity, a control message disabling reporting differential measurements for the source reference signal (¶0166, “A PRS in a certain positioning occasion may be transmitted with zero power, which is referred to as PRS muting”; ¶0178, “in FIG. 9 it may be assumed that the UE is in a connected mode. However, the signaling connection may be released by an NG-RAN as a result of signaling and data inactivity while a positioning procedure is still ongoing”).
As to claim 17, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the control message is received via a medium access control element or downlink control information, or both (¶0140, “The UE may receive an activation command used to map up to 8 TCI states to the code point of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ through medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling”).
As to claim 18, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of source reference signals are transmitted by a plurality of transmission reception points, the first network entity corresponding to a first transmission reception point of the plurality of transmission reception points (Fig. 18; ¶0009, “receiving a first downlink (DL) reference signal (RS) and a second DL RS; obtaining a first measurement related to positioning based on the first DL RS; reporting information on the first measurement; obtaining a second measurement related to the positioning based on the second DL RS; and reporting information on a difference between the second measurement and the first measurement”; ¶0012, “each of the first measurement and the second measurement may be a measurement for a reception-transmission (RX-TX) time difference”).
As to claim 19, CHA discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the differential measurement is a differential reference signal received power measurement, a differential channel quality indicator measurement, or both, with reference to the measurement for the first beam (¶0213; ¶0318, “The reason for this is that since only the difference between the UE measurements obtained based on the first DL RS and second DL RS is reported, the UE may need to acquire the measurements for the first DL RS and second DL RS with the same reception (RX) beam”; ¶0335, “When the measurement obtained by receiving the second DL RS is reported, only the difference from the measurement obtained based on the first DL RS is reported, and thus, information on the quality of the first DL RS may be useful”).
As to claims 20 and 30, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1. In addition, CHA discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity (Fig. 19-Fig. 20; ¶0362), comprising: a processor (Fig. 20, 210); memory (Fig. 20, 225-230) coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (¶0362-¶0365).
As to claim 21, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 2.
As to claim 22, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 7.
As to claim 23, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 8.
As to claim 24, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 10.
As to claim 25, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim.
As to claim 26, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 16.
As to claim 27, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 18.
As to claim 28, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li et al. (US 2025/0119222), BAI et al. (US 2024/0340990), Saggar et al. (US 2022/0150737), HWANG et al. (US 2019/0052377), ZHANG et al. (US 2020/0228297), Matsumura et al. (US 2024/0171243), Tidestav et al. (US 2024/0155408), Yang et al. (US 2022/0029692), Hakola et al. (US 2022/0239352) disclose method and apparatus for measurement reporting for wireless communication.
/JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 August 3, 2026