DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 18/994758 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a steel sheet for hot pressing with a 7-20 µm coating on both sides of the steel sheet composed of Ni or Ni-based alloy with a Zn content of 0-10% by mass. This is patentably indistinct of claim 1 of the ‘758 application which recites a steel sheet for hot pressing with a 0.5-6.0 µm coating on both sides of the steel sheet composed of Ni or Ni-based alloy with a Zn content of 0-30% by mass. While the instant claims and those of the ‘758 application recite different thicknesses, the courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A). It is the examiner’s opinion that there is no distinction between the claimed lower limit of 7 µm and the upper limit of 6.0 µm recited in the ‘758 application.
Instant claim 2 recites further metals and masses overlapping claim 3 of the ‘758 application. Instant claim 3 recites a hot-pressed member overlapping claim 4 of the ‘758 application. Instant claim 4 recites an oxide layer overlapping claims 11-13 of the ‘758 application. Instant claim 5 recites overlapping claims 11-13 of the ‘758 application. Instant claims 6-7 recite methods overlapping claims 14-15, respectively, of the ’758 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (JP2011-122207 – machine translation).
Considering claim 1, Nakamura teaches a steel sheet for hot pressing (abstract) where the steel sheet has a nickel plating on both sides (Paragraph 49) where the plating layer may be in a weight of 10-90,000 mg/m2 (Paragraph 14) corresponding to a thickness up to about 10 µm (from ~8.96 g/m2 corresponding to ~1 µm) and where the coating may be Ni only or may contain other metallic elements including Zn, Mn, Cr, etc. (Paragraph 18) in amounts of 10% by mass (Paragraph 48).
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the instantly claimed steel sheet this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Nakamura as Nakamura teaches a steel sheet with coating material and composition overlapping that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Nakamura teaches where the plating may contain other metallic elements including Mn, Cr, etc. (Paragraph 18) in amounts of 10% by mass (Paragraph 48). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 3, in addition to the disclosure of the steel with composition and thickness as outlined above, Nakamura teaches where the steel sheet is heated and hot pressed (Paragraph 49).
Considering claim 4, Nakamura teaches where the Ni-plating may be coated with an inorganic compound layer including zirconium oxide (Paragraph 21) exemplified in a mass/area of 100-4000 mg/m2 (Table 1) indicating a thickness less than 10 microns. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 5, Nakamura does not expressly teach the claimed Ni content in metal elements of the oxide layer. However, as outlined above, Nakamura teaches a substantially identical steel sheet with oxide layer thereon heated to 900 °C and pressed (Paragraph 49; Table 1). These conditions are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicant in the instant specification (Paragraphs 61, 65 and 68). As such, one would reasonably expect the hot pressed steel member of Nakamura to possess the claimed Ni content as substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to behave the same, absent an objective showing.
Considering claims 6-7, Nakamura teaches a method of producing the Ni-coated hot-pressed member (Paragraph 49; Table 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ohmura et al. (US 6,551,721), Tsuchida et al. (US 2009/0197164), Tomomori et al. (US 2012/0234428), Nakada et al. (US 2015/0197857), and Goto et al. (US 2022/0403542) teach Ni-coated steel with composition and thickness overlapping that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784