DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “roof- side” is hereby interpreted as any area of the vehicle cabin that is situated above the floor of said vehicle cabin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “before passing through the cooling heat exchanger” in ll. 7 is indefinite, in context, since it cannot be discerned how the airflow that bypasses the cooling heat exchanger subsequently travels through the cooling heat exchanger. The original disclosure details the first bypass flow path (20) as allowing air to bypass the evaporator prior to passing through the heating heat exchanger and outlets, wherein the airflow does not pass through the evaporator. For Examination purposes and in accordance with the specification and drawings, “before passing through the cooling heat exchanger” will be interpreted as – without passing through the cooling heat exchanger --.
Regarding Claim 4, the limitation “so that the air can be discharged toward the lower section of the passenger room” in ll. 3 is indefinite, in context, since it cannot be discerned if the aforementioned limitations are positively claimed. For Examination purposes and in accordance with the specification and drawings, “so that the air can be discharged toward the lower section of the passenger room” will be interpreted as – so that the air is discharged toward the lower section of the passenger room --.
Regarding Claim 7, the limitation “the first region is controlled to have a higher temperature than the first region” in ll. 1 is indefinite, in context, since it cannot be discerned how the first region has a higher temperature than itself. For Examination purposes and in accordance with the specification and drawings, “the first region is controlled to have a higher temperature than the first region” will be interpreted as – the first region is controlled to have a higher temperature than the second region --.
Regarding Claim 10, the limitation “before passing through the cooling heat exchanger” in ll. 3 is indefinite, in context, since it cannot be discerned how the airflow that bypasses the cooling heat exchanger subsequently travels through the cooling heat exchanger. The original disclosure details the first bypass flow path (20) as allowing air to bypass the evaporator prior to passing through the heating heat exchanger and outlets, wherein the airflow does not pass through the evaporator. For Examination purposes and in accordance with the specification and drawings, “before passing through the cooling heat exchanger” will be interpreted as – without passing through the cooling heat exchanger --.
Regarding Claim 11, the limitation “before passing the heating heat exchanger” in ll. 3 is indefinite, in context, since it cannot be discerned how the airflow that passes through the cooling heat exchanger subsequently travels through discharge ports before passing through the heating heat exchanger. The original disclosure details the second bypass flow path as allowing air to bypass the evaporator prior to passing through the discharge ports, wherein the airflow does not pass through the heating heat exchanger. For Examination purposes and in accordance with the specification and drawings, “before passing through the heating heat exchanger” will be interpreted as – without passing through the heating heat exchanger --.
Regarding Claim 16, the limitation “temperature door” in ll. 3 is indefinite, in context, since it cannot be discerned what specific structure is defined by the aforementioned temperature door. The original disclosure details multiple doors for controlling bypass flow but fails to specifically detail what structure/placement defines a temperature door. For Examination purposes and in accordance with the specification and drawings, “temperature door” will be interpreted as –an adjustable door within the system that completely allows for mixing the heated air with the cooled air in order to deliver conditioned air to a vehicle cabin --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ariaux et al. (US PG Pub. 20200406710A1), hereinafter referred to as Ariaux.
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Ariaux discloses a vehicular air conditioning system, comprising:
a cooling heat exchanger (8) and a heating heat exchanger (9) sequentially installed on an internal flow path (shown in figure 1) of an air conditioning case (7) to cool and heat an air blown from a blower (25, shown in figures 1-2);
a plurality of air discharge ports (12.11-12.14) configured to discharge cold air and hot air passing through the cooling heat exchanger (8) and the heating heat exchanger (9) into a passenger room (“the sectional flow of the air through the main and side path in such a way that different air outlets of the HVAC module can be supplied with a different throughput of air and/or with air of different temperature and/or humidity”, ¶7);
a first bypass flow path (2, 4, 5a. shown in figure 1 bypassing the evaporator (8)) configured to allow the air blown from the blower (25) to bypass to an upstream side of the heating heat exchanger before passing through the cooling heat exchanger (shown in figure 1); and
a first opening/closing door (10a) configured to open and close the first bypass flow path (shown in figure 1).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yomo et al. (Translation of JP2006027377A), hereinafter referred to as Yomo.
Regarding Claim 1, as best understood, Yomo discloses a vehicular air conditioning system, comprising:
a cooling heat exchanger (13) and a heating heat exchanger (16) sequentially installed on an internal flow path (shown in figure 1) of an air conditioning case (11) to cool and heat an air blown from a blower (12, shown in figure 1);
a plurality of air discharge ports (19-20) configured to discharge cold air and hot air passing through the cooling heat exchanger and the heating heat exchanger (shown in figure 1) into a passenger room (“one blowout opening is a foot opening that blows air toward the passenger's feet in the vehicle compartment ( 19), and the other outlet opening is a face opening (20) that blows out air toward the passenger face side in the passenger compartment”);
a first bypass flow path (15, shown in figure 1 bypassing the evaporator (13)) configured to allow the air blown from the blower (12) to bypass to an upstream side of the heating heat exchanger before passing through the cooling heat exchanger (shown in figure 1); and
a first opening/closing door (21) configured to open and close the first bypass flow path (shown in figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yomo et al. (Translation of JP2006027377A) as applied in Claim 1 above and in further view of view of Ariaux et al. (US PG Pub. 20200406710A1).
Regarding Claim 2, although Yomo further discloses the heating heat exchanger (16) has a first region facing the first bypass flow path (shown in figures 1-2, being the left side of the heating heat exchanger (16)) and a second region facing the cooling heat exchanger (shown in figures 1-2, being the right side of the heating heat exchanger (16)), Yomo fails to disclose the first region and the second region are independently temperature-controllable regions configured to generate heat at different temperatures.
Ariaux, also drawn to a vehicle heat exchanger with an evaporator bypass and heating heat exchanger, teaches a first region (9a.1) and a second region (9a.2) are independently temperature-controllable regions configured to generate heat at different temperatures (“The five heating portions 9a allow the air guided through the various heating portions 9a to be heated to different degrees, i.e. individually, by setting the electrical heating elements individually for each heating portion 9a. This in turn allows air to be supplied at different temperatures to the various air outlets 12 of the air outlet arrangement 11, which are connected fluidically downstream of the heating device 9”, ¶71).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Yomo with a first region and a second region are independently temperature-controllable regions configured to generate heat at different temperatures, as taught by Ariaux, the motivation being to allow for “the simultaneous generation of air with spatially varying air temperature and humidity, which can be individually supplied to different areas of a vehicle interior”, (¶5).
Regarding Claim 3, a modified Yomo further teaches the passenger room has a section into which the air passing through the first region of the heating heat exchanger is discharged (shown in figure 1 of Yomo, wherein air that passes through the left side of the heating heat exchanger (16) is distributed to the foot section) and a section into which the air passing through the second region of the heating heat exchanger is discharged (shown in figure 1 of Yomo, wherein air that passes through the left side of the heating heat exchanger (16) is distributed to the face section), and the temperatures of the sections of the passenger room are differentiated from each other by the air passing through the first region and the second region and having different temperatures (the sections of the heating heat exchanger having different temperatures is previously taught by Ariaux in the rejection of Claim 1, wherein multiple sections of the heating device (9) are utilized to provide conditioned air of varying temperatures to different sections of the vehicle interior, “The configuration of the heating device 9 with the heating portions 9a and the air outlet arrangement 11 with the air outlets 12 presented here thus makes it possible to introduce heated air of varying intensity via the air outlets 12 into different areas of a vehicle interior fluidically following the air outlet arrangement 12 of the module 1”, ¶72).
Regarding Claim 4, a modified Yomo further teaches the first bypass flow path (15, shown in figure 1 bypassing the evaporator (13)) is arranged on the same air flow path as a floor-side air discharge port which constitutes the air discharge ports of the air conditioning case and discharges air toward a lower section of the passenger room (shown in figure 1 of Yomo), so that the air can be discharged toward the lower section of the passenger room after passing through the first region of the heating heat exchanger (shown in figure 1 of Yomo).
Regarding Claim 5, a modified Yomo further teaches the first region (shown in figure 1 of Yomo, wherein air that passes through the left side of the heating heat exchanger (16) is distributed to the foot section) corresponds to an air flow path extending from the first bypass flow path (15, shown in figure 1 bypassing the evaporator (13)) to the floor-side air discharge port (shown in figure 1), the second region (shown in figures 1-2, being the right side of the heating heat exchanger (16)) corresponds to another air flow path (shown in figure 1), and the first region is independently temperature- controllable with respect to the second region so as to independently control the temperature of the air discharged from the first bypass flow path toward the lower section of the passenger room through the floor-side air discharge port (the sections of the heating heat exchanger having different temperatures is previously taught by Ariaux in the rejection of Claim 1, wherein multiple sections of the heating device (9) are utilized to provide conditioned air of varying temperatures to different sections of the vehicle interior, “The configuration of the heating device 9 with the heating portions 9a and the air outlet arrangement 11 with the air outlets 12 presented here thus makes it possible to introduce heated air of varying intensity via the air outlets 12 into different areas of a vehicle interior fluidically following the air outlet arrangement 12 of the module 1”, ¶72).
Regarding Claim 6, a modified Yomo further teaches the second region (shown in figures 1-2, being the right side of the heating heat exchanger (16)) corresponds to an air flow path extending from the cooling heat exchanger to a roof-side air discharge port that discharges air toward an upper section of the passenger room (shown in figure 1, wherein the face opening (20) discharges air toward an upper section of the vehicle interior compared to the foot opening (19)), and the second region is independently temperature-controllable with respect to the first region so as to differentiate the temperature of the air discharged toward the lower section of the passenger room from the temperature of the air discharged toward the upper section of the passenger room (the sections of the heating heat exchanger having different temperatures is previously taught by Ariaux in the rejection of Claim 1, wherein multiple sections of the heating device (9) are utilized to provide conditioned air of varying temperatures to different sections of the vehicle interior, “The configuration of the heating device 9 with the heating portions 9a and the air outlet arrangement 11 with the air outlets 12 presented here thus makes it possible to introduce heated air of varying intensity via the air outlets 12 into different areas of a vehicle interior fluidically following the air outlet arrangement 12 of the module 1”, ¶72).
Regarding Claim 7, as best understood, a modified Yomo further teaches the first region (shown in figures 1-2, being the left side of the heating heat exchanger (16)) is controlled to have a higher temperature (as previously taught by Ariaux, wherein the individual flow paths are altered to each individual section of the vehicle interior, “different areas of the vehicle interior of a motor vehicle can be supplied with individually adjustable quantities of air—adapted to the individual needs and wishes of the occupants—while at the same time both temperature and humidity of the air can also be individually adjusted. This means that individually adapted ventilation conditions can be achieved for different parts of the vehicle interior, which are pleasant for the individual occupants”, ¶8) than the first region (shown in figures 1-2, being the right side of the heating heat exchanger (16)) so as to make the temperature of the air discharged toward the lower section of the passenger room (“Foot”, section of Yomo) higher than the temperature of the air discharged toward the upper section of the passenger room (“Face”, section of Yomo).
Regarding Claim 7, MPEP 2114 II clearly states “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does" and a claim having a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” Because Claim 7 fails to further limit the apparatus in terms of structure, but rather only recite further functional limitations, regarding “first region is controlled to have a higher temperature than the first region so as to make the temperature of the air discharged toward the lower section of the passenger room higher than the temperature of the air discharged toward the upper section of the passenger room”, the invention as taught by the combined teachings of Yomo and Ariaux are deemed fully capable of performing such function. Ariaux comprises individually controlled heating portions of a heating device which is capable of distributing heating air to different sections of the vehicle interior. Therefore, the claim limitations are met by the combination of the references put forth in this action.
Regarding Claim 8, a modified Yomo further teaches the first opening/closing door (21) is configured to open and close the first bypass flow path according to an air conditioning mode (shown in figures 1, 3, 6 and 8).
Regarding Claim 9, a modified Yomo further teaches in a cooling mode, the first opening/closing door (21) is configured to block the first bypass flow path so that the air blown from the blower is cooled while passing through the cooling heat exchanger (shown in figure 3).
Regarding Claim 10, as best understood a modified Yomo further teaches in a heating mode, the first opening/closing door (21) is configured to open the first bypass flow path so that a part of the air blown from the blower is heated while being directly introduced to the heating heat exchanger before passing through the cooling heat exchanger (shown in figure 2).
Regarding Claim 11, as best understood a modified Yomo further teaches: a second bypass flow path (18) configured to allow a part of the air passing through the cooling heat exchanger (13) to be directly bypassed to the air discharge ports before passing the heating heat exchanger (shown in figures 3 and 5-6); and a second opening/closing door (22) configured to open and close the second bypass flow path (shown in figures 3 and 5-6).
Regarding Claim 12, a modified Yomo further teaches the second bypass flow path (18) is arranged on the same air flow path as a roof-side air discharge port which constitutes the air discharge ports of the air conditioning case and discharges air toward the upper section of the passenger room (shown in figure 1, wherein the face opening (20) discharges air toward an upper section of the vehicle interior compared to the foot opening (19) and is situated on the same air flow path as the second heating heat exchanger bypass passage (18)), so that the air on the side of the cooling heat exchanger can be directly discharged toward the upper section of the passenger room (shown in figure 1).
Regarding Claim 13, a modified Yomo further teaches the second opening/closing door (22) is configured to open and close the second bypass flow path according to the air conditioning mode (shown in figures 1, 3, 6 and 8).
Regarding Claim 14, a modified Yomo further teaches in the cooling mode, the second opening/closing door (22) is configured to open the second bypass flow path so that a part of the air passing through the cooling heat exchanger is bypassed to the air discharge ports before passing through the heating heat exchanger (shown in figure 3).
Regarding Claim 15, a modified Yomo further teaches in the heating mode, the second opening/closing door (22) is configured to block the second bypass flow path so that the air blown from the blower is heated while passing through the heating heat exchanger (shown in figure 2).
Regarding Claim 16, a modified Yomo further teaches is a temperature doorless air conditioning system configured to variably control the temperature of an air discharged into the passenger room using only the heating heat exchanger (as previously taught by Ariaux, wherein the individual flow paths are altered to each individual section of the vehicle interior, “different areas of the vehicle interior of a motor vehicle can be supplied with individually adjustable quantities of air—adapted to the individual needs and wishes of the occupants—while at the same time both temperature and humidity of the air can also be individually adjusted. This means that individually adapted ventilation conditions can be achieved for different parts of the vehicle interior, which are pleasant for the individual occupants”, ¶8) without having to use a temperature door (shown in figure 1 of Yomo, wherein no door is disclosed within the heat exchanger system other than the first and second doors controlling the bypass airflows).
Conclusion
/PAUL ALVARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763