DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Claims 1-4 are currently being examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 1400 second exchange unit.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) are:
Transport mission apparatus in claim 1. Structures described in the specification include general cargo, artillery shells [See at least Par. 0014].
First exchange unit in claims 1 and 2. Structures described in the specification include a first fitting holder and first securing coupler on a lower surface of the main body [See at least Par. 0010].
Second exchange unit in claims 1 and 3. Structures described in the specification include a second fitting holder and second securing coupler on an upper surface of the payload (transport mission apparatus) [See at least Par. 0011].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 2020/0045229).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee et al. discloses:
An unmanned aerial vehicle provided with a detachable transport mission apparatus, [See at least Fig. 5, Ref. Numerals 100 (unmanned aerial vehicle) with 130 (detachable box); Par. 0001, 0028] the unmanned aerial vehicle comprising:
a main body; [See at least Fig. 5, Ref. Numeral 101 (main body); Par. 0030, 0031]
a transport mission apparatus detachably coupled to the main body to transport a certain item; [See at least Fig. 5, Ref. Numeral 130 (detachable box)]
a first exchange unit provided to a lower side of the main body to be coupled to or uncoupled from the transport mission apparatus; [See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numeral 112 and 110 (frame and locking portions to couple and uncouple from box 130] and
a second exchange unit provided to an upper side of the transport mission apparatus to be coupled to or uncoupled from the first exchange unit. [See at least Fig. 4, Ref. Numeral 131 (coupling ring)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 2020/0045229) in view of SZ DJI Technology (DE 2020/14011083).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. discloses:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the first exchange unit comprises:
a first securing coupler disposed on the lower surface of the main body and comprising at least one first securing hole. [See at least Fig. 3, Ref. Numeral 110 (locking part, securing coupler) with securing hole]; Par. 0031-0034]
While Lee et al. discloses a removable payload for a drone with fitting and securing components, Lee et al. does not explicitly disclose the fitting and securing components as physically separate components with a second set of components for fitting separate from the securing components on each of the drone and payload. With respect to these limitations, SZ DJI Technology, directed to the same technology — unmanned aerial vehicles with interchangeable payloads — teaches:
a first fitting holder protruding from a lower surface of the main body; [See at least Figs. 1 and 11G, Ref. Numeral 110, 1100 (mounting platform, 1100 is details of 110), mounting base 1122 (Fig. 11G) attached to lower surface of drone main body as shown by 110 attached to 104 (Fig. 1); Par. 0001, 0016, 0038, 0056] and
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. to incorporate the teachings of SZ DJI Technology and combine the second set of components for fitting separate from the securing components on each of the drone and payload with the removable payload for a drone with fitting and securing components of Lee et al. The second set of components for fitting separate from the securing components on each of the drone and payload of SZ DJI Technology allows independent alignment and adjustment of the fitting versus securing components, enabling increased adjustability and effectiveness.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the capability to combine the second set of components for fitting separate from the securing components on each of the drone and payload of SZ DJI Technology with the removable payload for a drone with fitting and securing components of Lee et al. and would have recognized that the combination would yield predictable results. Even in the combined context, the features of the removable payload for a drone with fitting and securing components of Lee et al. and the features of the second set of components for fitting separate from the securing components on each of the drone and payload of SZ DJI Technology would be expected to function as intended, with each element in the combined context performing the same function as it did separately.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of SZ DJI Technology because they are a known work in the same field of endeavor directed to the same technology (unmanned aerial vehicles with interchangeable payloads), which would prompt its use based on design improvements that are predictable and recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. discloses:
The device according to claim 2, wherein the second exchange unit comprises:
a second securing coupler disposed on the upper surface of the transport mission apparatus and comprising at least one second securing hole. [See at least Figs. 3 and 4, Ref. Numeral 131 (ring of payload box) with second securing hole; Par. 0034-0036]
SZ DJI Technology teaches what Lee et al. lacks:
a second fitting holder disposed on an upper surface of the transport mission apparatus and defining a fitting hole therein; [See at least Fig. 11G, Ref. Numeral 1120; Par. 0141] and
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. to incorporate the teachings of SZ DJI Technology as discussed above, see claim 2.
For examination purposes, the cavity-tab characteristics (where the tab fits into/within the cavity) of the U or C-shaped fitting of Lee et al. have been construed as equivalent to the instant as a mere reversal of parts. Whether the tab portion is attached to the drone or the payload (or vice versa) has no effect on the fitting’s function, which is to couple the payload to the drone body via a tab and cavity configuration.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 2020/0045229) in view of SZ DJI Technology (DE 2020/14011083) and further in view of Morgan (US 2019/0276129).
Regarding claim 4, SZ DJI Technology teaches:
The unmanned aerial vehicle according to claim 3,
wherein the first fitting holder is inserted into the fitting hole formed in the second fitting holder, [See at least Fig. 11G, Ref. Numerals 1122 and 1120; Par. 0141] and
While Lee et al. and SZ DJI Technology teach fitting holders fitted together and securing couplers which lock, they do not teach the securing holes aligned colinearly. With respect to these limitations, Morgan, directed to the same technology — aerial vehicles with interchangeable payloads — teaches:
the first securing hole and the second securing hole are disposed to face each other such that a center of the first securing hole and a center of the second securing hole are collinearly located. [See at least Par. 0009, 0012]
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee et al. and SZ DJI Technology to incorporate the teachings of Morgan and substitute the colinearly alignment into the securing couplers of Lee et al. Colinearly aligned holes for payload release (often with pins) are well-established and widely used in aircraft and aeronautics applications, with controllable alignment and connection points for a wide range of payloads.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had the capability to substitute the colinear alignment of Morgan into the securing couplers of Lee et al. and would have recognized that the combination would yield predictable results. Even in the combined context, the features of the colinear alignment of Morgan and the securing couplers of Lee et al. would be expected to function as intended, with each element in the combined context performing the same function as it did separately.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the teachings of Morgan because they are a known work in the same field of endeavor directed to the same technology (unmanned aerial vehicles with interchangeable payloads), which would prompt its use based on design improvements that are predictable and recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Examiner's Note
High level of generality in the claims: Examiner notes, the claims as currently written present limitations at a high level of generality, while the drawings and specification illustrate specific configuration(s). Incorporation of explicit details of the configuration(s) with structural details and/or functions in the claims could provide additional details which may lead to distinguishing features over the prior art of record.
Prior Art: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and figures in the references as applied to the claims set forth hereinabove for the convenience of the Applicant. While the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claims, other passages and figures in the cited references may be applicable, as well. It is respectfully requested that the Applicant, in preparing any response to the Office Action, fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, in addition to the context of the passage(s) as taught by the prior art or as disclosed by the Examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is required to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definitions that are not specifically set forth in the claims.
English Translations: If a prior art reference has been relied upon to map the claim limitations that is in a language other than English, Examiner has provided both the original reference and an English translation of the reference as attachments to the Office Action. Applicant is encouraged to refer to the provided English translation for cited pages and/or paragraphs in the mapping of prior art to claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure [See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited] because the prior art references contain subject matter that relates to one or more of Applicant’s claim limitations.
/EM/Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655