CTNF 18/729,888 CTNF 79110 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: (a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)/(2) or alternatively under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated or unpatentable over Takenaka (US 2019/0112685). Re claims 1-8, Takenaka discloses grain oriented electrical steel sheet comprising Si where after the formation of the steel sheet, magnesium sulfate MgSO4 is added to an annealing separator MgO and then subjected to a secondary recrystallization at ~1200 C [87]. Given that Takenaka discloses steel comprising Si in amount used in the present invention and subjects the steel sheet to MgSO4/MgO with a secondary recrystallization at ~1200 C with amount of MgSO4 used in the present invention and temperature substantially the same as used in the present invention, it is clear that such process would inherently result in the formation of forsterite (MgSiO4) particles as well as grain boundaries with thickness as claimed comprising S in amount as claimed. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)/(2) or alternatively under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated or unpatentable over Hayakawa (US 2019/0085423). Re claims 1-8, Hayakawa discloses grain oriented steel sheet [1] comprising forsterite film [57, 97]. Hayakawa discloses that after the formation of the steel sheet, magnesium sulfate MgSO4 is added to an annealing separator MgO and then subjected to a secondary recrystallization at ~1200 C for 2 h [87]. Given that Hayakawa discloses subjecting the steel sheet to MgSO4/MgO with a secondary recrystallization at ~1200 C with amount of MgSO4 used in the present invention and temperature substantially the same as used in the present invention, it is clear that such process would inherently result in the formation of forsterite (MgSiO4) particles as well as grain boundaries with thickness as claimed comprising S in amount as claimed. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)/(2) or alternatively under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated or unpatentable over Toda et al.( US 20020000265 A1). Re claims 1-8, Toda discloses the claimed invention – see [7, 17, 129, 132] and Example 1. Given that Toda discloses subjecting the steel sheet to MgSO4/MgO with a secondary recrystallization at ~1150 C with amount of MgSO4 used in the present invention and temperature substantially the same as used in the present invention, it is clear that such process would inherently result in the formation of forsterite (MgSiO4) particles as well as grain boundaries with thickness as claimed comprising S in amount as claimed. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TAMRA L. DICUS whose telephone number is (571)272-2022. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00 am 4:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Callie Shosho can be reached at 571-272-1123. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. TAMRA L. DICUS Primary Examiner Art Unit 1787 /TAMRA L. DICUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/729,888 Page 2 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/729,888 Page 3 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/729,888 Page 4 Art Unit: 1787 Application/Control Number: 18/729,888 Page 5 Art Unit: 1787