DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of a certified copy of JP 2022-009801 filed January 26, 2022 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Receipt is also acknowledged of a copy of WO 2023/145800, the WIPO publication of PCT/JP023/002375 filed January 26, 2023.
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Claims filed July 18, 2024.
Claims Filing Date
July 18, 2024
Amended
2-6
New
7-17
Under Examination
1-17
Title Suggestion
The following title is suggested: Non-Oriented Electri.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), and, alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US 5,945,212).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet (1:13-20. 3:22-33, 9:19-24) comprising:
a base metal steel sheet (0.5 mm-thick non-oriented electrical steel sheet coil) (9:19-24); and
an insulating coating film formed on a surface of the base metal steel sheet (coated with a treating agent then heat-treated) (9:19-24, 57-62),
wherein the insulating coating film contains a metal phosphate and 5 to 35 (15) parts by mass of an organic resin per 100 parts by mass of the metal (Al) phosphate (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8),
wherein the organic resin contains 5 parts by mass or more (7.5, 50% of 15) of an amino resin (melamine) per 100 parts by mass of the metal phosphate (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka discloses he non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 1 as cited above,
wherein the metal phosphate is one or more of Zn phosphate, Mn phosphate, Al phosphate, and Mo phosphate (Al phosphate) (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 1 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 11, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 4 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 7-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 5,945,212) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical steel sheet according to claim 1 as cited above.
Tanaka discloses an emulsion resin of melamine(50%)-phenol(50%) at 15 weight part (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Table 1 Examples 7 and 8 of Tanaka are silent to the organic resin further containing one or more of an acrylic resin and a polyester resin.
Tanaka discloses the resin is at least one selected from the group consisting of acrylic, polystyrene, polypropylene, polyamide, polycarbonate, melamine, phenol, polyurethane, alkyd, isocyanate, epoxy, and the like resins (6:18-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in the Table 1 Examples 7 and 8 of Tanaka to replace the phenol with acrylic because it is an art recognized equivalent of phenol. It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. MPEP 2144.06(II).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical steel sheet according to claim 2 as cited above,
wherein the organic resin contains 5 to 30 (7.5, 50% of 15) parts by mass of the amino resin (melamine) per 100 parts by mass of the metal (Al) phosphate, and one or more of an acrylic resin and a polyester resin (phenol replaced with acrylic) in a total of 1 to 25 (7.5, 50% of 15) parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the metal phosphate (6:18-27, Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 7, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 2 as cited above,
wherein the metal phosphate is one or more of Zn phosphate, Mn phosphate, Al phosphate, and Mo phosphate (Al phosphate) (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 8, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 3 as cited above,
wherein the metal phosphate is one or more of Zn phosphate, Mn phosphate, Al phosphate, and Mo phosphate (Al phosphate) (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 2 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 10, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 3 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 12, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 7 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 13, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 8 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) (Table 1 Examples 7 and 8).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 5,945,212) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kurosaki (JP 2002-047543 machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 1 as cited above.
Tanaka discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet (9:19-24).
Tanaka is silent to the composition of the non-oriented electrical (base metal) steel sheet.
Kurosaki discloses a base metal (non-oriented electrical) steel sheet ([0001], [0004]-[0005], [0025]) that contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (0.05 to 4.0%) ([0016]), Al: 0.1 to 1.5% (0.15% or more) ([0020]), and Mn: 0.1 to 4.0% (0.5 to 1.5%) ([0017]) ([0004], [0008], [0015]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the non-oriented electrical steel sheet of Tanaka to have the composition disclosed by Kurosaki so that it has a low rate of short-circuit failures (Kurosaki [0005]), where 0.05 to 4.0% Si increases eddy current loss with significantly deteriorating workability (Kurosaki [0016]), 0.15% or more Al improves magnetic properties and reduces oxide inclusions (Kurosaki [0020]), and 0.1 to 1.5% Mn increases the hardness of the steel plate and improves punchability with an upper limit due to economic reasons (Kurosaki [0017]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 5,945,212) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kurosaki (JP 2002-047543 machine translation).
Regarding claim 14, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 2 as cited above.
Tanaka discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet (9:19-24).
Tanaka is silent to the composition of the non-oriented electrical (base metal) steel sheet.
Kurosaki discloses a base metal (non-oriented electrical) steel sheet ([0001], [0004]-[0005], [0025]) that contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (0.05 to 4.0%) ([0016]), Al: 0.1 to 1.5% (0.15% or more) ([0020]), and Mn: 0.1 to 4.0% (0.5 to 1.5%) ([0017]) ([0004], [0008], [0015]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the non-oriented electrical steel sheet of Tanaka to have the composition disclosed by Kurosaki so that it has a low rate of short-circuit failures (Kurosaki [0005]), where 0.05 to 4.0% Si increases eddy current loss with significantly deteriorating workability (Kurosaki [0016]), 0.15% or more Al improves magnetic properties and reduces oxide inclusions (Kurosaki [0020]), and 0.1 to 1.5% Mn increases the hardness of the steel plate and improves punchability with an upper limit due to economic reasons (Kurosaki [0017]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 5,945,212) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kurosaki (JP 2002-047543 machine translation).
Regarding claim 15, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 3 as cited above.
Tanaka discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet (9:19-24).
Tanaka is silent to the composition of the non-oriented electrical (base metal) steel sheet.
Kurosaki discloses a base metal (non-oriented electrical) steel sheet ([0001], [0004]-[0005], [0025]) that contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (0.05 to 4.0%) ([0016]), Al: 0.1 to 1.5% (0.15% or more) ([0020]), and Mn: 0.1 to 4.0% (0.5 to 1.5%) ([0017]) ([0004], [0008], [0015]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the non-oriented electrical steel sheet of Tanaka to have the composition disclosed by Kurosaki so that it has a low rate of short-circuit failures (Kurosaki [0005]), where 0.05 to 4.0% Si increases eddy current loss with significantly deteriorating workability (Kurosaki [0016]), 0.15% or more Al improves magnetic properties and reduces oxide inclusions (Kurosaki [0020]), and 0.1 to 1.5% Mn increases the hardness of the steel plate and improves punchability with an upper limit due to economic reasons (Kurosaki [0017]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 5,945,212) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kurosaki (JP 2002-047543 machine translation).
Regarding claim 16, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 4 as cited above.
Tanaka discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet (9:19-24).
Tanaka is silent to the composition of the non-oriented electrical (base metal) steel sheet.
Kurosaki discloses a base metal (non-oriented electrical) steel sheet ([0001], [0004]-[0005], [0025]) that contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (0.05 to 4.0%) ([0016]), Al: 0.1 to 1.5% (0.15% or more) ([0020]), and Mn: 0.1 to 4.0% (0.5 to 1.5%) ([0017]) ([0004], [0008], [0015]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the non-oriented electrical steel sheet of Tanaka to have the composition disclosed by Kurosaki so that it has a low rate of short-circuit failures (Kurosaki [0005]), where 0.05 to 4.0% Si increases eddy current loss with significantly deteriorating workability (Kurosaki [0016]), 0.15% or more Al improves magnetic properties and reduces oxide inclusions (Kurosaki [0020]), and 0.1 to 1.5% Mn increases the hardness of the steel plate and improves punchability with an upper limit due to economic reasons (Kurosaki [0017]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (US 5,945,212) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kurosaki (JP 2002-047543 machine translation).
Regarding claim 17, Tanaka discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 5 as cited above.
Tanaka discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet (9:19-24).
Tanaka is silent to the composition of the non-oriented electrical (base metal) steel sheet.
Kurosaki discloses a base metal (non-oriented electrical) steel sheet ([0001], [0004]-[0005], [0025]) that contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (0.05 to 4.0%) ([0016]), Al: 0.1 to 1.5% (0.15% or more) ([0020]), and Mn: 0.1 to 4.0% (0.5 to 1.5%) ([0017]) ([0004], [0008], [0015]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the non-oriented electrical steel sheet of Tanaka to have the composition disclosed by Kurosaki so that it has a low rate of short-circuit failures (Kurosaki [0005]), where 0.05 to 4.0% Si increases eddy current loss with significantly deteriorating workability (Kurosaki [0016]), 0.15% or more Al improves magnetic properties and reduces oxide inclusions (Kurosaki [0020]), and 0.1 to 1.5% Mn increases the hardness of the steel plate and improves punchability with an upper limit due to economic reasons (Kurosaki [0017]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2001-107261 machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses a non-oriented electrical steel sheet ([0012], [0018]) comprising:
a base metal steel sheet ([0018]-[0019]); and
an insulating coating film formed on a surface of the base metal steel sheet ([0019]),
wherein the insulating coating film contains a metal phosphate ([0019]-[0020], [0022]) and 5 to 35 (particularly preferably 7 to 30) parts by mass of an organic (synthetic) resin per 100 parts by mass of the metal phosphate ([0037]),
wherein the organic (synthetic) resin contains 5 parts by mass or more of an amino (melamine) resin per 100 parts by mass of the metal phosphate ([0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi discloses he non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 1 as cited above,
wherein the metal phosphate is one or more of Zn phosphate, Mn phosphate, Al phosphate, and Mo phosphate (Al phosphate) ([0022]).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 1 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) ([0036]).
Regarding claim 11, Takahashi discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 4 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) ([0036]).
Claims 2, 3, 7-10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2001-107261 machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanda (JP S60-038069 machine translation).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi discloses the non-oriented electrical steel sheet according to claim 1 as cited above.
Takahashi discloses examples resins include two or more of acrylic, acrylic-styrene, alkyd, polyester, silicone, fluororesin, polyolefin, styrene, vinyl acetate, epoxy, phenolic, urethane, and melamine ([0036]).
Tanda discloses a resin insulating coating on an electrical steel sheet including polyester or acrylic with up to 30% replaced with melamine (p. 2 paras. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the synthetic resin of Takahashi to include polyester or acrylic resin with few polar groups for good water resistance (Tanda p. 2 para. 2), which improves punching performance by preventing deterioration in the adhesion strength of the coating (Tanda p. 2 para. 3) and up to 30% of the polyester or melamine replaced with melamine does not interfere with this improvement (Tanda p. 2 para. 2).
Therefore, Takahashi in view of Tanda discloses an organic (synthetic) resin of polyester or acrylic with up to 30% replaced with melamine (Takahashi [0036]; Tanda p. 2 paras. 2-3).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi in view of Tanda discloses the non-oriented electrical steel sheet according to claim 2 as cited above,
wherein the organic resin contains 5 to 30 (up to 9, 30*0.3) parts by mass of the amino (melamine) resin per 100 parts by mass of the metal phosphate, and one or more of an acrylic resin and a polyester resin in a total of 1 to 25 (7 to 21, minimum to 30*0.7) parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the metal phosphate (particularly preferably 7 to 30 parts by mass of synthetic resin per 100 parts by mass of the metal phosphate, where the synthetic resin is polyester or acrylic with up to 30% replaced with melamine) (Takahashi [0037]; Tanda p. 2 paras. 2-3). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi in view of Tanda discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 2 as cited above,
wherein the metal phosphate is one or more of Zn phosphate, Mn phosphate, Al phosphate, and Mo phosphate (Al phosphate) (Takahashi [0022]).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi in view of Tanda discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 3 as cited above,
wherein the metal phosphate is one or more of Zn phosphate, Mn phosphate, Al phosphate, and Mo phosphate (Al phosphate) (Takahashi [0022]).
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi in view of Tanda discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 2 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) (Takahashi [0036]; Tanda p. 2 paras. 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi in view of Tanda discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 3 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) (Takahashi [0036]; Tanda p. 2 paras. 2-3).
Regarding claim 12, Takahashi in view of Tanda discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 7 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) (Takahashi [0036]; Tanda p. 2 paras. 2-3).
Regarding claim 13, Takahashi in view of Tanda discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 8 as cited above,
wherein the amino resin is one or more of a melamine resin and a benzoguanamine resin (melamine) (Takahashi [0036]; Tanda p. 2 paras. 2-3).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2001-107261 machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kurosaki (JP 2002-047543 machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 1 as cited above,
wherein the base metal steel sheet contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (about 0.1 to 5 wt% So) ([0018]).
Takahashi is silent to Al and Mn.
Kurosaki discloses a base metal (non-oriented electrical) steel sheet ([0001], [0004]-[0005], [0025]) that contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (0.05 to 4.0%) ([0016]), Al: 0.1 to 1.5% (0.15% or more) ([0020]), and Mn: 0.1 to 4.0% (0.5 to 1.5%) ([0017]) ([0004], [0008], [0015]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the non-oriented electrical steel sheet of Takahashi to include 0.15% or more Al to improve magnetic properties and reduces oxide inclusions (Kurosaki [0020]) and to include 0.1 to 1.5% Mn to increase the hardness of the steel plate and improve punchability with an upper limit due to economic reasons (Kurosaki [0017]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2001-107261 machine translation) in view of Tanda (JP S60-038069 machine translation) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kurosaki (JP 2002-047543 machine translation).
Regarding claim 14, Takahashi in view of Tanda discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 2 as cited above,
wherein the base metal steel sheet contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (about 0.1 to 5 wt% So) ([0018]).
Takahashi is silent to Al and Mn.
Kurosaki discloses a base metal (non-oriented electrical) steel sheet ([0001], [0004]-[0005], [0025]) that contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (0.05 to 4.0%) ([0016]), Al: 0.1 to 1.5% (0.15% or more) ([0020]), and Mn: 0.1 to 4.0% (0.5 to 1.5%) ([0017]) ([0004], [0008], [0015]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the non-oriented electrical steel sheet of Takahashi to include 0.15% or more Al to improve magnetic properties and reduces oxide inclusions (Kurosaki [0020]) and to include 0.1 to 1.5% Mn to increase the hardness of the steel plate and improve punchability with an upper limit due to economic reasons (Kurosaki [0017]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2001-107261 machine translation) in view of Tanda (JP S60-038069 machine translation) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kurosaki (JP 2002-047543 machine translation).
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi in view of Tanda discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 3 as cited above,
wherein the base metal steel sheet contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (about 0.1 to 5 wt% So) ([0018]).
Takahashi is silent to Al and Mn.
Kurosaki discloses a base metal (non-oriented electrical) steel sheet ([0001], [0004]-[0005], [0025]) that contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (0.05 to 4.0%) ([0016]), Al: 0.1 to 1.5% (0.15% or more) ([0020]), and Mn: 0.1 to 4.0% (0.5 to 1.5%) ([0017]) ([0004], [0008], [0015]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the non-oriented electrical steel sheet of Takahashi to include 0.15% or more Al to improve magnetic properties and reduces oxide inclusions (Kurosaki [0020]) and to include 0.1 to 1.5% Mn to increase the hardness of the steel plate and improve punchability with an upper limit due to economic reasons (Kurosaki [0017]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2001-107261 machine translation) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kurosaki (JP 2002-047543 machine translation).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 1 as cited above,
wherein the base metal steel sheet contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (about 0.1 to 5 wt% So) ([0018]).
Takahashi is silent to Al and Mn.
Kurosaki discloses a base metal (non-oriented electrical) steel sheet ([0001], [0004]-[0005], [0025]) that contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (0.05 to 4.0%) ([0016]), Al: 0.1 to 1.5% (0.15% or more) ([0020]), and Mn: 0.1 to 4.0% (0.5 to 1.5%) ([0017]) ([0004], [0008], [0015]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the non-oriented electrical steel sheet of Takahashi to include 0.15% or more Al to improve magnetic properties and reduces oxide inclusions (Kurosaki [0020]) and to include 0.1 to 1.5% Mn to increase the hardness of the steel plate and improve punchability with an upper limit due to economic reasons (Kurosaki [0017]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (JP 2001-107261 machine translation) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kurosaki (JP 2002-047543 machine translation).
Regarding claim 16, Takahashi discloses the non-oriented electrical sheet according to claim 1 as cited above,
wherein the base metal steel sheet contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (about 0.1 to 5 wt% So) ([0018]).
Takahashi is silent to Al and Mn.
Kurosaki discloses a base metal (non-oriented electrical) steel sheet ([0001], [0004]-[0005], [0025]) that contains, by mass percentage, Si: 2.5 to 4.5% (0.05 to 4.0%) ([0016]), Al: 0.1 to 1.5% (0.15% or more) ([0020]), and Mn: 0.1 to 4.0% (0.5 to 1.5%) ([0017]) ([0004], [0008], [0015]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the non-oriented electrical steel sheet of Takahashi to include 0.15% or more Al to improve magnetic properties and reduces oxide inclusions (Kurosaki [0020]) and to include 0.1 to 1.5% Mn to increase the hardness of the steel plate and improve punchability with an upper limit due to economic reasons (Kurosaki [0017]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Related Art
Takeda (JP 2002-069657 machine translation)
Takeda discloses an insulating coating for an electrical steel sheet ([0001], [0007]) containing a metal phosphate and 3 to 50 parts by weight organic resin to 100 parts by weight of metal phosphate salt ([0010]), where the metal phosphate salt includes aluminum phosphate, zinc phosphate, manganese phosphate, or molybdenum phosphate ([0012]) and the organic resin is an acrylic resin ([0014]). Takeda discloses the presence of melamine ([0030]).
Katayama (US 4,844,753)
Katayama discloses an insulating film for an electromagnetic steel plate (1:6-14) using an organic component of a combination of acrylic resin with guanamine resin (2:14-23, 4:22-37) that maintains stability and a substantially particular states so that water vapor in the film interior dissipates relatively easily (4:38-51). Katayama discloses a guanamine resin is benzoguanamine resin (4:64 to 5:11) and examples including mixtures of acrylic, [AE], and benzoguanamine, [G1] (8:25-37, Table).
Contact Information
/STEPHANI HILL/Examiner, Art Unit 1735