DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ response to restriction requirement filed on August 31, 2026, have been received and entered. Claims 1-16 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of claims 1-5 (group I) in the reply filed on August 31, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims in each of four groups are so related such that the search and examination of all the groups of claims would not result in serious burden for the examiner. Applicant’s argument of search burden is not found persuasive, because instant application is a national stage filing under 35 U.S.C. 371 and according to MPEP 1893.03(d), whether or not a serious burden is required is not a proper basis of traversal in a national stage application Applicant should note that the examiner has required restriction between product and process claims. If the product claims are found allowable, withdrawn process claims (group II-III) that depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of the allowable product claim will be considered for rejoinder as indicated in previous office action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 31, 2026.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2023/012351 filed on 02/04/2023, which claims priority from US provisional application no 63/267,551 filed on 02/04/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2024 and 04/04/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allbritton et al (US20180002672, 01/04/2018, IDS) as evidenced by Thorne (Developmental Cell 2018, 44, 624–633).
With respect to claims 1, Allbritton teaches an organoid (para. 132) comprising a plurality of cells derived from a human (para. 132) ascending colon, said organoid comprising at least two compartments: a first compartment and a second compartment (see para. 97). It is disclosed that a scaffold is used that possesses an array of microwells and a gradient to guide the generation of colonic epithelium with a polarized architecture (i.e. distinct proliferative and non-proliferative zones or stem-cell and differentiated-cell compartments); wherein the first compartment comprises undifferentiated stem cells (para. 97, stem-cell compartments), and the second compartment comprises differentiated cells (see para. 97) (differentiated-cell compartments). Regarding broad range limitation of "wherein the first compartment comprises at least 10% undifferentiated stem cells, and the second compartment comprises at least 60% differentiated cells and less than 0.1% undifferentiated stem cells", it is noted that Allbritton teaches differentiated cells (e.g., enterocytes, Paneth cells, enteroendocrine cells, tuft cells, microcells, intra-epithelial lymphocytes, and/or goblet cells) and undifferentiated cells (e.g., stem or progenitor cells) in in a ratio of from 10:10,000 (1% :99% up to 10,000:10 (99% : 1%). MPEP 2144.05 states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”. The claimed broad range is further evidenced by the teaching of Throne who reported two distinct compartments comprising at least 10% of undifferentiated stem cells, and the second compartment comprises at least 60% differentiated cells and less than 0.1% undifferentiated stem cells (see fig. S3, D-F).
Regarding claim 2 Allbritton teaches that the plurality of cells is derived from normal colon cells, (see para. 134).
With respect to claim 3, Allbritton teaches the plurality of gastrointestinal epithelial cell may be of tumor origin (see para. 39, 62). Given the organoid disclosed by Allbritton comprises plurality of cells of tumor origin appears to be same as one recited in the claims and therefore it must possess inherent/implicit feature of lacking contact inhibition.
With respect to claim 4, Allbritton teaches that the plurality of cells forms a monolayer on a tissue culture plate (para. 11c, 14b and claims 26-28 of ‘672).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the respective teachings of prior art to further optimize the stem-cell and differentiated-cell ratio in time and space allowing organoid to form patterned in distinct compartment of crypt containing stem cell and lumen with differentiated cells , with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant application. A person of skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the ratio of stem cells and differentiated cells in the organoid so that it is polarized into distinct proliferative and non-proliferative zones to mimic that present in vivo colon tissue (see para. 97). One who would have practiced the invention would have had reasonable expectations of success because prior art had already disclosed optimizing the ratio of differentiated cells (e.g., enterocytes, Paneth cells, enteroendocrine cells, tuft cells, microcells, intra-epithelial lymphocytes, and/or goblet cells) and undifferentiated cells (e.g., stem or progenitor cells) from 10:10,000 (1% :99% up to 10,000:10 (99% : 1%). It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support the finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov /web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Thus, the claimed invention, as a whole, is clearly prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allbritton et al (US2018002672, 01/04/2018, IDS) as evidenced by Thorne (Developmental Cell 2018, 44, 624–633), Kabiri al (The Journal of Clinical Investigation, 2019, 128(9), 3806-3812) and Wei et al. (Development (2020) 147, 1-11)
The teaching of Allbritton and Throne have been described above and relied in same manner here. The combination of reference differs from claimed invention by not disclosing the implicit characteristics of lower activity of Erk kinase activity in undifferentiated stem cells (para. 97, stem-cell compartments) in as compared to higher Erk kinase activity in second region comprises differentiated cells.
Before the effective filing date of instant application, Kabiri teaches ERK activity is low in colonic crypts [containing undifferentiated stem cells] and increases as cells become more differentiated (see page 3810, col. 1 & Fig. 3). The fact is additionally supported by Wei who reported reduction or loss of ERK1/2 triggers the expansion of stem cells (fig.3 & page 1, col. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the respective teachings of prior art to further characterize stem-cell and differentiated-cell in the organoid as disclosed in Allbritton by establishing the level of ERK kinase activity, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant application. A person of skill in the art would have been motivated to characterize implicit characteristics of stem-cell and differentiated-intestinal cells in both compartment of the organoid because intestinal homeostasis depends on a slowly proliferating stem cell compartment in crypt cells, followed by rapid proliferation of committed progenitor cells in the transit amplifying (TA) compartment depends on the ERK activity. One who would have practiced the invention would have had reasonable expectation of success because prior art had already disclosed a ERK activity is higher in differentiated cells as compared to expression in undifferentiated stem cell It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support the finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www. uspto.gov /web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Thus, the claimed invention, as a whole, is clearly prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allbritton et al (US2018002672) as evidenced by Thorne (Developmental Cell 2018, 44, 624–633), Clevers (US20140243227, 8/28/2014 IDS) and Pavel et al. (Nature communication, 2018, 296, 1-18).
Claim interpretation: Recitation of cell being of tumor origin and therefore lack contact inhibition is interpreted as implicit characteristics of cell of tumor origin.
The teaching of Allbritton and Throne have been described above and relied in same manner here. Allbritton teaches the plurality of gastrointestinal epithelial cells may be of tumor origin (see para. 39, 62). The combination of reference differs from claimed invention by not disclosing the implicit characteristics of plurality of cells is of tumor origin and therefore lacks contact inhibition.
Before the effective filing date of instant application, Clevers teaches an organoid (abstract) wherein the plurality of cells is of tumor origin (para. 482), wherein the tumor is obtained from a biopsy from a patient (see para. 146, 484, 756-758). Pavel teaches implicit characteristics of the malignant transformation, leading to uncontrolled proliferation and solid tumor formation. It is disclosed that high cell density or soft ECM promotes the contact inhibition of proliferation, the property of cells to cease proliferation and growth when they reach contact with the neighboring cells. The loss of this behavior is a hallmark for malignant transformation, tumor (see page 11, col. 2, para. 1).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the respective teachings of prior art with the teaching of Clevers to use tumor cells in the organoid and further characterize by establishing proliferation of tumor cells as they implicitly lack contact inhibition as suggested in Pavel, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant application. A person of skill in the art would have been motivated to characterize implicit characteristics of tumor cells that continue to proliferate in spite in contact with the neighboring cells. One who would have practiced the invention would have had reasonable expectations of success because prior art had already disclosed that implicit characteristic of cell of tumor origin that lacks contact inhibition as disclosed in Pavel. It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support the finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: uspto.gov /web/offices/ dcom/bpai/ prec/fd071925. pdf).
Thus, the claimed invention, as a whole, is clearly prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product (an organoid comprising a plurality of cells) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) composition of matter.
The claims are drawn to an organoid comprising a plurality of cells derived from a human, said organoid comprising at least two compartments: a first compartment and a second compartment, wherein the first compartment comprises at least 10% undifferentiated stem cells, and the second compartment comprises at least 60% differentiated cells and less than 0.1% undifferentiated stem cells. Dependent claims limit the plurality of cells is derived from normal colon cells, or from adenomatous polyp and wherein the plurality of cells is of tumor origin and wherein the plurality of cells forms a monolayer on a tissue culture plate and wherein Erk kinase activity is lower in the first compartment than Erk kinase activity in the second compartment.
Step 1: The claim recites an organoid comprising a plurality of cells derived from a human, said organoid comprising at least two compartments: which is human intestinal tissue. Because organoid comprising a plurality of cells derived from a human, said organoid comprising at least two compartments: a first compartment and a second compartment, wherein the first compartment comprises at least 10% undifferentiated stem cells, and the second compartment comprises at least 60% differentiated cells and less than 0.1% undifferentiated stem cells. Are composed of matter, the organoid (product) is a composition of matter, (Step 1: YES).
The art teaches that human colonic organoids are naturally occurring (see Whitehead et al., 1987, In Vitro Cellular and Developmental Biology, Vol. 23(6), pgs. 436-442, see the Introduction in particular). The instant specification states “the disclosed human colon organoid demonstrates patterning in vitro that is similar to those observed in vivo “(see para. 5) suggesting the claimed organoid is structurally and functionally similar to one naturally occurs. It is further disclosed that patterning is especially evident in the human colon, where tissue homeostasis is maintained by stem cells in crypt structures that balance proliferation and differentiation (see para. 3). Pond et al ( ) teaches human colon requires ongoing regeneration and renewal over a lifespan; this need relies on finely tuned communication between differentiated and stem cells. One way the colonic epithelium maintains both complexity and plasticity is through long-distance signaling driven by cell turnover. As cells differentiate and are eliminated from the epithelium, dying cells initiate an ERK wave that triggers local cell tropism towards the death event and stimulates differentiation of replacement cells. This process is an efficient way for the colon to maintain the correct proportions of stem and differentiated cells in distinct spatial compartments (see page 10, last para, to 13, para. 1). Pond emphasizes that “the primary human colonic tissue can be expanded and transformed into monolayers that phenocopy key characteristics observed in the tissue of origin” (see page 13, para. 2).
Step 2A Prong One: Because claim 1 recites a nature-based product limitation (an organoid comprising a plurality of human cells derived, said organoid comprising at least two compartments: a first compartment and a second compartment, wherein the first compartment comprises at least 10% undifferentiated stem cells, and the second compartment comprises at least 60% differentiated cells), the markedly different characteristics analysis is used to determine if the nature-based product limitation is a product of nature exception. MPEP 2106.04(c)(I). Here, the closest natural counterpart is naturally occurring intestinal tissue. When the claimed organoid is compared to this counterpart, the comparison indicates that there are no differences in structure, function, or other characteristics. There is nothing in the claim that are phenotypically different from what exists in nature or any difference that arose due to applicant’s efforts. The claim thus encompasses colon organoids that are identical to naturally occurring counterparts. Because there is no difference between the claimed and naturally occurring cells for at least some of the embodiments encompassed by the claim, the claimed organoid does not have markedly different characteristics and thus are a “product of nature” exception. See Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics Inc., 569 U.S. 576, 580 (2013) ("[A] naturally occurring DNA segment is a product of nature and not patent eligible merely because it has been isolated."). In re Roslin Institute (Edinburgh), 750 F.3d 1333, 1338-39 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Step 2(A), Prong 2
In view of foregoing analysis, it is apparent that claims recite a judicial exception of a naturally occurring organoid, they would still be patent-eligible if "the claim ss a whole integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception." The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because each of the dependent claims further defines the inherent characteristic of a naturally occurring adenomatous polyp that lacks contact inhibition or Erk kinase activity that is lower in undifferentiated cell as compared to ERK activity in differentiated cells as evident from the teaching of Kabiri al (The Journal of Clinical Investigation, 2019, 128(9), 3806-3812) and Wei et al. (Development (2020) 147, 1-11). The claimed organoids are not significantly different from naturally occurring human colon tissue or adenomatous polyp. Thus, the organoid, when recited at this high level of generality, does not meaningfully limit the claim, and the claim as a whole does not amount to significantly more than “product of nature” by itself. There is no structural or phenotypic difference in any of the claimed organoid that distinguish them from naturally occurring colon tissue. Although the limitation indicates that the cells forms monolayer or a tissue culture plate, it does not provide any information as to how the cells are differently plated, but instead covers any possible plate that a scientist decides to use. Because organoids are naturally occurring component must be placed on a plate in order to store and use it, merely reciting a generic “plate” thus fails to meaningfully limit the claim because it is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Accordingly, the plating the organoid does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception Further, there is no additional element that integrates the recited naturally occurring product (naturally occurring colon tissue) into a practical application of the judicial exception In summary, there is no additional elements recited in the claims, considered individually or in combination, does not integrate the recited, naturally occurring organoid into a practical application of the judicial exception. Myriad clarified that not every change to a product will result in a marked difference, and that the mere recitation of particular words (e.g., “isolated” or “excipient or carrier”) in the claims does not automatically confer eligibility. Id. at 2119. See also Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294 (eligibility does not “depend simply on the draftsman’s art”).
Step 2(B)
The claims recite a naturally occurring organoid that do not differ markedly, if at all, from naturally occurring colon tissue. As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the claim recites a single additional element of a generic tissue culture plate, which is at best the equivalent of merely adding the words “apply it” to the judicial exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept (Step 2B: NO). Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sato et al (US20120196312) teaches crypt-villus organoids, gastric organoids, and colon organoids (abstract and examples).
/ANOOP K SINGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632