DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Following response to arguments is based on Applicant’s arguments filed on 31 July 2026.
Regarding Previous Rejection Under 35 USC § 112
Previous rejection of claims 1-15 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment to the rejected claims.
Regarding Previous Rejection Under 35 USC § 102
Applicant’s arguments [Pages 6-8] with respect to rejection of claims 1-2, 10, 12-13 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, on pages 7-8, Applicant argues that Zhou fails to teach “first device belonging to a first telecommunication network… second device belonging to a second telecommunication network”.
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s explanation and clarification of the claimed invention. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments and submits as follows.
The claim is not providing further details but a general recitation of first and second devices and networks. For example, on page 7 of the arguments, Applicant refers to MEC and MNO networks, but these networks are not actually recited in the claim (although they are also taught by Zhou).
Additionally, the claim is not providing details of the relevancy of the first and devices, as the main feature of the claim scope is to update data routing via access policies.
Hence, Zhou is still applicable because it does show two different networks 110 and 120 that, as a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize, are linked to their respective devices. Hence, the update of data routing via the update of access policies take place for these networks 110 and 120 [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52].
The Examiner respectfully recommends, for the purpose of moving forward in the prosecution, the incorporation of key features that show how the updating of the data routing function is actually performed.
Regarding claims 2, 10, 12-13, these claims comprise similar limitations to those set forth in independent claim 1, and are rejected based on similar reasoning.
Therefore, in view of the above reasons, the Examiner maintains the rejections.
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, 10, 12-13 have been amended. Claims 14-15 have been canceled. Thus, claims 1-13 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)-(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0353788).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a system (Figs. 1, 4) comprising at least one first device (103) belonging to a first telecommunication network (3gpp) and at least one second device (105) belonging to a second telecommunication network (non-3gpp), wherein the at least one first device comprises at least one processor (1210) configured to:
generate at least one set of parameters for updating an access policy to the first telecommunication network, initiated by obtaining information relating to a modification to the access policy (parameters for updating access polices for the networks are generated by first device of the first network [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]),
transmit the at least one set of parameters for updating the access policy to the first telecommunication network to the at least one second device (the parameters are provided to the second device [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]), and wherein the at least one second device comprises at least one processor configured to:
receive the at least one set of parameters for updating the access policy to the first telecommunication network transmitted by the at least one first device (the second device receives the parameters [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]), and
update a data routing function implemented within the second telecommunication network by means of the at least one set of parameters for updating received (the new policy is then implemented by the second device [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]. Additionally, the claim is not providing further details but a general recitation of first and second devices and networks. For example, on page 7 of the arguments, Applicant refers to MEC and MNO networks, but these networks are not actually recited in the claim (although they are also taught by Zhou). Additionally, the claim is not providing details of the relevancy of the first and devices, as the main feature of the claim scope is to update data routing via access policies. Hence, Zhou is still applicable because it does show two different networks 110 and 120 that, as a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize, are linked to their respective devices. Hence, the update of data routing via the update of access policies take place for these networks 110 and 120 [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches a method for updating an access policy to a first telecommunication network (Figs. 1, 4), comprising the following acts implemented by at least one device (105) belonging to a second telecommunication network (non-3gpp):
receiving at least one set of parameters for updating the access policy to the first telecommunication network (the second device receives the parameters [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]), and
updating a data routing function implemented within the second telecommunication network by means of the at least one set of parameters for updating received (the new policy is then implemented by the second device [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]. Additionally, the claim is not providing further details but a general recitation of first devices and networks. For example, on page 7 of the arguments, Applicant refers to MEC and MNO networks, but these networks are not actually recited in the claim (although they are also taught by Zhou). Additionally, the claim is not providing details of the relevancy of the first device, as the main feature of the claim scope is to update data routing via access policies. Hence, Zhou is still applicable because it does show two different networks 110 and 120 that, as a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize, are linked to their respective devices. Hence, the update of data routing via the update of access policies take place for these networks 110 and 120 [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou further teaches the method for updating an access policy according to claim 2, wherein the set of parameters for updating the access policy comprises at least one parameter belonging to a group comprising:
a network address of at least one access server to the first network ([Paragraph 49]),
an address of at least one terminal of the second network ([Paragraph 49]),
the address of a network of the second network ([Paragraph 52]),
an identifier of the first network ([Paragraph 59]),
a domain or sub-domain name whose management is delegated to at least one access server to the first network ([Paragraph 31]),
a domain name to which at least one access server to the first network belongs ([Paragraph 49]), and
an identifier of at least one compute node in a node cluster, the compute node belonging to the first network ([Paragraph 59]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou further teaches the method for updating an access policy according to claim 3, wherein the parameters included in the at least one set of parameters for updating the access policy are selected according to rights associated with a mobile terminal attached to the second network ([Paragraphs 26, 47]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou further teaches the method for updating an access policy according to claim 3, wherein the parameters included in the at least one set of parameters for updating the access policy are selected according to services hosted within the first network ([Paragraphs 31, 62, 71]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou further teaches the method for updating an access policy according to claim 2, wherein the updating comprises the transmission of information for updating the data routing function to another entity of the second network implementing the data routing function ([Paragraphs 18, 33]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou further teaches the method for updating an access policy according to claim 6, wherein the device implements a function for coordinating the access to the transmission medium of the second network ([Paragraphs 33-34, 53, 65]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou further teaches the method for updating an access policy according to claim 6, wherein the device implements a function for predicting the load of the second network ([Paragraphs 6, 25-26]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou further teaches the method for updating an access policy according to claim 6, wherein the device implements a function for exposing the capacities of the second network ([Paragraphs 28, 30, 38]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches a method of communicating (Figs. 1, 4) between a first device (103) of a first telecommunication network (3gpp) and at least one second device (105) belonging to a second telecommunication network (non-3gpp), the method being implemented by the first device and comprising the following:
generating at least one set of parameters for updating the access policy to the first network, initiated by obtaining information relating to a modification to the access policy (parameters for updating access polices for the networks are generated by first device of the first network [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]), and
transmitting, to the second device, the set of parameters for updating the access policy to the first network (the parameters are provided to the second device [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]. Additionally, the claim is not providing further details but a general recitation of first and second devices and networks. For example, on page 7 of the arguments, Applicant refers to MEC and MNO networks, but these networks are not actually recited in the claim (although they are also taught by Zhou). Additionally, the claim is not providing details of the relevancy of the first and devices, as the main feature of the claim scope is to update data routing via access policies. Hence, Zhou is still applicable because it does show two different networks 110 and 120 that, as a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize, are linked to their respective devices. Hence, the update of data routing via the update of access policies take place for these networks 110 and 120 [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou further teaches the method of communicating between a first device in a first telecommunication network and at least one second device belonging to a second telecommunication network according to claim 10, wherein obtaining information relating to a modification of the access policy occurs at repeated time intervals ([Paragraphs 48, 51]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches a device (Fig. 1, 4 - 103) belonging to a first telecommunication network (3gpp) comprising at least one processor configured to:
receive at least one set of parameters for updating an access policy to a second telecommunication network (parameters for updating access polices for the networks are generated by first device of the first network [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]), and
update a data routing function implemented within the first network by means of the set of parameters for updating received (the new policy is then implemented by the second device [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]. Additionally, the claim is not providing further details but a general recitation of first and second devices and networks. For example, on page 7 of the arguments, Applicant refers to MEC and MNO networks, but these networks are not actually recited in the claim (although they are also taught by Zhou). Additionally, the claim is not providing details of the relevancy of the first and devices, as the main feature of the claim scope is to update data routing via access policies. Hence, Zhou is still applicable because it does show two different networks 110 and 120 that, as a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize, are linked to their respective devices. Hence, the update of data routing via the update of access policies take place for these networks 110 and 120 [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52])).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches a device (103) belonging to a first telecommunication network (3gpp) comprising at least one processor configured to:
generate at least one set of parameters for updating the access policy to the first network, initiated by obtaining information relating to a modification to the access policy (parameters for updating access polices for the networks are generated by first device of the first network [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]), and
transmit, to a second device belonging to a second telecommunication network, the set of parameters for updating the access policy to the first network (the parameters are provided to the second device [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52]. Additionally, the claim is not providing further details but a general recitation of first and second devices and networks. For example, on page 7 of the arguments, Applicant refers to MEC and MNO networks, but these networks are not actually recited in the claim (although they are also taught by Zhou). Additionally, the claim is not providing details of the relevancy of the first and devices, as the main feature of the claim scope is to update data routing via access policies. Hence, Zhou is still applicable because it does show two different networks 110 and 120 that, as a person having ordinary skills in the art would recognize, are linked to their respective devices. Hence, the update of data routing via the update of access policies take place for these networks 110 and 120 [Paragraphs 35-36, 41, 47, 50, 52])).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
August 14, 2026
/FABRICIO R MURILLO GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633