DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 07/18/2024 has a total of 20 claims pending in the application; there are 20 independent claims and 3 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SI et al. Publication No. (US 2025/0175935 A1) in view of SI et al. Publication No. (US 2025/0039980 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SI teaches an apparatus of a user equipment (UE) (communication device UE 11 FIG.1), the apparatus comprising processing circuitry (the communication device 500, including a processor 501 and a memory 502 [0384] FIG.5) configured to:
decode, from signals received from a base station, paging time window (PTW) information (the UE monitors paging (paging) within a paging time window (Paging Time Window, PTW), and each PTW may include a plurality of paging cycles within one paging hyper system frame number (Hyper System Frame Number, H-SFN) [0030]) and extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) information, wherein the PTW information comprises a (i) radio access network (RAN) PTW duration and (ii) a core network (CN) PTW duration (the terminal may determine, according to a first configuration, whether to perform the target positioning behavior beyond a PTW, where the PTW may include at least one of a CN PTW, a RAN PTW, the CN PTW may refer to a PTW used by the CN to perform paging, and the RAN PTW may refer to a PTW used by the RAN to perform paging [0075-77] FIG.3), and wherein the eDRX information comprises (i) a RAN eDRX cycle comprising one or more RAN eDRX occasions and (ii) a CN eDRX cycle comprising one or more CN eDRX occasions (the DRX configuration of the terminal may include but is not limited to a core network (Core Network, CN) DRX configuration, a radio access network (Radio Access Network, RAN) DRX configuration [0058] the PTW may include at least one of a CN PTW, a RAN PTW, and the like. Correspondingly, beyond the PTW may include beyond the CN PTW, beyond the RAN PTW, beyond the CN PTW and beyond the RAN PTW, and the like. The CN PTW may refer to a PTW used by the CN to perform paging, and the RAN PTW may refer to a PTW used by the RAN to perform paging [0075-77] FIG.3);
determine a measurement scheme based on at least the PTW information and eDRX information (the terminal determines the downlink positioning reference signal measurement and the uplink positioning reference signal sending, based on the PTW [0077] where the first time window includes one of the following: a CN PTW, a RAN PTW, the CN PTW and the RAN PTW (a union set of the CN PTW and the RAN PTW), and an overlapping time window between the CN PTW and the RAN PTW [0097] FIG.3); and
perform measurements of one or more wireless signals based on the measurement scheme (the terminal may perform the downlink positioning reference signal measurement based on the third cycle. For example, the terminal may perform the downlink positioning reference signal measurement once in each third cycle. The terminal may perform the uplink positioning reference signal sending based on the fourth cycle. For example, the terminal may perform the uplink positioning reference signal sending once in each fourth cycle. The terminal may perform the positioning measurement result reporting based on the fifth cycle. For example, the terminal may perform the positioning measurement result reporting once in each fifth cycle due to the PTW [0128-129] FIG.3), wherein when the RAN PTW duration is shorter than the CN PTW duration, the measurements of the one or more wireless signals are performed (the terminal determines, according to the first configuration, whether to perform the target positioning behavior includes in a case that the terminal is in an inactive state, in a case that the terminal is in an inactive state, if the terminal is configured with CN eDRX, a cycle of the CN eDRX is greater than third duration, the terminal is configured with RAN eDRX, and a cycle of the RAN eDRX is greater than fourth duration, where the first time window includes one of the following: a CN PTW, a RAN PTW, the CN PTW and the RAN PTW (a union set of the CN PTW and the RAN PTW), and an overlapping time window between the CN PTW and the RAN PTW. [0097-100] FIG.3).
SI does not explicitly teach the measurements of the one or more wireless signals are performed during the CN PTW duration.
HU teaches the measurements of the one or more wireless signals are performed during the CN PTW duration (HU: In the paging DRX mechanism, the UE only monitors the paging during a paging occasion (PO) in each DRX cycle [0047-48] the UE monitors the paging in a PTW of each eDRX cycle, and the behavior of the UE monitoring the paging in the PTW may follow the DRX mechanism [0058-59] FIG.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified SI by the teaching of HU to include the universal mobile telecommunications system when transferring data between a server and a mobile node in order to support the RAN and CAN eDRX cycles (HU: [0073-74] FIG.2).
Regarding claim 2, SI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more RAN eDRX occasions are overlapped in a time domain with at least one of the one or more CN eDRX occasions (the first time window includes one of the following: a CN PTW, a RAN PTW, the CN PTW and the RAN PTW (a union set of the CN PTW and the RAN PTW), and an overlapping time window between the CN PTW and the RAN PTW [0100] FIG.3).
Regarding claim 3, SI teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the measurement scheme is based on a minimum duration of the RAN eDRX cycle or the CN eDRX cycle (in a case that the terminal is in a deactivated state, and the terminal is configured with CN eDRX and is not configured with RAN eDRX, if the cycle of the CN eDRX is greater than sixth duration, the target cycle includes a minimum value in a CN DRX cycle, a RAN DRX cycle, and a default DRX cycle [0172] FIG.2)
Regarding claim 4, SI teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the measurement scheme is based on a maximum duration of the RAN eDRX cycle or the CN eDRX cycle (in a case that the terminal is in a deactivated state, and the terminal is configured with CN eDRX and is not configured with RAN eDRX, if the cycle of the CN eDRX is greater than sixth duration, the target cycle includes a maximum value in the CN DRX cycle, the RAN DRX cycle, and the default DRX cycle [0173] FIG.2).
Regarding claim 5, SI teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the measurement scheme is based on the CN eDRX cycle when the UE is operating in the CN PTW window (in a case that the terminal is in an idle state, if the terminal is configured with CN eDRX and a cycle of the CN eDRX is greater than second duration, the terminal may perform the target positioning behavior within a CN PTW [0095-96] FIG.2).
Regarding claim 6, SI teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the measurement scheme is based on the RAN eDRX cycle when the UE is operating in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode (extended DRX cycles (namely, eDRX) are introduced for radio resource control (Radio Resource Control, RRC) idle state (idle state) (up to 10485.76 seconds, i.e., roughly 3 hours) and RRC inactive state (inactive state) (up to 10.24 seconds) as an optional feature for both RedCap and non-RedCap UEs [0029-32] FIG.3).
Regarding claim 7, SI teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the measurement scheme is based on the RAN eDRX cycle when the UE is operating in the RAN PTW, and the CN eDRX cycle when the UE is operating in the CN PTW and outside the RAN PTW (the terminal determines, according to the first configuration, whether to perform the target positioning behavior includes in a case that the terminal is in an inactive state, in a case that the terminal is in an inactive state, if the terminal is configured with CN eDRX, a cycle of the CN eDRX is greater than third duration, the terminal is configured with RAN eDRX, and a cycle of the RAN eDRX is greater than fourth duration, where the first time window includes one of the following: a CN PTW, a RAN PTW, the CN PTW and the RAN PTW (a union set of the CN PTW and the RAN PTW), and an overlapping time window between the CN PTW and the RAN PTW. [0097-100] FIG.3).
Regarding claim 8, SI teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the measurement scheme is based on a paging cycle of a minimum duration of a CN configured eDRX cycle, a RAN configured eDRX cycle, or a default paging cycle broadcast in a system information (a UE monitors paging (paging) within a paging time window (Paging Time Window, PTW), and each PTW may include a plurality of paging cycles within one paging hyper system frame number (Hyper System Frame Number, H-SFN), where one H-SFN includes 1024 SFNs. The PTW is cyclic. The cycle is an eDRX cycle, in a unit of H-SFN [0030] FIG.1).
Regarding claim 9, SI teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein none of the one or more RAN eDRX occasions are overlapped in a time domain with the one or more CN eDRX occasions, and wherein the RAN eDRX cycle further comprises a RAN eDRX offset (the start point of the time window may include at least one of a hyper frame offset, a system frame offset, a subframe (subframe) offset, a slot (slot) offset, and the like, indicating an offset of the start point of the time window from a slot 0 of a system frame 0 of a hyper frame 0 [0060-67] FIG.3).
Claims 10-15, are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 3-8, where the difference used is the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 3-8.
Regarding claims 16-18, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-15, wherein the difference used is the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claims 19-20, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-15, wherein the difference used is the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Conclusion
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDELNABI O MUSA whose telephone number is (571)270-1901, and email address is abdelnabi.musa@uspto.gov ‘preferred’. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates, can be reached on 571-2723980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ABDELNABI O MUSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472