DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/03/2026, with respect to the USC 103 rejection of claim s 7-8,10,12-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of those claims has been rejected, and those claims are indicated as either allowable or allowed. See below.
Applicant's arguments regarding claim 9 and 11 filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that Re-claim 9, Oikawa discloses a permanent magnet rotor (Fig.3) comprising: a rotation axis (4);
an inner peripheral magnet (2c) that is a cylindrical bonded magnet (2c is cylindrical) including a plurality of recesses (annotated fig.4) on an outer peripheral side (annotated fig.4) and holding the rotation axis (4); and
an outer peripheral magnet (2b) that is a cylindrical bonded magnet (annotated fig.4) provided on an outer peripheral side of the inner peripheral magnet (see fig.4), wherein
the outer peripheral magnet (2b, see fig.4) includes
a plurality of projections (annotated fig.4) that projects toward an inner peripheral side (internally toward 2c) and is fitted into the plurality of recesses (annotated fig.4) of the inner peripheral magnet (2c), wherein the number of the plurality of projections (annotated fig.4, projections in only one magnet) is a half of the number of magnetic poles (magnetic pole so finer magnet 2b and 2c are double the projections of fig.4) formed in the inner peripheral magnet (2c) and the outer peripheral magnet (2b), and the plurality of projections are arranged at equal intervals (annotated fig.4).
Oikawa fails to explicitly teach that the plurality of projections is arranged at equal intervals in the middle of adjacent magnetic pole centers.
However, Jeung shows and the plurality of projections is arranged at equal intervals in the middle of adjacent magnetic pole centers (annotated fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the rotor of Oikawa wherein the plurality of projections is arranged at equal intervals in the middle of adjacent magnetic pole centers as shown by Jeung to provide high strength member and transfer torque of shaft to magnet assembly (P[0015]).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa et al. (US PG Pub 20180109167 hereinafter “Oikawa”) in view of Jeung (US PG Pub 20090108686 hereinafter “Jeung”).
Re-claim 9, Oikawa discloses a permanent magnet rotor (Fig.3) comprising: a rotation axis (4);
an inner peripheral magnet (2c) that is a cylindrical bonded magnet (2c is cylindrical) including a plurality of recesses (annotated fig.4) on an outer peripheral side (annotated fig.4) and holding the rotation axis (4); and
an outer peripheral magnet (2b) that is a cylindrical bonded magnet (annotated fig.4) provided on an outer peripheral side of the inner peripheral magnet (see fig.4), wherein
the outer peripheral magnet (2b, see fig.4) includes
a plurality of projections (annotated fig.4) that projects toward an inner peripheral side (internally toward 2c) and is fitted into the plurality of recesses (annotated fig.4) of the inner peripheral magnet (2c), wherein the number of the plurality of projections (annotated fig.4, projections in only one magnet) is a half of the number of magnetic poles (magnetic pole so finer magnet 2b and 2c are double the projections of fig.4) formed in the inner peripheral magnet (2c) and the outer peripheral magnet (2b), and the plurality of projections are arranged at equal intervals (annotated fig.4).
Oikawa fails to explicitly teach that the plurality of projections is arranged at equal intervals in the middle of adjacent magnetic pole centers.
However, Jeung shows and the plurality of projections is arranged at equal intervals in the middle of adjacent magnetic pole centers (annotated fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the rotor of Oikawa wherein the plurality of projections is arranged at equal intervals in the middle of adjacent magnetic pole centers as shown by Jeung to provide high strength member and tranfer torque of shaft to magnet assembly (P[0015]).
Re-claim 11, Oikawa as modified discloses the permanent magnet rotor according to claim 9, wherein the plurality of recesses (annotated fig.4) and the plurality of projections (annotated fig.4) have a semicircular shape (shape is semicircular in fig.4 of projections and recesses).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7,8,13,14, and 19 are allowed.
Re-claim 7, applicants arguments and amendment are persuasive and make claim 7 allowable.
Claims 8,13,14 are allowed as being dependent from claim 7.
Claim 19 has been amended to contain already indicated subject matter of claim 13, therefor is allowed.
Claims 10,12-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re-claim 10, has been amended if combined with claim 9 will be allowed same as claim 1.
Claim 12,16,18 depend from claim 10 and are objected to as such.
Re-claim 13, recites “ 13. The permanent magnet rotor according to claim 7, wherein the outer peripheral magnet includes a gate connection portion recessed from an end surface of one end portion of the outer peripheral magnet, at a position in a circumferential direction where the plurality of projections is provided.”
Claim 13 is found to be unique and will be allowable if merged with claim 7. The prior art of record, ip.com search, AI search, Global Dossier search fail to teach the combination of claims 7 and 13 above.
Claims 15, 17 are same as claim 13 and are allowable if merged with claim 9 and or 10 resectivley.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834