DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.03.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 04/16/2026 does not place the Application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. In response to Office Action mailed on 03/13/2026, Applicant has amended claims 6-7, 9 and 16-17. Claims 1-5, 8, 10, 12-15, 18 and 20 are withdrawn from consideration as being part of non-elected invention and/or species.
Status of the Rejections
Due to Applicant’s amendment of claims 6-7, 9 and 16-17, all rejections from the Office Action mailed on 03/13/2026 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 6, 7, 9, 11, 16, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ye et al. (CN 113644203 A) (refer to translation as provided on 03/13/2026).
Regarding claim 6, Ye discloses a preparation method of an organic cell (solar cell shown in fig. 1; see claim 1, claim 4, [0008], [0014-0016], [0057], and [0073-0075]) comprising a conductive substrate ([0057]), a hole transport layer ([0057]), an active layer ([0057]), an electron transport layer (interface layer which is made of electron transporting material PFN-Br, [0057] and [0075], which is same as instant application – see [0084] of published application), and a metal electrode (see [0057] and [0075]).
Ye further discloses the active layer is made by same process, same materials and same E/D ratio as in the case of the instant application (see the table below).
Instant application (see published application)
Ye et al. (CN 113644203 A)
Donor (D)
PM6 (example 23)
PM6 ([0028] and [0075])
Acceptor (A)
Y6 (example 23)
Y6 ([0029] and [0075])
Elastomer (E)
styrenic thermoplastic elastomer ([0047]) such as SEBS (see example 23, [0183])
styrenic thermoplastic elastomer, SEBS ([0027] and [0075])
E:D mass ratio to control elastomeric layer thickness
< 2:1 ([0059], specifically
0.5 to 1.5 ([0060])
0.66
1
= 0.66 ([0075])
D/A mass ratio
1:1.2 (example 23, [0183])
1:1.2 ([0075])
Active layer thickness
20-1000 nm ([0061])
20-1000 nm ([0018])
Preparation method
Deposition of a mixed system of donor, acceptor and elastomer ([0049])
Deposition of a mixed system of donor, acceptor and elastomer ([0075])
deposition technique
Spin coating ([0066])
Spin coating ([0016] and [0075])
Solvent
chloroform or chlorobenzene ([0058])
chloroform or chlorobenzene ([0017])
Instant application further discloses (see published application):
[0049] allowing a mixed system containing a donor material, an acceptor material and thermoplastic elastomers to form an active layer, wherein the thermoplastic elastomers are spontaneously enriched at the upper and lower interfaces of the active layer to form an enrichment layer.
[0059] In some embodiments, when the thermoplastic elastomers are blended with the active layer, a mass ratio of the thermoplastic elastomers to the donor material is less than 2:1, in other words, a doping ratio of the thermoplastic elastomers is 0-2 times the mass of the donor material in the active layer, and thermoplastic elastomers of different thicknesses can be spontaneously enriched at the upper and lower interfaces of the active layer.
[0060] In some embodiments, the doping ratio of the thermoplastic elastomers is preferably 0.5-1.5 times the mass of the donor material in the active layer.
Since the active layer of Ye is made by same deposition technique (spin coating), with same materials (PM6, Y6 and SEBS), and same E/D ratio (0.66) as in the case of the instant application, top and bottom enrichment layers must be formed by enrichment of thermoplastic elastomers on top and bottom surfaces of the active layer as in the case of the instant application.
Instant application further discloses that E/D ratio of 10% allows for formation of 0.5 nm enrichment layer (see example 1), E/D ratio of 50% allows for formation of 3 nm enrichment layer (see example 2), and E/D ratio of 200% allows for formation of 20 nm enrichment layer (see example 4).
Since the disclosed E/D ratio of Ye is 0.66 or 66% ([0075] or table above), which is within the desired E/D ratio range of 0.5-1.5 of instant application ([0060] of published application) and the active layer is formed by mixed system as in the case of instant application ([0049] of published application), top and bottom enrichment layers must be formed by enrichment of thermoplastic elastomers on top and bottom surfaces of the active layer each a thickness of 0.5-20 nm as in the case of the instant application.
Alternatively, Ye explicitly discloses the elastomer accounts for 2-90 % of the total mass of the active layer ([0033]). Ye further discloses the adhesion strength (figure 2), elasticity (fig. 3) and absorbance (fig. 4 of 5) of the active layer depends on SEBS concentration. Thus, SEBS concentration can be construed as result-effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have determined the optimum value of the SEBS concentration by routine experimentation, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value for a result of effect variable involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
Thus, optimum concentration of SEBS allows upper and lower enrichment layers with optimum thickness.
Regarding claim 7, Ye further discloses that the thermoplastic elastomers comprise a styrenic thermoplastic elastomer (SEBS or SBS, [0027] and [0075]).
Regarding claim 9, Ye further discloses the method comprising:
providing the conductive substrate ([0057] and fig. 1);
forming the hole transport layer on the conductive substrate ([0057] and fig. 1);
forming the active layer on the hole transport layer ([0057] and fig. 1), wherein in a process of forming the active layer, the thermoplastic elastomers in the active layer are spontaneously enriched at the upper and lower interfaces of the active layer to form respective enrichment layers each having a thickness of 0.5-20 nm (see rejection of claim 6 with respect to the claimed thickness of each enrichment layers);
forming the electron transport layer (interface layer made of PFN-Br, [0057] and fig. 1) on the active layer ([0057] and fig. 1); and
forming the metal electrode on the electron transport layer (interface layer) ([0057] and fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Ye further discloses preparing the hole transport layer (PEDOT:PSS layer) by spin coating ([0075]). Other limitation(s) is/are optional to the instant claim.
Regarding claim 16, Ye further discloses that the thermoplastic elastomers comprise a styrenic thermoplastic elastomer (SEBS or SBS, [0027] and [0075]), wherein each enrichment layer has a thickness of 0.5-20 nm (see rejection of claim 6 with respect to the claimed thickness of each enrichment layers).
Regarding claim 17, Ye further discloses upper and lower interfaces of the active layer have the respective enrichment layers formed by the enrichment of the thermoplastic elastomers (mixed system as disclosed in [0075] allows for formation of elastomer layer on top and bottom surfaces of the active layer, similar to instant application – see rejection of claim 6), each enrichment layer having a thickness of 0.5-20 nm (see rejection of claim 6 with respect to the claimed thickness of each enrichment layers).
Regarding claim 19, Ye further discloses a material of the metal electrode comprises silver ([0075]) and a thickness of the metal electrode is 50-1000 nm (100 nm, [0075]). Other limitation(s) is/are optional to the instant claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 6-7, 9, 11, 16-17 and 19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by the amendments.
On pages 12-14 of Remarks, Applicant argues that Ye does not disclose the upper and lower enrichment layers each with a thickness of 0.5-20 nm.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Since the active layer of Ye is made by same process technique (spin coating), with same materials (PM6, Y6 and SEBS), and same E/D ratio (0.66) as in the case of the instant application, top and bottom enrichment layers must be formed by enrichment of thermoplastic elastomers on top and bottom surfaces of the active layer as in the case of the instant application. Applicant is also directed above regarding the thickness of each of the upper and lower enrichment layers (see rejection of claim 6).
Applicant further argues that Ye teaches a separate interface layer such as PFN-Br or PDINO with a thickness of 10 nm, which is not a specifically dimensioned thermoplastic-elastomer enrichment layer at both active layer interfaces (page 14 of Remarks).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Interface layer Ye is not relied upon to teach the elastomer enrichment layer. Also, the interface layer is the electron-transporting layer as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence/Contact Information
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721