DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-15, 18, 20-24, 28-30, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walaa et al. (GB 2616297) in view of Buckley (Pub. No. 20190110238).
- With respect to claims 1-2, 13-14, 21, 29-30 , Walaa teaches a method for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising: relaying communications between one or more second UEs and a third UE based at least in part on a sidelink relay operation wherein the relaying comprises communicating with the one or more second UEs over a first link and communicating with the third UE over a second link (e.g. Fig. 2b discloses UE-to-UE relay communicate with source UE to destination UE); receiving, from the one or more second UEs, control signaling indicating a request for one or more temporary identifications assigned to the one or more second UEs, the third UE, or both, for the sidelink relay operation (e.g. page 12, lines 15-28 discloses identification for UE and Fig. 2a); and transmitting signaling comprising a sidelink relay adaptation protocol header to the one or more second UEs and the third UE, wherein the sidelink relay adaptation protocol header comprises the one or more temporary identifications (e.g. Fig. 2a discloses the SRAP that include identification see page 12, lines 15-28). Walaa explicitly fails to teach request for one or more temporary identifications assigned to the one or more second UEs, Buckley teaches the request of remote UE (see par. 45, 53 and 91). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the method of request for one or more temporary identifications assigned to the one or more second UEs into Walaa’s invention to control and protection in wireless communication.
- With respect to claims 3, 15, Walaa teaches wherein transmitting the signaling comprises: relaying one or more messages associated with establishing an end-to- end link of a set of end-to-end links between the one or more second UEs and the third UE based at least in part on the sidelink relay operation, wherein the one or more messages comprise the sidelink relay adaptation protocol header (e.g. fig. 2, 3 show end-to-end transmission with SRAP entity).
- With respect to claim 4, Walaa teaches wherein the one or more messages comprise a link request, a security message, a dynamic channel assignment message, or any combination thereof (e.g. link request discloses in page 4, lines 12; page 6, lines 14; page 11, line 12-13).
- With respect to claims 5, 18, Walaa teaches wherein transmitting the signaling comprises: relaying one or more messages associated with an access stratum procedure, wherein the one or more messages comprise the sidelink relay adaptation protocol header (e.g. SRAP discloses in Fig. 2).
- With respect to claims 11, 24, Walaa teaches determining a sidelink measurement associated with the first link is below a threshold (see page 23, lines 20-35), wherein the threshold is configured, preconfigured, or both; and communicating with the third UE based at least in part on a path management procedure, wherein the path management procedure comprises multiplexing reconfiguration or releasing the first link (see page 26, lines 12-17 discloses “the relay UE may decide to release the remote UE connected to the relay UE (or one or more or all of the remote UEs connected to the relay UE if there are more than one remote UE connected to the relay UE) after detecting a link issue”).
- With respect to claims 12, 20, 28, Walaa teaches wherein the control signaling comprises a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) message and the first link and the second link comprise an end-to-end PC5 sidelink link (e.g. Fig. 3, 4 shows PC5, RRC).
- With respect to claim 22, Walaa teaches further comprising: determining whether to release the first link based at least in part on a performance indication associated with the first link, a second link, or both, wherein the first link and the second link are associated with a first end-to-end link of a set of end- to-end links (see page 26, lines 12-17).
- With respect to claim 23, Walaa teaches further comprising: receiving a failure message from the first UE based at least in part on a radio link failure associated with the second link, wherein the performance indication comprises the failure message; and communicating with the first UE based at least in part on a path management procedure, wherein the path management procedure comprises multiplexing reconfiguration or releasing the first link (see page 26, lines 12-17 discloses “the relay UE may decide to release the remote UE connected to the relay UE (or one or more or all of the remote UEs connected to the relay UE if there are more than one remote UE connected to the relay UE) after detecting a link issue”).
- With respect to claim 28, Walaa teaches wherein the control signaling comprises a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) message and the first link and a second link associated with the sidelink relay operation comprise an end-to-end PC5 sidelink link.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10, 16-17, 19, 25-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHUC H TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-3172. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5 Flex.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471